tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WILDHEART - WILDHEART

WILDHEART

WILDHEART

MusicCD
GlamrockMetal

[78/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When seeing the band photos of this Belgian hard rock/glam metal band, I think I’m back in the 80's. Poses, clothes and even the music, they all remind me to that period.

The melodic songs and catchy riffs sound a bit like Ratt, Motley Crue, Dokken or early Scorpions. Everything's right here: the singing, the guitar, the drums and the production.

Catchy songs, not innovative or original, but it sounds almost vintage and it works well. The choruses have a high sing-along content. Lyrically, you would not expect any depth: subjects about conquering the hearts of girls or going out.

When you like this genre, then you hear a Belgian debut album that contains all the elements of the genre: the return of the long-haired style, but it is not intended as a gimmick.

The best songs for me are: On The Run, Never Let Go (nice guitar work and fine chorus) Beautiful Regret (a ballad) and Save Me. The First Glance is a short atmospheric instrumental track, and together with Beautiful Regret, it is the counterweight of the power songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Als ik de bandfoto’s van deze Belgische hardrock/glammetalband bekijk, dan waan ik mij terug in de jaren 80. De kledij en de poses doen mij aan die periode denken. Ook de muziek trouwens. De melodische songs en de catchy riffs klinken een beetje zoals Ratt, Mötley Crue, Dokken, de jonge Scorpions… Alles klopt wel aan deze muziek: de zang, de gitaren, de drums en de productie. Aanstekelijke songs. Vernieuwend en erg origineel klinkt het niet, haast vintage, maar het zit wel goed in elkaar. De refreinen hebben een hoog meezinggehalte. Tekstueel moet je niet te veel diepgang verwachten. Ze gaan over meiden versieren, uitgaan en rondhangen. Ze staan vooral ten dienste van de muziek.

Sta je open voor dit genre, dan heb je hier een Belgische band met een debuut dat al de elementen van het genre bevat: de tijd van de lange haarkapsels herleeft zonder dat er sprake is van een gimmick. Muzikaal hebben de heren wel het één en ander in petto.

De beste songs zijn voor mij: On The Run, Never Let Go (mooi gitaarwerk en fijn refrein), Beautiful Regret (sfeervolle ballade) en Save Me. The First Glance is een korte sfeervolle instrumentale track en samen met Beautiful Regret vormt hij het tegenwicht voor de powervolle songs.

Op korte tijd maakte deze band nogal wat furore op diverse podia wat ervoor zorgde dat hij op festivals als Headbanger’s Balls, Blast From The Past en Summerrock mocht aantreden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)