tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

10/12/2016 : VARIOUS - 4 in 1 Volume 4

VARIOUS

4 in 1 Volume 4

MusicCassette
ElectroExperimentalMinimal

[82/100]   

Insane Music
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The concept of the compilation 4 in 1 was born in 1982 with the release of a C60 cassette, named 4in1 Vol. 1. Four Belgian bands participated (each had 15 minutes of playing time): Mécanique Végétal, Pseudo Code, Etat Brut and Human Flesh. It was one of the first - home-made - products, produced and conceived by Alain Neffe.

34 years later, Volume 4 of this series is out, and again on cassette and it optionally includes a CD-R, now with M.A.L., Kosmose, Alice Just and BeNe GeSSeRiT.

The first six tracks are written by BeNe GeSSeRiT. It must be said, the band immediately start strong with a frisky harpsichord on The iNSaNe QueeN: a nice melody line that lingers. The vocals have a Chinese feel. This is Dadaism à la lettre. Also éPISoDe 8, éPILoGue is a good one: a rough bass, synths and experimental vocals open the track and remain threateningly to the end. MaM MaMMa consists of singing only, t has enough variety to stay interesting.

M.A.L. plays two tracks that sound a bit cosmic. The Supreme Alchemist consists of reverberating, spherical guitars, a repetitive bass line and a lot of percussion. The guitar work is evolving through the song and halfway there is an interlude of synths and percussion. In Kosmose Alone we hear a Gilmour-like guitar sound. Everything is beautifully constructed and sounds quieter than the first somewhat more thoroughbred track.

Just Alice uses minimal synths to accompany her emotional lyrics with precise intonation. Listen to opening track La Pluie Tombe. If you enter her world, you’ll discover fascinating tracks. In Il Marchait dans les rues she creates a fascinating world, but it’s less dreamy than La Pluie Tombe. Ma Robe Mariee and Je Ne Dis Pas are recommended also. Just Alice is a discovery and someone to follow closely.

The album closes with The Ninth Untitled Track by Kosmose, an experimental psychedelic epic of 15 minutes. Sometimes it sounds chaotic and less accessible than the previous bands. Kosmose was active from 1972 to 1979. The music is a typical product of that time.

Volume 4 is a must with many strong tracks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Het compilatieconcept 4 in 1 werd geboren in 1982 met de release van een C60-cassette, genaamd 4in1-Vol. 1. Vier Belgische bands namen eraan deel (elk kreeg 15 minuten speeltijd) : Mécanique Végétale, Pseudo Code, Etat Brut en Human Flesh. Het was één van de eerste - thuis gemaakte - producten dat door Alain Neffe werd geproduceerd en bedacht.

34 jaar later is er nu Volume 4 in deze reeks en weer op cassette en desgewenst geleverd met een CDR om af te spelen op PC-en CD speler. Ditmaal met de medewerking van M.A.L., Kosmose, Alice Just en BeNe GeSSeRiT.

De eerste zes tracks zijn van de hand van BeNe GeSSeRiT. Het moet gezegd, de band opent meteen sterk met een dartel klavecimbel in The iNSaNe QueeN: een aardig melodielijntje dat blijft hangen. De vocals doen Chinees aan. Dadaïsme à la lettre. Ook éPISoDe 8, éPILoGue is sterk: een ruwe bas, synths en experimentele vocals openen de track, die dreigend blijft tot het einde. De lyrics en de manier waarop ze afgerateld worden versterken het effect. Sterke track. MaM MaMMa bestaat alleen uit gezang maar bevat genoeg variatie om te blijven boeien.

Van M.A.L. horen we twee tracks die wat cosmic klinken. The Supreme Alchemist bestaat uit galmende, sferische gitaarpartijen, een terugkerende baslijn en flink wat percussie. Het gitaarwerk evolueert doorheen de song en halfweg de song is er een intermezzo van synths en percussie. In Kosmose Alone horen we aan Gilmour gelinkt gitaargeluid. Alles is mooi opgebouwd en klinkt rustiger dan de eerste ietwat nerveuzere track.

Alice Just maakt gebruik van minimal synths om haar emotionele teksten voor te dragen met precieze intonaties. Luister naar openingstrack La Pluie Tombe. Als je je laat meenemen in haar wereld, ontdek je fascinerende muziekstukken. Op Il Marchait dans les Rues creëert ze een boeiende wereld maar minder dromerig dan op La Pluie Tombe. Ook Ma Robe Mariée en Je Ne Dis Pas zijn aanraders. Alice Just is een ontdekking en iemand om van nabij te volgen.

Het album sluit af met The Ninth Untitled Track van Kosmose, een experimenteel psychedelisch epos van net geen 15 minuten. Soms klinkt het wat chaotisch en minder toegankelijk dan de voorgaande bands. Kosmose was actief van 1972 tot 1979. De muziek is een typisch product uit die tijd.

Volume 4 is een aanrader met flink wat sterke tracks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : VARIOUS - 4 in 1 Volume 4 10/12/2016 : VARIOUS - 4 in 1 Volume 4

 

Next reviews
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession