tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : THE KVB - Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

THE KVB

Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A new concert hall in Brussels is doing well: the top floor of the Beursschouwburg. Usually, is very hot (even in winter) and after just a few minutes sweat beads appear on your forehead, but with such a beautiful programming, no one cares.

Four days ago, Dear Deer from France played at Waveteef. The set of Federico Iovino and Sabatel was almost the same in The Beursschouwburg, but this time the band got a decent sound system (which was not the case in Antwerp) and that gave the gig some extra energy. This duo from Lille is inspired by the 80s (from Killing Joke to Swans), but with a contemporary(noisy) sound. Not everyone is enthusiastic about Dear Deer’s No Wave-sound, but we are firmly convinced that this is not the band’s intention. Perhaps the music is a bit too monotonous, or the hard guitars dominate too much, anyway, Dear Deer remains a band to remember and it will always have its supporters and opponents. Just as we saw yesterday...

Time for the British duo The KVB. In a short time a lot has changed for Nicolas Wood and Kat Day. A few years ago The KVB just was a small (talented) shoegaze band that played at tiny clubs, but today it is a band that went to the studio with legends like Sonic Boom and Geoff Barrow of Portishead.

I admit that I never saw them before, but several people told me afterwards that The KVB has grown incredibly in a short time. The two came up with a clever sound between modern shoegaze, krautrock and psychedelics.

Most tracks were taken (how could it be otherwise) from the recent album Of Desire. Kat barely moved and she stood motionless behind her keyboards, while Nicolas made acrobatic tricks with his guitar. Even if it takes some serious efforts, Nicolas regularly gets off the stage to showcase his genius guitar playing among the crowd. A gigantic sound, and the number of buttons and pedals used is enormous.

It makes no sense to compare The KVB with any other band, The KVB is The KVB and perhaps this venue is too small when the band visits Belgium the next time!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sinds een tijdje doet de hoogste etage van de Brusselse Beurssschouwburg dienst als een volwaardige concertzaal. Het is er meestal snikheet en al na een paar minuten glinsteren de zweetparels op je voorhoofd, maar met zo’n mooie programmering heeft een muziekfan dat er graag voor over.

Het was pas vier dagen geleden dat het Franse Dear Deer tijdens Waveteef op Belgische bodem stond. De set van Federico Iovino en Sabatel was wel dezelfde, maar dankzij een degelijke geluidinstallatie (wat in Antwerpen niet het geval was) toch van een veel (hoger) kaliber. Dit duo uit Lille graait uit de jaren 80 (van Killing Joke tot Swans), maar brouwt daar uiteindelijk toch iets hedendaags mee. Niet iedereen is dolenthousiast over deze No Wave, maar we zijn er rotsvast van overtuigd dat dit ook niet de bedoeling is van deze twee. De muziek van Dear Deer klinkt op het eerste gehoor misschien net wat te monotoon, de harde gitaren domineren wellicht iets te veel, toch blijft Dear Deer een te onthouden band die altijd zijn voor- en tegenstanders zal hebben. En dat zagen we gisteren…

Tijd dan voor het Britse duo The KVB. Op korte tijd is er veel veranderd voor Nicolas Wood en Kat Day. Waren ze een paar jaar geleden nog het shoegazebandje dat in een piepkleine club als de Gentse Kinky Star speelde, dan zijn ze vandaag een band die met grootheden als Sonic Boom en Geoff Barrow van Portishead de studio ingaat.

Zelf moet ik eerlijk bekennen dat ik de groep nog nooit eerder zag, maar diverse mensen vertelden me achteraf dat The KVB op korte tijd ontzettend is gegroeid. De twee brengen een geluid dat zich tussen moderne shoegaze, Krautrock en psychedelica situeert.

De meeste tracks kwamen (hoe kon het ook anders) uit het recente album Of Desire. Kat beweegt zich nauwelijks en staat stokstijf achter de keyboards, terwijl Nicolas allerlei acrobatische trucs met zijn gitaar uithaalt. Ook al kost het hem enige moeite, stapt hij toch geregeld van het podium om tussen de menigte zijn gitaarspel te tonen. Een gigantisch geluid, het aantal knopjes en pedalen dat hij benut is nauwelijks bij te houden.

Anno 2016 heeft het dan ook geen zin om The KVB met een andere band te vergelijken, The KVB is The KVB en wellicht is deze zaal te klein voor het volgende bezoek aan België!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation