tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

10/05/2024 : TERMINAL SERIOUS - Fear And Cufre

TERMINAL SERIOUS

Fear And Cufre

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DarkwavePost Punk

[90/100]   

SwissDarkNights
10/05/2024, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Terminal Serious, the solo project of Luigi Buonaiuto from Florence, Italy, knocks us out with the album Fear and Cure. The Italian makes sturdy post-punk with a touch of darkwave. His previous musical endeavors were haute cuisine. Curious to see if the man can do it again with this brand new album. For those who adore bands like the Turkish duo She Past Away: give this Italian your musical love as well, because his way of ramming post-punk into your ear canal leans towards the songs of the Turkish post-punkers. For those who stay in Italy: yes, you can also hear Ash Code in it. Whatever: good, enjoyable post-punk!

Those who say post-punk usually know what's in the basket: pounding basslines and guitars where sometimes only two strings are needed to conjure up screeching guitar riffs or melodies. And let's just say that Luigi Buonaiuto is particularly driven in that. The man is also gifted with a voice that completes the loaded record. Dark without being artificial. And well sung too, where we all know that not every frontman is blessed with a world-class voice. No, that's not necessary, but that's also present in Terminal Serious.

I was already a fan, and on the first listen Terminal Serious confirmed across the board. Invited to a next (and next and next...) listening session, it becomes even more catchy.

Yes, it is straightforward post-punk that is not innovative or overwhelming. And that is not a requirement either, if it immediately grabs paint, right?

The album is full of good post-punk songs. Highlights? For me Necklace is so cheesy-catchy that you are pulled along in it, despite the charged atmosphere, happily swaying your hips (or whatever movement your body can still produce).

Add To The List has a bassline that dances around so sublimely that the guitars make a sensual dance around it. Post-punk of the kind it should be. Ditto in Anyway, which goes towards darkwave. The synths that could come straight from a cathedral are subtly present. Secret Garden is a more shoegaze-like excursion in terms of sound. A slightly different rhythm section and a drumbeat that colors outside the lines.

Another song that appealed to me more than the others is Walk On A Roof. Vocally dark as hell and a bass that hits even harder than in the other songs.

Yes, I may be biased because I have been following the man for some time. But this is absolutely another bull's eye. I look forward to experiencing him live somewhere in the Low Countries. Do not hesitate: buy that stuff!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/05/2024


NL

Terminal Serious, het soloproject van Luigi Buonaiuto, afkomstig uit Firenze, slaat ons om de oren met het album Fear and Cure. De Italiaan maakt potige postpunk met een lijntje darkwave. Zijn vorige muzikale worpen waren muzikale haute cuisine. Benieuwd of de man dit met dit gloednieuwe album ook weer waar maakt. Voor diegenen die bands als het Turkse duo She Past Away adoreren: gun deze Italiaan dan ook uw muzikale liefde, want zijn manier van postpunk in je gehoorgang rammen leunt wel aan bij de songs van de Turkse postpunkers. Voor zij die in Italië blijven: ja ook Ash Code kan je erin ontwaren. Whatever: goede, genietbare postpunk!

Wie postpunk zegt weet meestal wat er in de korf zit: dreunende baslijnen en gitaartjes waar soms maar twee snaren nodig zijn om gierende gitaarriffs of melodieën tevoorschijn te halen. En laat deze Luigi Buonaiuto daar net toch wel bijzonder gedreven in te zijn. De man is daarenboven begiftigd met een stem die het geladen plaatje compleet maakt. Donker zonder te gekunsteld te zijn. En dan nog goed gezongen ook, waar we allen weten dat niet elke frontman behept is met een wereldstem. Néé dat hoeft niet, maar bij Terminal Serious is ook dat aanwezig.

Ik was al fan, en bij een eerste luisterbeurt bevestigd Terminal Serious over de gehele lijn. Uitgenodigd tot een volgende (en volgende en volgende…) luisterbeurt wordt het nog pakkender.

Ja, het betreft rechttoe rechtaan postpunk, die niet vernieuwend of overweldigend is. En dat is ook geen vereiste, als het meteen verf pakt. Toch?

Het album bulkt van goede postpunksongs. Uitschieters? Voor mij Necklace dat zo melig-meeslepend is dat je er ondanks de geladenheid, toch vrolijk heupwiegend (of welke beweging jouw lijf nog kan produceren) in meegezogen wordt.

Add To The List heeft een baslijn die zo subliem lekker ronddanst, dat de gitaren er een sensuele dans rondom maken. Postpunk van de soort zoals die hoort te zijn. Idem in Anyway, dat richting darkwave gaat. De synths die recht uit een kathedraal zouden kunnen komen, zijn subtiel aanwezig. Secret Garden is qua sound een wat meer shoegaze-achtige uitschuiver. Een iets andere ritmesectie en een drumbeat die buiten de lijntjes kleurt.

Nog een songs die mij meer dan de andere aansprak is Walk On A roof. Vocaal dark as hell en een bas die nog meer dan in de andere songs om zich heen slaat.

Ja, ik ben misschien bevooroordeeld, omdat ik de man al enige tijd volg. Maar dit is absoluut weer een voltreffer. Ik kijk er dan ook naar uit hem ergens in de lage landen hier live te mogen beleven. Do not hesitate: aanschaffen die handel!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/05/2024


10/05/2024 : TERMINAL SERIOUS - Fear And Cufre 10/05/2024 : TERMINAL SERIOUS - Fear And Cufre

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
46 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 45 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
12
06
Darkwave Band DICHRO Unveils The Soulful New Single & Video: “Mercy”
11
06
REVISER Addresses Internal & External Struggles Of Power With Two New Singles
11
06
33 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
EMPTY - PLEASE USE FIRST

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
SCREAMING DEAD
“In a dream of yesterday, off the forest and the glade, I remember yesterday“ They are the Creatures of the Night. The Legion of the Dead. Peek-A-Boo presents … Screaming Dead!
29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois
27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.

PHOTOS

21
06
TOOL
Graspop Dessel
19
06
KEBU
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
HYPERKUBE
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
DANIEL.B
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
11
06
THEN COMES SILENCE
Darkmas Fest II Haus Witten

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Ewige Nacht
23
06
NEW ORDER
People On The High Line
22
06
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
21
06
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Slammer
21
06
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
20
06
ASHES AT DAWN
Monster
19
06
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn