tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/04/2021 : TERMINAL SERIOUS - Love Was Lies

TERMINAL SERIOUS

Love Was Lies

MusicDigital
DarkwavePost Punk

[83/100]   

Self-released
18/04/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Italy has delivered some great post-punk bands in recent years and now Terminal Serious can also be added to that great list. It’s the solo project by mag Luigi Buonaiuto, who’s living in one of the cities that I already lost my heart to: Firenze.

This first album contains songs that are in general all about love, loneliness and the love for that loneliness. Worldly themes to which almost every artist or band has devoted one or more songs. And how do they take shape musically: with typical guitars sounds, which alternate from rippling, to sharply and occasionally aggressively slashing out. They do not always cut deeply and tend to have a more moderate sound, but always with an indie undertone, like ‘Lamb’. We also get the joys of some sturdier material like ‘Warporn’. Which, in addition to a sharp hooky bass line, contains shoe-gazing-surf-sound guitar-work, crackling and crispy.

We didn't talk about the vocals yet. Well, they are pure, dark and blend perfectly with the music that Luigi serves us. They are also far from monotonous. For example, in ‘Disorder’ we really get to hear a grave-voice, which then unfolds into a real high-quality and mature voice.

So where did Luigi get his mustard? I guess mostly from himself, although occasionally there is some Joy Division sounding through. Or at least some of that atmosphere, as in the most haunting song on this release imho, ‘Soul Misery’. A dance floor killer track on which I would like to show my not so sophisticated and anything but any style resembling dance moves. Several times some more dark-wave-tinted material sneaks by. ‘Eyes Of Child’ is one of those gems.

Overall: This is not the most innovative album in its genre. But what the hell, who cares! This is a very solid album with great post punk attitude. Without being sublime, it is very entertaining, varied enough and, in my opinion, a more than possible stayer. Go through this album yourself and enjoy like I have done, to the fullest!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/04/2021


NL

Italia levert wel meer geweldige postpunkbands af de laatste jaren. Aan dat al leuke rijtje mag vanaf nu ook Terminal Serious worden toegevoegd. Het is een soloproject van mag Luigi Buonaiuto, afkomstig uit één van de steden waaraan ik in Italië mijn hart reeds verloor: Firenze.

Zijn eersteling bevat songs die in globo gaan over de liefde, eenzaamheid en de liefde voor die eenzaamheid. Wereldse thema’s waar elke artiest of band ooit wel al één of meerdere nummers aan wijdde. En hoe krijgen die muzikaal vorm: in de typerende sounds van gitaren die ,dan weer kabbelend, dan weer scherp en snel en af en toe agressief in het rond slaan. Ze snijden niet steeds even diep en weerklinken regelmatig gematigd(er) maar met een indie-ondertoon, zoals Lamb. We krijgen ook de geneugten van wat steviger materiaal zoals Warporn. Die naast een snedige baslijn ook gitaarwerk herbergen met surfsounds, evenzeer als ze snerpend knetteren.

We hadden het nog niet over de zang. Wel, die is zuiver, donker en blend perfect bij de muziek die Luigi ons serveert. Ze is ook verre van ééntonig. Zo krijgen we in Disorder echt wel een grafstem te horen, die zich daarna ontvouwt tot een echt wel kwalitatief en volwassen stemgeluid.

Waar Luigi dan ook de mosterd haalde – voornamelijk bij zichzelf, vermoed ik – er klinkt af en toe wat Joy Division doorheen. Of toch die sfeer, zoals in het voor mij meest beklijvende nummer Soul Misery. Een floorkiller waarop ik graag mijn niet zo gesofistikeerde en alles behalve op welke stijl lijkende danspasjes tentoon wil spreiden. Er sluipt ook verschillende keren wat meer darkwave-getint materiaal voorbij. Zo is Eyes Of Child er ééntje van.

Overall: het is niet het meest vernieuwende album binnen het genre. But what the hell, who cares. Dit is een heel degelijk album met geweldige postpunk. Zonder subliem te zijn is het heel onderhoudend, afwisselend genoeg en naar mijn aanvoelen een mogelijke blijver. Ga zelf eens door dit digitale album en geniet. Ik heb dat alvast met volle teugen gedaan!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/04/2021


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face