tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SERATONES - Get Gone

SERATONES

Get Gone

MusicCD
GaragerockSoul

[73/100]   

Fat Possum Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shreveport is the third largest city in Louisana , a state that usually is linked with musical styles like Delta blues or New Orleans jazz , but not really with garage rock. Without denying its roots, Seratones has the ideal answer on its debut Get Gone: witty guitar rock with a 70s sound that is combined with soul and funk. Even though all tracks are very exciting, they are all dominated by the powerful soul voice of A.J. Haynes, who sang in the Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia from her 6th birthday.

You can hear it all on this album: opener Choking On Your Spit balances between the rough L7-sound and fat MC5-riffs. Due to the soulful voice, you occasionally think of Skunk Anansie, but the band by Skin never sounded as beautiful as Seratones does on Tide, in which we even hear Phil Spector- influences.

Get Gone is a dirty rock ‘n roll disc without cheap studio tricks, and that makes this debut so special.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shreveport is de derde grootste stad in Louisana, een staat die je meestal met stijlen als delta blues of New Orleans-jazz linkt, maar niet echt met garagerock. Zonder zijn roots te verloochenen heeft Seratones daar op het debuut Get Gone het ideale antwoord op gevonden: snedige gitaarrock met een 70s-geluid wordt met soul en funk gecombineerd. Ook al zijn alle tracks ontzettend opzwepend, worden ze toch één voor één gedomineerd door de krachtige soulstem van A.J. Haynes, die reeds vanaf haar zesde in de Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia zong.

Je hoort van alles op deze plaat, zo balanceert opener Choking On Your Spit tussen het ruige van L7 en het vette van MC5. Wegens de soulvolle stem, ga je af en toe wel eens aan Skunk Anansie denken, maar toch klonk de band van Skin nooit zo mooi als Seratones op Tide, waarin we zelfs wat Phil Spector-invloeden horen.

Get Gone is een vieze plaat die gevrijwaard is van studiotrucs, en dat is wat dit debuut zo bijzonder maakt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus