tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

MESSIER 39

Coil

MusicCD (EP)
MinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Messier 39 is an open cluster in the constellation Cygnus, formed some 230 to 300 million years ago, with a diameter of 7 light years. Fascinating? Yes, but it’s also the name of a Belgian duo that is formed in 2015 by Jan Vinoelst and Ludwika Jakubowska. Now, a year later, a first EP Coil is released. The duo brings authentic synth wave and minimal.

Hiraeth is the opening track: a typical synth wave song as we know from bands like Hante and Selofan. A mesmerizing, somewhat intriguing and mysterious melody opens Thin. The voice by Ludwika is in a lower range here, but with a moving melody that fits perfectly with the vocals. Shroud is in the same style.

There is enough variation in the songs, Satellite is a more synth pop-like song in terms of melody and arrangement. It sounds a bit more contemporary than the rest, which has a typical eighties synth wave sound.

This first EP puts this duo on the map. The tracks sound smooth and dark, with the use of analog machinery. I am hungry for more!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Messier 39 is een open sterrenhoop in het sterrenbeeld Zwaan. 230 tot 300 miljoen jaar geleden gevormd, met een diameter van 7 lichtjaren. Boeiend? Ja... onze kennis over dit hoopje sterren reikt niet verder dan wat Wikipedia vertelt. Dan maar naar die andere, Belgische en muzikale Messier 39. Jan Vinoelst en Ludwika Jakubowska startten de samenwerking begin 2015. We zijn een dik jaar later en een eerste ep is boven de doopvont gehouden: Coil. Het duo brengt authentieke synthwave en minimal.

Hiraeth is de openingstrack: een typische synthwavesong zoals we die kennen van bands als Hante en Selofan. Een bezwerende, ietwat intrigerende en mysterieuze melodie opent Thin. Vocaal gezien zit de stem van Ludwika wat in de lagere regionen, met her en der een flinke uithaal. Een hoekige ritmesectie en een voortschrijdende melodie werken perfect samen met de stem. Shroud is een song in dezelfde stijl.

Variatie genoeg in de songs, zo is Satellite een meer synthpop-achtige song wat betreft melodie en arrangement. Hij klinkt iets hedendaagser dan de voor de rest typerende eightiessynthwavesound.

Met deze eerste ep geeft dit duo méér dan een visitekaartje af. De tracks klinken vlot en donker en ze grijpen terug naar de analoge machinerie die de typische synthwavesound voortbrengt. Het is nu al vingerlikkend uitkijken naar méér...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

 

Next reviews
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
AN PIERLE • Arches
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
INVOKE THE INSULT • You Can Trust
SPOOKYLAND • Beauty Already Beautiful
FEWS • Means
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
QUAL • Sable
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DEEP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley

Music reviews

24
09
MOGWAI
Every Country's Sun
22
09
CULT WITH NO NAME
Heir Of The Dog
20
09
THE NAMES
German Nights
18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
THE WEATHERMEN
The inside story of how The Weathermen's big hit 'Poison' was made...
19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs

PHOTOS

25
09
ASH CODE
Electrowerkz, London, UK
24
09
HONEYMOON COWBOYS
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
DA GEIST
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
GROUND NERO
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
SYGO CRIES
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
HERMETIC ELECTRIC
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
24
09
DIE KRUPPS
Isolation
23
09
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
09
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
21
09
THE CURE
The Lovecats
20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love