tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything

MIST OF DEAD END

Never Explain Anything

MusicCD
Dark MetalGothic RockHorror

[72/100]   

Mislealia Records
09/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Mist Of Dead End saw the light in 2013 in Montpellier in the South of France and is led by drummer/composer Ben Marmier who invited a number of guest musicians. Those who think to hear some summer tunes are wrong, because his apocalyptic rock is a mix of goth rock, metal, industrial, and HP Lovecraft as the main inspiration.

Never Explain Anything is a 6-track EP which introduces six times a different picture of the band. Opener The Depths begins with a sort of spoken word, and later becomes a dark and minimal rock song in which the drums and the deep bass lines set the tone.

In Summerfrost, the emphasis is more on the melodic gothic guitar and the dark vocals by Arnaud Sintes. Dr. Schreber barely lasts 50 second, but it’s creepy. You hear the noise of a heart monitoring machine that defines the horror atmosphere of this EP. Artefact is again more doom and goth rock, and ends with the goth metal tinged Tcafetra.

A very diverse EP with all sorts of styles that are always flirting with some dark, or as they describe it themselves, the more apocalyptic end of the world. These preachers of the apocalypse are certainly willing to spread their message, with Never Explain Anything as a useful tool.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


NL

Mist Of Dead End zag het daglicht in 2013 in het Zuid-Franse Montpellier en wordt geleid door drummer componist Ben Marmier, die zich laat omringen door een aantal gastmuzikanten. Wie aan zomerse muziek denkt is eraan voor de moeite, want met een mengeling van gothrock, metal, een beetje industrial en elektro maakt het gezelschap een soort apocalyptische rock met HP Lovecraft als grote inspiratiebron.

Never Explain Anything is een eerste zes tracks tellende ep die evenveel keer een ander beeld van de band geeft. Openingstrack The Depths begint met een soort spoken word en wordt nadien een donkere rocksong met een heel minimale muzikale omlijsting waarin drums en diepe baslijnen de sfeer bepalen. In Summerfrost daarentegen ligt de klemtoon meer op de meer melodieuze gotische gitaarlijn en de donkere vocals van Arnaud Sintes.

Het amper 50 seconden durende maar creepy Dr. Schreber, heeft behalve het gepiep van een hartbewakingsmachine, muzikaal niet veel om het lijf,maar bepaalt wel de wat morbidere horrorsfeer van deze ep. Met Artefact wordt het roer nog maar eens omgegooid naar wat je meer onder doom en gothrock zou kunnen plaatsen, om te eindigen met het gothmetal getinte Tcafetra.

Een heel diverse ep met allerhande stijlen die wel steeds flirten met de wat duistere, of zoals ze zelf omschrijven, de meer apocalyptische kant van de wereld. Deze predikers van de apocalyps zijn alvast bereid hun boodschap vol overgave te verspreiden en daarbij is deze Never Explain Anything een handig hulpmiddel.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything 09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl