tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2015 : PSEUDO CODE - Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

PSEUDO CODE

Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

MusicCD
ElectroExperimentalMinimal

[72/100]   

EE Tapes
18/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

EE Tapes is a known label for reissues of electronic, ambient and experimental music from the 80s, material that was often released on tape. Sometimes with known and lesser-known gems, eg. the excellent compilation Insane 80s, released last year and featuring bands like Pseudo Code, BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer and Human Dance.

This double CD of Pseudo Code is actually a reissue of two cassettes from 1984 and 1986, release on the label Insane, and as a result this music gets a second life. Three bonus tracks are added. No new ones, but two long versions and one “repaired” version.

The two discs contain studio and live recordings and are different from the material on the previous reissue The Radio’s on. It's another beautiful release that is treated with care. Part one actually consists more of ideas than real songs (in the style of pre-P.i.l.). It’s of course a matter of personal taste, but this part is less fascinating.

The second part is much better. The craziness and the desire to experiment are still fully present, but you hear songs. Just listen to the opener Immoral Facts Now, which has a nice base, with effective effects and distortions. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is an ambient-like song that takes you on a space trip of more than six minutes, in which the band shows us what it is capable of with modest methods.

As mentioned before, I have a double feel about this double CD. Because of Volume One the score goes down (as it is only for the die hard fans), but the second volume is an absolute must for the fans of this genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


NL

EE Tapes is bekend door zijn heruitgaven van elektronische, ambiente en experimentale muziek uit de jaren 80. Materiaal dat ooit op een tape is uitgebracht. Dat levert soms bekende en minder bekende pareltjes op, zoals bijv. op de verleden jaar verschenen compilatie Insane 80s, waarop je onder andere deze band, alsook BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer, Human Dance kon vinden.

Deze dubbele cd van Pseudo Code is in feite een heruitgave van twee cassettes uit 1984 en 1986. Ze verschenen toen op het Insane label. Zo krijgt deze muziek via deze release een tweede leven. Er werden ook nog drie bonustracks toegevoegd. Geen nieuwe tracks, maar twee lange versies en één repaired version.

De twee schijfjes bestaan uit studio- en live-opnames. Het betreft ook ander materiaal dan wat je op de eerdere heruitgave The Radio’s On kon vinden. Het is opnieuw een mooie release die met de nodige zorg is behandeld. Deel 1 laat eigenlijk veel aanzetten van ideeën horen (in de stijl van pre- P.i.l.) en minder werk zoals op The Radio’s On. Persoonlijk kan dit deel mij minder boeien.

Het tweede deel vind ik beter. De gekte en de experimenteerzucht zijn hier volop aanwezig, je hoort songs ontstaan en dat beklijft meer. Luister maar eens naar de opener Immoral Facts Now, die een aardige basis meekreeg waarop duchtig, maar doeltreffend met effecten en vervormingen wordt gespeeld. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is een ambientachtige song die je meeneemt op een ruimtetrip van meer dan zes minuten. Zo wandelen we door het oeuvre van een band die de grenzen met bescheiden middelen probeerde op te zoeken.

Zoals gezegd met wisselend succes. Volume 1 haalt de score wat naar beneden (wegens enkel geschikt voor de diehardfans), maar het tweede volume is een absolute aanrader voor de liefhebbers van dit genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.
SHOPPING • Why Choose
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
KOMAH • Flashing Nightmare

 

Other reviews from PSEUDO CODE
PSEUDO CODE • The Radio’s On
PSEUDO CODE • The Third EP

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?