tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

MESSIER 39

Coil

MusicCD (EP)
MinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Messier 39 is an open cluster in the constellation Cygnus, formed some 230 to 300 million years ago, with a diameter of 7 light years. Fascinating? Yes, but it’s also the name of a Belgian duo that is formed in 2015 by Jan Vinoelst and Ludwika Jakubowska. Now, a year later, a first EP Coil is released. The duo brings authentic synth wave and minimal.

Hiraeth is the opening track: a typical synth wave song as we know from bands like Hante and Selofan. A mesmerizing, somewhat intriguing and mysterious melody opens Thin. The voice by Ludwika is in a lower range here, but with a moving melody that fits perfectly with the vocals. Shroud is in the same style.

There is enough variation in the songs, Satellite is a more synth pop-like song in terms of melody and arrangement. It sounds a bit more contemporary than the rest, which has a typical eighties synth wave sound.

This first EP puts this duo on the map. The tracks sound smooth and dark, with the use of analog machinery. I am hungry for more!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Messier 39 is een open sterrenhoop in het sterrenbeeld Zwaan. 230 tot 300 miljoen jaar geleden gevormd, met een diameter van 7 lichtjaren. Boeiend? Ja... onze kennis over dit hoopje sterren reikt niet verder dan wat Wikipedia vertelt. Dan maar naar die andere, Belgische en muzikale Messier 39. Jan Vinoelst en Ludwika Jakubowska startten de samenwerking begin 2015. We zijn een dik jaar later en een eerste ep is boven de doopvont gehouden: Coil. Het duo brengt authentieke synthwave en minimal.

Hiraeth is de openingstrack: een typische synthwavesong zoals we die kennen van bands als Hante en Selofan. Een bezwerende, ietwat intrigerende en mysterieuze melodie opent Thin. Vocaal gezien zit de stem van Ludwika wat in de lagere regionen, met her en der een flinke uithaal. Een hoekige ritmesectie en een voortschrijdende melodie werken perfect samen met de stem. Shroud is een song in dezelfde stijl.

Variatie genoeg in de songs, zo is Satellite een meer synthpop-achtige song wat betreft melodie en arrangement. Hij klinkt iets hedendaagser dan de voor de rest typerende eightiessynthwavesound.

Met deze eerste ep geeft dit duo méér dan een visitekaartje af. De tracks klinken vlot en donker en ze grijpen terug naar de analoge machinerie die de typische synthwavesound voortbrengt. Het is nu al vingerlikkend uitkijken naar méér...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

 

Next reviews
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
AN PIERLE • Arches
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
INVOKE THE INSULT • You Can Trust
SPOOKYLAND • Beauty Already Beautiful
FEWS • Means
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Other reviews from MESSIER 39
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain