tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/05/2021 : CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX - Ellengæng

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX

Ellengæng

MusicCD
Alternative RockAmbientPost RockPsych RockPsychedelicSoundscape 07/05/2021, Claudia BLACK

This album is awesome!!! The end!! Oh sorry, you want some more information to pad this review out? Ok then, this album grabs your attention from track one and refuses to let go until the very end. The whole piece has a bouncy and punchy attitude throughout that reminds me of doing fartlek training on a long run. Wherever the sound takes you, you just go with it, you enjoy the ups and the downs in equal measures and those measures add up to a 55-minute long journey of pure satisfaction!! Ebow is prevalent throughout the album to give an eerie floaty feel, which in some places does not feel eerie at all, it’s a, I don't know, a purgatorial feeling that could go either way. Justine Greaves states that the album is a collection of thoughts and feelings about our existence in the world and also about crossing into other dimensions and how we all have spirits and demons and how we can be both strong and weak. Yep, that adds to what I get from the music!

‘’What does it sound like, give me some similarities to latch on to!!’’ I hear you say. Ok, think Pink Floyd or The Eden House crossed with Kate Bush, God Is An Astronaut and Fields Of The Nephilim whilst Patricia Louise Crane goes for a meander through the middle! Get the picture?? You’ve got an Ulver vibe on opening track ‘’Ship Of Fools’’. ‘’Lost’’ is like a midnight swim in a vast body of water with the only light coming from moonlight shining from behind a bank of clouds. The light on the water pointing in a direction other than the one home. The drums creep like mist along the black wet surface enveloping everything before it! And voices like sirens coax you into cloudy depths. Love it! A girl, I know not who opens the next track by talking about getting her mothers attention but could not get it so she broke things and threw tantrums but at the same time did not want other people to see how upset she was. She tries to be strong behind a wall of her own making and not caring about anything! Then, a gravelly voice in the Laibach style takes over backed up by a mournful beat suffused with an imperceptible vein of stubbornness! Still, i get an image of black waters in my head, snakes and pin sharp teeth. This is where the Kate Bush feel kicks in. This is an eerie, chilly track that has the aforementioned stubbornness hammered into it!

‘’Cry For Love’’ is the Fields Of The Nephilim sounding track that also has me harking back to the mid 1980’s when the band was in its heyday along with The Mission, Rose Of Avalanche, The March Violets and Red Lorry Yellow Lorry. A little bit of piano now for those of you who like a bit of ivory tinkle. Lazy meandering and lolling with a hint of gritted teeth menace all wrapped up in a dark sleazy 18th century music hall. Smoke and debauchery, drowned sorrows and ‘’I don’t give a fuckery’’ A guitar mirrors the screaming of hundreds of souls… Love it! The vocal is like PJ Harvey singing from the depths of a Seraglio.

Ted Bundy whines about the existence of hell. A hell he put many women through and a hell he put himself in before his termination. Hell exists! We create it for ourselves and others create it for us. We walk through the corridors of this place mostly alone. If one is lucky enough to have a companion on this walk through the fiery domain of serpents…? This is’’ (-)’’‘An aural depiction of Inferno, Dante's Inferno, your inferno, my inferno. And then there are the words of wisdom emanating from the next offering, ‘’The Invisible Past’’. Veins and slivers of hope. ‘’It’s ok to be afraid!!’’ the lyric goes. Out that fear strength and resilience fester and bloom.

To top off the album, after 45 minutes or so, a cover of ‘’She’s In Parties’’ by that well-known eighties beat combo, Bauhaus, brings the journey to a close. Perfectly in keeping with the vibe of the album, the only difference from the original is the addition of a keyboard line

Track List

1 - House Of Fools
2 - Lost
3 - In The Night
4 - Cry Of Love
5 - Everything I Say
6 - (-)
7 - The Invisible Past
8 - She’s In Parties

Line - Up

Justin Greaves - Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitars, Bass, Drums (studio), Saw, Keyboards, Banjo, Effects, Samples, Backing Vocals

Belinda Kordic - Vocals, Percussions

Helen Stanley - Piano, keyboards, Synth, Trumpet, Vocals, Backing Vocals

Andy Taylor - Guitars

https://www.crippledblackphoenix.net

Claudia BLACK
07/05/2021


07/05/2021 : CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX - Ellengæng 07/05/2021 : CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX - Ellengæng

 

Next reviews
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover