tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SERATONES - Get Gone

SERATONES

Get Gone

MusicCD
GaragerockSoul

[73/100]   

Fat Possum Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shreveport is the third largest city in Louisana , a state that usually is linked with musical styles like Delta blues or New Orleans jazz , but not really with garage rock. Without denying its roots, Seratones has the ideal answer on its debut Get Gone: witty guitar rock with a 70s sound that is combined with soul and funk. Even though all tracks are very exciting, they are all dominated by the powerful soul voice of A.J. Haynes, who sang in the Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia from her 6th birthday.

You can hear it all on this album: opener Choking On Your Spit balances between the rough L7-sound and fat MC5-riffs. Due to the soulful voice, you occasionally think of Skunk Anansie, but the band by Skin never sounded as beautiful as Seratones does on Tide, in which we even hear Phil Spector- influences.

Get Gone is a dirty rock ‘n roll disc without cheap studio tricks, and that makes this debut so special.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shreveport is de derde grootste stad in Louisana, een staat die je meestal met stijlen als delta blues of New Orleans-jazz linkt, maar niet echt met garagerock. Zonder zijn roots te verloochenen heeft Seratones daar op het debuut Get Gone het ideale antwoord op gevonden: snedige gitaarrock met een 70s-geluid wordt met soul en funk gecombineerd. Ook al zijn alle tracks ontzettend opzwepend, worden ze toch één voor één gedomineerd door de krachtige soulstem van A.J. Haynes, die reeds vanaf haar zesde in de Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia zong.

Je hoort van alles op deze plaat, zo balanceert opener Choking On Your Spit tussen het ruige van L7 en het vette van MC5. Wegens de soulvolle stem, ga je af en toe wel eens aan Skunk Anansie denken, maar toch klonk de band van Skin nooit zo mooi als Seratones op Tide, waarin we zelfs wat Phil Spector-invloeden horen.

Get Gone is een vieze plaat die gevrijwaard is van studiotrucs, en dat is wat dit debuut zo bijzonder maakt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning