tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/04/2021 : TERMINAL SERIOUS - Love Was Lies

TERMINAL SERIOUS

Love Was Lies

MusicDigital
DarkwavePost Punk

[83/100]   

Self-released
18/04/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Italy has delivered some great post-punk bands in recent years and now Terminal Serious can also be added to that great list. It’s the solo project by mag Luigi Buonaiuto, who’s living in one of the cities that I already lost my heart to: Firenze.

This first album contains songs that are in general all about love, loneliness and the love for that loneliness. Worldly themes to which almost every artist or band has devoted one or more songs. And how do they take shape musically: with typical guitars sounds, which alternate from rippling, to sharply and occasionally aggressively slashing out. They do not always cut deeply and tend to have a more moderate sound, but always with an indie undertone, like ‘Lamb’. We also get the joys of some sturdier material like ‘Warporn’. Which, in addition to a sharp hooky bass line, contains shoe-gazing-surf-sound guitar-work, crackling and crispy.

We didn't talk about the vocals yet. Well, they are pure, dark and blend perfectly with the music that Luigi serves us. They are also far from monotonous. For example, in ‘Disorder’ we really get to hear a grave-voice, which then unfolds into a real high-quality and mature voice.

So where did Luigi get his mustard? I guess mostly from himself, although occasionally there is some Joy Division sounding through. Or at least some of that atmosphere, as in the most haunting song on this release imho, ‘Soul Misery’. A dance floor killer track on which I would like to show my not so sophisticated and anything but any style resembling dance moves. Several times some more dark-wave-tinted material sneaks by. ‘Eyes Of Child’ is one of those gems.

Overall: This is not the most innovative album in its genre. But what the hell, who cares! This is a very solid album with great post punk attitude. Without being sublime, it is very entertaining, varied enough and, in my opinion, a more than possible stayer. Go through this album yourself and enjoy like I have done, to the fullest!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/04/2021


NL

Italia levert wel meer geweldige postpunkbands af de laatste jaren. Aan dat al leuke rijtje mag vanaf nu ook Terminal Serious worden toegevoegd. Het is een soloproject van mag Luigi Buonaiuto, afkomstig uit één van de steden waaraan ik in Italië mijn hart reeds verloor: Firenze.

Zijn eersteling bevat songs die in globo gaan over de liefde, eenzaamheid en de liefde voor die eenzaamheid. Wereldse thema’s waar elke artiest of band ooit wel al één of meerdere nummers aan wijdde. En hoe krijgen die muzikaal vorm: in de typerende sounds van gitaren die ,dan weer kabbelend, dan weer scherp en snel en af en toe agressief in het rond slaan. Ze snijden niet steeds even diep en weerklinken regelmatig gematigd(er) maar met een indie-ondertoon, zoals Lamb. We krijgen ook de geneugten van wat steviger materiaal zoals Warporn. Die naast een snedige baslijn ook gitaarwerk herbergen met surfsounds, evenzeer als ze snerpend knetteren.

We hadden het nog niet over de zang. Wel, die is zuiver, donker en blend perfect bij de muziek die Luigi ons serveert. Ze is ook verre van ééntonig. Zo krijgen we in Disorder echt wel een grafstem te horen, die zich daarna ontvouwt tot een echt wel kwalitatief en volwassen stemgeluid.

Waar Luigi dan ook de mosterd haalde – voornamelijk bij zichzelf, vermoed ik – er klinkt af en toe wat Joy Division doorheen. Of toch die sfeer, zoals in het voor mij meest beklijvende nummer Soul Misery. Een floorkiller waarop ik graag mijn niet zo gesofistikeerde en alles behalve op welke stijl lijkende danspasjes tentoon wil spreiden. Er sluipt ook verschillende keren wat meer darkwave-getint materiaal voorbij. Zo is Eyes Of Child er ééntje van.

Overall: het is niet het meest vernieuwende album binnen het genre. But what the hell, who cares. Dit is een heel degelijk album met geweldige postpunk. Zonder subliem te zijn is het heel onderhoudend, afwisselend genoeg en naar mijn aanvoelen een mogelijke blijver. Ga zelf eens door dit digitale album en geniet. Ik heb dat alvast met volle teugen gedaan!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/04/2021


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu