tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

28/01/2015 : JOHAN TROCH - Enlightened

JOHAN TROCH

Enlightened

MusicDigital
AmbientSoundscape

[80/100]   
28/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This musical centipede has written and produced everything himself. He also plays the guitar parts and the atmospherics, while Eric Hopton does the synths. Enlightened is a very cinematic and ethereal album. The music sometimes has a spa/sauna feeling, especially in the opener New Horizon, in which the female voice sings in an Enya style amidst an atmospheric soundscape. But let us not be blinded by this sauna hassle. And do not worry about the Enya thing either as this album has more potential. On Nightly Pecularities you will find yourself somewhere in a secluded place like the savanna under a glittering starry sky surrounded by wildlife. Who Is To Blame starts with church bells, while a delicious bass line and guitar do the work.

The tracks do not have traditional structures. It must be said that Johan knows how to create soundscapes. On Disbelieve the guitar is reminiscent to David Gilmour’s guitar play. In To Open Our Eyes the drum are more important and diverse, although the whole album sounds homogeneous. Some might find this album too spacy, but lovers of quiet, instrumental music, should definitely try out Enlightened.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2015


NL

Deze muzikale duizendpoot heeft alles zelf geschreven, geproduceerd en hij speelt zelf de gitaarpartijen en de atmospherics. Eric Hopton nam voornamelijk de synths voor zijn rekening. Enlightened is een heel filmisch en etherisch album. De muziek roept bij mij geregeld een wellness/sauna-gevoel op, vooral in de opener New Horizon, waarin de vrouwenstem in de stijl van Enya rustig haar ow-klanken zingt middenin een sfeervolle soundscape. Maar laten we ons niet blind staren op dit saunagedoe. Niet getreurd, het album heeft meer potentie en verscheidenheid dan werk van Enya. Op Nightly Pecularities waan je je ergens op een afgelegen plaats in de savanne onder een blinkende sterrenhemel tussen krekels en wilde dieren. Who Is It To Blame begint met kerkklokken, waarna een heerlijke baslijn en dito gitaar hun werk doen.

De composities hebben geen traditionele structuur, maar werken altijd ergens naartoe. Het moet worden gezegd dat Johan weet hoe soundscapes neer te zetten. De mix zorgt voor afwisseling. Soms komt er een melodische bas wat nadrukkelijker in beeld, dan weer de gitaar zoals in Disbelieve, dat wat aan David Gilmours gitaarspel doet denken. Mooi gedaan. In To Open Our Eyes is de drum dan weer opvallender en verscheiden. Toch klinkt het hele album homogeen. Sommigen zullen dit album misschien net iets te spacy vinden, maar liefhebbers van rustige, instrumentale muziek, moeten Enlightened zeker eens uitproberen.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap