tempobet yeni adresi
like this book review

06/03/2019 : XTC - What Do You Call That Noise?

XTC

What Do You Call That Noise?

Book
ArthouseNew wavePost Punk

[100/100]   
06/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

Some bands thankfully never fade away and be forgotten. Reason for this is the knowledge about heroes in music, passed respectfully on to a new generation through in-depth reading material. Thanks to curators such as Mark Fisher, XTC both the legends and facts of this great band will be recorded with care and an almost personal responsibility in his latest literary delight - What Do You Call That Noise?

Not Fishers first rodeo when it comes to XTC, he was the curator responsible for editing and reproducing the highly-acclaimed 2017 release The XTC Bumper Book of Fun for Boys and Girls. In that book he gathered together editions of his own famed-fanzine Limelight, a series and a lifeline for XTC fans which ran originally in the early-eighties, and presented them as a mega-fanzine of tribute to the band.

Here however, the author has delved deeper into this reclusive band, it is throughout a read which is an obvious labor of love on the part of Mark Fisher, a book wrote for fans by a fan.
Although members Andy Partridge, Dave Gregory and Barry Andrews all make an appearance at one point along with reviews from Colin Moulding and Terry Chambers.
“Every XTC album that got ignored gave the band a real power jolt. It was like being the Duracell bunny and getting a fresh set of batteries in your back. It made us want to strive harder,”-Andy Partridge.

This book is a winner for two reasons, it is short at 228-pages so the digestion is easy but, and most importantly, it is concise. Mark Fisher has expertly crammed as much information about XTC through both his own knowledge and contributors. It acts as both a nostalgic journey for longtime fans and for newcomers an adventure into the world of the most compelling bands of the late seventies.

“Seeing them on TV was like being in a tribe. Together I thought we might rule the world… Yes, I stole from them. I’m sure I was not the only one. The wit did woo mee. I fell head over heels for the clever wordplay, the charge of the story and the sentimental Britishness of it all” -Chris Difford (Squeeze)

Some of the contributors;
Chris Braide: Downes Braide Association
Tracey Bryn: Voice of the Beehive
Rick Buckler: The Jam
Chris Difford: Squeeze
Jason Falkner: Jellyfish
Andrew Falkous: Future of the Left
Peter Gabriel
Mike Keneally
Danny Manners: Big Big Train
Steven Page: Barenaked Ladies
Debbi Peterson: The Bangles
Gregory Spawton: Big Big Train

What Do You Call That Noise? is available to order through Burning Shed.
https://burningshed.com/mark-fisher_what-do-you-call-that-noise_book

Kevin BURKE
06/03/2019


 

Next reviews
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Other reviews from XTC
XTC • Skylarking
XTC • Apple Venus & Wasp Star
XTC • Drums And Wires
XTC • CLASSICS: Nonsuch
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide