tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

10/12/2016 : VARIOUS - 4 in 1 Volume 4

VARIOUS

4 in 1 Volume 4

MusicCassette
ElectroExperimentalMinimal

[82/100]   

Insane Music
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The concept of the compilation 4 in 1 was born in 1982 with the release of a C60 cassette, named 4in1 Vol. 1. Four Belgian bands participated (each had 15 minutes of playing time): Mécanique Végétal, Pseudo Code, Etat Brut and Human Flesh. It was one of the first - home-made - products, produced and conceived by Alain Neffe.

34 years later, Volume 4 of this series is out, and again on cassette and it optionally includes a CD-R, now with M.A.L., Kosmose, Alice Just and BeNe GeSSeRiT.

The first six tracks are written by BeNe GeSSeRiT. It must be said, the band immediately start strong with a frisky harpsichord on The iNSaNe QueeN: a nice melody line that lingers. The vocals have a Chinese feel. This is Dadaism à la lettre. Also éPISoDe 8, éPILoGue is a good one: a rough bass, synths and experimental vocals open the track and remain threateningly to the end. MaM MaMMa consists of singing only, t has enough variety to stay interesting.

M.A.L. plays two tracks that sound a bit cosmic. The Supreme Alchemist consists of reverberating, spherical guitars, a repetitive bass line and a lot of percussion. The guitar work is evolving through the song and halfway there is an interlude of synths and percussion. In Kosmose Alone we hear a Gilmour-like guitar sound. Everything is beautifully constructed and sounds quieter than the first somewhat more thoroughbred track.

Just Alice uses minimal synths to accompany her emotional lyrics with precise intonation. Listen to opening track La Pluie Tombe. If you enter her world, you’ll discover fascinating tracks. In Il Marchait dans les rues she creates a fascinating world, but it’s less dreamy than La Pluie Tombe. Ma Robe Mariee and Je Ne Dis Pas are recommended also. Just Alice is a discovery and someone to follow closely.

The album closes with The Ninth Untitled Track by Kosmose, an experimental psychedelic epic of 15 minutes. Sometimes it sounds chaotic and less accessible than the previous bands. Kosmose was active from 1972 to 1979. The music is a typical product of that time.

Volume 4 is a must with many strong tracks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Het compilatieconcept 4 in 1 werd geboren in 1982 met de release van een C60-cassette, genaamd 4in1-Vol. 1. Vier Belgische bands namen eraan deel (elk kreeg 15 minuten speeltijd) : Mécanique Végétale, Pseudo Code, Etat Brut en Human Flesh. Het was één van de eerste - thuis gemaakte - producten dat door Alain Neffe werd geproduceerd en bedacht.

34 jaar later is er nu Volume 4 in deze reeks en weer op cassette en desgewenst geleverd met een CDR om af te spelen op PC-en CD speler. Ditmaal met de medewerking van M.A.L., Kosmose, Alice Just en BeNe GeSSeRiT.

De eerste zes tracks zijn van de hand van BeNe GeSSeRiT. Het moet gezegd, de band opent meteen sterk met een dartel klavecimbel in The iNSaNe QueeN: een aardig melodielijntje dat blijft hangen. De vocals doen Chinees aan. Dadaïsme à la lettre. Ook éPISoDe 8, éPILoGue is sterk: een ruwe bas, synths en experimentele vocals openen de track, die dreigend blijft tot het einde. De lyrics en de manier waarop ze afgerateld worden versterken het effect. Sterke track. MaM MaMMa bestaat alleen uit gezang maar bevat genoeg variatie om te blijven boeien.

Van M.A.L. horen we twee tracks die wat cosmic klinken. The Supreme Alchemist bestaat uit galmende, sferische gitaarpartijen, een terugkerende baslijn en flink wat percussie. Het gitaarwerk evolueert doorheen de song en halfweg de song is er een intermezzo van synths en percussie. In Kosmose Alone horen we aan Gilmour gelinkt gitaargeluid. Alles is mooi opgebouwd en klinkt rustiger dan de eerste ietwat nerveuzere track.

Alice Just maakt gebruik van minimal synths om haar emotionele teksten voor te dragen met precieze intonaties. Luister naar openingstrack La Pluie Tombe. Als je je laat meenemen in haar wereld, ontdek je fascinerende muziekstukken. Op Il Marchait dans les Rues creëert ze een boeiende wereld maar minder dromerig dan op La Pluie Tombe. Ook Ma Robe Mariée en Je Ne Dis Pas zijn aanraders. Alice Just is een ontdekking en iemand om van nabij te volgen.

Het album sluit af met The Ninth Untitled Track van Kosmose, een experimenteel psychedelisch epos van net geen 15 minuten. Soms klinkt het wat chaotisch en minder toegankelijk dan de voorgaande bands. Kosmose was actief van 1972 tot 1979. De muziek is een typisch product uit die tijd.

Volume 4 is een aanrader met flink wat sterke tracks.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : VARIOUS - 4 in 1 Volume 4 10/12/2016 : VARIOUS - 4 in 1 Volume 4

 

Next reviews
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus