tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2015 : PSEUDO CODE - Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

PSEUDO CODE

Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

MusicCD
ElectroExperimentalMinimal

[72/100]   

EE Tapes
18/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

EE Tapes is a known label for reissues of electronic, ambient and experimental music from the 80s, material that was often released on tape. Sometimes with known and lesser-known gems, eg. the excellent compilation Insane 80s, released last year and featuring bands like Pseudo Code, BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer and Human Dance.

This double CD of Pseudo Code is actually a reissue of two cassettes from 1984 and 1986, release on the label Insane, and as a result this music gets a second life. Three bonus tracks are added. No new ones, but two long versions and one “repaired” version.

The two discs contain studio and live recordings and are different from the material on the previous reissue The Radio’s on. It's another beautiful release that is treated with care. Part one actually consists more of ideas than real songs (in the style of pre-P.i.l.). It’s of course a matter of personal taste, but this part is less fascinating.

The second part is much better. The craziness and the desire to experiment are still fully present, but you hear songs. Just listen to the opener Immoral Facts Now, which has a nice base, with effective effects and distortions. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is an ambient-like song that takes you on a space trip of more than six minutes, in which the band shows us what it is capable of with modest methods.

As mentioned before, I have a double feel about this double CD. Because of Volume One the score goes down (as it is only for the die hard fans), but the second volume is an absolute must for the fans of this genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


NL

EE Tapes is bekend door zijn heruitgaven van elektronische, ambiente en experimentale muziek uit de jaren 80. Materiaal dat ooit op een tape is uitgebracht. Dat levert soms bekende en minder bekende pareltjes op, zoals bijv. op de verleden jaar verschenen compilatie Insane 80s, waarop je onder andere deze band, alsook BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer, Human Dance kon vinden.

Deze dubbele cd van Pseudo Code is in feite een heruitgave van twee cassettes uit 1984 en 1986. Ze verschenen toen op het Insane label. Zo krijgt deze muziek via deze release een tweede leven. Er werden ook nog drie bonustracks toegevoegd. Geen nieuwe tracks, maar twee lange versies en één repaired version.

De twee schijfjes bestaan uit studio- en live-opnames. Het betreft ook ander materiaal dan wat je op de eerdere heruitgave The Radio’s On kon vinden. Het is opnieuw een mooie release die met de nodige zorg is behandeld. Deel 1 laat eigenlijk veel aanzetten van ideeën horen (in de stijl van pre- P.i.l.) en minder werk zoals op The Radio’s On. Persoonlijk kan dit deel mij minder boeien.

Het tweede deel vind ik beter. De gekte en de experimenteerzucht zijn hier volop aanwezig, je hoort songs ontstaan en dat beklijft meer. Luister maar eens naar de opener Immoral Facts Now, die een aardige basis meekreeg waarop duchtig, maar doeltreffend met effecten en vervormingen wordt gespeeld. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is een ambientachtige song die je meeneemt op een ruimtetrip van meer dan zes minuten. Zo wandelen we door het oeuvre van een band die de grenzen met bescheiden middelen probeerde op te zoeken.

Zoals gezegd met wisselend succes. Volume 1 haalt de score wat naar beneden (wegens enkel geschikt voor de diehardfans), maar het tweede volume is een absolute aanrader voor de liefhebbers van dit genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.
SHOPPING • Why Choose
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
KOMAH • Flashing Nightmare

 

Other reviews from PSEUDO CODE
PSEUDO CODE • The Radio’s On
PSEUDO CODE • The Third EP

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid