tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break

ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK

Something Must Break

MovieCinema
ArthouseGay 26/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We categorize Something Must Break as "cinema", the question is whether this bold, but poignant Swedish film will ever be shown in the theatres. Fortunately, the picture was screened at various festivals, for example at the Pinx festival (the gay and lesbian film festival at the Sphinx-cinema in Ghent).

According to actor Iggy Malmborg, Something Must Break is a different gay film because he is not mild as many others. Director Ester Martin Bergmark is tryeing to widen the sexual boundaries, but he also shows how gray (or black) live in a big city like Stockholm can be.

Sebastian (Saga Becker) thinks that he has hidden his sexual orientation log enough. The young man not only dresses as a woman, as Ellie he becomes one too. Ellie is looking for sex at the men's toilets, even though he doesn't know what love for a man may mean. For a moment it seems as though Ellie has found the love of her life in Andreas ( Iggy Malmborg ), but he rejects the idea to share the bed with a man for the rest of his life.

This film is based on the book You Are the Roots That Sleep Beneath My Feet and Hold the Earth in Place by Eli Levén and shows a picture of Stockholm that we usually do not see. It is a gray town and we learn about a young man who is struggling with an identity problem, and who, by way of rebellion, starts stealing. No one understands him, and he already has accepted the fact that this will never happen. Sometimes the collision with reality is expressed with words, but sometimes with punches too.

Something Must Break can be situated between the reality of cinema by Lukas Moodysson and the mystical atmosphere of Derek Jarman. It is a strange combination, but it works. Let us hope that everyone gets the chance to see this film.

Didier BECU
26/01/2015


NL

We plaatsen Something Must Break in de categorie ”cinema”, de vraag is echter of deze gewaagde, maar ontroerende Zweedse film ooit in de zalen zal terechtkomen. Gelukkig was de prent op diverse festivals te zien, o.a. op het Pinx-festival (het holebifilmfestival in de Gentse Sphinx). Volgens hoofdrolspeler Iggy Malmborg is Something Must Break een aparte homofilm omdat hij helemaal niet zacht van aard is. Regisseur Ester Martin Bergsmark tast wel de seksuele grenzen af, maar toont vooral hoe grijs (of zwart) het leven in een grootstad als Stockholm is.

Sebastian (Saga Becker) vindt dat hij lang genoeg zijn seksuele geaardheid heeft verstopt. De jongeman verkleedt zich niet alleen als vrouw, als Ellie wordt hij dat ook. Ellie schuimt de mannentoiletten af op zoek naar seks, ook al is de liefde met een man nog onbekend. Eventjes lijkt het erop alsof Ellie in Andreas (Iggy Malmborg) de grote liefde heeft gevonden, maar hij ziet het niet zitten om heel zijn leven lang het bed met een man te delen.

Deze film is gebaseerd op het boek You Are the Roots That Sleep Beneath My Feet and Hold the Earth in Place van Eli Levén en toont een beeld van Stockholm dat we doorgaans niet kennen. Het is een grijs stadsdrama van een jongeman die worstelt met een identiteitsprobleem en bij wijze van rebellie zich vergrijpt aan kleine criminaliteit. Niemand begrijpt hem en hij heeft zich eigenlijk ook al neergelegd bij het feit dat dat ook nooit zal gebeuren. Soms vertaalt zich de botsing met de realiteit als rakende woorden, maar soms ook als vuistslagen.

Filmisch situeert Something Must Break zich ergens tussen de realiteitscinema van Lukas Moodysson en de mystiek van Derek Jarman. Het is een vreemde combinatie, maar het werkt. Nu maar hopen dat iedereen de kans krijgt om deze film te zien.

Didier BECU
26/01/2015


26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi