tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/01/2015 : QNTAL - QNTAL VII

QNTAL

QNTAL VII

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[88/100]   

Drakkar Records
06/01/2015, Ward DE PRINS

EN

QNTAL VII is the latest album by the German electro-medieval band around Syrah and Michael Popp. The fixed recipe of Qntal, a perfect blend of old and contemporary lyrics and music with electronics, is also applied on this album, in order to create a wonderful, mesmerizing sound landscape.

"By The Light Of The Moon" is a first hit, with texts by Lord Byron, wonderfully interpreted by Michael against a perfect melancholic and electronic background (Leon Rodt as a producer was an excellent choice). Also the texts of William Blake get a musical treatment on the song "Tyger". Syrah sings this beautiful poem, supported by quiet and complex but oh so beautiful synthesizers.

Besides these slower melancholic songs, there are also the more upbeat and danceable songs such as "Blow Northene Wynd" (with lyrics by an anonymous writer from the fifteenth century). Live this should give a real treat, especially if the beautiful voice of Syrah will be complemented by the violin and backing vocals of Mariko and the energetic drumming of Markus.

"Schnee" is my favorite gem of this album. The slow piano and repetitive lyrics sung by two female voices and beautifully graced by Middle Eastern sounds, is the perfect example of the quality and unique sound which Qntal brings. Fantastic!

The slow and gentle "Flame Amoureuse" is based on Old French texts from the twelfth century and laced with clever electronics and delicious Middle Eastern sounds. "Melos Lacrimosum", the penultimate song of the album, blends again the angelic voices of both women with some dark electronics and enchanting violin. And the last track, "Nox Aeterna", is the uptempo and drawn out version of "Schnee", very nice, though I still find the original, slower version, more enjoyable.

The six year of waiting is more than rewarded with this beautiful new album, on which a reborn Qntal treats us again on its perfect blend of medieval and electro. I wonder how this will sound on stage. (in Belgium, we get that chance on the Black Easter Festival).

Ward DE PRINS
06/01/2015


NL

QNTAL VII is het nieuwste album van het Duitse elektro-medievalgezelschap rond Syrah en Michael Popp. Het vaste recept van Qntal, een perfecte mix van oude teksten en muziek en hedendaagse elektro, wordt ook hier verder uitgepuurd om zo een heerlijk klankenlandschap te creëren waarin je kan wegdromen.

“By The Light Of The Moon” is een eerste voltreffer, waarbij teksten van Lord Byron prachtig worden vertolkt door Michael tegen een perfecte melancholische en elektronische achtergrond (Leon Rodt als producer was dan ook een excellente keuze). Ook de teksten van William Blake krijgen een muzikale behandeling op het nummer “Tyger” waarop Syrah dit prachtige gedicht mag zingen, ondersteund door rustige, complexe doch o zo mooie synthesizers.

Naast deze tragere melancholische nummers zijn er echter ook de meer uptempo en uiterst dansbare songs zoals “Blow Northene Wynd” (met teksten van een anonieme schrijver uit de vijftiende eeuw). Live moet dit een waar feestje zijn, zeker als de prachtige stem van Syrah hierbij mooi aangevuld wordt door de viool en backing vocals van Mariko en het energieke drumspel van Markus.

“Schnee” is mijn favoriete parel van dit album. Het trage pianospel en de repetitieve teksten, vertolkt door twee vrouwenstemmen en prachtig opgeluisterd door Midden-oosterse klanken, is voor mij hét voorbeeld van de kwaliteit en het unieke geluid waarvoor Qntal staat. Prachtig!

Het rustig voortkabbelende “Flame Amoureuse” is gebaseerd op oud-Franse teksten uit de twaalfde eeuw en doorspekt met vernuftige elektronica en Midden-Oosterse klanken, heerlijk. “Melos Lacrimosum”, het voorlaatste nummer van het album, laat de engelachtige stemmen van beide dames weer mooi samenwerken tegen een achtergrond van duistere elektronica en viool. En het laatste nummer, “Nox Aeterna”, is de uptempo en uitgesponnen versie van “Schnee”, zeer mooi, al vind ik de originele, tragere versie leuker.

Het was zes jaar wachten op een nieuwe cd, maar het wachten werd meer dan beloond met dit prachtig album, waarop een als het ware herboren Qntal ons opnieuw trakteert op z'n perfecte mix van medieval en elektro. Ik ben benieuwd hoe dit allemaal live zal klinken. (in België krijgen we die kans op het Black Easter Festival).

Ward DE PRINS
06/01/2015


 

Next reviews
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
MARNIE • Crystal World
• THE FALL SERIES TWO
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • The Promised Land
IRIS • Radiant
CINEMUERTE • Dhist EP
DAVID WNENDT • Feuchtgebiete
EUGENIO MIRA • Blackmail (Grand Piano)
MARLENE DUMAS • The Image as Burden (Amsterdam, Stedelijk Museum)
ALASDAIR ROBERTS • Alasdair Roberts

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design