tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

23/09/2015 : JOHN MILK - Treat Me Right

JOHN MILK

Treat Me Right

MusicCD single
JazzPopSoul

[80/100]   

PIAS
23/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

His name sounds English, and when you listen to his first single Treat Me Right, you could easily situate him in America, but actually John Milk grew up in a Paris suburb where everyone of his age listened to hip hop. At the age of 18 he wanted to make music himself and five years later he decided that American soul music was his ultimate passion.

His first single Treat Me Right is a mix of American soul of the 60s, funk from the 70s, a pinch of afrobeat and jazz. The result sounds surprisingly mature and authentic, even though John Milks cradle stood very far from the source of this music. Good sounding funky guitars and tight drumming create the canvas against which he spreads out his smooth melody and vocals. He sounds like a cross between Prince and The Temptations, slightly retro, but the material is melodic, catchy and very danceable. Success assured!

The video clip of "Treat Me Right"

William LIÉNARD
23/09/2015


NL

Z’n naam klinkt Engels en als je z’n eerste single Treat Me Right hoort, zou je hem in Amerika situeren, maar eigenlijk groeide John Milk op in een Parijse voorstad waar iedereen van zijn leeftijd naar hip hop luisterde. Op z’n 18de besloot hij om zelf muziek te maken en vijf jaar later koos hij definitief voor Amerikaans soulmuziek.

Z’n eerste single Treat Me Right is een mengeling van Amerikaanse soul uit de jaren 60, funk uit de jaren 70, een snuifje afrobeat en jazz. Het resultaat klinkt verrassend volwassen en authentiek, ook al heeft John Milks wieg heel ver van de bron van deze muziek gestaan. Goed klinkende funky gitaren en stevig drumwerk creëren het canvas waartegen Milk z’n soepele melodie en vocalen uitspreidt. Hij klinkt als een kruising tussen Prince en The Temptations, lichtjes retro met andere woorden, maar het materiaal is melodisch, aanstekelijk en heel erg dansbaar. De hitparade waardig.

William LIÉNARD
23/09/2015


 

Next reviews
JAN DEWULF (DISKONNEKTED, MILDREDA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POP
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween