tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/05/2021 : CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX - Ellengæng

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX

Ellengæng

MusicCD
Alternative RockAmbientPost RockPsych RockPsychedelicSoundscape 07/05/2021, Claudia BLACK

This album is awesome!!! The end!! Oh sorry, you want some more information to pad this review out? Ok then, this album grabs your attention from track one and refuses to let go until the very end. The whole piece has a bouncy and punchy attitude throughout that reminds me of doing fartlek training on a long run. Wherever the sound takes you, you just go with it, you enjoy the ups and the downs in equal measures and those measures add up to a 55-minute long journey of pure satisfaction!! Ebow is prevalent throughout the album to give an eerie floaty feel, which in some places does not feel eerie at all, it’s a, I don't know, a purgatorial feeling that could go either way. Justine Greaves states that the album is a collection of thoughts and feelings about our existence in the world and also about crossing into other dimensions and how we all have spirits and demons and how we can be both strong and weak. Yep, that adds to what I get from the music!

‘’What does it sound like, give me some similarities to latch on to!!’’ I hear you say. Ok, think Pink Floyd or The Eden House crossed with Kate Bush, God Is An Astronaut and Fields Of The Nephilim whilst Patricia Louise Crane goes for a meander through the middle! Get the picture?? You’ve got an Ulver vibe on opening track ‘’Ship Of Fools’’. ‘’Lost’’ is like a midnight swim in a vast body of water with the only light coming from moonlight shining from behind a bank of clouds. The light on the water pointing in a direction other than the one home. The drums creep like mist along the black wet surface enveloping everything before it! And voices like sirens coax you into cloudy depths. Love it! A girl, I know not who opens the next track by talking about getting her mothers attention but could not get it so she broke things and threw tantrums but at the same time did not want other people to see how upset she was. She tries to be strong behind a wall of her own making and not caring about anything! Then, a gravelly voice in the Laibach style takes over backed up by a mournful beat suffused with an imperceptible vein of stubbornness! Still, i get an image of black waters in my head, snakes and pin sharp teeth. This is where the Kate Bush feel kicks in. This is an eerie, chilly track that has the aforementioned stubbornness hammered into it!

‘’Cry For Love’’ is the Fields Of The Nephilim sounding track that also has me harking back to the mid 1980’s when the band was in its heyday along with The Mission, Rose Of Avalanche, The March Violets and Red Lorry Yellow Lorry. A little bit of piano now for those of you who like a bit of ivory tinkle. Lazy meandering and lolling with a hint of gritted teeth menace all wrapped up in a dark sleazy 18th century music hall. Smoke and debauchery, drowned sorrows and ‘’I don’t give a fuckery’’ A guitar mirrors the screaming of hundreds of souls… Love it! The vocal is like PJ Harvey singing from the depths of a Seraglio.

Ted Bundy whines about the existence of hell. A hell he put many women through and a hell he put himself in before his termination. Hell exists! We create it for ourselves and others create it for us. We walk through the corridors of this place mostly alone. If one is lucky enough to have a companion on this walk through the fiery domain of serpents…? This is’’ (-)’’‘An aural depiction of Inferno, Dante's Inferno, your inferno, my inferno. And then there are the words of wisdom emanating from the next offering, ‘’The Invisible Past’’. Veins and slivers of hope. ‘’It’s ok to be afraid!!’’ the lyric goes. Out that fear strength and resilience fester and bloom.

To top off the album, after 45 minutes or so, a cover of ‘’She’s In Parties’’ by that well-known eighties beat combo, Bauhaus, brings the journey to a close. Perfectly in keeping with the vibe of the album, the only difference from the original is the addition of a keyboard line

Track List

1 - House Of Fools
2 - Lost
3 - In The Night
4 - Cry Of Love
5 - Everything I Say
6 - (-)
7 - The Invisible Past
8 - She’s In Parties

Line - Up

Justin Greaves - Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitars, Bass, Drums (studio), Saw, Keyboards, Banjo, Effects, Samples, Backing Vocals

Belinda Kordic - Vocals, Percussions

Helen Stanley - Piano, keyboards, Synth, Trumpet, Vocals, Backing Vocals

Andy Taylor - Guitars

https://www.crippledblackphoenix.net

Claudia BLACK
07/05/2021


07/05/2021 : CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX - Ellengæng 07/05/2021 : CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX - Ellengæng

 

Next reviews
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In