tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

SOME SKELETONS

Vigils

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mountain Of Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The music of the trio Some Skeletons (Nottingham) sounds less dangerous than the band name suggests. It is not dark wave or post-punk, but rather (innocent) alternative rock. Nothing wrong with that, but it’s good to know!

The music sounds like alternative rock from the 90s. The guitars are the base, along with a homogeneous and melodic overall sound. It sounds a bit like The Lemonheads or Adventures. At first listen, it’s like Tweedledum and Tweedledee, but after a few spins you note the differences between the songs. Some songs are definitely worth hearing, like To Exceed, To Archieve that contains nice guitars and which is also the longest song here.

They sound a bit like vintage 90s, but the debut album has depth, at least if you take your time. An album with good songs and catchy melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De muziek van het trio Some Skeletons (uit Nottingham) klinkt minder gevaarlijk dan de bandnaam laat vermoeden. Het is geen darkwave of post-punk, maar eerder (ongevaarlijke) alternatieve rock. Op zich niets mis mee, maar gewoon een kwestie van je niet op een dwaalspoor te laten brengen.

De muziek klinkt een beetje als alternatieve rock uit de nineties. Basis zijn de gitaren die samen met de rest een homogeen en melodisch totaalgeluid opleveren. Een beetje zoals The Lemonheads of Adventures klinken. Bij de eerste beluistering klinkt alles een beetje als één pot nat, maar na enkele keren beginnen zich de verschillen tussen de songs af te tekenen. Enkele songs zijn zeker en vast de moeite waard, zoals To Exceed, To archieve dat prettig in het gehoor liggend gitaarwerk bevat en dat met zijn vier minuten tevens de langste song is.

De meeste songs zijn zo'n drie minuten lang. Het refrein wordt in het merendeel van de tracks als een samenzang gebracht. In Up On The Rocks slaat de stem van de zanger soms bewust wat over, wat een aardig effect oplevert. Hi, Give Me The Disease is nog zo’n catchy track. In totaal staan er zo’n negen songs op Vigils.

Ze klinken wat als vintage 90s, maar het debuutalbum heeft wel diepgang als je er je tijd voor neemt. Een album met goede songs en catchy melodieën, dat tijdens een eerste beluistering wat vrijblijvend klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils 09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession