tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2015 : PSEUDO CODE - Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

PSEUDO CODE

Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

MusicCD
ElectroExperimentalMinimal

[72/100]   

EE Tapes
18/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

EE Tapes is a known label for reissues of electronic, ambient and experimental music from the 80s, material that was often released on tape. Sometimes with known and lesser-known gems, eg. the excellent compilation Insane 80s, released last year and featuring bands like Pseudo Code, BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer and Human Dance.

This double CD of Pseudo Code is actually a reissue of two cassettes from 1984 and 1986, release on the label Insane, and as a result this music gets a second life. Three bonus tracks are added. No new ones, but two long versions and one “repaired” version.

The two discs contain studio and live recordings and are different from the material on the previous reissue The Radio’s on. It's another beautiful release that is treated with care. Part one actually consists more of ideas than real songs (in the style of pre-P.i.l.). It’s of course a matter of personal taste, but this part is less fascinating.

The second part is much better. The craziness and the desire to experiment are still fully present, but you hear songs. Just listen to the opener Immoral Facts Now, which has a nice base, with effective effects and distortions. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is an ambient-like song that takes you on a space trip of more than six minutes, in which the band shows us what it is capable of with modest methods.

As mentioned before, I have a double feel about this double CD. Because of Volume One the score goes down (as it is only for the die hard fans), but the second volume is an absolute must for the fans of this genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


NL

EE Tapes is bekend door zijn heruitgaven van elektronische, ambiente en experimentale muziek uit de jaren 80. Materiaal dat ooit op een tape is uitgebracht. Dat levert soms bekende en minder bekende pareltjes op, zoals bijv. op de verleden jaar verschenen compilatie Insane 80s, waarop je onder andere deze band, alsook BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer, Human Dance kon vinden.

Deze dubbele cd van Pseudo Code is in feite een heruitgave van twee cassettes uit 1984 en 1986. Ze verschenen toen op het Insane label. Zo krijgt deze muziek via deze release een tweede leven. Er werden ook nog drie bonustracks toegevoegd. Geen nieuwe tracks, maar twee lange versies en één repaired version.

De twee schijfjes bestaan uit studio- en live-opnames. Het betreft ook ander materiaal dan wat je op de eerdere heruitgave The Radio’s On kon vinden. Het is opnieuw een mooie release die met de nodige zorg is behandeld. Deel 1 laat eigenlijk veel aanzetten van ideeën horen (in de stijl van pre- P.i.l.) en minder werk zoals op The Radio’s On. Persoonlijk kan dit deel mij minder boeien.

Het tweede deel vind ik beter. De gekte en de experimenteerzucht zijn hier volop aanwezig, je hoort songs ontstaan en dat beklijft meer. Luister maar eens naar de opener Immoral Facts Now, die een aardige basis meekreeg waarop duchtig, maar doeltreffend met effecten en vervormingen wordt gespeeld. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is een ambientachtige song die je meeneemt op een ruimtetrip van meer dan zes minuten. Zo wandelen we door het oeuvre van een band die de grenzen met bescheiden middelen probeerde op te zoeken.

Zoals gezegd met wisselend succes. Volume 1 haalt de score wat naar beneden (wegens enkel geschikt voor de diehardfans), maar het tweede volume is een absolute aanrader voor de liefhebbers van dit genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.
SHOPPING • Why Choose
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
KOMAH • Flashing Nightmare

 

Other reviews from PSEUDO CODE
PSEUDO CODE • The Radio’s On
PSEUDO CODE • The Third EP

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection