tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

23/09/2015 : JOHN MILK - Treat Me Right

JOHN MILK

Treat Me Right

MusicCD single
JazzPopSoul

[80/100]   

PIAS
23/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

His name sounds English, and when you listen to his first single Treat Me Right, you could easily situate him in America, but actually John Milk grew up in a Paris suburb where everyone of his age listened to hip hop. At the age of 18 he wanted to make music himself and five years later he decided that American soul music was his ultimate passion.

His first single Treat Me Right is a mix of American soul of the 60s, funk from the 70s, a pinch of afrobeat and jazz. The result sounds surprisingly mature and authentic, even though John Milks cradle stood very far from the source of this music. Good sounding funky guitars and tight drumming create the canvas against which he spreads out his smooth melody and vocals. He sounds like a cross between Prince and The Temptations, slightly retro, but the material is melodic, catchy and very danceable. Success assured!

The video clip of "Treat Me Right"

William LIÉNARD
23/09/2015


NL

Z’n naam klinkt Engels en als je z’n eerste single Treat Me Right hoort, zou je hem in Amerika situeren, maar eigenlijk groeide John Milk op in een Parijse voorstad waar iedereen van zijn leeftijd naar hip hop luisterde. Op z’n 18de besloot hij om zelf muziek te maken en vijf jaar later koos hij definitief voor Amerikaans soulmuziek.

Z’n eerste single Treat Me Right is een mengeling van Amerikaanse soul uit de jaren 60, funk uit de jaren 70, een snuifje afrobeat en jazz. Het resultaat klinkt verrassend volwassen en authentiek, ook al heeft John Milks wieg heel ver van de bron van deze muziek gestaan. Goed klinkende funky gitaren en stevig drumwerk creëren het canvas waartegen Milk z’n soepele melodie en vocalen uitspreidt. Hij klinkt als een kruising tussen Prince en The Temptations, lichtjes retro met andere woorden, maar het materiaal is melodisch, aanstekelijk en heel erg dansbaar. De hitparade waardig.

William LIÉNARD
23/09/2015


 

Next reviews
JAN DEWULF (DISKONNEKTED, MILDREDA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)