tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything

MIST OF DEAD END

Never Explain Anything

MusicCD
Dark MetalGothic RockHorror

[72/100]   

Mislealia Records
09/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Mist Of Dead End saw the light in 2013 in Montpellier in the South of France and is led by drummer/composer Ben Marmier who invited a number of guest musicians. Those who think to hear some summer tunes are wrong, because his apocalyptic rock is a mix of goth rock, metal, industrial, and HP Lovecraft as the main inspiration.

Never Explain Anything is a 6-track EP which introduces six times a different picture of the band. Opener The Depths begins with a sort of spoken word, and later becomes a dark and minimal rock song in which the drums and the deep bass lines set the tone.

In Summerfrost, the emphasis is more on the melodic gothic guitar and the dark vocals by Arnaud Sintes. Dr. Schreber barely lasts 50 second, but it’s creepy. You hear the noise of a heart monitoring machine that defines the horror atmosphere of this EP. Artefact is again more doom and goth rock, and ends with the goth metal tinged Tcafetra.

A very diverse EP with all sorts of styles that are always flirting with some dark, or as they describe it themselves, the more apocalyptic end of the world. These preachers of the apocalypse are certainly willing to spread their message, with Never Explain Anything as a useful tool.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


NL

Mist Of Dead End zag het daglicht in 2013 in het Zuid-Franse Montpellier en wordt geleid door drummer componist Ben Marmier, die zich laat omringen door een aantal gastmuzikanten. Wie aan zomerse muziek denkt is eraan voor de moeite, want met een mengeling van gothrock, metal, een beetje industrial en elektro maakt het gezelschap een soort apocalyptische rock met HP Lovecraft als grote inspiratiebron.

Never Explain Anything is een eerste zes tracks tellende ep die evenveel keer een ander beeld van de band geeft. Openingstrack The Depths begint met een soort spoken word en wordt nadien een donkere rocksong met een heel minimale muzikale omlijsting waarin drums en diepe baslijnen de sfeer bepalen. In Summerfrost daarentegen ligt de klemtoon meer op de meer melodieuze gotische gitaarlijn en de donkere vocals van Arnaud Sintes.

Het amper 50 seconden durende maar creepy Dr. Schreber, heeft behalve het gepiep van een hartbewakingsmachine, muzikaal niet veel om het lijf,maar bepaalt wel de wat morbidere horrorsfeer van deze ep. Met Artefact wordt het roer nog maar eens omgegooid naar wat je meer onder doom en gothrock zou kunnen plaatsen, om te eindigen met het gothmetal getinte Tcafetra.

Een heel diverse ep met allerhande stijlen die wel steeds flirten met de wat duistere, of zoals ze zelf omschrijven, de meer apocalyptische kant van de wereld. Deze predikers van de apocalyps zijn alvast bereid hun boodschap vol overgave te verspreiden en daarbij is deze Never Explain Anything een handig hulpmiddel.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything 09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS