tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

MESSIER 39

Coil

MusicCD (EP)
MinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Messier 39 is an open cluster in the constellation Cygnus, formed some 230 to 300 million years ago, with a diameter of 7 light years. Fascinating? Yes, but it’s also the name of a Belgian duo that is formed in 2015 by Jan Vinoelst and Ludwika Jakubowska. Now, a year later, a first EP Coil is released. The duo brings authentic synth wave and minimal.

Hiraeth is the opening track: a typical synth wave song as we know from bands like Hante and Selofan. A mesmerizing, somewhat intriguing and mysterious melody opens Thin. The voice by Ludwika is in a lower range here, but with a moving melody that fits perfectly with the vocals. Shroud is in the same style.

There is enough variation in the songs, Satellite is a more synth pop-like song in terms of melody and arrangement. It sounds a bit more contemporary than the rest, which has a typical eighties synth wave sound.

This first EP puts this duo on the map. The tracks sound smooth and dark, with the use of analog machinery. I am hungry for more!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Messier 39 is een open sterrenhoop in het sterrenbeeld Zwaan. 230 tot 300 miljoen jaar geleden gevormd, met een diameter van 7 lichtjaren. Boeiend? Ja... onze kennis over dit hoopje sterren reikt niet verder dan wat Wikipedia vertelt. Dan maar naar die andere, Belgische en muzikale Messier 39. Jan Vinoelst en Ludwika Jakubowska startten de samenwerking begin 2015. We zijn een dik jaar later en een eerste ep is boven de doopvont gehouden: Coil. Het duo brengt authentieke synthwave en minimal.

Hiraeth is de openingstrack: een typische synthwavesong zoals we die kennen van bands als Hante en Selofan. Een bezwerende, ietwat intrigerende en mysterieuze melodie opent Thin. Vocaal gezien zit de stem van Ludwika wat in de lagere regionen, met her en der een flinke uithaal. Een hoekige ritmesectie en een voortschrijdende melodie werken perfect samen met de stem. Shroud is een song in dezelfde stijl.

Variatie genoeg in de songs, zo is Satellite een meer synthpop-achtige song wat betreft melodie en arrangement. Hij klinkt iets hedendaagser dan de voor de rest typerende eightiessynthwavesound.

Met deze eerste ep geeft dit duo méér dan een visitekaartje af. De tracks klinken vlot en donker en ze grijpen terug naar de analoge machinerie die de typische synthwavesound voortbrengt. Het is nu al vingerlikkend uitkijken naar méér...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39 - Coil

 

Next reviews
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
AN PIERLE • Arches
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
INVOKE THE INSULT • You Can Trust
SPOOKYLAND • Beauty Already Beautiful
FEWS • Means
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
QUAL • Sable
PSYCHEDELIC HEADSHOT • Ererything is gone
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley

Music reviews

20
11
ELEZORIA
Astray
16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

22
11
SIRENIA
Once My Light
21
11
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
20
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance