tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : THE KVB - Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

THE KVB

Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A new concert hall in Brussels is doing well: the top floor of the Beursschouwburg. Usually, is very hot (even in winter) and after just a few minutes sweat beads appear on your forehead, but with such a beautiful programming, no one cares.

Four days ago, Dear Deer from France played at Waveteef. The set of Federico Iovino and Sabatel was almost the same in The Beursschouwburg, but this time the band got a decent sound system (which was not the case in Antwerp) and that gave the gig some extra energy. This duo from Lille is inspired by the 80s (from Killing Joke to Swans), but with a contemporary(noisy) sound. Not everyone is enthusiastic about Dear Deer’s No Wave-sound, but we are firmly convinced that this is not the band’s intention. Perhaps the music is a bit too monotonous, or the hard guitars dominate too much, anyway, Dear Deer remains a band to remember and it will always have its supporters and opponents. Just as we saw yesterday...

Time for the British duo The KVB. In a short time a lot has changed for Nicolas Wood and Kat Day. A few years ago The KVB just was a small (talented) shoegaze band that played at tiny clubs, but today it is a band that went to the studio with legends like Sonic Boom and Geoff Barrow of Portishead.

I admit that I never saw them before, but several people told me afterwards that The KVB has grown incredibly in a short time. The two came up with a clever sound between modern shoegaze, krautrock and psychedelics.

Most tracks were taken (how could it be otherwise) from the recent album Of Desire. Kat barely moved and she stood motionless behind her keyboards, while Nicolas made acrobatic tricks with his guitar. Even if it takes some serious efforts, Nicolas regularly gets off the stage to showcase his genius guitar playing among the crowd. A gigantic sound, and the number of buttons and pedals used is enormous.

It makes no sense to compare The KVB with any other band, The KVB is The KVB and perhaps this venue is too small when the band visits Belgium the next time!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sinds een tijdje doet de hoogste etage van de Brusselse Beurssschouwburg dienst als een volwaardige concertzaal. Het is er meestal snikheet en al na een paar minuten glinsteren de zweetparels op je voorhoofd, maar met zo’n mooie programmering heeft een muziekfan dat er graag voor over.

Het was pas vier dagen geleden dat het Franse Dear Deer tijdens Waveteef op Belgische bodem stond. De set van Federico Iovino en Sabatel was wel dezelfde, maar dankzij een degelijke geluidinstallatie (wat in Antwerpen niet het geval was) toch van een veel (hoger) kaliber. Dit duo uit Lille graait uit de jaren 80 (van Killing Joke tot Swans), maar brouwt daar uiteindelijk toch iets hedendaags mee. Niet iedereen is dolenthousiast over deze No Wave, maar we zijn er rotsvast van overtuigd dat dit ook niet de bedoeling is van deze twee. De muziek van Dear Deer klinkt op het eerste gehoor misschien net wat te monotoon, de harde gitaren domineren wellicht iets te veel, toch blijft Dear Deer een te onthouden band die altijd zijn voor- en tegenstanders zal hebben. En dat zagen we gisteren…

Tijd dan voor het Britse duo The KVB. Op korte tijd is er veel veranderd voor Nicolas Wood en Kat Day. Waren ze een paar jaar geleden nog het shoegazebandje dat in een piepkleine club als de Gentse Kinky Star speelde, dan zijn ze vandaag een band die met grootheden als Sonic Boom en Geoff Barrow van Portishead de studio ingaat.

Zelf moet ik eerlijk bekennen dat ik de groep nog nooit eerder zag, maar diverse mensen vertelden me achteraf dat The KVB op korte tijd ontzettend is gegroeid. De twee brengen een geluid dat zich tussen moderne shoegaze, Krautrock en psychedelica situeert.

De meeste tracks kwamen (hoe kon het ook anders) uit het recente album Of Desire. Kat beweegt zich nauwelijks en staat stokstijf achter de keyboards, terwijl Nicolas allerlei acrobatische trucs met zijn gitaar uithaalt. Ook al kost het hem enige moeite, stapt hij toch geregeld van het podium om tussen de menigte zijn gitaarspel te tonen. Een gigantisch geluid, het aantal knopjes en pedalen dat hij benut is nauwelijks bij te houden.

Anno 2016 heeft het dan ook geen zin om The KVB met een andere band te vergelijken, The KVB is The KVB en wellicht is deze zaal te klein voor het volgende bezoek aan België!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)