tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/03/2015 : TEXAS - Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

TEXAS

Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

MusicCD
PopSoul

[77/100]   

PIAS
17/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Texas exists 25 years and to celebrate that event, it has have released The Truth & Soul Sessions, that features some new and different versions from their well-known classics. And of course, because loyal fans would buy this release too, they added four new songs. Marketing wise indeed what you call a smart idea.

Texas started 25 years ago as a rock band (Southside), but developed more to a popband with Motown and soul influences (White On Blonde). This album kind of refers to the period of that song. It has not become a complete summary of their career, as you won’t find any tracks from Mothers Heaven or Rick’s Road here. A pity, as I would love to hear a song like So Called Friends with a soul arrangement. Don’ t expect big changes as the new versions are reminiscent to the originals, but it is interesting to hear classics like Summer Son or I Don’t Want A Lover in such a version.

And then there are the new songs. In the meantime you can hear Start A Family day in day out on the radio. Also Supafly Boy deserves its place on this album. Say Goodbye is an atmospheric tearjerker, while Are You Ready is a popsong with some good qualities.

The album does not give a complete picture of their career, but it surely shows what the band is doing these days or which direction it is heading for. And of course, there is still that irresistible voice of Spiteri!

· CD1 / LP
· THE TRUTH & SOUL SESSIONS

· 1.Start A Family
· 2. Black Eyed Boy
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Supafly Boy
· 5. Halo
· 6. Inner Smile
· 7. The Conversation
· 8. Say Goodbye
· 9. When We Are Together
· 10. Are You Ready
· 11. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 12. Summer Son

· CD 2 (Deluxe Edition)

· 1. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 2. Everyday Now
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Halo
· 5. Black Eyed Boy
· 6. Put Your Arms Around Me
· 7. Summer Son
· 8. When We Are Together
· 9. In Our Lifetime
· 10. In Demand
· 11. Inner Smile
· 12. Sleep
· 13. Say What You Want (All Day Every Day)
· 14. The Conversation
· 15. Detroit City

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


NL

Texas viert dit jaar z'n 25 jaar bestaan, en via The Truth & Soul Sessions werden enkele van hun klassiekers opnieuw opgenomen. Om fans die alles al in huis hebben toch tot deze aankoop te verleiden, zijn er enkele nieuwe nummers toegevoegd.

Texas startte jaren geleden als een poprockband (Southside) en evolueerde langzaam aan naar een popband met Motown invloeden (White on Blonde), een geluid dat je ook op deze cd hoort.

The Truth & Soul Sessions is zeker geen overzicht van hun volledige carrière geworden, zo vind je bijv. geen nummers van Rick’s Road of Mothers Heaven op deze compilatie terug. Jammer, ik had best wel eens een nummer als So called Friends in een soulkleedje willen horen. Nu ja, grote veranderingen moet je niet verwachten, want de nummers leunen heel dicht tegen het origineel aan. Toch blijft het interessant om klassiekers zoals Summer Son en I Don’ t Want a Lover in deze versies te horen, vooral die laatste is een geslaagde herwerking.

En dan zijn er de nieuwe songs: Start A Family is ondertussen al grijs gedraaid op de radio. Supafly Boy is een aanstekelijk nummer dat zijn plaats tussen de rest verdient. Say Goodbye is eerder een vakkundige, sfeervolle tearjerker, terwijl Are You Ready er als popnummer best mag zijn.

Dit album is al bij al geslaagd, met minstens twee leuke nieuwe nummers en een paar leuke bewerkingen. Het album geeft wel geen volledig beeld van hun discografie weer, en alhoewel dat jammer is, toont The Truth & Soul Sessions wel waarmee Texas vandaag bezig is. En jawel, Spiteris stem klinkt nog altijd als een klok.

De tracks vind je in het Engelse gedeelte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)