tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

01/02/2015 : TEXAS - Start A Family

TEXAS

Start A Family

MusicCD single
Pop

[62/100]   

PIAS
01/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This single is a sort of preview for the new album Texas 25. It will contain eight older songs in a new version, and four brand new tracks. Of course, in terms of marketing a very smart move.

Start a Family is a singalong type of tune that is skillfully made, but predictable and mellow. Not only is Sharleen Spiteri a handsome woman, she also has a great voice (also on single), but on this single she keeps everything neat. Nothing bad, the beginning sounds nice is in the style of their Southside-album. When the chorus comes along, there is some campfire atmosphere, even with strings. I'm not wild about it. No, I expect something more from Spiteri and C°. Hopefully there are some gems on their new album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/02/2015


NL

Deze single is de voorloper van het nieuwe album Texas 25 waarop een achttal oudere songs in een nieuw jasje wordt gestoken met een viertal nieuwe songs. Qua marketing een slimme zet, natuurlijk.

Start a Family is een meezingertje met een nogal belegen tekst. Het nummer zit wel vakkundig in elkaar, maar is voorspelbaar en aan de melige kant. Sharleen Spiteri is niet alleen een knappe vrouw, bovenal heeft ze een dijk van een stem (ook live), maar op deze single blijft alles netjes binnen de lijntjes. Een beetje braafje dus, ofschoon het begin in de stijl van hun Southside-album klinkt. Met het refrein komt er wel wat kampvuursfeer binnengeslopen, zelfs met strijkers. Toch word ik er niet meteen wild van. Neen, van Spiteri en co verwacht ik toch iets meer. Hopelijk staan er enkele pareltjes op hun nieuwe album. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/02/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire