tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

SOME SKELETONS

Vigils

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mountain Of Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The music of the trio Some Skeletons (Nottingham) sounds less dangerous than the band name suggests. It is not dark wave or post-punk, but rather (innocent) alternative rock. Nothing wrong with that, but it’s good to know!

The music sounds like alternative rock from the 90s. The guitars are the base, along with a homogeneous and melodic overall sound. It sounds a bit like The Lemonheads or Adventures. At first listen, it’s like Tweedledum and Tweedledee, but after a few spins you note the differences between the songs. Some songs are definitely worth hearing, like To Exceed, To Archieve that contains nice guitars and which is also the longest song here.

They sound a bit like vintage 90s, but the debut album has depth, at least if you take your time. An album with good songs and catchy melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De muziek van het trio Some Skeletons (uit Nottingham) klinkt minder gevaarlijk dan de bandnaam laat vermoeden. Het is geen darkwave of post-punk, maar eerder (ongevaarlijke) alternatieve rock. Op zich niets mis mee, maar gewoon een kwestie van je niet op een dwaalspoor te laten brengen.

De muziek klinkt een beetje als alternatieve rock uit de nineties. Basis zijn de gitaren die samen met de rest een homogeen en melodisch totaalgeluid opleveren. Een beetje zoals The Lemonheads of Adventures klinken. Bij de eerste beluistering klinkt alles een beetje als één pot nat, maar na enkele keren beginnen zich de verschillen tussen de songs af te tekenen. Enkele songs zijn zeker en vast de moeite waard, zoals To Exceed, To archieve dat prettig in het gehoor liggend gitaarwerk bevat en dat met zijn vier minuten tevens de langste song is.

De meeste songs zijn zo'n drie minuten lang. Het refrein wordt in het merendeel van de tracks als een samenzang gebracht. In Up On The Rocks slaat de stem van de zanger soms bewust wat over, wat een aardig effect oplevert. Hi, Give Me The Disease is nog zo’n catchy track. In totaal staan er zo’n negen songs op Vigils.

Ze klinken wat als vintage 90s, maar het debuutalbum heeft wel diepgang als je er je tijd voor neemt. Een album met goede songs en catchy melodieën, dat tijdens een eerste beluistering wat vrijblijvend klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils 09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis