tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/01/2015 : PSEUDO CODE - The Radio’s On

PSEUDO CODE

The Radio’s On

MusicCD
Avant-gardeElectroExperimentalPost Punk

[75/100]   

EE Tapes
09/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pseudo Code consisted of Alain Neffe ( Insane Music), Guy Marc Hinant ( Sub Rosa ) and Xavier S. (ex Thrills, former Moving Baa) and were active in the early 80s. Under the banner of On The Radio by EE Tapes (see also the Insane 80's compilation on which you can find this track ) they compiled a CD with 14 songs by this band. You hear short and long pieces of music, improvisation and quirky elaborate electro. The album starts with the title track. The singing resembles the lament of Fad Gadget or John Lydon (think Home is where the heart is or The Suit). The title track reappears three times in the form of several short pieces of music based on the same theme and is followed by 1999, a restless 9 minute song. Clumsy is 11 minutes long and filled with chaos, improvisation and echoing vocals. Nothing More (between us) and No desire tend to be more consistent songs with a generous portion of post-punk.

On this CD you can hear pioneers at work, who with the then available toolkits and resources, were testing the limits. This sometimes leads to exciting music eg.Triste et Lent that is built very slowly and sounds like early ambient/minimal. Liar has a groovy rhythm box and bass, to Funky Ma Non Troppo Daniel Malempre years later added some guitars. Occasionally it is inaccessible. I think of Clumsy or Your Own Father. Music for people who are open to experimental music and who dare to cross the lines.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/01/2015


NL

Pseudo Code bestond uit Alain Neffe (Insane Music), Guy Marc Hinant (Sub Rosa) en Xavier S. (ex-Thrills, ex-Moving Baa) en waren begin jaren 80 actief. Onder de vlag The Radio’s On werd door EE Tapes (zie ook de Insane 80’s-compilatie waarop je dit nummer kan vinden) werk van deze band samengebracht op één cd met daarop 14 nummers. Je hoort korte en lange muziekstukken, improvisaties en eigenzinnig uitgewerkte electro. Het album start met het eerder toegankelijke titelnummer The radio’s on. Het gezang lijkt wat op de klaagzang van Frank Tovey of John Lydon (denk aan Home is where the heart is of The Suit). Het titelnummer komen we daarna nog driemaal tegen in de vorm van verschillende korte muziekstukjes, gebaseerd op hetzelfde thema. Daarna volgt 1999, een rusteloze 9 minuten durende song. Clumsy is 11 minuten lang gevuld met chaos, improvisatie en galmend gezang. Nothing More (between us) en No desire neigen naar meer conforme nummers met een flinke portie postpunk.

Op deze cd hoor je pioniers aan het werk die met de toen voor de hand liggende instrumentaria en middelen, de grenzen aftasten. Dit levert soms boeiende muziek op, bijv. tijdens Interlude Triste et Lent dat heel traag opgebouwd is. Net vroege ambient/minimal. Liar dat wordt voortgestuwd door een ritmebox en bas, aan Funky Ma Non Troppo, heeft Daniel Malempré jaren later gitaarpartijen toegevoegd. Af en toe wordt het ook ontoegankelijk. Ik denk dan aan Clumsy of Your Own Father. Maar deze cd is er grotendeels één die er mag wezen. Muziek voor mensen die open staan voor experimentele muziek die buiten de lijntjes durven te kleuren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/01/2015


 

Next reviews
FIND HOPE IN DARKNESS • Locked So Tightly In Our Dreams
• DA VINCI'S DEMONS SEASON 2
DRAKKAR • Once upon a time in hell
GUFLUX • New Moon / Dark Moon
D'INCISE • O Esplendor Natural Das Coisas E Inferno
HERRSCHAFT • Time and Dust - The Remixes 2004-2014
SIEN VERSTEYHE • Junior
ORPHAX • Under The Dutch Sky
TRLRS • In Front Of Screens EP
JERZY SKOLIMOWSKI • Deep end

 

Other reviews from PSEUDO CODE
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
PSEUDO CODE • The Third EP

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis