tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PALACE WINTER - Waiting For The World To Turn

PALACE WINTER

Waiting For The World To Turn

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, we barely can keep track of the large amount of indie releases, as sometimes it seems like every second another one is released. So, it is not easy to seperate the wheat from the chaff, because what is your standard? Originality, quality or is it simply a matter of personal taste?

If quality is the decisive factor, then the Danish-Australian duo Winter Palace certainly deserves a bit (and more than that) of attention. After the release of the EP Medication last year, there is now the debut album Waiting For The World To Turn. A strange title, but that's because Carl Coleman and Caspar Hesselager choose 'sleep' as the theme for this record. After all, when you sleep, your mind is in a vulnerable state, because the mind is seperated from your body. It is the moment when the world stands still for you.

A nice philosophy, so much is certain, but how to translate it into music? Well, this duo knows very well how to compose a radio-friendly psychedelic indie pop song. The nine tracks are all accessible (think of Snow Patrol), but with strange Radiohead-like structures and enchanting Bunnymen guitars. Not original? At the contrary! You think you heard it before, but by using the right finesses, Winter Palace manages to come up with a very own sound. Nine beautiful songs of high quality!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We kunnen het aantal indiereleases nog nauwelijks bijhouden. Soms lijkt het wel alsof de wereld er iedere seconde eentje rijker wordt. Het is dus belangrijk om het kaf van het koren te scheiden, ook al is dat niet altijd even gemakkelijk. Want waarop baseer je je? De originaliteit, de kwaliteit of gewoon de persoonlijke smaak? Als kwaliteit de doorslaggevende factor is, dan verdient het Deens-Australische duo Palace Winter zeker een streepje (en meer dan dat) aandacht.

Na het verschijnen van de ep Medication vorig jaar, is er nu het debuut Waiting For The World To Turn. Een merkwaardige titel, maar dat komt doordat Carl Coleman en Caspar Hesselager het op deze plaat over "slapen” hebben. Als je slaapt, ben je immers zeer kwetsbaar omdat je geest uit je lichaam wandelt. Het is het moment waarop de wereld voor je stilstaat.

Een mooi stukje filosofie, zo veel is zeker, maar hoe vertaalt zich dat in muziek? Nou, dit duo weet heel goed hoe het een radiovriendelijke pschedelische indiepopsong in elkaar moeten knutselen. De negen tracks zijn allemaal vrij toegankelijk (denk aan Snow Patrol), en het wordt mooi verpakt met vreemde Radiohead-achtige structuren en betoverende Bunnymen-gitaartjes. Niet origineel, dus? Nou net wel! Je hebt het idee dat je het al eens eerder hebt gehoord, maar door de juiste finesse slaagt Palace Winter er in om toch met een apart geluid voor de dag te komen. Negen mooie liedjes dus en bovendien van hoog niveau!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!
07
11
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Burning Inside!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now
05
11
DIVE
Far Away (Live)