tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

MESSIER 39

Coil

MusicCD (EP)
MinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Messier 39 is an open cluster in the constellation Cygnus, formed some 230 to 300 million years ago, with a diameter of 7 light years. Fascinating? Yes, but it’s also the name of a Belgian duo that is formed in 2015 by Jan Vinoelst and Ludwika Jakubowska. Now, a year later, a first EP Coil is released. The duo brings authentic synth wave and minimal.

Hiraeth is the opening track: a typical synth wave song as we know from bands like Hante and Selofan. A mesmerizing, somewhat intriguing and mysterious melody opens Thin. The voice by Ludwika is in a lower range here, but with a moving melody that fits perfectly with the vocals. Shroud is in the same style.

There is enough variation in the songs, Satellite is a more synth pop-like song in terms of melody and arrangement. It sounds a bit more contemporary than the rest, which has a typical eighties synth wave sound.

This first EP puts this duo on the map. The tracks sound smooth and dark, with the use of analog machinery. I am hungry for more!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Messier 39 is een open sterrenhoop in het sterrenbeeld Zwaan. 230 tot 300 miljoen jaar geleden gevormd, met een diameter van 7 lichtjaren. Boeiend? Ja... onze kennis over dit hoopje sterren reikt niet verder dan wat Wikipedia vertelt. Dan maar naar die andere, Belgische en muzikale Messier 39. Jan Vinoelst en Ludwika Jakubowska startten de samenwerking begin 2015. We zijn een dik jaar later en een eerste ep is boven de doopvont gehouden: Coil. Het duo brengt authentieke synthwave en minimal.

Hiraeth is de openingstrack: een typische synthwavesong zoals we die kennen van bands als Hante en Selofan. Een bezwerende, ietwat intrigerende en mysterieuze melodie opent Thin. Vocaal gezien zit de stem van Ludwika wat in de lagere regionen, met her en der een flinke uithaal. Een hoekige ritmesectie en een voortschrijdende melodie werken perfect samen met de stem. Shroud is een song in dezelfde stijl.

Variatie genoeg in de songs, zo is Satellite een meer synthpop-achtige song wat betreft melodie en arrangement. Hij klinkt iets hedendaagser dan de voor de rest typerende eightiessynthwavesound.

Met deze eerste ep geeft dit duo méér dan een visitekaartje af. De tracks klinken vlot en donker en ze grijpen terug naar de analoge machinerie die de typische synthwavesound voortbrengt. Het is nu al vingerlikkend uitkijken naar méér...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

Music reviews

25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut