tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/10/2015 : BLINDNESS - Wrapped In Plastic

BLINDNESS

Wrapped In Plastic

MusicCD
GaragerockIndiePost PunkShoegaze

[86/100]   

Saint Marie Records
06/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Shoegaze fanatics, may we have for a moment your attention? Blindness is the newest band of Debbie Smith, the guitarist who you might know of Echobelly and Curve. And yes, Wrapped In Plastic is the greatest indie noise record you can find in stores these days! The sound is never perfect (that’s why it’s called postpunk!), the guitars are extremely loud, it’s even a bit messy in pure Fall style, but after three spins (or was it only two?) you're hopelessly addicted to this London trio.

It is certainly no coincidence that this band has a deal with Saint Marie Records, because this label belongs with Fuzz Club Records to the cream of the crop of today’s post-punk and shoegaze sounds.

The sound that Beth Rettig, Emma Quick and Debbie Smith conjure with their instruments causes the same feeling as the picture of the London Eye that is on the cover: it makes you dizzy. Do not think that the nine songs are a noisy mess, as after all there are a lot of pop elements in Blindness, at least if you agree that The Fall is pop, and yes they are!

The opening track Serves Me Right immediately hits all the targets. After all these years Debbie Smith still can’t get enough of those loud fuzz guitars, and the result just sounds delicious! But Blindness is more than the new group of Debbie Smith. Beth’s vocals sound sexy, punky, a tad naughty, but above all irresistible. The bass sound of Emma Quick reminds you of the heyday of The Jesus & Mary Chain. Combine all these elements and you simply have the best band of the moment!

No One Counts sounds like Elastica, but without the Britpop bits. Sometimes their music is quite noisy (although always structured).Deserving is glam rock in a My Bloody Valentine-treatment and Sunday Morning is because of its electronic sounds quite dark. The same electronics are in Humming Song, and it seems as if Martin Hannett’s spirit somewhere wanders in this song. To say it otherwise, this is sublime.

Of course we can’t help but say something about Curve in this review. You certainly can do that as Broken has the similar sound as the band who created with Ten Little Girls a sound named shoegaze noise. All In One is another piece of brilliant pop, albeit delivered with a cartload of deafening decibels.

This record by Blindness is among the best of what the shoegaze/postpunk moment of this year has to offer. Words fail to describe the genius of this album, one that will end up in the list of 2015!

Didier BECU
06/10/2015


NL

Shoegazefanaten, mogen we eventjes jullie aandacht? Blindness is het nieuwste groepje van Debbie Smith, de gitariste die je natuurlijk van Echobelly en Curve kent. En jawel, Wrapped In Plastic is de heerlijkste noiseplaat van dit moment. Het rammelt langs alle kanten, de gitaren staan loeihard, maar reeds na drie luisterbeurten (of waren het er slechts twee?) ben je hopeloos verslaafd aan dit Londense drietal.

Het is zeker geen toeval dat dit trio bij Saint Marie Records een thuishaven heeft gevonden, want dit label behoort samen met Fuzz Club Records tot de top van de betere postpunk en shoegaze.

Het geluid dat Beth Rettig, Emma Quick en Debbie Smith uit hun instrumenten toveren veroorzaakt hetzelfde gevoel als de London Eye die op het hoesje glundert: het maakt je duizelig. Denk echter niet dat de negen nummers een niet te beluisteren geluidsbrij zijn, er zitten immers heel wat popelementen in hun lawaaierige songs verwerkt, ten minste als je het ermee eens bent dat The Fall ook pop maakt.

Met de openingstrack Serves Me Right zet Blindness meteen alle registers open. Debbie Smith heeft na al die jaren nog steeds niet genoeg gekregen van luide fuzzgitaren, en het resultaat klinkt zalig! Maar Blindness is meer dan het nieuwe groepje van Debbie Smith. De vocals van Beth klinken sexy, punky, een tikkeltje uitdagend en vooral onweerstaanbaar. Het basgeluid van Emma Quick herinnert je aan de hoogdagen van The Jesus & Mary Chain. Combineer dat alles en je hebt zo waar de beste groep van het moment!

No One Counts klinkt wat zoals Elastica, maar dan wel zonder de Britpopkantjes. Deserving is glamrock in een My Bloody Valentine-behandeling en Sunday Morning heeft door zijn electronische klanken iets donkers. Diezelfde electronica hoor je ook in Humming Song en het lijkt wel alsof de geest van Martin Hannett ergens in dit nummer ronddwaalt. Kortom, subliem.

Natuurlijk kunnen we bijna niet anders dan iets zeggen over Curve bij de bespreking van dit debuut. Dat kan je zeker doen bij Broken, want deze track lijkt wel zeer sterk op het geluid van de groep die met Ten Little Girls de wereld shoegaze noise schonk. All In One is opnieuw een stukje briljante pop, weliswaar afgeleverd met een karrevracht oorverdovende decibels. Nog meer chaotische noisepop krijg je in Confessions.

Deze plaat van Blindness behoort tot het beste van wat we dit jaar uit de shoegaze-richting hebben gehoord. Woorden schieten te kort, wat je van de decibels niet kan zeggen! Eentje voor het eindejaarslijstje!

Didier BECU
06/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ELANDOR • Loveless Mind
OMD • Dazzle Ships At Museum Of Liverpool
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COME WITH REVERSE • Composing Serernity
IMPLORE • Depopulation
EVERY HOUR KILLS • Every Hour Kills EP
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination