tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges

POTOCHKINE

Sortilèges

MusicCD / Digital
DarkwaveElectro

[85/100]   

Self-released
21/04/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Danceable weird French shit... That's the first thing that comes to mind when I hear Potochkine, a project which is rather an artproject than just music.

After a first release in 2018 (Potochkine, on Data Airlines Records), this duo (she, the enchanting voice and he, the hardware beast) wandered the globe, with gigs in Peru, Canada and Europe to prepare the release of their first single Pogo, a call of 150 BPM to start a revolution. A prelude in style for an album that is meant to be a statement: we should act and stand up, not react and follow.

The dark but trancy beats take you on a comfortable trip while the bewitching voice adds just a frightening, edgy 'je-ne-sais-quoi' that actually makes you feel the opposite: rather uncomfortable... It's almost like a biblical sermon that descends into your brain. It goes deeper and further than the average darkwave or EBM-band. Also the vocals in French beef up this feeling. It's not the cold and sharp German lyrics or the omnipresent English, but a romantic and attractive French voice that attires you to listen.

I like this contradiction and enjoy the experience. Now it's your turn to let this danceable weird French shit soak into your head... Don't be afraid: you might like it!

Last small detail: also available on cassette!

Peter DOLPHEN
21/04/2021


21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges 21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges 21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna