tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NACHTMAHR - Kampfbereit

NACHTMAHR

Kampfbereit

MusicCD
aggrotechEBMElectronics

[88/100]   

Trisol
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Nachtmahr, the electro dance band of L'Ame Immortelle singer Thomas Rainer, surely likes some controversy. But then again, the Austrian musician loves girls in uniforms and composes electronic music with a message.

Nachtmahr ist zurück und ganz Europa tanzt!, Thomas sings on the opener Tanz Für Mich. It's a track for the dance floor: very hard beats, the right rhythm and what a nice sing-along it is.

The electro dance party continues in Strenge Liebe: an irresistible chorus with the naughty words Wildes Mädchen, deine Seele wird heute nacht ein Teil von mir, on a tight EBM beat. What more do you want?

In Gegen Den Strom (the title says it), we hear Nachtmahr as a glitch. This is not only a band that wants to take you on the dance floor, it is a band that also has something to say!

In a song like Kampfbereit, you hear what a mature sound Nachtmahr has these days, this track makes it clear that the band belongs to the current top of the German electro scene.

Wir sind die Toten gives you some time to catch your breath, because in Stahlgewitter Nachtmahr wants you to march again, throwing your hands in the air and thinking that you're the best in the world... at least for 4 minutes!

Burning Bridges is the only song in English: an attempt to conquer the dance front of Europe? Sage ja! In Entfache dieses Feuer, distorted voices go hand in hand with melancholic synths and pounding beats, a track that comes close to Rainer's first brainchild: L'Ame Immortelle.

You are tired? Well, too bad for you, because with Krieg und Frieden the beats are coming back... Dance till you drop!

Can we say it? Yes, we're going to say it, but Tempus Fugit lets you forget your grief for the loss of Feindflug, because this song is at least as strong (in fact stronger!).

After fifty minutes, you've earned it: the final Unsterbliche Opfer which is a neo-folk song in Death In June-style. Yes! Kampfbereit is brilliant dance music, albeit with some controversy and irony, but what a record it is!

And for those who think a CD should be more than a plastic disc in a horrific case, there is good news, because Kampfbereit comes in a beautiful edition with a booklet with cute sexy pictures. Nachtmahr belongs to the top!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Nachtmahr, de dansband van de L’Ame Immortelle-zanger Thomas Rainer is zeker niet vies van enige controverse. Veel moet je er eigenlijk niet achter zoeken, de Oostenrijkse muzikant houdt gewoon van meisjes in uniformen en brengt elektronische strijdliederen met een duidelijke boodschap.

Nachtmahr ist zurück und ganz Europa tanzt!, zingt Thomas in de opener Tanz Für Mich. Het is een track die geboren is voor de dansvloer: loeiharde beats, het juiste ritme en wat een lekkere meezinger.

In Strenge Liebe wordt het elektrofeestje voortgezet: een onweerstaanbaar refrein met de ondeugende woorden Wildes Mädchen, deine Seele wird heute nacht ein Teil von mir, op een strakke EBM-beat. Wat wil je nog meer?

In Gegen Den Strom (de titel zegt het reeds) horen we Nachtmahr als de spelbreker. Dit is niet louter een project dat je de dansvloer op wil jagen, het is een band die ook wat te zeggen heeft!

In een song als Kampfbereit hoor je duidelijk dat Nachtmahr al lang niet meer de gimmick is die het ooit wel was: deze track maakt duidelijk dat de band tot de huidige top van de Duitse elektroscène behoort.

Wir sind die Toten is een rustpauze, tijd om wat op adem te komen, want met Stahlgewitter is Nachtmahr er opnieuw met een song die je doet marcheren, de handen in de lucht laat slaan en laat denken dat je de beste van de hele wereld bent... althans voor 4 minuten toch!

Burning Bridges is het enige lied dat in het Engels wordt gezongen: een poging om het dansfront van Europa te veroveren? Sage ja! Entfache dieses Feuer is alweer zo’n track waarin vervormde stemmen hand in hand met melancholische synths en stampende beats gaan. En een track die dicht in de buurt komt van Rainers eerste geesteskind: L’Ame Immortelle.

Je bent moe? Nou jammer voor je, want met Krieg Und Frieden worden de beats nog maar eens opgedreven... dit is dansen tot je neervalt!

Mogen we het zeggen? Ja, we gaan het zeggen, maar Tempus Fugit doet je verdriet voor het verlies van Feindflug vergeten, want deze song is minstens even sterk (om niet te zeggen: nog sterker!)

Na vijftig minuten heb je het verdiend: een rustige afsluiter, Unsterbliche Opfer, een neofolksong in zo waar onvervalste Death In June-stijl. Jawel!

Kampfbereit is geniale dansmuziek, weliswaar met wat controverse en de nodige ironie, maar wat een plaat!

En voor wie vindt dat een cd meer moet zijn dan een plastic schijfje in een afgrijselijk doosje, is er goed nieuws, want Kampfbereit wordt geleverd in een prachtige uitgave met een boekje vol leuke sexy foto’s. Nachtmahr behoort aan de top!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer