tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SERATONES - Get Gone

SERATONES

Get Gone

MusicCD
GaragerockSoul

[73/100]   

Fat Possum Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shreveport is the third largest city in Louisana , a state that usually is linked with musical styles like Delta blues or New Orleans jazz , but not really with garage rock. Without denying its roots, Seratones has the ideal answer on its debut Get Gone: witty guitar rock with a 70s sound that is combined with soul and funk. Even though all tracks are very exciting, they are all dominated by the powerful soul voice of A.J. Haynes, who sang in the Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia from her 6th birthday.

You can hear it all on this album: opener Choking On Your Spit balances between the rough L7-sound and fat MC5-riffs. Due to the soulful voice, you occasionally think of Skunk Anansie, but the band by Skin never sounded as beautiful as Seratones does on Tide, in which we even hear Phil Spector- influences.

Get Gone is a dirty rock ‘n roll disc without cheap studio tricks, and that makes this debut so special.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shreveport is de derde grootste stad in Louisana, een staat die je meestal met stijlen als delta blues of New Orleans-jazz linkt, maar niet echt met garagerock. Zonder zijn roots te verloochenen heeft Seratones daar op het debuut Get Gone het ideale antwoord op gevonden: snedige gitaarrock met een 70s-geluid wordt met soul en funk gecombineerd. Ook al zijn alle tracks ontzettend opzwepend, worden ze toch één voor één gedomineerd door de krachtige soulstem van A.J. Haynes, die reeds vanaf haar zesde in de Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia zong.

Je hoort van alles op deze plaat, zo balanceert opener Choking On Your Spit tussen het ruige van L7 en het vette van MC5. Wegens de soulvolle stem, ga je af en toe wel eens aan Skunk Anansie denken, maar toch klonk de band van Skin nooit zo mooi als Seratones op Tide, waarin we zelfs wat Phil Spector-invloeden horen.

Get Gone is een vieze plaat die gevrijwaard is van studiotrucs, en dat is wat dit debuut zo bijzonder maakt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery