tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges

POTOCHKINE

Sortilèges

MusicCD / Digital
DarkwaveElectro

[85/100]   

Self-released
21/04/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Danceable weird French shit... That's the first thing that comes to mind when I hear Potochkine, a project which is rather an artproject than just music.

After a first release in 2018 (Potochkine, on Data Airlines Records), this duo (she, the enchanting voice and he, the hardware beast) wandered the globe, with gigs in Peru, Canada and Europe to prepare the release of their first single Pogo, a call of 150 BPM to start a revolution. A prelude in style for an album that is meant to be a statement: we should act and stand up, not react and follow.

The dark but trancy beats take you on a comfortable trip while the bewitching voice adds just a frightening, edgy 'je-ne-sais-quoi' that actually makes you feel the opposite: rather uncomfortable... It's almost like a biblical sermon that descends into your brain. It goes deeper and further than the average darkwave or EBM-band. Also the vocals in French beef up this feeling. It's not the cold and sharp German lyrics or the omnipresent English, but a romantic and attractive French voice that attires you to listen.

I like this contradiction and enjoy the experience. Now it's your turn to let this danceable weird French shit soak into your head... Don't be afraid: you might like it!

Last small detail: also available on cassette!

Peter DOLPHEN
21/04/2021


21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges 21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges 21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm