tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2015 : XTC - Apple Venus & Wasp Star

XTC

Apple Venus & Wasp Star

MusicCD


[85/100]   

Ape Records
07/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Co-founder of Swindon's finest Andy Partridge continues to covet his beloved band's catalogue with this pair of reissues. Their final studio-albums, Apple Venus (Volume One) and Wasp Star (Apple Venus Volume Two) initially appeared on Cooking Vinyl in 1999 and 2000 respectively and notched up modest sales and a couple of Top 50 placings. Here they've been buffed up and 'Ape'd' with new artwork.

Musically they are different beasts - Volume One is acoustically arranged and string-drenched while Volume Two is more typical of XTC's earthier gnarlier Black Sea and Drums and Wires period, without the youthful bounty of either.

There really is no argument with the next statement - Apple Venus Volume One is a masterpiece. From the opening minimalist River Of Orchids through to the sombre despairing epic The Last Balloon, the emphasis here is on craftsmanship, both musically and lyrically. Their first album for seven years, songs like the joyous, celebratory I'd Like That and Easter Theatre are the equal of their biggest hits (better, in fact), while the charming Colin Moulding songs hit the right note on many levels with Frivolous Tonight edging it in sleepy music-hall tones over the clip-clop Englishness of Fruit Nut. "A man must have a shed, to keep him sane.." - indeed.

Two lengthier songs stand-out as centrepieces for different reasons. In shorter form, Greenman would have made a great single and shares lineage with Mummer's Beating Of Hearts - it must be those strings - while I Can't Own Her is quite simply one of Partridge's greatest commitments to tape. Both harbour dramatic string arrangements by Bright Eyes composer and Katie Melua stooge Mike Batt but that's merely a coincidence - infectious isn't the word, timeless might be, priceless certainly.

Wasp Star is something of a departure and very much a separate entity to its companion. Decidedly rockier and with the amps plugged in, things get off to a great start with the rifftastic Playground, the love-lorn Stupidly Happy and the stomping Moulding romp In Another Life, a better introductory trio of songs you'd be hard-pressed to find.

From hereon in though, Wasp Star's order of tracks delight in varying measures. Through no fault of their own, Boarded Up and I'm The Man Who Murdered Love pale when paired with the cheeky jaunty Standing In For Joe, the chirpy We're All Light and strident Church Of Women, while the bluesy Wounded Horse sounds like it doesn't belong here with the rest of the throng. But it's all down to preference and if you don't grin from ear to ear during Stupidly Happy then you're dead from your toes up.

Wasp Star is far from unlovable of course and yields at least 40 great minutes of music, making both Apple Venus volumes well worth your time and hard-earned cash.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
07/08/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline