tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SERATONES - Get Gone

SERATONES

Get Gone

MusicCD
GaragerockSoul

[73/100]   

Fat Possum Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shreveport is the third largest city in Louisana , a state that usually is linked with musical styles like Delta blues or New Orleans jazz , but not really with garage rock. Without denying its roots, Seratones has the ideal answer on its debut Get Gone: witty guitar rock with a 70s sound that is combined with soul and funk. Even though all tracks are very exciting, they are all dominated by the powerful soul voice of A.J. Haynes, who sang in the Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia from her 6th birthday.

You can hear it all on this album: opener Choking On Your Spit balances between the rough L7-sound and fat MC5-riffs. Due to the soulful voice, you occasionally think of Skunk Anansie, but the band by Skin never sounded as beautiful as Seratones does on Tide, in which we even hear Phil Spector- influences.

Get Gone is a dirty rock ‘n roll disc without cheap studio tricks, and that makes this debut so special.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shreveport is de derde grootste stad in Louisana, een staat die je meestal met stijlen als delta blues of New Orleans-jazz linkt, maar niet echt met garagerock. Zonder zijn roots te verloochenen heeft Seratones daar op het debuut Get Gone het ideale antwoord op gevonden: snedige gitaarrock met een 70s-geluid wordt met soul en funk gecombineerd. Ook al zijn alle tracks ontzettend opzwepend, worden ze toch één voor één gedomineerd door de krachtige soulstem van A.J. Haynes, die reeds vanaf haar zesde in de Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia zong.

Je hoort van alles op deze plaat, zo balanceert opener Choking On Your Spit tussen het ruige van L7 en het vette van MC5. Wegens de soulvolle stem, ga je af en toe wel eens aan Skunk Anansie denken, maar toch klonk de band van Skin nooit zo mooi als Seratones op Tide, waarin we zelfs wat Phil Spector-invloeden horen.

Get Gone is een vieze plaat die gevrijwaard is van studiotrucs, en dat is wat dit debuut zo bijzonder maakt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)