tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break

ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK

Something Must Break

MovieCinema
ArthouseGay 26/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We categorize Something Must Break as "cinema", the question is whether this bold, but poignant Swedish film will ever be shown in the theatres. Fortunately, the picture was screened at various festivals, for example at the Pinx festival (the gay and lesbian film festival at the Sphinx-cinema in Ghent).

According to actor Iggy Malmborg, Something Must Break is a different gay film because he is not mild as many others. Director Ester Martin Bergmark is tryeing to widen the sexual boundaries, but he also shows how gray (or black) live in a big city like Stockholm can be.

Sebastian (Saga Becker) thinks that he has hidden his sexual orientation log enough. The young man not only dresses as a woman, as Ellie he becomes one too. Ellie is looking for sex at the men's toilets, even though he doesn't know what love for a man may mean. For a moment it seems as though Ellie has found the love of her life in Andreas ( Iggy Malmborg ), but he rejects the idea to share the bed with a man for the rest of his life.

This film is based on the book You Are the Roots That Sleep Beneath My Feet and Hold the Earth in Place by Eli Levén and shows a picture of Stockholm that we usually do not see. It is a gray town and we learn about a young man who is struggling with an identity problem, and who, by way of rebellion, starts stealing. No one understands him, and he already has accepted the fact that this will never happen. Sometimes the collision with reality is expressed with words, but sometimes with punches too.

Something Must Break can be situated between the reality of cinema by Lukas Moodysson and the mystical atmosphere of Derek Jarman. It is a strange combination, but it works. Let us hope that everyone gets the chance to see this film.

Didier BECU
26/01/2015


NL

We plaatsen Something Must Break in de categorie ”cinema”, de vraag is echter of deze gewaagde, maar ontroerende Zweedse film ooit in de zalen zal terechtkomen. Gelukkig was de prent op diverse festivals te zien, o.a. op het Pinx-festival (het holebifilmfestival in de Gentse Sphinx). Volgens hoofdrolspeler Iggy Malmborg is Something Must Break een aparte homofilm omdat hij helemaal niet zacht van aard is. Regisseur Ester Martin Bergsmark tast wel de seksuele grenzen af, maar toont vooral hoe grijs (of zwart) het leven in een grootstad als Stockholm is.

Sebastian (Saga Becker) vindt dat hij lang genoeg zijn seksuele geaardheid heeft verstopt. De jongeman verkleedt zich niet alleen als vrouw, als Ellie wordt hij dat ook. Ellie schuimt de mannentoiletten af op zoek naar seks, ook al is de liefde met een man nog onbekend. Eventjes lijkt het erop alsof Ellie in Andreas (Iggy Malmborg) de grote liefde heeft gevonden, maar hij ziet het niet zitten om heel zijn leven lang het bed met een man te delen.

Deze film is gebaseerd op het boek You Are the Roots That Sleep Beneath My Feet and Hold the Earth in Place van Eli Levén en toont een beeld van Stockholm dat we doorgaans niet kennen. Het is een grijs stadsdrama van een jongeman die worstelt met een identiteitsprobleem en bij wijze van rebellie zich vergrijpt aan kleine criminaliteit. Niemand begrijpt hem en hij heeft zich eigenlijk ook al neergelegd bij het feit dat dat ook nooit zal gebeuren. Soms vertaalt zich de botsing met de realiteit als rakende woorden, maar soms ook als vuistslagen.

Filmisch situeert Something Must Break zich ergens tussen de realiteitscinema van Lukas Moodysson en de mystiek van Derek Jarman. Het is een vreemde combinatie, maar het werkt. Nu maar hopen dat iedereen de kans krijgt om deze film te zien.

Didier BECU
26/01/2015


26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break 26/01/2015 : ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK - Something Must Break

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down