tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this festival review

07/05/2024 : Various - DARKEST NIGHT 2024

Various

DARKEST NIGHT 2024

MusicFestival


[75/100]   
07/05/2024, Peter DOLPHEN

EN

Some recurring events you know in advance will not disappoint. BIM is one of them, International EBM Day another, and so is Darkest Night from organizer Dark Balloon.

As you could read in my review of the 2023 edition ([link]), you could order your tickets blindly, even before the first bands were announced. When ordering the tickets, it said on the poster: 'first band T.B.A. soon'. The previous editions did not lie: you know you get quality.

And so it happened.

The 10th edition was going to be a blast, because with a little patience we got to see the poster: local talent as opener in the form of Diagnostic Error, then a good-natured teacher from The Hague alias Pantser Fabriek, NordarR's very first concert on Belgian soil, the friends of Akalotz who are coming to present their latest release 'Angry Body Machine' and the Swedish Container 90 as headliner. My feet spontaneously grew blisters at the thought that we were not going to stand still that evening.

But hey, you always have 'expectations' (in this case at least 'high' expectations) and you have reality... because sometimes the latter catches up with the former.

My wife and I were on time: we arrived just before the doors opened. So definitely enough time to first stroll past the merch and plunder the bank account carelessly. Support your scene. It's always nice to take souvenirs home and that was no different now. The only downside: the new Akalotz was not out of the press in time, so that will have to be ordered later.

While we are sipping our first pint of the evening, the first dark sounds come out of the speakers. Lights out, spotlight on: here comes Diagnostic Error. This was nice, nothing more, nothing less. A warm-up that doesn't warm me up. The dark intro was promising, but what followed sometimes dragged me straight to the fair. Not 100% my thing, but I can imagine that there is an audience for it here too.

Setlist:

  • Inspired
  • Military(Russian Edit)
  • EBM
  • Industrial
  • Total Depression
  • Out of the box
  • Hell is here
  • Sex Therapy
  • Psycho Freak

Time for some fries. We were the first customers, so the fryer oil was not yet hot and therefore missed the start of Pantser Fabriek. With half a bowl of fries in hand, we headed towards the stage to watch the master (yes, this man is a teacher) at work. Willem Witte got a second chance after the Corona edition of 2022, where unfortunately too few people showed up. Willem clearly enjoyed himself on stage and mentors the crowd in his own way: with a healthy dose of self-deprecation (playing synths on a laptop keyboard?) he brings a set that is full of social criticism. In his own way, he puts his finger on the sore spots of how the world is going. Just read the lyrics of 'Welkom in het westen' or 'Nazi Puma Adidas' for example. Not poetic masterpieces, but a cry of indignation. The punk attitude, the DIY mentality (he made the merch T-shirts by hand the day before the gig): it completes the picture. Truth be told, musically it's not the most creative out there, with straightforward banging 4/4 beats that could come straight out of Nitzer Ebb's or Jäger 90's closet (wink), but the sharp lyrics and the man himself give it a twist that you rarely come across. You can feel that this man has something to say, you can feel the anger. An anger that he also easily leaves behind him when he steps off the stage, because there was not a bigger smile in the hall all evening.

Setlist:

  • Stahlzeit
  • Stahl Musik
  • Schau Mal!
  • Schön Jung und Stark
  • Welkom in het Westen
  • Muren en Stekeldraad
  • Nazi Puma Adidas
  • Zondag is Oorlog (Jäger90 Cover in Dutch)
  • Bomber Jacket
  • We are EBM
  • No Fashion Show
  • Work on!
  • Nothing
  • EBM Girl
  • Won't Obey
  • No more Work!
  • Schön war die Zeit (outro)

We really notice that we are not that young anymore, because the recovery is already going a bit slower. The first beats of NordarR surprise us, because we are still cooling down at the entrance, but soon we are back in the front rows.

NordarR is celebrating their first passage on a Belgian stage and it is clear that they are here to blow us away. A solid showmanship, pounding EBM, strong vocals (the man literally screams himself hoarse and can no longer get a word out of his throat in a normal way): they throw everything they have into it to make it a memorable set. And it's well-received: standing still is an option that only a few people check off. At times, there's a glimpse of Fixmer & McCarthy: the technoid beats blaze through the hall, alternating with the standard boom-tss beats of stamp-EBM. They are welcome to visit our country regularly as far as I'm concerned.

Setlist:

  • Wann
  • Sirenen
  • Craving
  • Ich bin
  • Pressure
  • Das Kollektiv
  • Ein Mann mehr
  • So weit die Füße tragen
  • Alarm
  • Never Forget
  • Wrong Turn
  • RIP

Akalotz is not a new name at Darkest Night. They were also at the sparsely populated Corona edition and they also got a second chance this year. A nice extra: they have a new release to present. The set is therefore peppered with new tracks from the freshly pressed 'Angry Body Machine'. So fresh that it was not ready in time to take with them. But what we heard: buy that stuff! Akalotz does not bring the pounding EBM that we heard from Pantser Fabriek or NordarR. No, they bring what I call 'German electro from the 90s'. Well, it's all in the name. I would compare them to Prager Handgriff in terms of sound. And those more relaxed, melodic beats do us good after 2 performances of unrestrained banging.

Akalotz is a certainty: I have seen them at work a few times now and they have never disappointed me yet. Frontman Thorsten and drummer Nico know their trade like no other and effortlessly take you along in their story for an hour. We are almost exhausted... And then the headliner still has to come...

Setlist:

  • Intro
  • Count to crash
  • Angry body machine
  • Canting Monger
  • Dark on fall
  • Mind Control
  • Mirage over Limit
  • Master of Evil
  • Activate you
  • Warzone
  • No Signal Response
  • New age
  • World of Fire
  • Body crushed bones
  • Savage.

I knew Container 90 'from CD': never seen them live before, but the sound I knew appealed to me greatly: sometimes heavy guitars, punk mixed with EBM. A fantastic recipe. On CD. Live I was a bit disappointed: the connecting texts were drawn out and made sure that the rhythm was broken again and again. The flow ebbed away between each track. Somehow the tracks themselves didn't get through to me either. Was it the fatigue? Was it because it was maybe a bit too loud in my opinion? No idea, but everything came across very chaotically. We got to hear relatively a lot from their latest album Grand PrixXx. But overall I was left a bit hungry. After a few songs we turned out not to be the only ones: there were already some people in the hallway chatting about what had already happened. A shame, because Container 90 is a household name in the scene after all. But just as many people will disagree with me and thought it was fantastic, because the front rows were still fully participating in the pogo. Tastes and colors, you know. So for now I'll stick to the CD versions.

Setlist:

  • Raise Your Finger
  • EBM Way Of Life
  • Barcrawler
  • Mrs Marten
  • Hard Knock Life
  • Remote Mind Control
  • Psycho Social Media
  • Lolipop
  • Richard Is A Racist
  • Roller Derby Love Affair
  • New World Disorder
  • Loud And Proud
  • United

Conclusion

My respect goes out to the Dark Balloon crew, because they keep their finger on the pulse and the EBM candle burning in our country. On to edition 2025, I wouldn't want to miss it for anything!

Peter DOLPHEN
07/05/2024


NL

Van sommige terugkerende events weet je op voorhand al dat ze niet teleurstellen. BIM is er zo eentje van, International EBM Day ook en zo ook Darkest Night van organisator Dark Balloon.

Zoals je in mijn review van de editie 2023 (link) kon lezen, mocht je blindelings je tickets bestellen, nog voor de eerste bands bekend werden gemaakt. Bij bestelling van de tickets stond op de affiche: ‘first band T.B.A. soon’. De vorige edities logen er niet om: je weet dat je kwaliteit krijgt.

En zo geschiedde.

De 10de editie zou een knaller gaan worden, want met wat geduld kregen we de affiche te zien: lokaal talent als opener onder de vorm van Diagnostic Error, daarna een goedlachse Haagse leerkracht alias Pantser Fabriek, het allereerste concert van NordarR op Belgische bodem, de vrienden van Akalotz die hun nieuwste release ‘Angry Body Machine’ komen voorstellen en als afsluiter het Zweedse Container 90. Mijn voeten kweekten spontaan blaren bij de gedachte dat we niet gingen stilstaan die avond.

Maar goed, je hebt altijd ‘verwachtingen’ (in dit geval op zijn minst gezegd ‘grote’ verwachtingen) en je hebt de realiteit… want soms haalt deze laatste de eerste wel in.

Mijn vrouwtje en ik waren goed op tijd: aangekomen net voor de deuren open gingen. Dus zeker nog genoeg tijd om eerst langs de merch te flaneren en de bankrekening achteloos te plunderen. Support your scene. Het is altijd fijn om hebbedingetjes mee te nemen naar huis en dat was nu weer niet anders. Enige minpuntje: de nieuwe Akalotz was niet tijdig uit de persen geraakt, dus die zal later moeten besteld worden.

Terwijl we aan ons eerste pintje van de avond lurken, komen de eerste duistere klanken uit de speakers. Licht uit, spot aan: hier komt Diagnostic Error. Dit was leuk, zonder meer. Een opwarmertje dat me niet warm doet lopen. De duistere intro was veelbelovend, maar wat volgde sleurde me soms regelrecht naar de kermis. Niet 100% mijn ding, doch ik kan me inbeelden dat er ook hier een publiek voor te vinden is.

Setlist:

  • Inspired
  • Military(Russian Edit)
  • EBM
  • Industrial
  • Total Depression
  • Out of the box
  • Hell is here
  • Sex Therapy
  • Psycho Freak

Tijd voor een frietje. We waren de eerste klanten, dus frietvet nog niet warm en daardoor ei-zo-na de start van Pantser Fabriek gemist. Met een halve bak frieten in de hand richting podium om de meester (jawel, deze man is leerkracht) te aanschouwen. Willem Witte kreeg een herkansing na de Corona-editie van 2022, waar toen jammer genoeg te weinig volk op af kwam. Willem had het duidelijk naar zijn zin op het podium en ment op zijn eigen wijze het volk: met een gezonde dosis zelfspot (synths spelen op een klavier van een laptop?) brengt hij een set die bulkt van de maatschappelijke kritiek. Op zijn eigen manier legt hij de vinger op de pijnpunten van hoe het met de wereld gaat. Sla de tekst er maar op na van bijvoorbeeld ‘Welkom in het westen’ of ‘Nazi Puma Adidas’. Geen poëtische hoogstandjes, maar wel een kreet van verontwaardiging. De punk- attitude, de DIY-mentaliteit (hij maakte de merch T-shirts nog met de hand de dag voor het optreden): het maakt het plaatje compleet. Waarheid, muzikaal is het niet het meest creatieve dat er is, met recht-toe-recht-aan knallende 4/4 beats die rechtstreeks uit de kast van Nitzer Ebb of Jäger 90 (knipoog) kunnen komen, toch geven de scherpe teksten en de man op zich het een twist die je zelden tegenkomt. Je voelt dat deze man iets te zeggen heeft, je voelt de kwaadheid. Een kwaadheid die hij ook heel makkelijk achter zich laat als hij van het podium stapt, want een grotere lach was er de ganse avond in de zaal niet te bespeuren. Een eerste hoogtepunt later: tijd om te hydrateren, want het zweet is een rivier geworden tussen mijn rug en zo’n DIY-shirt.

Setlist:

  • Stahlzeit
  • Stahl Musik
  • Schau Mal!
  • Schön Jung und Stark
  • Welkom in het Westen
  • Muren en Stekeldraad
  • Nazi Puma Adidas
  • Zondag is Oorlog (Jäger90 Cover in Dutch)
  • Bomber Jacket
  • We are EBM
  • No Fashion Show
  • Work on!
  • Nothing
  • EBM Girl
  • Won't Obey
  • No more Work!
  • Schön war die Zeit (outro)

We merken echt dat we niet zo jong meer zijn, want de recuperatie gaat al wat trager. De eerste beats van NordarR verrassen ons, want we zitten nog even af te koelen aan de ingang, maar snel staan we terug op de eerste rijen.

NordarR viert hun eerste passage op een Belgisch podium en het is duidelijk dat ze hier zijn om ons omver te blazen. Een stevige showgehalte, dreunende EBM, sterke vocals (de man schreeuwt zich letterlijk schor en krijgt geen woord meer op een normale manier door zijn keel): ze smijten alles in de strijd om er een memorabele set van te maken. En het wordt gesmaakt: stilstaan is een optie die door slechts weinigen wordt aangevinkt. Bij momenten passeert een glimp van pakweg Fixmer & McCarthy: de technoide beats vlammen door de zaal, afgewisseld met de standaard boem-tsss beats van de stamp-EBM. Ze mogen van mij in elk geval regelmatig ons landje bezoeken.

Setlist:

  • Wann
  • Sirenen
  • Craving
  • Ich bin
  • Pressure
  • Das Kollektiv
  • Ein Mann mehr
  • So weit die Füße tragen
  • Alarm
  • Never Forget
  • Wrong Turn
  • RIP

Akalotz is geen nieuwe naam bij Darkest Night. Ook zij waren op de dunbevolkte Corona-editie en ook zij kregen dit jaar hun herkansing. Een fijne extra: ze hebben een nieuwe release voor te stellen. De set is dan ook doorspekt met nieuwe tracks vanop het vers geperste ‘Angry Body Machine’. Zo vers geperst dat het niet op tijd klaar was om mee te worden genomen. Maar wat we hoorden: kopen die handel! Akalotz brengt niet de stampende EBM die we hoorden bij Pantser Fabriek of NordarR. Neen, ze brengen wat ik ‘Duitse electro uit de jaren 90’ noem. Tja, het is maar hoe je het omschrijft. Ik zou ze vergelijken met pakweg een Prager Handgriff qua sound. En die meer gezapige, melodieuze beats doen deugd na 2 optredens ongeremd geknal.

Akalotz is een certitude: ik zag ze al een paar keer aan het werk en tot op heden hebben ze me nog nooit teleurgesteld. Frontman Thorsten en drummer Nico kennen als geen ander hun metier en nemen je moeiteloos een uur mee in hun verhaal. We zijn bijna uitgeput… En dan moet de headliner nog komen…

Setlist:

  • Intro
  • Count to crash
  • Angry body machine
  • Canting Monger
  • Dark on fall
  • Mind Control
  • Mirage over Limit
  • Master of Evil
  • Activate you
  • Warzone
  • No Signal Response
  • New age
  • World of Fire
  • Body crushed bones
  • Savage.

Container 90 kende ik ‘vanop CD’: nog nooit live meegemaakt, maar de sound die ik kende sprak me ten zeerste aan: soms stevige gitaren, punk gemixt met EBM. Een fantastisch recept. Op CD. Live was ik wat teleurgesteld: de bindteksten waren lang uitgesponnen en zorgden ervoor dat het ritme elke keer weer opnieuw helemaal werd verbroken. De flow ebde weg tussen elke track. Ergens kwamen de tracks zelf bij mij ook niet binnen. Was het de vermoeidheid? Was het omdat het naar mijn mening misschien iets te luid stond? Geen idee, maar alles kwam heel chaotisch over. We kregen relatief veel te horen vanop hun laatste plaat Grand PrixXx. Maar overall bleef ik een beetje op mijn honger zitten. Na enkele nummers bleken we niet de enigen te zijn: er stond al wat volk in de gang na te praten over wat al was gepasseerd. Jammer, want Container 90 is binnen de scene toch een begrip. Maar evenveel mensen gaan me ongelijk geven en vonden het fantastisch, want de eerste rijen deden nog steeds vol overgave mee in de pogo. Smaken en kleuren, weet je wel. Dus voorlopig hou ik het bij de CD-versies.

Setlist:

  • Raise Your Finger
  • EBM Way Of Life
  • Barcrawler
  • Mrs Marten
  • Hard Knock Life
  • Remote Mind Control
  • Psycho Social Media
  • Lolipop
  • Richard Is A Racist
  • Roller Derby Love Affair
  • New World Disorder
  • Loud And Proud
  • United

Mijn respect gaat uit naar de Dark Balloon-crew, want ze houden de vinger aan de pols en het EBM-kaarsje brandende in ons landje. Op naar editie 2025, ik zou het voor geen geld willen missen!

Peter DOLPHEN
07/05/2024


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
Various
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today, exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 36 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
17
07
43 years of Tainted Love by Soft Cell!
16
07
42 Years of 'Revelations' by Killing Joke!
15
07
On this day, 13 years ago, the Phoenix arose!
15
07
43 of Party Mix! by The B52's

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
07
MORTAL REALM
An Interview With Mortal Realm's Adam Jones
16
07
LOCKJAW
An Interview With Industrial Metal Band, LOCKJAW
15
07
MALICE MACHINE
An Interview With Cyber-Punk Band, Malice Machine
21
06
SCREAMING DEAD
“In a dream of yesterday, off the forest and the glade, I remember yesterday“ They are the Creatures of the Night. The Legion of the Dead. Peek-A-Boo presents … Screaming Dead!
29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois

PHOTOS

17
07
BURN SUPPORT THE MISSION
Live Musik Hall Cologne
14
07
THE MISSION
Tivoli Vredenburg Utrecht
21
06
TOOL
Graspop Dessel
19
06
KEBU
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
HYPERKUBE
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
17
07
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
16
07
DAS ICH
Kannibale
15
07
ALLES
My
14
07
LOBBY
Violence In Your Eyes
13
07
NILE ON WAX
Rhapsody
12
07
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie