tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/01/2015 : QNTAL - QNTAL VII

QNTAL

QNTAL VII

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[88/100]   

Drakkar Records
06/01/2015, Ward DE PRINS

EN

QNTAL VII is the latest album by the German electro-medieval band around Syrah and Michael Popp. The fixed recipe of Qntal, a perfect blend of old and contemporary lyrics and music with electronics, is also applied on this album, in order to create a wonderful, mesmerizing sound landscape.

"By The Light Of The Moon" is a first hit, with texts by Lord Byron, wonderfully interpreted by Michael against a perfect melancholic and electronic background (Leon Rodt as a producer was an excellent choice). Also the texts of William Blake get a musical treatment on the song "Tyger". Syrah sings this beautiful poem, supported by quiet and complex but oh so beautiful synthesizers.

Besides these slower melancholic songs, there are also the more upbeat and danceable songs such as "Blow Northene Wynd" (with lyrics by an anonymous writer from the fifteenth century). Live this should give a real treat, especially if the beautiful voice of Syrah will be complemented by the violin and backing vocals of Mariko and the energetic drumming of Markus.

"Schnee" is my favorite gem of this album. The slow piano and repetitive lyrics sung by two female voices and beautifully graced by Middle Eastern sounds, is the perfect example of the quality and unique sound which Qntal brings. Fantastic!

The slow and gentle "Flame Amoureuse" is based on Old French texts from the twelfth century and laced with clever electronics and delicious Middle Eastern sounds. "Melos Lacrimosum", the penultimate song of the album, blends again the angelic voices of both women with some dark electronics and enchanting violin. And the last track, "Nox Aeterna", is the uptempo and drawn out version of "Schnee", very nice, though I still find the original, slower version, more enjoyable.

The six year of waiting is more than rewarded with this beautiful new album, on which a reborn Qntal treats us again on its perfect blend of medieval and electro. I wonder how this will sound on stage. (in Belgium, we get that chance on the Black Easter Festival).

Ward DE PRINS
06/01/2015


NL

QNTAL VII is het nieuwste album van het Duitse elektro-medievalgezelschap rond Syrah en Michael Popp. Het vaste recept van Qntal, een perfecte mix van oude teksten en muziek en hedendaagse elektro, wordt ook hier verder uitgepuurd om zo een heerlijk klankenlandschap te creëren waarin je kan wegdromen.

“By The Light Of The Moon” is een eerste voltreffer, waarbij teksten van Lord Byron prachtig worden vertolkt door Michael tegen een perfecte melancholische en elektronische achtergrond (Leon Rodt als producer was dan ook een excellente keuze). Ook de teksten van William Blake krijgen een muzikale behandeling op het nummer “Tyger” waarop Syrah dit prachtige gedicht mag zingen, ondersteund door rustige, complexe doch o zo mooie synthesizers.

Naast deze tragere melancholische nummers zijn er echter ook de meer uptempo en uiterst dansbare songs zoals “Blow Northene Wynd” (met teksten van een anonieme schrijver uit de vijftiende eeuw). Live moet dit een waar feestje zijn, zeker als de prachtige stem van Syrah hierbij mooi aangevuld wordt door de viool en backing vocals van Mariko en het energieke drumspel van Markus.

“Schnee” is mijn favoriete parel van dit album. Het trage pianospel en de repetitieve teksten, vertolkt door twee vrouwenstemmen en prachtig opgeluisterd door Midden-oosterse klanken, is voor mij hét voorbeeld van de kwaliteit en het unieke geluid waarvoor Qntal staat. Prachtig!

Het rustig voortkabbelende “Flame Amoureuse” is gebaseerd op oud-Franse teksten uit de twaalfde eeuw en doorspekt met vernuftige elektronica en Midden-Oosterse klanken, heerlijk. “Melos Lacrimosum”, het voorlaatste nummer van het album, laat de engelachtige stemmen van beide dames weer mooi samenwerken tegen een achtergrond van duistere elektronica en viool. En het laatste nummer, “Nox Aeterna”, is de uptempo en uitgesponnen versie van “Schnee”, zeer mooi, al vind ik de originele, tragere versie leuker.

Het was zes jaar wachten op een nieuwe cd, maar het wachten werd meer dan beloond met dit prachtig album, waarop een als het ware herboren Qntal ons opnieuw trakteert op z'n perfecte mix van medieval en elektro. Ik ben benieuwd hoe dit allemaal live zal klinken. (in België krijgen we die kans op het Black Easter Festival).

Ward DE PRINS
06/01/2015


 

Next reviews
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
MARNIE • Crystal World
• THE FALL SERIES TWO
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • The Promised Land
IRIS • Radiant
CINEMUERTE • Dhist EP
DAVID WNENDT • Feuchtgebiete
EUGENIO MIRA • Blackmail (Grand Piano)
MARLENE DUMAS • The Image as Burden (Amsterdam, Stedelijk Museum)
ALASDAIR ROBERTS • Alasdair Roberts

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

20
02
UNIDENTIFIED MAN
Memento Mori
17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession