tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WILDHEART - WILDHEART

WILDHEART

WILDHEART

MusicCD
GlamrockMetal

[78/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When seeing the band photos of this Belgian hard rock/glam metal band, I think I’m back in the 80's. Poses, clothes and even the music, they all remind me to that period.

The melodic songs and catchy riffs sound a bit like Ratt, Motley Crue, Dokken or early Scorpions. Everything's right here: the singing, the guitar, the drums and the production.

Catchy songs, not innovative or original, but it sounds almost vintage and it works well. The choruses have a high sing-along content. Lyrically, you would not expect any depth: subjects about conquering the hearts of girls or going out.

When you like this genre, then you hear a Belgian debut album that contains all the elements of the genre: the return of the long-haired style, but it is not intended as a gimmick.

The best songs for me are: On The Run, Never Let Go (nice guitar work and fine chorus) Beautiful Regret (a ballad) and Save Me. The First Glance is a short atmospheric instrumental track, and together with Beautiful Regret, it is the counterweight of the power songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Als ik de bandfoto’s van deze Belgische hardrock/glammetalband bekijk, dan waan ik mij terug in de jaren 80. De kledij en de poses doen mij aan die periode denken. Ook de muziek trouwens. De melodische songs en de catchy riffs klinken een beetje zoals Ratt, Mötley Crue, Dokken, de jonge Scorpions… Alles klopt wel aan deze muziek: de zang, de gitaren, de drums en de productie. Aanstekelijke songs. Vernieuwend en erg origineel klinkt het niet, haast vintage, maar het zit wel goed in elkaar. De refreinen hebben een hoog meezinggehalte. Tekstueel moet je niet te veel diepgang verwachten. Ze gaan over meiden versieren, uitgaan en rondhangen. Ze staan vooral ten dienste van de muziek.

Sta je open voor dit genre, dan heb je hier een Belgische band met een debuut dat al de elementen van het genre bevat: de tijd van de lange haarkapsels herleeft zonder dat er sprake is van een gimmick. Muzikaal hebben de heren wel het één en ander in petto.

De beste songs zijn voor mij: On The Run, Never Let Go (mooi gitaarwerk en fijn refrein), Beautiful Regret (sfeervolle ballade) en Save Me. The First Glance is een korte sfeervolle instrumentale track en samen met Beautiful Regret vormt hij het tegenwicht voor de powervolle songs.

Op korte tijd maakte deze band nogal wat furore op diverse podia wat ervoor zorgde dat hij op festivals als Headbanger’s Balls, Blast From The Past en Summerrock mocht aantreden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall