tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

23/09/2015 : JOHN MILK - Treat Me Right

JOHN MILK

Treat Me Right

MusicCD single
JazzPopSoul

[80/100]   

PIAS
23/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

His name sounds English, and when you listen to his first single Treat Me Right, you could easily situate him in America, but actually John Milk grew up in a Paris suburb where everyone of his age listened to hip hop. At the age of 18 he wanted to make music himself and five years later he decided that American soul music was his ultimate passion.

His first single Treat Me Right is a mix of American soul of the 60s, funk from the 70s, a pinch of afrobeat and jazz. The result sounds surprisingly mature and authentic, even though John Milks cradle stood very far from the source of this music. Good sounding funky guitars and tight drumming create the canvas against which he spreads out his smooth melody and vocals. He sounds like a cross between Prince and The Temptations, slightly retro, but the material is melodic, catchy and very danceable. Success assured!

The video clip of "Treat Me Right"

William LIÉNARD
23/09/2015


NL

Z’n naam klinkt Engels en als je z’n eerste single Treat Me Right hoort, zou je hem in Amerika situeren, maar eigenlijk groeide John Milk op in een Parijse voorstad waar iedereen van zijn leeftijd naar hip hop luisterde. Op z’n 18de besloot hij om zelf muziek te maken en vijf jaar later koos hij definitief voor Amerikaans soulmuziek.

Z’n eerste single Treat Me Right is een mengeling van Amerikaanse soul uit de jaren 60, funk uit de jaren 70, een snuifje afrobeat en jazz. Het resultaat klinkt verrassend volwassen en authentiek, ook al heeft John Milks wieg heel ver van de bron van deze muziek gestaan. Goed klinkende funky gitaren en stevig drumwerk creëren het canvas waartegen Milk z’n soepele melodie en vocalen uitspreidt. Hij klinkt als een kruising tussen Prince en The Temptations, lichtjes retro met andere woorden, maar het materiaal is melodisch, aanstekelijk en heel erg dansbaar. De hitparade waardig.

William LIÉNARD
23/09/2015


 

Next reviews
JAN DEWULF (DISKONNEKTED, MILDREDA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom