tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PALACE WINTER - Waiting For The World To Turn

PALACE WINTER

Waiting For The World To Turn

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, we barely can keep track of the large amount of indie releases, as sometimes it seems like every second another one is released. So, it is not easy to seperate the wheat from the chaff, because what is your standard? Originality, quality or is it simply a matter of personal taste?

If quality is the decisive factor, then the Danish-Australian duo Winter Palace certainly deserves a bit (and more than that) of attention. After the release of the EP Medication last year, there is now the debut album Waiting For The World To Turn. A strange title, but that's because Carl Coleman and Caspar Hesselager choose 'sleep' as the theme for this record. After all, when you sleep, your mind is in a vulnerable state, because the mind is seperated from your body. It is the moment when the world stands still for you.

A nice philosophy, so much is certain, but how to translate it into music? Well, this duo knows very well how to compose a radio-friendly psychedelic indie pop song. The nine tracks are all accessible (think of Snow Patrol), but with strange Radiohead-like structures and enchanting Bunnymen guitars. Not original? At the contrary! You think you heard it before, but by using the right finesses, Winter Palace manages to come up with a very own sound. Nine beautiful songs of high quality!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We kunnen het aantal indiereleases nog nauwelijks bijhouden. Soms lijkt het wel alsof de wereld er iedere seconde eentje rijker wordt. Het is dus belangrijk om het kaf van het koren te scheiden, ook al is dat niet altijd even gemakkelijk. Want waarop baseer je je? De originaliteit, de kwaliteit of gewoon de persoonlijke smaak? Als kwaliteit de doorslaggevende factor is, dan verdient het Deens-Australische duo Palace Winter zeker een streepje (en meer dan dat) aandacht.

Na het verschijnen van de ep Medication vorig jaar, is er nu het debuut Waiting For The World To Turn. Een merkwaardige titel, maar dat komt doordat Carl Coleman en Caspar Hesselager het op deze plaat over "slapen” hebben. Als je slaapt, ben je immers zeer kwetsbaar omdat je geest uit je lichaam wandelt. Het is het moment waarop de wereld voor je stilstaat.

Een mooi stukje filosofie, zo veel is zeker, maar hoe vertaalt zich dat in muziek? Nou, dit duo weet heel goed hoe het een radiovriendelijke pschedelische indiepopsong in elkaar moeten knutselen. De negen tracks zijn allemaal vrij toegankelijk (denk aan Snow Patrol), en het wordt mooi verpakt met vreemde Radiohead-achtige structuren en betoverende Bunnymen-gitaartjes. Niet origineel, dus? Nou net wel! Je hebt het idee dat je het al eens eerder hebt gehoord, maar door de juiste finesse slaagt Palace Winter er in om toch met een apart geluid voor de dag te komen. Negen mooie liedjes dus en bovendien van hoog niveau!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

04
12
SALTATIO MORTIS
Ruhrcongress Bochum
28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme