tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

28/01/2015 : JOHAN TROCH - Enlightened

JOHAN TROCH

Enlightened

MusicDigital
AmbientSoundscape

[80/100]   
28/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This musical centipede has written and produced everything himself. He also plays the guitar parts and the atmospherics, while Eric Hopton does the synths. Enlightened is a very cinematic and ethereal album. The music sometimes has a spa/sauna feeling, especially in the opener New Horizon, in which the female voice sings in an Enya style amidst an atmospheric soundscape. But let us not be blinded by this sauna hassle. And do not worry about the Enya thing either as this album has more potential. On Nightly Pecularities you will find yourself somewhere in a secluded place like the savanna under a glittering starry sky surrounded by wildlife. Who Is To Blame starts with church bells, while a delicious bass line and guitar do the work.

The tracks do not have traditional structures. It must be said that Johan knows how to create soundscapes. On Disbelieve the guitar is reminiscent to David Gilmour’s guitar play. In To Open Our Eyes the drum are more important and diverse, although the whole album sounds homogeneous. Some might find this album too spacy, but lovers of quiet, instrumental music, should definitely try out Enlightened.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2015


NL

Deze muzikale duizendpoot heeft alles zelf geschreven, geproduceerd en hij speelt zelf de gitaarpartijen en de atmospherics. Eric Hopton nam voornamelijk de synths voor zijn rekening. Enlightened is een heel filmisch en etherisch album. De muziek roept bij mij geregeld een wellness/sauna-gevoel op, vooral in de opener New Horizon, waarin de vrouwenstem in de stijl van Enya rustig haar ow-klanken zingt middenin een sfeervolle soundscape. Maar laten we ons niet blind staren op dit saunagedoe. Niet getreurd, het album heeft meer potentie en verscheidenheid dan werk van Enya. Op Nightly Pecularities waan je je ergens op een afgelegen plaats in de savanne onder een blinkende sterrenhemel tussen krekels en wilde dieren. Who Is It To Blame begint met kerkklokken, waarna een heerlijke baslijn en dito gitaar hun werk doen.

De composities hebben geen traditionele structuur, maar werken altijd ergens naartoe. Het moet worden gezegd dat Johan weet hoe soundscapes neer te zetten. De mix zorgt voor afwisseling. Soms komt er een melodische bas wat nadrukkelijker in beeld, dan weer de gitaar zoals in Disbelieve, dat wat aan David Gilmours gitaarspel doet denken. Mooi gedaan. In To Open Our Eyes is de drum dan weer opvallender en verscheiden. Toch klinkt het hele album homogeen. Sommigen zullen dit album misschien net iets te spacy vinden, maar liefhebbers van rustige, instrumentale muziek, moeten Enlightened zeker eens uitproberen.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2015


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm