tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/01/2015 : PSEUDO CODE - The Radio’s On

PSEUDO CODE

The Radio’s On

MusicCD
Avant-gardeElectroExperimentalPost Punk

[75/100]   

EE Tapes
09/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pseudo Code consisted of Alain Neffe ( Insane Music), Guy Marc Hinant ( Sub Rosa ) and Xavier S. (ex Thrills, former Moving Baa) and were active in the early 80s. Under the banner of On The Radio by EE Tapes (see also the Insane 80's compilation on which you can find this track ) they compiled a CD with 14 songs by this band. You hear short and long pieces of music, improvisation and quirky elaborate electro. The album starts with the title track. The singing resembles the lament of Fad Gadget or John Lydon (think Home is where the heart is or The Suit). The title track reappears three times in the form of several short pieces of music based on the same theme and is followed by 1999, a restless 9 minute song. Clumsy is 11 minutes long and filled with chaos, improvisation and echoing vocals. Nothing More (between us) and No desire tend to be more consistent songs with a generous portion of post-punk.

On this CD you can hear pioneers at work, who with the then available toolkits and resources, were testing the limits. This sometimes leads to exciting music eg.Triste et Lent that is built very slowly and sounds like early ambient/minimal. Liar has a groovy rhythm box and bass, to Funky Ma Non Troppo Daniel Malempre years later added some guitars. Occasionally it is inaccessible. I think of Clumsy or Your Own Father. Music for people who are open to experimental music and who dare to cross the lines.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/01/2015


NL

Pseudo Code bestond uit Alain Neffe (Insane Music), Guy Marc Hinant (Sub Rosa) en Xavier S. (ex-Thrills, ex-Moving Baa) en waren begin jaren 80 actief. Onder de vlag The Radio’s On werd door EE Tapes (zie ook de Insane 80’s-compilatie waarop je dit nummer kan vinden) werk van deze band samengebracht op één cd met daarop 14 nummers. Je hoort korte en lange muziekstukken, improvisaties en eigenzinnig uitgewerkte electro. Het album start met het eerder toegankelijke titelnummer The radio’s on. Het gezang lijkt wat op de klaagzang van Frank Tovey of John Lydon (denk aan Home is where the heart is of The Suit). Het titelnummer komen we daarna nog driemaal tegen in de vorm van verschillende korte muziekstukjes, gebaseerd op hetzelfde thema. Daarna volgt 1999, een rusteloze 9 minuten durende song. Clumsy is 11 minuten lang gevuld met chaos, improvisatie en galmend gezang. Nothing More (between us) en No desire neigen naar meer conforme nummers met een flinke portie postpunk.

Op deze cd hoor je pioniers aan het werk die met de toen voor de hand liggende instrumentaria en middelen, de grenzen aftasten. Dit levert soms boeiende muziek op, bijv. tijdens Interlude Triste et Lent dat heel traag opgebouwd is. Net vroege ambient/minimal. Liar dat wordt voortgestuwd door een ritmebox en bas, aan Funky Ma Non Troppo, heeft Daniel Malempré jaren later gitaarpartijen toegevoegd. Af en toe wordt het ook ontoegankelijk. Ik denk dan aan Clumsy of Your Own Father. Maar deze cd is er grotendeels één die er mag wezen. Muziek voor mensen die open staan voor experimentele muziek die buiten de lijntjes durven te kleuren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/01/2015


 

Next reviews
FIND HOPE IN DARKNESS • Locked So Tightly In Our Dreams
• DA VINCI'S DEMONS SEASON 2
DRAKKAR • Once upon a time in hell
GUFLUX • New Moon / Dark Moon
D'INCISE • O Esplendor Natural Das Coisas E Inferno
HERRSCHAFT • Time and Dust - The Remixes 2004-2014
SIEN VERSTEYHE • Junior
ORPHAX • Under The Dutch Sky
TRLRS • In Front Of Screens EP
JERZY SKOLIMOWSKI • Deep end

 

Other reviews from PSEUDO CODE
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
PSEUDO CODE • The Third EP

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day