tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/03/2015 : TEXAS - Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

TEXAS

Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

MusicCD
PopSoul

[77/100]   

PIAS
17/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Texas exists 25 years and to celebrate that event, it has have released The Truth & Soul Sessions, that features some new and different versions from their well-known classics. And of course, because loyal fans would buy this release too, they added four new songs. Marketing wise indeed what you call a smart idea.

Texas started 25 years ago as a rock band (Southside), but developed more to a popband with Motown and soul influences (White On Blonde). This album kind of refers to the period of that song. It has not become a complete summary of their career, as you won’t find any tracks from Mothers Heaven or Rick’s Road here. A pity, as I would love to hear a song like So Called Friends with a soul arrangement. Don’ t expect big changes as the new versions are reminiscent to the originals, but it is interesting to hear classics like Summer Son or I Don’t Want A Lover in such a version.

And then there are the new songs. In the meantime you can hear Start A Family day in day out on the radio. Also Supafly Boy deserves its place on this album. Say Goodbye is an atmospheric tearjerker, while Are You Ready is a popsong with some good qualities.

The album does not give a complete picture of their career, but it surely shows what the band is doing these days or which direction it is heading for. And of course, there is still that irresistible voice of Spiteri!

· CD1 / LP
· THE TRUTH & SOUL SESSIONS

· 1.Start A Family
· 2. Black Eyed Boy
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Supafly Boy
· 5. Halo
· 6. Inner Smile
· 7. The Conversation
· 8. Say Goodbye
· 9. When We Are Together
· 10. Are You Ready
· 11. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 12. Summer Son

· CD 2 (Deluxe Edition)

· 1. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 2. Everyday Now
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Halo
· 5. Black Eyed Boy
· 6. Put Your Arms Around Me
· 7. Summer Son
· 8. When We Are Together
· 9. In Our Lifetime
· 10. In Demand
· 11. Inner Smile
· 12. Sleep
· 13. Say What You Want (All Day Every Day)
· 14. The Conversation
· 15. Detroit City

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


NL

Texas viert dit jaar z'n 25 jaar bestaan, en via The Truth & Soul Sessions werden enkele van hun klassiekers opnieuw opgenomen. Om fans die alles al in huis hebben toch tot deze aankoop te verleiden, zijn er enkele nieuwe nummers toegevoegd.

Texas startte jaren geleden als een poprockband (Southside) en evolueerde langzaam aan naar een popband met Motown invloeden (White on Blonde), een geluid dat je ook op deze cd hoort.

The Truth & Soul Sessions is zeker geen overzicht van hun volledige carrière geworden, zo vind je bijv. geen nummers van Rick’s Road of Mothers Heaven op deze compilatie terug. Jammer, ik had best wel eens een nummer als So called Friends in een soulkleedje willen horen. Nu ja, grote veranderingen moet je niet verwachten, want de nummers leunen heel dicht tegen het origineel aan. Toch blijft het interessant om klassiekers zoals Summer Son en I Don’ t Want a Lover in deze versies te horen, vooral die laatste is een geslaagde herwerking.

En dan zijn er de nieuwe songs: Start A Family is ondertussen al grijs gedraaid op de radio. Supafly Boy is een aanstekelijk nummer dat zijn plaats tussen de rest verdient. Say Goodbye is eerder een vakkundige, sfeervolle tearjerker, terwijl Are You Ready er als popnummer best mag zijn.

Dit album is al bij al geslaagd, met minstens twee leuke nieuwe nummers en een paar leuke bewerkingen. Het album geeft wel geen volledig beeld van hun discografie weer, en alhoewel dat jammer is, toont The Truth & Soul Sessions wel waarmee Texas vandaag bezig is. En jawel, Spiteris stem klinkt nog altijd als een klok.

De tracks vind je in het Engelse gedeelte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day