tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/11/2015 : PSEUDO CODE - Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

PSEUDO CODE

Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

MusicCD
ElectroExperimentalMinimal

[72/100]   

EE Tapes
18/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

EE Tapes is a known label for reissues of electronic, ambient and experimental music from the 80s, material that was often released on tape. Sometimes with known and lesser-known gems, eg. the excellent compilation Insane 80s, released last year and featuring bands like Pseudo Code, BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer and Human Dance.

This double CD of Pseudo Code is actually a reissue of two cassettes from 1984 and 1986, release on the label Insane, and as a result this music gets a second life. Three bonus tracks are added. No new ones, but two long versions and one “repaired” version.

The two discs contain studio and live recordings and are different from the material on the previous reissue The Radio’s on. It's another beautiful release that is treated with care. Part one actually consists more of ideas than real songs (in the style of pre-P.i.l.). It’s of course a matter of personal taste, but this part is less fascinating.

The second part is much better. The craziness and the desire to experiment are still fully present, but you hear songs. Just listen to the opener Immoral Facts Now, which has a nice base, with effective effects and distortions. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is an ambient-like song that takes you on a space trip of more than six minutes, in which the band shows us what it is capable of with modest methods.

As mentioned before, I have a double feel about this double CD. Because of Volume One the score goes down (as it is only for the die hard fans), but the second volume is an absolute must for the fans of this genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


NL

EE Tapes is bekend door zijn heruitgaven van elektronische, ambiente en experimentale muziek uit de jaren 80. Materiaal dat ooit op een tape is uitgebracht. Dat levert soms bekende en minder bekende pareltjes op, zoals bijv. op de verleden jaar verschenen compilatie Insane 80s, waarop je onder andere deze band, alsook BeNe GeSSeRiT, Berntholer, Human Dance kon vinden.

Deze dubbele cd van Pseudo Code is in feite een heruitgave van twee cassettes uit 1984 en 1986. Ze verschenen toen op het Insane label. Zo krijgt deze muziek via deze release een tweede leven. Er werden ook nog drie bonustracks toegevoegd. Geen nieuwe tracks, maar twee lange versies en één repaired version.

De twee schijfjes bestaan uit studio- en live-opnames. Het betreft ook ander materiaal dan wat je op de eerdere heruitgave The Radio’s On kon vinden. Het is opnieuw een mooie release die met de nodige zorg is behandeld. Deel 1 laat eigenlijk veel aanzetten van ideeën horen (in de stijl van pre- P.i.l.) en minder werk zoals op The Radio’s On. Persoonlijk kan dit deel mij minder boeien.

Het tweede deel vind ik beter. De gekte en de experimenteerzucht zijn hier volop aanwezig, je hoort songs ontstaan en dat beklijft meer. Luister maar eens naar de opener Immoral Facts Now, die een aardige basis meekreeg waarop duchtig, maar doeltreffend met effecten en vervormingen wordt gespeeld. Slow Down To The Hypothalamus is een ambientachtige song die je meeneemt op een ruimtetrip van meer dan zes minuten. Zo wandelen we door het oeuvre van een band die de grenzen met bescheiden middelen probeerde op te zoeken.

Zoals gezegd met wisselend succes. Volume 1 haalt de score wat naar beneden (wegens enkel geschikt voor de diehardfans), maar het tweede volume is een absolute aanrader voor de liefhebbers van dit genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.
SHOPPING • Why Choose
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
KOMAH • Flashing Nightmare

 

Other reviews from PSEUDO CODE
PSEUDO CODE • The Radio’s On
PSEUDO CODE • The Third EP

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet