tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

SOME SKELETONS

Vigils

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mountain Of Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The music of the trio Some Skeletons (Nottingham) sounds less dangerous than the band name suggests. It is not dark wave or post-punk, but rather (innocent) alternative rock. Nothing wrong with that, but it’s good to know!

The music sounds like alternative rock from the 90s. The guitars are the base, along with a homogeneous and melodic overall sound. It sounds a bit like The Lemonheads or Adventures. At first listen, it’s like Tweedledum and Tweedledee, but after a few spins you note the differences between the songs. Some songs are definitely worth hearing, like To Exceed, To Archieve that contains nice guitars and which is also the longest song here.

They sound a bit like vintage 90s, but the debut album has depth, at least if you take your time. An album with good songs and catchy melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De muziek van het trio Some Skeletons (uit Nottingham) klinkt minder gevaarlijk dan de bandnaam laat vermoeden. Het is geen darkwave of post-punk, maar eerder (ongevaarlijke) alternatieve rock. Op zich niets mis mee, maar gewoon een kwestie van je niet op een dwaalspoor te laten brengen.

De muziek klinkt een beetje als alternatieve rock uit de nineties. Basis zijn de gitaren die samen met de rest een homogeen en melodisch totaalgeluid opleveren. Een beetje zoals The Lemonheads of Adventures klinken. Bij de eerste beluistering klinkt alles een beetje als één pot nat, maar na enkele keren beginnen zich de verschillen tussen de songs af te tekenen. Enkele songs zijn zeker en vast de moeite waard, zoals To Exceed, To archieve dat prettig in het gehoor liggend gitaarwerk bevat en dat met zijn vier minuten tevens de langste song is.

De meeste songs zijn zo'n drie minuten lang. Het refrein wordt in het merendeel van de tracks als een samenzang gebracht. In Up On The Rocks slaat de stem van de zanger soms bewust wat over, wat een aardig effect oplevert. Hi, Give Me The Disease is nog zo’n catchy track. In totaal staan er zo’n negen songs op Vigils.

Ze klinken wat als vintage 90s, maar het debuutalbum heeft wel diepgang als je er je tijd voor neemt. Een album met goede songs en catchy melodieën, dat tijdens een eerste beluistering wat vrijblijvend klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils 09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf