tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NACHTMAHR - Kampfbereit

NACHTMAHR

Kampfbereit

MusicCD
aggrotechEBMElectronics

[88/100]   

Trisol
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Nachtmahr, the electro dance band of L'Ame Immortelle singer Thomas Rainer, surely likes some controversy. But then again, the Austrian musician loves girls in uniforms and composes electronic music with a message.

Nachtmahr ist zurück und ganz Europa tanzt!, Thomas sings on the opener Tanz Für Mich. It's a track for the dance floor: very hard beats, the right rhythm and what a nice sing-along it is.

The electro dance party continues in Strenge Liebe: an irresistible chorus with the naughty words Wildes Mädchen, deine Seele wird heute nacht ein Teil von mir, on a tight EBM beat. What more do you want?

In Gegen Den Strom (the title says it), we hear Nachtmahr as a glitch. This is not only a band that wants to take you on the dance floor, it is a band that also has something to say!

In a song like Kampfbereit, you hear what a mature sound Nachtmahr has these days, this track makes it clear that the band belongs to the current top of the German electro scene.

Wir sind die Toten gives you some time to catch your breath, because in Stahlgewitter Nachtmahr wants you to march again, throwing your hands in the air and thinking that you're the best in the world... at least for 4 minutes!

Burning Bridges is the only song in English: an attempt to conquer the dance front of Europe? Sage ja! In Entfache dieses Feuer, distorted voices go hand in hand with melancholic synths and pounding beats, a track that comes close to Rainer's first brainchild: L'Ame Immortelle.

You are tired? Well, too bad for you, because with Krieg und Frieden the beats are coming back... Dance till you drop!

Can we say it? Yes, we're going to say it, but Tempus Fugit lets you forget your grief for the loss of Feindflug, because this song is at least as strong (in fact stronger!).

After fifty minutes, you've earned it: the final Unsterbliche Opfer which is a neo-folk song in Death In June-style. Yes! Kampfbereit is brilliant dance music, albeit with some controversy and irony, but what a record it is!

And for those who think a CD should be more than a plastic disc in a horrific case, there is good news, because Kampfbereit comes in a beautiful edition with a booklet with cute sexy pictures. Nachtmahr belongs to the top!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Nachtmahr, de dansband van de L’Ame Immortelle-zanger Thomas Rainer is zeker niet vies van enige controverse. Veel moet je er eigenlijk niet achter zoeken, de Oostenrijkse muzikant houdt gewoon van meisjes in uniformen en brengt elektronische strijdliederen met een duidelijke boodschap.

Nachtmahr ist zurück und ganz Europa tanzt!, zingt Thomas in de opener Tanz Für Mich. Het is een track die geboren is voor de dansvloer: loeiharde beats, het juiste ritme en wat een lekkere meezinger.

In Strenge Liebe wordt het elektrofeestje voortgezet: een onweerstaanbaar refrein met de ondeugende woorden Wildes Mädchen, deine Seele wird heute nacht ein Teil von mir, op een strakke EBM-beat. Wat wil je nog meer?

In Gegen Den Strom (de titel zegt het reeds) horen we Nachtmahr als de spelbreker. Dit is niet louter een project dat je de dansvloer op wil jagen, het is een band die ook wat te zeggen heeft!

In een song als Kampfbereit hoor je duidelijk dat Nachtmahr al lang niet meer de gimmick is die het ooit wel was: deze track maakt duidelijk dat de band tot de huidige top van de Duitse elektroscène behoort.

Wir sind die Toten is een rustpauze, tijd om wat op adem te komen, want met Stahlgewitter is Nachtmahr er opnieuw met een song die je doet marcheren, de handen in de lucht laat slaan en laat denken dat je de beste van de hele wereld bent... althans voor 4 minuten toch!

Burning Bridges is het enige lied dat in het Engels wordt gezongen: een poging om het dansfront van Europa te veroveren? Sage ja! Entfache dieses Feuer is alweer zo’n track waarin vervormde stemmen hand in hand met melancholische synths en stampende beats gaan. En een track die dicht in de buurt komt van Rainers eerste geesteskind: L’Ame Immortelle.

Je bent moe? Nou jammer voor je, want met Krieg Und Frieden worden de beats nog maar eens opgedreven... dit is dansen tot je neervalt!

Mogen we het zeggen? Ja, we gaan het zeggen, maar Tempus Fugit doet je verdriet voor het verlies van Feindflug vergeten, want deze song is minstens even sterk (om niet te zeggen: nog sterker!)

Na vijftig minuten heb je het verdiend: een rustige afsluiter, Unsterbliche Opfer, een neofolksong in zo waar onvervalste Death In June-stijl. Jawel!

Kampfbereit is geniale dansmuziek, weliswaar met wat controverse en de nodige ironie, maar wat een plaat!

En voor wie vindt dat een cd meer moet zijn dan een plastic schijfje in een afgrijselijk doosje, is er goed nieuws, want Kampfbereit wordt geleverd in een prachtige uitgave met een boekje vol leuke sexy foto’s. Nachtmahr behoort aan de top!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before