tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PALACE WINTER - Waiting For The World To Turn

PALACE WINTER

Waiting For The World To Turn

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, we barely can keep track of the large amount of indie releases, as sometimes it seems like every second another one is released. So, it is not easy to seperate the wheat from the chaff, because what is your standard? Originality, quality or is it simply a matter of personal taste?

If quality is the decisive factor, then the Danish-Australian duo Winter Palace certainly deserves a bit (and more than that) of attention. After the release of the EP Medication last year, there is now the debut album Waiting For The World To Turn. A strange title, but that's because Carl Coleman and Caspar Hesselager choose 'sleep' as the theme for this record. After all, when you sleep, your mind is in a vulnerable state, because the mind is seperated from your body. It is the moment when the world stands still for you.

A nice philosophy, so much is certain, but how to translate it into music? Well, this duo knows very well how to compose a radio-friendly psychedelic indie pop song. The nine tracks are all accessible (think of Snow Patrol), but with strange Radiohead-like structures and enchanting Bunnymen guitars. Not original? At the contrary! You think you heard it before, but by using the right finesses, Winter Palace manages to come up with a very own sound. Nine beautiful songs of high quality!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

We kunnen het aantal indiereleases nog nauwelijks bijhouden. Soms lijkt het wel alsof de wereld er iedere seconde eentje rijker wordt. Het is dus belangrijk om het kaf van het koren te scheiden, ook al is dat niet altijd even gemakkelijk. Want waarop baseer je je? De originaliteit, de kwaliteit of gewoon de persoonlijke smaak? Als kwaliteit de doorslaggevende factor is, dan verdient het Deens-Australische duo Palace Winter zeker een streepje (en meer dan dat) aandacht.

Na het verschijnen van de ep Medication vorig jaar, is er nu het debuut Waiting For The World To Turn. Een merkwaardige titel, maar dat komt doordat Carl Coleman en Caspar Hesselager het op deze plaat over "slapen” hebben. Als je slaapt, ben je immers zeer kwetsbaar omdat je geest uit je lichaam wandelt. Het is het moment waarop de wereld voor je stilstaat.

Een mooi stukje filosofie, zo veel is zeker, maar hoe vertaalt zich dat in muziek? Nou, dit duo weet heel goed hoe het een radiovriendelijke pschedelische indiepopsong in elkaar moeten knutselen. De negen tracks zijn allemaal vrij toegankelijk (denk aan Snow Patrol), en het wordt mooi verpakt met vreemde Radiohead-achtige structuren en betoverende Bunnymen-gitaartjes. Niet origineel, dus? Nou net wel! Je hebt het idee dat je het al eens eerder hebt gehoord, maar door de juiste finesse slaagt Palace Winter er in om toch met een apart geluid voor de dag te komen. Negen mooie liedjes dus en bovendien van hoog niveau!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race
15
08
SIMON RAYMONDE (COCTEAU TWINS, LOST HORIZONS,SNOWBIRD...)
'I think the secret to it is never to try and force a relationship with someone...'

PHOTOS

20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer
15
09
DAVID BOWIE
Absolute Beginners
14
09
ANATHEMA
A Natural Disaster (from A Sort of Homecoming)
13
09
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
09
PORTION CONTROL
LIVE @ SCHLAGSTROM - 2014