tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WILDHEART - WILDHEART

WILDHEART

WILDHEART

MusicCD
GlamrockMetal

[78/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When seeing the band photos of this Belgian hard rock/glam metal band, I think I’m back in the 80's. Poses, clothes and even the music, they all remind me to that period.

The melodic songs and catchy riffs sound a bit like Ratt, Motley Crue, Dokken or early Scorpions. Everything's right here: the singing, the guitar, the drums and the production.

Catchy songs, not innovative or original, but it sounds almost vintage and it works well. The choruses have a high sing-along content. Lyrically, you would not expect any depth: subjects about conquering the hearts of girls or going out.

When you like this genre, then you hear a Belgian debut album that contains all the elements of the genre: the return of the long-haired style, but it is not intended as a gimmick.

The best songs for me are: On The Run, Never Let Go (nice guitar work and fine chorus) Beautiful Regret (a ballad) and Save Me. The First Glance is a short atmospheric instrumental track, and together with Beautiful Regret, it is the counterweight of the power songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Als ik de bandfoto’s van deze Belgische hardrock/glammetalband bekijk, dan waan ik mij terug in de jaren 80. De kledij en de poses doen mij aan die periode denken. Ook de muziek trouwens. De melodische songs en de catchy riffs klinken een beetje zoals Ratt, Mötley Crue, Dokken, de jonge Scorpions… Alles klopt wel aan deze muziek: de zang, de gitaren, de drums en de productie. Aanstekelijke songs. Vernieuwend en erg origineel klinkt het niet, haast vintage, maar het zit wel goed in elkaar. De refreinen hebben een hoog meezinggehalte. Tekstueel moet je niet te veel diepgang verwachten. Ze gaan over meiden versieren, uitgaan en rondhangen. Ze staan vooral ten dienste van de muziek.

Sta je open voor dit genre, dan heb je hier een Belgische band met een debuut dat al de elementen van het genre bevat: de tijd van de lange haarkapsels herleeft zonder dat er sprake is van een gimmick. Muzikaal hebben de heren wel het één en ander in petto.

De beste songs zijn voor mij: On The Run, Never Let Go (mooi gitaarwerk en fijn refrein), Beautiful Regret (sfeervolle ballade) en Save Me. The First Glance is een korte sfeervolle instrumentale track en samen met Beautiful Regret vormt hij het tegenwicht voor de powervolle songs.

Op korte tijd maakte deze band nogal wat furore op diverse podia wat ervoor zorgde dat hij op festivals als Headbanger’s Balls, Blast From The Past en Summerrock mocht aantreden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa