tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : THE KVB - Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

THE KVB

Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A new concert hall in Brussels is doing well: the top floor of the Beursschouwburg. Usually, is very hot (even in winter) and after just a few minutes sweat beads appear on your forehead, but with such a beautiful programming, no one cares.

Four days ago, Dear Deer from France played at Waveteef. The set of Federico Iovino and Sabatel was almost the same in The Beursschouwburg, but this time the band got a decent sound system (which was not the case in Antwerp) and that gave the gig some extra energy. This duo from Lille is inspired by the 80s (from Killing Joke to Swans), but with a contemporary(noisy) sound. Not everyone is enthusiastic about Dear Deer’s No Wave-sound, but we are firmly convinced that this is not the band’s intention. Perhaps the music is a bit too monotonous, or the hard guitars dominate too much, anyway, Dear Deer remains a band to remember and it will always have its supporters and opponents. Just as we saw yesterday...

Time for the British duo The KVB. In a short time a lot has changed for Nicolas Wood and Kat Day. A few years ago The KVB just was a small (talented) shoegaze band that played at tiny clubs, but today it is a band that went to the studio with legends like Sonic Boom and Geoff Barrow of Portishead.

I admit that I never saw them before, but several people told me afterwards that The KVB has grown incredibly in a short time. The two came up with a clever sound between modern shoegaze, krautrock and psychedelics.

Most tracks were taken (how could it be otherwise) from the recent album Of Desire. Kat barely moved and she stood motionless behind her keyboards, while Nicolas made acrobatic tricks with his guitar. Even if it takes some serious efforts, Nicolas regularly gets off the stage to showcase his genius guitar playing among the crowd. A gigantic sound, and the number of buttons and pedals used is enormous.

It makes no sense to compare The KVB with any other band, The KVB is The KVB and perhaps this venue is too small when the band visits Belgium the next time!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sinds een tijdje doet de hoogste etage van de Brusselse Beurssschouwburg dienst als een volwaardige concertzaal. Het is er meestal snikheet en al na een paar minuten glinsteren de zweetparels op je voorhoofd, maar met zo’n mooie programmering heeft een muziekfan dat er graag voor over.

Het was pas vier dagen geleden dat het Franse Dear Deer tijdens Waveteef op Belgische bodem stond. De set van Federico Iovino en Sabatel was wel dezelfde, maar dankzij een degelijke geluidinstallatie (wat in Antwerpen niet het geval was) toch van een veel (hoger) kaliber. Dit duo uit Lille graait uit de jaren 80 (van Killing Joke tot Swans), maar brouwt daar uiteindelijk toch iets hedendaags mee. Niet iedereen is dolenthousiast over deze No Wave, maar we zijn er rotsvast van overtuigd dat dit ook niet de bedoeling is van deze twee. De muziek van Dear Deer klinkt op het eerste gehoor misschien net wat te monotoon, de harde gitaren domineren wellicht iets te veel, toch blijft Dear Deer een te onthouden band die altijd zijn voor- en tegenstanders zal hebben. En dat zagen we gisteren…

Tijd dan voor het Britse duo The KVB. Op korte tijd is er veel veranderd voor Nicolas Wood en Kat Day. Waren ze een paar jaar geleden nog het shoegazebandje dat in een piepkleine club als de Gentse Kinky Star speelde, dan zijn ze vandaag een band die met grootheden als Sonic Boom en Geoff Barrow van Portishead de studio ingaat.

Zelf moet ik eerlijk bekennen dat ik de groep nog nooit eerder zag, maar diverse mensen vertelden me achteraf dat The KVB op korte tijd ontzettend is gegroeid. De twee brengen een geluid dat zich tussen moderne shoegaze, Krautrock en psychedelica situeert.

De meeste tracks kwamen (hoe kon het ook anders) uit het recente album Of Desire. Kat beweegt zich nauwelijks en staat stokstijf achter de keyboards, terwijl Nicolas allerlei acrobatische trucs met zijn gitaar uithaalt. Ook al kost het hem enige moeite, stapt hij toch geregeld van het podium om tussen de menigte zijn gitaarspel te tonen. Een gigantisch geluid, het aantal knopjes en pedalen dat hij benut is nauwelijks bij te houden.

Anno 2016 heeft het dan ook geen zin om The KVB met een andere band te vergelijken, The KVB is The KVB en wellicht is deze zaal te klein voor het volgende bezoek aan België!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven