tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/10/2015 : BLINDNESS - Wrapped In Plastic

BLINDNESS

Wrapped In Plastic

MusicCD
GaragerockIndiePost PunkShoegaze

[86/100]   

Saint Marie Records
06/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Shoegaze fanatics, may we have for a moment your attention? Blindness is the newest band of Debbie Smith, the guitarist who you might know of Echobelly and Curve. And yes, Wrapped In Plastic is the greatest indie noise record you can find in stores these days! The sound is never perfect (that’s why it’s called postpunk!), the guitars are extremely loud, it’s even a bit messy in pure Fall style, but after three spins (or was it only two?) you're hopelessly addicted to this London trio.

It is certainly no coincidence that this band has a deal with Saint Marie Records, because this label belongs with Fuzz Club Records to the cream of the crop of today’s post-punk and shoegaze sounds.

The sound that Beth Rettig, Emma Quick and Debbie Smith conjure with their instruments causes the same feeling as the picture of the London Eye that is on the cover: it makes you dizzy. Do not think that the nine songs are a noisy mess, as after all there are a lot of pop elements in Blindness, at least if you agree that The Fall is pop, and yes they are!

The opening track Serves Me Right immediately hits all the targets. After all these years Debbie Smith still can’t get enough of those loud fuzz guitars, and the result just sounds delicious! But Blindness is more than the new group of Debbie Smith. Beth’s vocals sound sexy, punky, a tad naughty, but above all irresistible. The bass sound of Emma Quick reminds you of the heyday of The Jesus & Mary Chain. Combine all these elements and you simply have the best band of the moment!

No One Counts sounds like Elastica, but without the Britpop bits. Sometimes their music is quite noisy (although always structured).Deserving is glam rock in a My Bloody Valentine-treatment and Sunday Morning is because of its electronic sounds quite dark. The same electronics are in Humming Song, and it seems as if Martin Hannett’s spirit somewhere wanders in this song. To say it otherwise, this is sublime.

Of course we can’t help but say something about Curve in this review. You certainly can do that as Broken has the similar sound as the band who created with Ten Little Girls a sound named shoegaze noise. All In One is another piece of brilliant pop, albeit delivered with a cartload of deafening decibels.

This record by Blindness is among the best of what the shoegaze/postpunk moment of this year has to offer. Words fail to describe the genius of this album, one that will end up in the list of 2015!

Didier BECU
06/10/2015


NL

Shoegazefanaten, mogen we eventjes jullie aandacht? Blindness is het nieuwste groepje van Debbie Smith, de gitariste die je natuurlijk van Echobelly en Curve kent. En jawel, Wrapped In Plastic is de heerlijkste noiseplaat van dit moment. Het rammelt langs alle kanten, de gitaren staan loeihard, maar reeds na drie luisterbeurten (of waren het er slechts twee?) ben je hopeloos verslaafd aan dit Londense drietal.

Het is zeker geen toeval dat dit trio bij Saint Marie Records een thuishaven heeft gevonden, want dit label behoort samen met Fuzz Club Records tot de top van de betere postpunk en shoegaze.

Het geluid dat Beth Rettig, Emma Quick en Debbie Smith uit hun instrumenten toveren veroorzaakt hetzelfde gevoel als de London Eye die op het hoesje glundert: het maakt je duizelig. Denk echter niet dat de negen nummers een niet te beluisteren geluidsbrij zijn, er zitten immers heel wat popelementen in hun lawaaierige songs verwerkt, ten minste als je het ermee eens bent dat The Fall ook pop maakt.

Met de openingstrack Serves Me Right zet Blindness meteen alle registers open. Debbie Smith heeft na al die jaren nog steeds niet genoeg gekregen van luide fuzzgitaren, en het resultaat klinkt zalig! Maar Blindness is meer dan het nieuwe groepje van Debbie Smith. De vocals van Beth klinken sexy, punky, een tikkeltje uitdagend en vooral onweerstaanbaar. Het basgeluid van Emma Quick herinnert je aan de hoogdagen van The Jesus & Mary Chain. Combineer dat alles en je hebt zo waar de beste groep van het moment!

No One Counts klinkt wat zoals Elastica, maar dan wel zonder de Britpopkantjes. Deserving is glamrock in een My Bloody Valentine-behandeling en Sunday Morning heeft door zijn electronische klanken iets donkers. Diezelfde electronica hoor je ook in Humming Song en het lijkt wel alsof de geest van Martin Hannett ergens in dit nummer ronddwaalt. Kortom, subliem.

Natuurlijk kunnen we bijna niet anders dan iets zeggen over Curve bij de bespreking van dit debuut. Dat kan je zeker doen bij Broken, want deze track lijkt wel zeer sterk op het geluid van de groep die met Ten Little Girls de wereld shoegaze noise schonk. All In One is opnieuw een stukje briljante pop, weliswaar afgeleverd met een karrevracht oorverdovende decibels. Nog meer chaotische noisepop krijg je in Confessions.

Deze plaat van Blindness behoort tot het beste van wat we dit jaar uit de shoegaze-richting hebben gehoord. Woorden schieten te kort, wat je van de decibels niet kan zeggen! Eentje voor het eindejaarslijstje!

Didier BECU
06/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ELANDOR • Loveless Mind
OMD • Dazzle Ships At Museum Of Liverpool
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COME WITH REVERSE • Composing Serernity
IMPLORE • Depopulation
EVERY HOUR KILLS • Every Hour Kills EP
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane