tempobet yeni adresi
like this book review

06/03/2019 : XTC - What Do You Call That Noise?

XTC

What Do You Call That Noise?

Book
ArthouseNew wavePost Punk

[100/100]   
06/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

Some bands thankfully never fade away and be forgotten. Reason for this is the knowledge about heroes in music, passed respectfully on to a new generation through in-depth reading material. Thanks to curators such as Mark Fisher, XTC both the legends and facts of this great band will be recorded with care and an almost personal responsibility in his latest literary delight - What Do You Call That Noise?

Not Fishers first rodeo when it comes to XTC, he was the curator responsible for editing and reproducing the highly-acclaimed 2017 release The XTC Bumper Book of Fun for Boys and Girls. In that book he gathered together editions of his own famed-fanzine Limelight, a series and a lifeline for XTC fans which ran originally in the early-eighties, and presented them as a mega-fanzine of tribute to the band.

Here however, the author has delved deeper into this reclusive band, it is throughout a read which is an obvious labor of love on the part of Mark Fisher, a book wrote for fans by a fan.
Although members Andy Partridge, Dave Gregory and Barry Andrews all make an appearance at one point along with reviews from Colin Moulding and Terry Chambers.
“Every XTC album that got ignored gave the band a real power jolt. It was like being the Duracell bunny and getting a fresh set of batteries in your back. It made us want to strive harder,”-Andy Partridge.

This book is a winner for two reasons, it is short at 228-pages so the digestion is easy but, and most importantly, it is concise. Mark Fisher has expertly crammed as much information about XTC through both his own knowledge and contributors. It acts as both a nostalgic journey for longtime fans and for newcomers an adventure into the world of the most compelling bands of the late seventies.

“Seeing them on TV was like being in a tribe. Together I thought we might rule the world… Yes, I stole from them. I’m sure I was not the only one. The wit did woo mee. I fell head over heels for the clever wordplay, the charge of the story and the sentimental Britishness of it all” -Chris Difford (Squeeze)

Some of the contributors;
Chris Braide: Downes Braide Association
Tracey Bryn: Voice of the Beehive
Rick Buckler: The Jam
Chris Difford: Squeeze
Jason Falkner: Jellyfish
Andrew Falkous: Future of the Left
Peter Gabriel
Mike Keneally
Danny Manners: Big Big Train
Steven Page: Barenaked Ladies
Debbi Peterson: The Bangles
Gregory Spawton: Big Big Train

What Do You Call That Noise? is available to order through Burning Shed.
https://burningshed.com/mark-fisher_what-do-you-call-that-noise_book

Kevin BURKE
06/03/2019


 

Next reviews
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Other reviews from XTC
XTC • Skylarking
XTC • Apple Venus & Wasp Star
XTC • Drums And Wires
XTC • CLASSICS: Nonsuch
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets