tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/03/2015 : TEXAS - Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

TEXAS

Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

MusicCD
PopSoul

[77/100]   

PIAS
17/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Texas exists 25 years and to celebrate that event, it has have released The Truth & Soul Sessions, that features some new and different versions from their well-known classics. And of course, because loyal fans would buy this release too, they added four new songs. Marketing wise indeed what you call a smart idea.

Texas started 25 years ago as a rock band (Southside), but developed more to a popband with Motown and soul influences (White On Blonde). This album kind of refers to the period of that song. It has not become a complete summary of their career, as you won’t find any tracks from Mothers Heaven or Rick’s Road here. A pity, as I would love to hear a song like So Called Friends with a soul arrangement. Don’ t expect big changes as the new versions are reminiscent to the originals, but it is interesting to hear classics like Summer Son or I Don’t Want A Lover in such a version.

And then there are the new songs. In the meantime you can hear Start A Family day in day out on the radio. Also Supafly Boy deserves its place on this album. Say Goodbye is an atmospheric tearjerker, while Are You Ready is a popsong with some good qualities.

The album does not give a complete picture of their career, but it surely shows what the band is doing these days or which direction it is heading for. And of course, there is still that irresistible voice of Spiteri!

· CD1 / LP
· THE TRUTH & SOUL SESSIONS

· 1.Start A Family
· 2. Black Eyed Boy
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Supafly Boy
· 5. Halo
· 6. Inner Smile
· 7. The Conversation
· 8. Say Goodbye
· 9. When We Are Together
· 10. Are You Ready
· 11. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 12. Summer Son

· CD 2 (Deluxe Edition)

· 1. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 2. Everyday Now
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Halo
· 5. Black Eyed Boy
· 6. Put Your Arms Around Me
· 7. Summer Son
· 8. When We Are Together
· 9. In Our Lifetime
· 10. In Demand
· 11. Inner Smile
· 12. Sleep
· 13. Say What You Want (All Day Every Day)
· 14. The Conversation
· 15. Detroit City

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


NL

Texas viert dit jaar z'n 25 jaar bestaan, en via The Truth & Soul Sessions werden enkele van hun klassiekers opnieuw opgenomen. Om fans die alles al in huis hebben toch tot deze aankoop te verleiden, zijn er enkele nieuwe nummers toegevoegd.

Texas startte jaren geleden als een poprockband (Southside) en evolueerde langzaam aan naar een popband met Motown invloeden (White on Blonde), een geluid dat je ook op deze cd hoort.

The Truth & Soul Sessions is zeker geen overzicht van hun volledige carrière geworden, zo vind je bijv. geen nummers van Rick’s Road of Mothers Heaven op deze compilatie terug. Jammer, ik had best wel eens een nummer als So called Friends in een soulkleedje willen horen. Nu ja, grote veranderingen moet je niet verwachten, want de nummers leunen heel dicht tegen het origineel aan. Toch blijft het interessant om klassiekers zoals Summer Son en I Don’ t Want a Lover in deze versies te horen, vooral die laatste is een geslaagde herwerking.

En dan zijn er de nieuwe songs: Start A Family is ondertussen al grijs gedraaid op de radio. Supafly Boy is een aanstekelijk nummer dat zijn plaats tussen de rest verdient. Say Goodbye is eerder een vakkundige, sfeervolle tearjerker, terwijl Are You Ready er als popnummer best mag zijn.

Dit album is al bij al geslaagd, met minstens twee leuke nieuwe nummers en een paar leuke bewerkingen. Het album geeft wel geen volledig beeld van hun discografie weer, en alhoewel dat jammer is, toont The Truth & Soul Sessions wel waarmee Texas vandaag bezig is. En jawel, Spiteris stem klinkt nog altijd als een klok.

De tracks vind je in het Engelse gedeelte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 37 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
EVA X Drops Her 'Dopamine Blind' Video; A Nighttime Escape Story
08
05
44 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.

PHOTOS

20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
VENUS FLY TRAP
Rocket USA
19
05
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Should I Look Above
18
05
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
17
05
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
16
05
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
15
05
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
14
05
ASH CODE
Nite Rite