tempobet yeni adresi
like this book review

06/03/2019 : XTC - What Do You Call That Noise?

XTC

What Do You Call That Noise?

Book
ArthouseNew wavePost Punk

[100/100]   
06/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

Some bands thankfully never fade away and be forgotten. Reason for this is the knowledge about heroes in music, passed respectfully on to a new generation through in-depth reading material. Thanks to curators such as Mark Fisher, XTC both the legends and facts of this great band will be recorded with care and an almost personal responsibility in his latest literary delight - What Do You Call That Noise?

Not Fishers first rodeo when it comes to XTC, he was the curator responsible for editing and reproducing the highly-acclaimed 2017 release The XTC Bumper Book of Fun for Boys and Girls. In that book he gathered together editions of his own famed-fanzine Limelight, a series and a lifeline for XTC fans which ran originally in the early-eighties, and presented them as a mega-fanzine of tribute to the band.

Here however, the author has delved deeper into this reclusive band, it is throughout a read which is an obvious labor of love on the part of Mark Fisher, a book wrote for fans by a fan.
Although members Andy Partridge, Dave Gregory and Barry Andrews all make an appearance at one point along with reviews from Colin Moulding and Terry Chambers.
“Every XTC album that got ignored gave the band a real power jolt. It was like being the Duracell bunny and getting a fresh set of batteries in your back. It made us want to strive harder,”-Andy Partridge.

This book is a winner for two reasons, it is short at 228-pages so the digestion is easy but, and most importantly, it is concise. Mark Fisher has expertly crammed as much information about XTC through both his own knowledge and contributors. It acts as both a nostalgic journey for longtime fans and for newcomers an adventure into the world of the most compelling bands of the late seventies.

“Seeing them on TV was like being in a tribe. Together I thought we might rule the world… Yes, I stole from them. I’m sure I was not the only one. The wit did woo mee. I fell head over heels for the clever wordplay, the charge of the story and the sentimental Britishness of it all” -Chris Difford (Squeeze)

Some of the contributors;
Chris Braide: Downes Braide Association
Tracey Bryn: Voice of the Beehive
Rick Buckler: The Jam
Chris Difford: Squeeze
Jason Falkner: Jellyfish
Andrew Falkous: Future of the Left
Peter Gabriel
Mike Keneally
Danny Manners: Big Big Train
Steven Page: Barenaked Ladies
Debbi Peterson: The Bangles
Gregory Spawton: Big Big Train

What Do You Call That Noise? is available to order through Burning Shed.
https://burningshed.com/mark-fisher_what-do-you-call-that-noise_book

Kevin BURKE
06/03/2019


 

Next reviews
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Other reviews from XTC
XTC • Skylarking
XTC • Apple Venus & Wasp Star
XTC • Drums And Wires
XTC • CLASSICS: Nonsuch
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer