tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/04/2021 : TERMINAL SERIOUS - Love Was Lies

TERMINAL SERIOUS

Love Was Lies

MusicDigital
DarkwavePost Punk

[83/100]   

Self-released
18/04/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Italy has delivered some great post-punk bands in recent years and now Terminal Serious can also be added to that great list. It’s the solo project by mag Luigi Buonaiuto, who’s living in one of the cities that I already lost my heart to: Firenze.

This first album contains songs that are in general all about love, loneliness and the love for that loneliness. Worldly themes to which almost every artist or band has devoted one or more songs. And how do they take shape musically: with typical guitars sounds, which alternate from rippling, to sharply and occasionally aggressively slashing out. They do not always cut deeply and tend to have a more moderate sound, but always with an indie undertone, like ‘Lamb’. We also get the joys of some sturdier material like ‘Warporn’. Which, in addition to a sharp hooky bass line, contains shoe-gazing-surf-sound guitar-work, crackling and crispy.

We didn't talk about the vocals yet. Well, they are pure, dark and blend perfectly with the music that Luigi serves us. They are also far from monotonous. For example, in ‘Disorder’ we really get to hear a grave-voice, which then unfolds into a real high-quality and mature voice.

So where did Luigi get his mustard? I guess mostly from himself, although occasionally there is some Joy Division sounding through. Or at least some of that atmosphere, as in the most haunting song on this release imho, ‘Soul Misery’. A dance floor killer track on which I would like to show my not so sophisticated and anything but any style resembling dance moves. Several times some more dark-wave-tinted material sneaks by. ‘Eyes Of Child’ is one of those gems.

Overall: This is not the most innovative album in its genre. But what the hell, who cares! This is a very solid album with great post punk attitude. Without being sublime, it is very entertaining, varied enough and, in my opinion, a more than possible stayer. Go through this album yourself and enjoy like I have done, to the fullest!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/04/2021


NL

Italia levert wel meer geweldige postpunkbands af de laatste jaren. Aan dat al leuke rijtje mag vanaf nu ook Terminal Serious worden toegevoegd. Het is een soloproject van mag Luigi Buonaiuto, afkomstig uit één van de steden waaraan ik in Italië mijn hart reeds verloor: Firenze.

Zijn eersteling bevat songs die in globo gaan over de liefde, eenzaamheid en de liefde voor die eenzaamheid. Wereldse thema’s waar elke artiest of band ooit wel al één of meerdere nummers aan wijdde. En hoe krijgen die muzikaal vorm: in de typerende sounds van gitaren die ,dan weer kabbelend, dan weer scherp en snel en af en toe agressief in het rond slaan. Ze snijden niet steeds even diep en weerklinken regelmatig gematigd(er) maar met een indie-ondertoon, zoals Lamb. We krijgen ook de geneugten van wat steviger materiaal zoals Warporn. Die naast een snedige baslijn ook gitaarwerk herbergen met surfsounds, evenzeer als ze snerpend knetteren.

We hadden het nog niet over de zang. Wel, die is zuiver, donker en blend perfect bij de muziek die Luigi ons serveert. Ze is ook verre van ééntonig. Zo krijgen we in Disorder echt wel een grafstem te horen, die zich daarna ontvouwt tot een echt wel kwalitatief en volwassen stemgeluid.

Waar Luigi dan ook de mosterd haalde – voornamelijk bij zichzelf, vermoed ik – er klinkt af en toe wat Joy Division doorheen. Of toch die sfeer, zoals in het voor mij meest beklijvende nummer Soul Misery. Een floorkiller waarop ik graag mijn niet zo gesofistikeerde en alles behalve op welke stijl lijkende danspasjes tentoon wil spreiden. Er sluipt ook verschillende keren wat meer darkwave-getint materiaal voorbij. Zo is Eyes Of Child er ééntje van.

Overall: het is niet het meest vernieuwende album binnen het genre. But what the hell, who cares. Dit is een heel degelijk album met geweldige postpunk. Zonder subliem te zijn is het heel onderhoudend, afwisselend genoeg en naar mijn aanvoelen een mogelijke blijver. Ga zelf eens door dit digitale album en geniet. Ik heb dat alvast met volle teugen gedaan!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/04/2021


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser