tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : HIGHRIDER - Armageddon Rock

HIGHRIDER

Armageddon Rock

MusicCD (EP)
Hard RockMetal

[75/100]   

The Sign Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Swedes of High Rider create an uppercut of 21 minutes of hard rock/metal that is dominated by organs and keys from the seventies and which provide the drive of the songs with heavy riffs and pounding drums. The screaming, raw vocals by Andreas Fagerbergs give it a grim and dystopian feel.

Four songs are included. The Moment (Plutonium) starts with a great intro, while the rest of the song is rather ordinary, even if the dark organ sounds great. S = Txl begins with a fat riff and evokes a hard rock 'n roll feel. A nice track with a pretty chorus and some nice guitar licks. Agony Of Limbo starts in the same way and the organs are more at the fore. Semen, Mud and Blood sounds like thrash metal, but the song is not really convincing.

With this debut EP, High Rider is trying to win a place in the hard rock/metal genre. They partly succeed,, mainly through the use of the organs, vocals and rhythms. This EP is not bad. I wonder how they will develop in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Zweden van Highrider delen gedurende 21 minuten een uppercut uit met hardrock/metal die zwaar aangedreven wordt door orgels en keys uit de jaren zeventig en die zorgen voor de drive in de songs, in combinatie met heavy riffs en stampende drums. De krijsende, rauwe zang van Andreas Fagerbergs maakt dat we eerder een luguber en dystopisch geheel horen.

Vier songs waarvan The Moment (Plutonium) een heerlijke intro heeft. De rest van de song is eerder gewoon. Lichtpuntje is het donkere orgel. S=Txl start met een vette riff en refereert aan harde rock 'n roll. Een leuke track met een aardig refrein en wat leuke gitaarlicks. Agony of Limbo start op dezelfde manier en de orgels komen nog wat meer naar voren. In samenspel met de gitaren, levert dat een heel fijne track op. Semen, Mud and Blood neigt wat naar trashmetal, maar de song kan mij niet echt overtuigen.

Met deze debuut-ep probeert Highrider een originele plaats te veroveren in het hardrock/metalgenre. Dat lukt deels, o.a. door het gebruik van de orgels en de naar hardcore neigende zang en ritmes. Als ep zeker niet onaardig. Vooral S=Txl en Agony of Limbo zijn de moeite waard. Benieuwd hoe ze zich in de toekomst ontwikkelen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation