tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

06/10/2015 : SCHWARZBLUT - Judas EP

SCHWARZBLUT

Judas EP

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroIndustrialMedieval

[80/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
06/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

The Dutch collective Schwarzblut combines medieval texts with dark electro. In all fairness I must say that they are not the only ones doing so. What makes them unique however, is the combination of the deep dark synths and lyrics that carry you to places you normally never visit.

The combination of the industrial voice of Zeon and the more classical vocals by Angelica works good. To top it all, they add an atmosphere that feels like a classic film score, reminiscent to the early years of Star Trek.

Several bands have applied their electro-approach on the title track Judas: from metal guitars like Hell Sector does, to the more minimal sounds of the Commodore 64 version of Zur Hölle by ZC64, and the industrial touch of Cardinal Noire on Von Des Todes Surely Heit Und Der Tugend.

Four tracks in different versions, and that makes it a very varied 10-track EP that electro lovers certainly will like. For me a, this EP is a winner.

Ruben SAEY
06/10/2015


NL

Het Nederlandse collectief Schwarzblut brengt een combinatie van middeleeuwse teksten en dark electro. De eerlijkheid gebiedt mij te zeggen dat ze hiermee niet de enigen zijn die dat doen. Waarin ze wel uniek zijn is de manier waarop die combinatie gebeurt: donkere synths en diepe dark beats die de teksten naar plaatsen dragen waar je zelden komt.

De cyber industrial stem van Zeon wordt mooi gecounterd door de eerder klassieke vocalen van Angelica, het is een unieke combinatie die werkt. Om het geheel af te maken wordt dit alles overgoten met een klassieke filmscore die je meteen naar de beginjaren van Star Trek meeneemt.

De basistrack Judas wordt in de handen van verschillende bands gegeven, elk met hun eigen electrobenadering. Dat varieert van de met metal gitaren geladen remix door Hell Sector tot de wat meer minimal Commodore 64-versie van Zur Hölle door ZC64, tot de industrial inslag van Cardinal Noire in Von Des Todes Gewissheit Und Der Tugend.

Vier verschillende tracks in andere versies dus, en dat levert een heel gevarieerde 10-track-ep op waarin de electroliefhebber zeker zijn gading zal vinden. Wat mij betreft een geslaagde ep.

Ruben SAEY
06/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
ELANDOR • Loveless Mind
OMD • Dazzle Ships At Museum Of Liverpool
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COME WITH REVERSE • Composing Serernity
IMPLORE • Depopulation
EVERY HOUR KILLS • Every Hour Kills EP
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf