tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PALACE WINTER - Waiting For The World To Turn

PALACE WINTER

Waiting For The World To Turn

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, we barely can keep track of the large amount of indie releases, as sometimes it seems like every second another one is released. So, it is not easy to seperate the wheat from the chaff, because what is your standard? Originality, quality or is it simply a matter of personal taste?

If quality is the decisive factor, then the Danish-Australian duo Winter Palace certainly deserves a bit (and more than that) of attention. After the release of the EP Medication last year, there is now the debut album Waiting For The World To Turn. A strange title, but that's because Carl Coleman and Caspar Hesselager choose 'sleep' as the theme for this record. After all, when you sleep, your mind is in a vulnerable state, because the mind is seperated from your body. It is the moment when the world stands still for you.

A nice philosophy, so much is certain, but how to translate it into music? Well, this duo knows very well how to compose a radio-friendly psychedelic indie pop song. The nine tracks are all accessible (think of Snow Patrol), but with strange Radiohead-like structures and enchanting Bunnymen guitars. Not original? At the contrary! You think you heard it before, but by using the right finesses, Winter Palace manages to come up with a very own sound. Nine beautiful songs of high quality!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We kunnen het aantal indiereleases nog nauwelijks bijhouden. Soms lijkt het wel alsof de wereld er iedere seconde eentje rijker wordt. Het is dus belangrijk om het kaf van het koren te scheiden, ook al is dat niet altijd even gemakkelijk. Want waarop baseer je je? De originaliteit, de kwaliteit of gewoon de persoonlijke smaak? Als kwaliteit de doorslaggevende factor is, dan verdient het Deens-Australische duo Palace Winter zeker een streepje (en meer dan dat) aandacht.

Na het verschijnen van de ep Medication vorig jaar, is er nu het debuut Waiting For The World To Turn. Een merkwaardige titel, maar dat komt doordat Carl Coleman en Caspar Hesselager het op deze plaat over "slapen” hebben. Als je slaapt, ben je immers zeer kwetsbaar omdat je geest uit je lichaam wandelt. Het is het moment waarop de wereld voor je stilstaat.

Een mooi stukje filosofie, zo veel is zeker, maar hoe vertaalt zich dat in muziek? Nou, dit duo weet heel goed hoe het een radiovriendelijke pschedelische indiepopsong in elkaar moeten knutselen. De negen tracks zijn allemaal vrij toegankelijk (denk aan Snow Patrol), en het wordt mooi verpakt met vreemde Radiohead-achtige structuren en betoverende Bunnymen-gitaartjes. Niet origineel, dus? Nou net wel! Je hebt het idee dat je het al eens eerder hebt gehoord, maar door de juiste finesse slaagt Palace Winter er in om toch met een apart geluid voor de dag te komen. Negen mooie liedjes dus en bovendien van hoog niveau!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic