tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

23/09/2015 : JOHN MILK - Treat Me Right

JOHN MILK

Treat Me Right

MusicCD single
JazzPopSoul

[80/100]   

PIAS
23/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

His name sounds English, and when you listen to his first single Treat Me Right, you could easily situate him in America, but actually John Milk grew up in a Paris suburb where everyone of his age listened to hip hop. At the age of 18 he wanted to make music himself and five years later he decided that American soul music was his ultimate passion.

His first single Treat Me Right is a mix of American soul of the 60s, funk from the 70s, a pinch of afrobeat and jazz. The result sounds surprisingly mature and authentic, even though John Milks cradle stood very far from the source of this music. Good sounding funky guitars and tight drumming create the canvas against which he spreads out his smooth melody and vocals. He sounds like a cross between Prince and The Temptations, slightly retro, but the material is melodic, catchy and very danceable. Success assured!

The video clip of "Treat Me Right"

William LIÉNARD
23/09/2015


NL

Z’n naam klinkt Engels en als je z’n eerste single Treat Me Right hoort, zou je hem in Amerika situeren, maar eigenlijk groeide John Milk op in een Parijse voorstad waar iedereen van zijn leeftijd naar hip hop luisterde. Op z’n 18de besloot hij om zelf muziek te maken en vijf jaar later koos hij definitief voor Amerikaans soulmuziek.

Z’n eerste single Treat Me Right is een mengeling van Amerikaanse soul uit de jaren 60, funk uit de jaren 70, een snuifje afrobeat en jazz. Het resultaat klinkt verrassend volwassen en authentiek, ook al heeft John Milks wieg heel ver van de bron van deze muziek gestaan. Goed klinkende funky gitaren en stevig drumwerk creëren het canvas waartegen Milk z’n soepele melodie en vocalen uitspreidt. Hij klinkt als een kruising tussen Prince en The Temptations, lichtjes retro met andere woorden, maar het materiaal is melodisch, aanstekelijk en heel erg dansbaar. De hitparade waardig.

William LIÉNARD
23/09/2015


 

Next reviews
JAN DEWULF (DISKONNEKTED, MILDREDA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes