tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Transmission Wave-West

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Transmission Wave-West

MusicCD
Cold WaveElectro RockNew wavePost Punk

[78/100]   

Infrastition
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

The list of French alternative bands is endless. And which label is better than Infrastition to check this out? This French label already released many compilations. Transmission Wave-West is the latest in the series and is concentrated on the French underground from Brittany, from 1980 to 1991.

The sole thing these bands have in common (except the place they come from) is that they all make some sort of wave, but in a very wide range.

The disc starts with Brume. Un Visage Sans Vie (what a name!). Think of The Sisters Of Mercy and you're already half way: a perfect blend of post-punk and traditional goth rock.

Bunter Guillaume has a typical French cold wave sound, the cabaret sound of Clair Obscur surely was an influence. Not very easy to digest, but nonetheless great.

The obscure (you mostly will find obscure bands here) Cet Hyvers makes synthetic post-punk. Perhaps you're familiar with the minimal sounds of Complot Bronswick. A Chaque Instant is taken from the album A Kind Of Blue, that was released in 1990 and features Peter Principle of Tuxedomoon on guitar. And believe it or not, it even sounds a bit like Tuxedomoon.

If you're familiar with the releases on Crammed Discs, then you probably know the raw rock music that Dominic Sonic makes. When My Tears Run Cold is taken from his 1989 debut album that sold over 40,000 copies.

End Of Data is included a well. Dans Votre Monde is typical French electro wave with a touch of Etienne Daho.

Everybody has the right to have a favorite and mine surely is Evening Legions. No, I never heard of this band before, but the wave sound that is reminiscent of Modern English, works quite well.

Frakture is like Frakture always is: post-punk with the accent on punk. And that goes for Franz Kultur Et Les Kramés, while Les Nus actually sound like the name suggests: funny.

Marc Seberg is (despite the name) a band with members who once were in the French 70's rock band Marquis De Sade, which is included with one of the later songs as well: Final Fog (Brouillard Définitif) from 1980.

Senso reminds us a bit of the touching pop that Taxi Girl was known for.

The most weird track surely is Get No B Side For Mr Hyde DJ by Ubik.

This interesting album ends with some obscure minimal wave by Warsaw Pact.

An album for people who like to delve in the real underground, and who doesn't want to do so?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ME THE TIGER • Me The Tiger
RATIONAL YOUTH • Future Past Tense
WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS • Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Before The Tears
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
JET BANANA • Master is the Enemy
MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) • Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)
AMBASSADOR 21 • Brussels, Magasin 4 (03/06/2016)
MESSIER 39 • Coil
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire