tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/01/2015 : DRAKKAR - Once upon a time in hell

DRAKKAR

Once upon a time in hell

MusicCD
Speedmetal

[78/100]   

Spinal Records
08/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Drakkar... You might think that this is another Scandinavian band, but no, it is indeed an authentic Belgian band that was formed in 1983. After several demos with Rudy Lenners (ex-The Scorpions ) and a successful LP (X Rated and in 2012 reissued through Ultimate Records), they toured extensively so they had a a good name as a live band. They played during the Slayer/Metallica Overkill/Queensryche tours. Because there were some contractual problems, they decided to stop for a few years. In the late 90’s they came back together for a few gigs and released a new EP. Since 2012 they are back with a lineup consisting of no less than three guitarists and since 2013 the former singer also rejoined their ranks. Only drummer Jonas Sanders is new (aka Pro Pain).

And now there is a brand new album with eleven songs. The first song is Enter the Darkness, a beautiful instrumental intro floating on a simple guitar riff. The title track that follows has a solid rhythm section, a catchy chorus and excellent guitar work. Then follows Lost, released as a single. A bit of a bad choice, simply because I think this is just one of their lesser tracks. Angels of Stone would have been a better choice. Yerushalayim, St Bartholomews Night and especially Babylon are strong compositions with enough variety to keep the interest going.

It is certainly not innovative, however skillfully made. There is a frequent used of backing vocals in the choruses that give the songs a high sing-along content which is probably useful during their performances. Personally, I would dispense that as after a while it just becomes somewhat predictable. Anyway, with Once Upon... these veterans have made ​​a powerful comeback album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2015


NL

Drakkar… Je zou denken dat het hier om de zoveelste Scandinavische band gaat. Maar neen hoor, het is wel degelijk een authentiek inlands product. Deze Belgische band werd opgericht in 1983. Na enkele demo’s met Rudy Lenners (ex-The Scorpions) en een succesvolle lp ( X Rated en in 2012 via Ultimate Records opnieuw uitgebracht) toerden ze veelvuldig en kregen daardoor als livegroep een goede naam. Zo speelden ze in het voorprogramma van de Slayer/Overkill en Metallica/Queensryche tournees. Wegens o.a. contractuele problemen besloot men enkele jaren later om uit elkaar te gaan. Eind jaren 90 kwam men opnieuw samen voor enkele optredens en er verscheen een nieuwe ept. Sedert 2012 staan ze weer op scherp met een line-up die uit maar liefst drie gitaristen bestaat en sinds 2013 is ook de voormalige zanger weer van de partij waardoor de originele bezetting bijna compleet is. Alleen drummer Jonas Sanders is nieuw (ook bekend van Pro Pain).

En zo is er dus jaren later een nieuw full album bestaande uit elf nummers. De eerste song is Enter the Darkness; een mooie instrumentale intro drijvend op een eenvoudige gitaarriff. Het titelnummer dat erop volgt is zeker geslaagd met een pittige ritmesectie, een catchy refrein en snedig gitaarwerk. Daarna volgt Lost dat ook als single uitgebracht is. Jammer, want ik vind dit net een van hun mindere nummers. De zang komt hier ook minder goed tot zijn recht. Angels of Stone ware een betere singlekeuze geweest: mooie zang en gitaarwerk. Yerushalayim, Saint Bartholomews Night en dan vooral Babel zijn sterke composities met genoeg afwisseling om te blijven boeien. Scream it Loud is een nummer dat voluit mee geschreeuwd kan worden tijdens optredens, wat eigenlijk voor meerdere nummers geldt.

Vernieuwend is het niet, wel vakkundig gemaakt. Er wordt veelvuldig gebruik gemaakt van backing vocals in de refreinen en dat geeft de nummers een hoog meezinggehalte, wat nuttig is tijdens optredens. Persoonlijk zou ik dat iets meer doseren omdat het na een tijdje toch wat voorspelbaar wordt. Maar goed, deze veteranen hebben met Once Upon… een krachtig comeback album gemaakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2015


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed