tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SERATONES - Get Gone

SERATONES

Get Gone

MusicCD
GaragerockSoul

[73/100]   

Fat Possum Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shreveport is the third largest city in Louisana , a state that usually is linked with musical styles like Delta blues or New Orleans jazz , but not really with garage rock. Without denying its roots, Seratones has the ideal answer on its debut Get Gone: witty guitar rock with a 70s sound that is combined with soul and funk. Even though all tracks are very exciting, they are all dominated by the powerful soul voice of A.J. Haynes, who sang in the Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia from her 6th birthday.

You can hear it all on this album: opener Choking On Your Spit balances between the rough L7-sound and fat MC5-riffs. Due to the soulful voice, you occasionally think of Skunk Anansie, but the band by Skin never sounded as beautiful as Seratones does on Tide, in which we even hear Phil Spector- influences.

Get Gone is a dirty rock ‘n roll disc without cheap studio tricks, and that makes this debut so special.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shreveport is de derde grootste stad in Louisana, een staat die je meestal met stijlen als delta blues of New Orleans-jazz linkt, maar niet echt met garagerock. Zonder zijn roots te verloochenen heeft Seratones daar op het debuut Get Gone het ideale antwoord op gevonden: snedige gitaarrock met een 70s-geluid wordt met soul en funk gecombineerd. Ook al zijn alle tracks ontzettend opzwepend, worden ze toch één voor één gedomineerd door de krachtige soulstem van A.J. Haynes, die reeds vanaf haar zesde in de Brownsville Baptist Church in Columbia zong.

Je hoort van alles op deze plaat, zo balanceert opener Choking On Your Spit tussen het ruige van L7 en het vette van MC5. Wegens de soulvolle stem, ga je af en toe wel eens aan Skunk Anansie denken, maar toch klonk de band van Skin nooit zo mooi als Seratones op Tide, waarin we zelfs wat Phil Spector-invloeden horen.

Get Gone is een vieze plaat die gevrijwaard is van studiotrucs, en dat is wat dit debuut zo bijzonder maakt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called
25
01
KRAMM
Die Schöpfung und andere Kurzgeschichten

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
18
02
BESTIAL MOUTHS Rips & Re-Stitches With New Remix LP, 'BACKBONE'

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
21
02
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
20
02
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park