tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/01/2015 : QNTAL - QNTAL VII

QNTAL

QNTAL VII

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[88/100]   

Drakkar Records
06/01/2015, Ward DE PRINS

EN

QNTAL VII is the latest album by the German electro-medieval band around Syrah and Michael Popp. The fixed recipe of Qntal, a perfect blend of old and contemporary lyrics and music with electronics, is also applied on this album, in order to create a wonderful, mesmerizing sound landscape.

"By The Light Of The Moon" is a first hit, with texts by Lord Byron, wonderfully interpreted by Michael against a perfect melancholic and electronic background (Leon Rodt as a producer was an excellent choice). Also the texts of William Blake get a musical treatment on the song "Tyger". Syrah sings this beautiful poem, supported by quiet and complex but oh so beautiful synthesizers.

Besides these slower melancholic songs, there are also the more upbeat and danceable songs such as "Blow Northene Wynd" (with lyrics by an anonymous writer from the fifteenth century). Live this should give a real treat, especially if the beautiful voice of Syrah will be complemented by the violin and backing vocals of Mariko and the energetic drumming of Markus.

"Schnee" is my favorite gem of this album. The slow piano and repetitive lyrics sung by two female voices and beautifully graced by Middle Eastern sounds, is the perfect example of the quality and unique sound which Qntal brings. Fantastic!

The slow and gentle "Flame Amoureuse" is based on Old French texts from the twelfth century and laced with clever electronics and delicious Middle Eastern sounds. "Melos Lacrimosum", the penultimate song of the album, blends again the angelic voices of both women with some dark electronics and enchanting violin. And the last track, "Nox Aeterna", is the uptempo and drawn out version of "Schnee", very nice, though I still find the original, slower version, more enjoyable.

The six year of waiting is more than rewarded with this beautiful new album, on which a reborn Qntal treats us again on its perfect blend of medieval and electro. I wonder how this will sound on stage. (in Belgium, we get that chance on the Black Easter Festival).

Ward DE PRINS
06/01/2015


NL

QNTAL VII is het nieuwste album van het Duitse elektro-medievalgezelschap rond Syrah en Michael Popp. Het vaste recept van Qntal, een perfecte mix van oude teksten en muziek en hedendaagse elektro, wordt ook hier verder uitgepuurd om zo een heerlijk klankenlandschap te creëren waarin je kan wegdromen.

“By The Light Of The Moon” is een eerste voltreffer, waarbij teksten van Lord Byron prachtig worden vertolkt door Michael tegen een perfecte melancholische en elektronische achtergrond (Leon Rodt als producer was dan ook een excellente keuze). Ook de teksten van William Blake krijgen een muzikale behandeling op het nummer “Tyger” waarop Syrah dit prachtige gedicht mag zingen, ondersteund door rustige, complexe doch o zo mooie synthesizers.

Naast deze tragere melancholische nummers zijn er echter ook de meer uptempo en uiterst dansbare songs zoals “Blow Northene Wynd” (met teksten van een anonieme schrijver uit de vijftiende eeuw). Live moet dit een waar feestje zijn, zeker als de prachtige stem van Syrah hierbij mooi aangevuld wordt door de viool en backing vocals van Mariko en het energieke drumspel van Markus.

“Schnee” is mijn favoriete parel van dit album. Het trage pianospel en de repetitieve teksten, vertolkt door twee vrouwenstemmen en prachtig opgeluisterd door Midden-oosterse klanken, is voor mij hét voorbeeld van de kwaliteit en het unieke geluid waarvoor Qntal staat. Prachtig!

Het rustig voortkabbelende “Flame Amoureuse” is gebaseerd op oud-Franse teksten uit de twaalfde eeuw en doorspekt met vernuftige elektronica en Midden-Oosterse klanken, heerlijk. “Melos Lacrimosum”, het voorlaatste nummer van het album, laat de engelachtige stemmen van beide dames weer mooi samenwerken tegen een achtergrond van duistere elektronica en viool. En het laatste nummer, “Nox Aeterna”, is de uptempo en uitgesponnen versie van “Schnee”, zeer mooi, al vind ik de originele, tragere versie leuker.

Het was zes jaar wachten op een nieuwe cd, maar het wachten werd meer dan beloond met dit prachtig album, waarop een als het ware herboren Qntal ons opnieuw trakteert op z'n perfecte mix van medieval en elektro. Ik ben benieuwd hoe dit allemaal live zal klinken. (in België krijgen we die kans op het Black Easter Festival).

Ward DE PRINS
06/01/2015


 

Next reviews
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
MARNIE • Crystal World
• THE FALL SERIES TWO
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • The Promised Land
IRIS • Radiant
CINEMUERTE • Dhist EP
DAVID WNENDT • Feuchtgebiete
EUGENIO MIRA • Blackmail (Grand Piano)
MARLENE DUMAS • The Image as Burden (Amsterdam, Stedelijk Museum)
ALASDAIR ROBERTS • Alasdair Roberts

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice