tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2015 : XTC - Apple Venus & Wasp Star

XTC

Apple Venus & Wasp Star

MusicCD


[85/100]   

Ape Records
07/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Co-founder of Swindon's finest Andy Partridge continues to covet his beloved band's catalogue with this pair of reissues. Their final studio-albums, Apple Venus (Volume One) and Wasp Star (Apple Venus Volume Two) initially appeared on Cooking Vinyl in 1999 and 2000 respectively and notched up modest sales and a couple of Top 50 placings. Here they've been buffed up and 'Ape'd' with new artwork.

Musically they are different beasts - Volume One is acoustically arranged and string-drenched while Volume Two is more typical of XTC's earthier gnarlier Black Sea and Drums and Wires period, without the youthful bounty of either.

There really is no argument with the next statement - Apple Venus Volume One is a masterpiece. From the opening minimalist River Of Orchids through to the sombre despairing epic The Last Balloon, the emphasis here is on craftsmanship, both musically and lyrically. Their first album for seven years, songs like the joyous, celebratory I'd Like That and Easter Theatre are the equal of their biggest hits (better, in fact), while the charming Colin Moulding songs hit the right note on many levels with Frivolous Tonight edging it in sleepy music-hall tones over the clip-clop Englishness of Fruit Nut. "A man must have a shed, to keep him sane.." - indeed.

Two lengthier songs stand-out as centrepieces for different reasons. In shorter form, Greenman would have made a great single and shares lineage with Mummer's Beating Of Hearts - it must be those strings - while I Can't Own Her is quite simply one of Partridge's greatest commitments to tape. Both harbour dramatic string arrangements by Bright Eyes composer and Katie Melua stooge Mike Batt but that's merely a coincidence - infectious isn't the word, timeless might be, priceless certainly.

Wasp Star is something of a departure and very much a separate entity to its companion. Decidedly rockier and with the amps plugged in, things get off to a great start with the rifftastic Playground, the love-lorn Stupidly Happy and the stomping Moulding romp In Another Life, a better introductory trio of songs you'd be hard-pressed to find.

From hereon in though, Wasp Star's order of tracks delight in varying measures. Through no fault of their own, Boarded Up and I'm The Man Who Murdered Love pale when paired with the cheeky jaunty Standing In For Joe, the chirpy We're All Light and strident Church Of Women, while the bluesy Wounded Horse sounds like it doesn't belong here with the rest of the throng. But it's all down to preference and if you don't grin from ear to ear during Stupidly Happy then you're dead from your toes up.

Wasp Star is far from unlovable of course and yields at least 40 great minutes of music, making both Apple Venus volumes well worth your time and hard-earned cash.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
07/08/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel