tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

SOME SKELETONS

Vigils

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mountain Of Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The music of the trio Some Skeletons (Nottingham) sounds less dangerous than the band name suggests. It is not dark wave or post-punk, but rather (innocent) alternative rock. Nothing wrong with that, but it’s good to know!

The music sounds like alternative rock from the 90s. The guitars are the base, along with a homogeneous and melodic overall sound. It sounds a bit like The Lemonheads or Adventures. At first listen, it’s like Tweedledum and Tweedledee, but after a few spins you note the differences between the songs. Some songs are definitely worth hearing, like To Exceed, To Archieve that contains nice guitars and which is also the longest song here.

They sound a bit like vintage 90s, but the debut album has depth, at least if you take your time. An album with good songs and catchy melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De muziek van het trio Some Skeletons (uit Nottingham) klinkt minder gevaarlijk dan de bandnaam laat vermoeden. Het is geen darkwave of post-punk, maar eerder (ongevaarlijke) alternatieve rock. Op zich niets mis mee, maar gewoon een kwestie van je niet op een dwaalspoor te laten brengen.

De muziek klinkt een beetje als alternatieve rock uit de nineties. Basis zijn de gitaren die samen met de rest een homogeen en melodisch totaalgeluid opleveren. Een beetje zoals The Lemonheads of Adventures klinken. Bij de eerste beluistering klinkt alles een beetje als één pot nat, maar na enkele keren beginnen zich de verschillen tussen de songs af te tekenen. Enkele songs zijn zeker en vast de moeite waard, zoals To Exceed, To archieve dat prettig in het gehoor liggend gitaarwerk bevat en dat met zijn vier minuten tevens de langste song is.

De meeste songs zijn zo'n drie minuten lang. Het refrein wordt in het merendeel van de tracks als een samenzang gebracht. In Up On The Rocks slaat de stem van de zanger soms bewust wat over, wat een aardig effect oplevert. Hi, Give Me The Disease is nog zo’n catchy track. In totaal staan er zo’n negen songs op Vigils.

Ze klinken wat als vintage 90s, maar het debuutalbum heeft wel diepgang als je er je tijd voor neemt. Een album met goede songs en catchy melodieën, dat tijdens een eerste beluistering wat vrijblijvend klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils 09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life