tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

MESSIER 39

Coil

MusicCD (EP)
MinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Messier 39 is an open cluster in the constellation Cygnus, formed some 230 to 300 million years ago, with a diameter of 7 light years. Fascinating? Yes, but it’s also the name of a Belgian duo that is formed in 2015 by Jan Vinoelst and Ludwika Jakubowska. Now, a year later, a first EP Coil is released. The duo brings authentic synth wave and minimal.

Hiraeth is the opening track: a typical synth wave song as we know from bands like Hante and Selofan. A mesmerizing, somewhat intriguing and mysterious melody opens Thin. The voice by Ludwika is in a lower range here, but with a moving melody that fits perfectly with the vocals. Shroud is in the same style.

There is enough variation in the songs, Satellite is a more synth pop-like song in terms of melody and arrangement. It sounds a bit more contemporary than the rest, which has a typical eighties synth wave sound.

This first EP puts this duo on the map. The tracks sound smooth and dark, with the use of analog machinery. I am hungry for more!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Messier 39 is een open sterrenhoop in het sterrenbeeld Zwaan. 230 tot 300 miljoen jaar geleden gevormd, met een diameter van 7 lichtjaren. Boeiend? Ja... onze kennis over dit hoopje sterren reikt niet verder dan wat Wikipedia vertelt. Dan maar naar die andere, Belgische en muzikale Messier 39. Jan Vinoelst en Ludwika Jakubowska startten de samenwerking begin 2015. We zijn een dik jaar later en een eerste ep is boven de doopvont gehouden: Coil. Het duo brengt authentieke synthwave en minimal.

Hiraeth is de openingstrack: een typische synthwavesong zoals we die kennen van bands als Hante en Selofan. Een bezwerende, ietwat intrigerende en mysterieuze melodie opent Thin. Vocaal gezien zit de stem van Ludwika wat in de lagere regionen, met her en der een flinke uithaal. Een hoekige ritmesectie en een voortschrijdende melodie werken perfect samen met de stem. Shroud is een song in dezelfde stijl.

Variatie genoeg in de songs, zo is Satellite een meer synthpop-achtige song wat betreft melodie en arrangement. Hij klinkt iets hedendaagser dan de voor de rest typerende eightiessynthwavesound.

Met deze eerste ep geeft dit duo méér dan een visitekaartje af. De tracks klinken vlot en donker en ze grijpen terug naar de analoge machinerie die de typische synthwavesound voortbrengt. Het is nu al vingerlikkend uitkijken naar méér...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

 

Next reviews
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
AN PIERLE • Arches
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
INVOKE THE INSULT • You Can Trust
SPOOKYLAND • Beauty Already Beautiful
FEWS • Means
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
QUAL • Sable
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DEEP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley

Music reviews

17
07
THE ART OF NOISE
In Visible Silence
15
07
KRAFTWERK
3-D Catalogue
13
07
DER PLAN
Unkapitulierbar
11
07
PENGUIN CAFE
The Imperfect Sea
09
07
PIG
Prey & Obey (EP)
05
07
SPECTRA PARIS
Retromachine Betty

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
07
INFEST 2017 LINE-UP COMPLETE with DIE KRUPPS & They Called him Zone!
20
07
BLACK LINE, the new (EBM) all - star band featuring Nitzer Ebb's Douglas McCarthy & Bon Harris!
19
07
Industrial Goth/Rock band PORN is back with their third album : The Ogre inside
18
07
New single from Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin’ online!
18
07
Tuxedomoon's bassist and co-composer, Peter Principle Dachert, died at the age of 63
17
07
Hot town - amphi in the city - part 3 final (PARTY / VARIOUS)

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA / SPECTRA*PARIS)
I can in total freedom listen to Joy Division, SPK, Muse and Britney Spears...
12
07
NYTT LAND
‘OUR MAIN SOURCES OF INSPIRATION ARE THE SIBERIAN NATURE’
10
07
LIFELESS PAST
'In October 2017 we are going on our first international tour. We are going for 10 days to California in October. We will play in L.A., Oakland, San Francisco and San Diego.'
16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’

PHOTOS

02
07
COVENANT
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
02
07
MILDREDA
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ELM
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
VUDUVOX
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
X MOUTH SYNDROME
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
LLUMEN
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ARSENIC OF JABIR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
07
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
23
07
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE
21
07
PSYCHE
Eternal
20
07
BLACK LINE
Snap
19
07
BLONDIE
Long Time
18
07
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
17
07
XOTOX
Eisenkiller