tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

01/02/2015 : TEXAS - Start A Family

TEXAS

Start A Family

MusicCD single
Pop

[62/100]   

PIAS
01/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This single is a sort of preview for the new album Texas 25. It will contain eight older songs in a new version, and four brand new tracks. Of course, in terms of marketing a very smart move.

Start a Family is a singalong type of tune that is skillfully made, but predictable and mellow. Not only is Sharleen Spiteri a handsome woman, she also has a great voice (also on single), but on this single she keeps everything neat. Nothing bad, the beginning sounds nice is in the style of their Southside-album. When the chorus comes along, there is some campfire atmosphere, even with strings. I'm not wild about it. No, I expect something more from Spiteri and C°. Hopefully there are some gems on their new album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/02/2015


NL

Deze single is de voorloper van het nieuwe album Texas 25 waarop een achttal oudere songs in een nieuw jasje wordt gestoken met een viertal nieuwe songs. Qua marketing een slimme zet, natuurlijk.

Start a Family is een meezingertje met een nogal belegen tekst. Het nummer zit wel vakkundig in elkaar, maar is voorspelbaar en aan de melige kant. Sharleen Spiteri is niet alleen een knappe vrouw, bovenal heeft ze een dijk van een stem (ook live), maar op deze single blijft alles netjes binnen de lijntjes. Een beetje braafje dus, ofschoon het begin in de stijl van hun Southside-album klinkt. Met het refrein komt er wel wat kampvuursfeer binnengeslopen, zelfs met strijkers. Toch word ik er niet meteen wild van. Neen, van Spiteri en co verwacht ik toch iets meer. Hopelijk staan er enkele pareltjes op hun nieuwe album. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/02/2015


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 37 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
EVA X Drops Her 'Dopamine Blind' Video; A Nighttime Escape Story
08
05
44 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.

PHOTOS

20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
VENUS FLY TRAP
Rocket USA
19
05
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Should I Look Above
18
05
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
17
05
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
16
05
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
15
05
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
14
05
ASH CODE
Nite Rite