tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/10/2015 : BLINDNESS - Wrapped In Plastic

BLINDNESS

Wrapped In Plastic

MusicCD
GaragerockIndiePost PunkShoegaze

[86/100]   

Saint Marie Records
06/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Shoegaze fanatics, may we have for a moment your attention? Blindness is the newest band of Debbie Smith, the guitarist who you might know of Echobelly and Curve. And yes, Wrapped In Plastic is the greatest indie noise record you can find in stores these days! The sound is never perfect (that’s why it’s called postpunk!), the guitars are extremely loud, it’s even a bit messy in pure Fall style, but after three spins (or was it only two?) you're hopelessly addicted to this London trio.

It is certainly no coincidence that this band has a deal with Saint Marie Records, because this label belongs with Fuzz Club Records to the cream of the crop of today’s post-punk and shoegaze sounds.

The sound that Beth Rettig, Emma Quick and Debbie Smith conjure with their instruments causes the same feeling as the picture of the London Eye that is on the cover: it makes you dizzy. Do not think that the nine songs are a noisy mess, as after all there are a lot of pop elements in Blindness, at least if you agree that The Fall is pop, and yes they are!

The opening track Serves Me Right immediately hits all the targets. After all these years Debbie Smith still can’t get enough of those loud fuzz guitars, and the result just sounds delicious! But Blindness is more than the new group of Debbie Smith. Beth’s vocals sound sexy, punky, a tad naughty, but above all irresistible. The bass sound of Emma Quick reminds you of the heyday of The Jesus & Mary Chain. Combine all these elements and you simply have the best band of the moment!

No One Counts sounds like Elastica, but without the Britpop bits. Sometimes their music is quite noisy (although always structured).Deserving is glam rock in a My Bloody Valentine-treatment and Sunday Morning is because of its electronic sounds quite dark. The same electronics are in Humming Song, and it seems as if Martin Hannett’s spirit somewhere wanders in this song. To say it otherwise, this is sublime.

Of course we can’t help but say something about Curve in this review. You certainly can do that as Broken has the similar sound as the band who created with Ten Little Girls a sound named shoegaze noise. All In One is another piece of brilliant pop, albeit delivered with a cartload of deafening decibels.

This record by Blindness is among the best of what the shoegaze/postpunk moment of this year has to offer. Words fail to describe the genius of this album, one that will end up in the list of 2015!

Didier BECU
06/10/2015


NL

Shoegazefanaten, mogen we eventjes jullie aandacht? Blindness is het nieuwste groepje van Debbie Smith, de gitariste die je natuurlijk van Echobelly en Curve kent. En jawel, Wrapped In Plastic is de heerlijkste noiseplaat van dit moment. Het rammelt langs alle kanten, de gitaren staan loeihard, maar reeds na drie luisterbeurten (of waren het er slechts twee?) ben je hopeloos verslaafd aan dit Londense drietal.

Het is zeker geen toeval dat dit trio bij Saint Marie Records een thuishaven heeft gevonden, want dit label behoort samen met Fuzz Club Records tot de top van de betere postpunk en shoegaze.

Het geluid dat Beth Rettig, Emma Quick en Debbie Smith uit hun instrumenten toveren veroorzaakt hetzelfde gevoel als de London Eye die op het hoesje glundert: het maakt je duizelig. Denk echter niet dat de negen nummers een niet te beluisteren geluidsbrij zijn, er zitten immers heel wat popelementen in hun lawaaierige songs verwerkt, ten minste als je het ermee eens bent dat The Fall ook pop maakt.

Met de openingstrack Serves Me Right zet Blindness meteen alle registers open. Debbie Smith heeft na al die jaren nog steeds niet genoeg gekregen van luide fuzzgitaren, en het resultaat klinkt zalig! Maar Blindness is meer dan het nieuwe groepje van Debbie Smith. De vocals van Beth klinken sexy, punky, een tikkeltje uitdagend en vooral onweerstaanbaar. Het basgeluid van Emma Quick herinnert je aan de hoogdagen van The Jesus & Mary Chain. Combineer dat alles en je hebt zo waar de beste groep van het moment!

No One Counts klinkt wat zoals Elastica, maar dan wel zonder de Britpopkantjes. Deserving is glamrock in een My Bloody Valentine-behandeling en Sunday Morning heeft door zijn electronische klanken iets donkers. Diezelfde electronica hoor je ook in Humming Song en het lijkt wel alsof de geest van Martin Hannett ergens in dit nummer ronddwaalt. Kortom, subliem.

Natuurlijk kunnen we bijna niet anders dan iets zeggen over Curve bij de bespreking van dit debuut. Dat kan je zeker doen bij Broken, want deze track lijkt wel zeer sterk op het geluid van de groep die met Ten Little Girls de wereld shoegaze noise schonk. All In One is opnieuw een stukje briljante pop, weliswaar afgeleverd met een karrevracht oorverdovende decibels. Nog meer chaotische noisepop krijg je in Confessions.

Deze plaat van Blindness behoort tot het beste van wat we dit jaar uit de shoegaze-richting hebben gehoord. Woorden schieten te kort, wat je van de decibels niet kan zeggen! Eentje voor het eindejaarslijstje!

Didier BECU
06/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ELANDOR • Loveless Mind
OMD • Dazzle Ships At Museum Of Liverpool
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COME WITH REVERSE • Composing Serernity
IMPLORE • Depopulation
EVERY HOUR KILLS • Every Hour Kills EP
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams