tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

01/02/2015 : TEXAS - Start A Family

TEXAS

Start A Family

MusicCD single
Pop

[62/100]   

PIAS
01/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This single is a sort of preview for the new album Texas 25. It will contain eight older songs in a new version, and four brand new tracks. Of course, in terms of marketing a very smart move.

Start a Family is a singalong type of tune that is skillfully made, but predictable and mellow. Not only is Sharleen Spiteri a handsome woman, she also has a great voice (also on single), but on this single she keeps everything neat. Nothing bad, the beginning sounds nice is in the style of their Southside-album. When the chorus comes along, there is some campfire atmosphere, even with strings. I'm not wild about it. No, I expect something more from Spiteri and C°. Hopefully there are some gems on their new album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/02/2015


NL

Deze single is de voorloper van het nieuwe album Texas 25 waarop een achttal oudere songs in een nieuw jasje wordt gestoken met een viertal nieuwe songs. Qua marketing een slimme zet, natuurlijk.

Start a Family is een meezingertje met een nogal belegen tekst. Het nummer zit wel vakkundig in elkaar, maar is voorspelbaar en aan de melige kant. Sharleen Spiteri is niet alleen een knappe vrouw, bovenal heeft ze een dijk van een stem (ook live), maar op deze single blijft alles netjes binnen de lijntjes. Een beetje braafje dus, ofschoon het begin in de stijl van hun Southside-album klinkt. Met het refrein komt er wel wat kampvuursfeer binnengeslopen, zelfs met strijkers. Toch word ik er niet meteen wild van. Neen, van Spiteri en co verwacht ik toch iets meer. Hopelijk staan er enkele pareltjes op hun nieuwe album. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/02/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
03
0KONTROL
Gologramma
08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies