tempobet yeni adresi
like this book review

06/03/2019 : XTC - What Do You Call That Noise?

XTC

What Do You Call That Noise?

Book
ArthouseNew wavePost Punk

[100/100]   
06/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

Some bands thankfully never fade away and be forgotten. Reason for this is the knowledge about heroes in music, passed respectfully on to a new generation through in-depth reading material. Thanks to curators such as Mark Fisher, XTC both the legends and facts of this great band will be recorded with care and an almost personal responsibility in his latest literary delight - What Do You Call That Noise?

Not Fishers first rodeo when it comes to XTC, he was the curator responsible for editing and reproducing the highly-acclaimed 2017 release The XTC Bumper Book of Fun for Boys and Girls. In that book he gathered together editions of his own famed-fanzine Limelight, a series and a lifeline for XTC fans which ran originally in the early-eighties, and presented them as a mega-fanzine of tribute to the band.

Here however, the author has delved deeper into this reclusive band, it is throughout a read which is an obvious labor of love on the part of Mark Fisher, a book wrote for fans by a fan.
Although members Andy Partridge, Dave Gregory and Barry Andrews all make an appearance at one point along with reviews from Colin Moulding and Terry Chambers.
“Every XTC album that got ignored gave the band a real power jolt. It was like being the Duracell bunny and getting a fresh set of batteries in your back. It made us want to strive harder,”-Andy Partridge.

This book is a winner for two reasons, it is short at 228-pages so the digestion is easy but, and most importantly, it is concise. Mark Fisher has expertly crammed as much information about XTC through both his own knowledge and contributors. It acts as both a nostalgic journey for longtime fans and for newcomers an adventure into the world of the most compelling bands of the late seventies.

“Seeing them on TV was like being in a tribe. Together I thought we might rule the world… Yes, I stole from them. I’m sure I was not the only one. The wit did woo mee. I fell head over heels for the clever wordplay, the charge of the story and the sentimental Britishness of it all” -Chris Difford (Squeeze)

Some of the contributors;
Chris Braide: Downes Braide Association
Tracey Bryn: Voice of the Beehive
Rick Buckler: The Jam
Chris Difford: Squeeze
Jason Falkner: Jellyfish
Andrew Falkous: Future of the Left
Peter Gabriel
Mike Keneally
Danny Manners: Big Big Train
Steven Page: Barenaked Ladies
Debbi Peterson: The Bangles
Gregory Spawton: Big Big Train

What Do You Call That Noise? is available to order through Burning Shed.
https://burningshed.com/mark-fisher_what-do-you-call-that-noise_book

Kevin BURKE
06/03/2019


 

Next reviews
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Other reviews from XTC
XTC • Skylarking
XTC • Apple Venus & Wasp Star
XTC • Drums And Wires
XTC • CLASSICS: Nonsuch
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines