tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/03/2015 : TEXAS - Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

TEXAS

Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

MusicCD
PopSoul

[77/100]   

PIAS
17/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Texas exists 25 years and to celebrate that event, it has have released The Truth & Soul Sessions, that features some new and different versions from their well-known classics. And of course, because loyal fans would buy this release too, they added four new songs. Marketing wise indeed what you call a smart idea.

Texas started 25 years ago as a rock band (Southside), but developed more to a popband with Motown and soul influences (White On Blonde). This album kind of refers to the period of that song. It has not become a complete summary of their career, as you won’t find any tracks from Mothers Heaven or Rick’s Road here. A pity, as I would love to hear a song like So Called Friends with a soul arrangement. Don’ t expect big changes as the new versions are reminiscent to the originals, but it is interesting to hear classics like Summer Son or I Don’t Want A Lover in such a version.

And then there are the new songs. In the meantime you can hear Start A Family day in day out on the radio. Also Supafly Boy deserves its place on this album. Say Goodbye is an atmospheric tearjerker, while Are You Ready is a popsong with some good qualities.

The album does not give a complete picture of their career, but it surely shows what the band is doing these days or which direction it is heading for. And of course, there is still that irresistible voice of Spiteri!

· CD1 / LP
· THE TRUTH & SOUL SESSIONS

· 1.Start A Family
· 2. Black Eyed Boy
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Supafly Boy
· 5. Halo
· 6. Inner Smile
· 7. The Conversation
· 8. Say Goodbye
· 9. When We Are Together
· 10. Are You Ready
· 11. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 12. Summer Son

· CD 2 (Deluxe Edition)

· 1. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 2. Everyday Now
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Halo
· 5. Black Eyed Boy
· 6. Put Your Arms Around Me
· 7. Summer Son
· 8. When We Are Together
· 9. In Our Lifetime
· 10. In Demand
· 11. Inner Smile
· 12. Sleep
· 13. Say What You Want (All Day Every Day)
· 14. The Conversation
· 15. Detroit City

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


NL

Texas viert dit jaar z'n 25 jaar bestaan, en via The Truth & Soul Sessions werden enkele van hun klassiekers opnieuw opgenomen. Om fans die alles al in huis hebben toch tot deze aankoop te verleiden, zijn er enkele nieuwe nummers toegevoegd.

Texas startte jaren geleden als een poprockband (Southside) en evolueerde langzaam aan naar een popband met Motown invloeden (White on Blonde), een geluid dat je ook op deze cd hoort.

The Truth & Soul Sessions is zeker geen overzicht van hun volledige carrière geworden, zo vind je bijv. geen nummers van Rick’s Road of Mothers Heaven op deze compilatie terug. Jammer, ik had best wel eens een nummer als So called Friends in een soulkleedje willen horen. Nu ja, grote veranderingen moet je niet verwachten, want de nummers leunen heel dicht tegen het origineel aan. Toch blijft het interessant om klassiekers zoals Summer Son en I Don’ t Want a Lover in deze versies te horen, vooral die laatste is een geslaagde herwerking.

En dan zijn er de nieuwe songs: Start A Family is ondertussen al grijs gedraaid op de radio. Supafly Boy is een aanstekelijk nummer dat zijn plaats tussen de rest verdient. Say Goodbye is eerder een vakkundige, sfeervolle tearjerker, terwijl Are You Ready er als popnummer best mag zijn.

Dit album is al bij al geslaagd, met minstens twee leuke nieuwe nummers en een paar leuke bewerkingen. Het album geeft wel geen volledig beeld van hun discografie weer, en alhoewel dat jammer is, toont The Truth & Soul Sessions wel waarmee Texas vandaag bezig is. En jawel, Spiteris stem klinkt nog altijd als een klok.

De tracks vind je in het Engelse gedeelte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets