tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : GRIMBERGEN - The Passing Of Time

GRIMBERGEN

The Passing Of Time

MusicDigital
Dark AmbientPost Rock

[79/100]   
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Naming your band after a Belgian beer. Well, at least it gives you some extra points. Nathan Clemence actually doesn't need them as his music is so superb that you actually forget about that name.

His previous album A Lonely Place was released on the prestigious Steinklang label, but when the Austrian label decided to release only neo-folk, Nathan’s project was dropped. The sole option: the old DIY-way. The Passing Of A Time is Nathan’s newest work and it consists of nine tracks with a total time of almost 70 minutes. The music of this Englishman, who lives in London, has a link to Cold Meat Industry. The dark ambient sounds refer to classic bands like Raison D’Etre or Deutsch Nepal.

The instrumental compositions all have a cinematic feel. The listener is caught in Grimbergen’s web. It is music that sounds both frightening and magical.

Of course we are aware of the fact that you can find lots of these kind of releases (scroll ten minutes through the net and you have hundreds of them), but Grimbergen stands apart because of its intriguing tunes. Recommended for fans of Lustmord, Coil and of course all those Cold Meat Industry bands.

The CD is available on Bandcamp.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure