tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2015 : PSEUDO CODE - Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

PSEUDO CODE

Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

MusicCD
ElectroExperimentalMinimal

[72/100]   

EE Tapes
18/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

EE Tapes is a known label for reissues of electronic, ambient and experimental music from the 80s, material that was often released on tape. Sometimes with known and lesser-known gems, eg. the excellent compilation Insane 80s, released last year and featuring bands like Pseudo Code, BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer and Human Dance.

This double CD of Pseudo Code is actually a reissue of two cassettes from 1984 and 1986, release on the label Insane, and as a result this music gets a second life. Three bonus tracks are added. No new ones, but two long versions and one “repaired” version.

The two discs contain studio and live recordings and are different from the material on the previous reissue The Radio’s on. It's another beautiful release that is treated with care. Part one actually consists more of ideas than real songs (in the style of pre-P.i.l.). It’s of course a matter of personal taste, but this part is less fascinating.

The second part is much better. The craziness and the desire to experiment are still fully present, but you hear songs. Just listen to the opener Immoral Facts Now, which has a nice base, with effective effects and distortions. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is an ambient-like song that takes you on a space trip of more than six minutes, in which the band shows us what it is capable of with modest methods.

As mentioned before, I have a double feel about this double CD. Because of Volume One the score goes down (as it is only for the die hard fans), but the second volume is an absolute must for the fans of this genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


NL

EE Tapes is bekend door zijn heruitgaven van elektronische, ambiente en experimentale muziek uit de jaren 80. Materiaal dat ooit op een tape is uitgebracht. Dat levert soms bekende en minder bekende pareltjes op, zoals bijv. op de verleden jaar verschenen compilatie Insane 80s, waarop je onder andere deze band, alsook BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer, Human Dance kon vinden.

Deze dubbele cd van Pseudo Code is in feite een heruitgave van twee cassettes uit 1984 en 1986. Ze verschenen toen op het Insane label. Zo krijgt deze muziek via deze release een tweede leven. Er werden ook nog drie bonustracks toegevoegd. Geen nieuwe tracks, maar twee lange versies en één repaired version.

De twee schijfjes bestaan uit studio- en live-opnames. Het betreft ook ander materiaal dan wat je op de eerdere heruitgave The Radio’s On kon vinden. Het is opnieuw een mooie release die met de nodige zorg is behandeld. Deel 1 laat eigenlijk veel aanzetten van ideeën horen (in de stijl van pre- P.i.l.) en minder werk zoals op The Radio’s On. Persoonlijk kan dit deel mij minder boeien.

Het tweede deel vind ik beter. De gekte en de experimenteerzucht zijn hier volop aanwezig, je hoort songs ontstaan en dat beklijft meer. Luister maar eens naar de opener Immoral Facts Now, die een aardige basis meekreeg waarop duchtig, maar doeltreffend met effecten en vervormingen wordt gespeeld. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is een ambientachtige song die je meeneemt op een ruimtetrip van meer dan zes minuten. Zo wandelen we door het oeuvre van een band die de grenzen met bescheiden middelen probeerde op te zoeken.

Zoals gezegd met wisselend succes. Volume 1 haalt de score wat naar beneden (wegens enkel geschikt voor de diehardfans), maar het tweede volume is een absolute aanrader voor de liefhebbers van dit genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.
SHOPPING • Why Choose
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
KOMAH • Flashing Nightmare

 

Other reviews from PSEUDO CODE
PSEUDO CODE • The Radio’s On
PSEUDO CODE • The Third EP

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem