tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2015 : XTC - Apple Venus & Wasp Star

XTC

Apple Venus & Wasp Star

MusicCD


[85/100]   

Ape Records
07/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Co-founder of Swindon's finest Andy Partridge continues to covet his beloved band's catalogue with this pair of reissues. Their final studio-albums, Apple Venus (Volume One) and Wasp Star (Apple Venus Volume Two) initially appeared on Cooking Vinyl in 1999 and 2000 respectively and notched up modest sales and a couple of Top 50 placings. Here they've been buffed up and 'Ape'd' with new artwork.

Musically they are different beasts - Volume One is acoustically arranged and string-drenched while Volume Two is more typical of XTC's earthier gnarlier Black Sea and Drums and Wires period, without the youthful bounty of either.

There really is no argument with the next statement - Apple Venus Volume One is a masterpiece. From the opening minimalist River Of Orchids through to the sombre despairing epic The Last Balloon, the emphasis here is on craftsmanship, both musically and lyrically. Their first album for seven years, songs like the joyous, celebratory I'd Like That and Easter Theatre are the equal of their biggest hits (better, in fact), while the charming Colin Moulding songs hit the right note on many levels with Frivolous Tonight edging it in sleepy music-hall tones over the clip-clop Englishness of Fruit Nut. "A man must have a shed, to keep him sane.." - indeed.

Two lengthier songs stand-out as centrepieces for different reasons. In shorter form, Greenman would have made a great single and shares lineage with Mummer's Beating Of Hearts - it must be those strings - while I Can't Own Her is quite simply one of Partridge's greatest commitments to tape. Both harbour dramatic string arrangements by Bright Eyes composer and Katie Melua stooge Mike Batt but that's merely a coincidence - infectious isn't the word, timeless might be, priceless certainly.

Wasp Star is something of a departure and very much a separate entity to its companion. Decidedly rockier and with the amps plugged in, things get off to a great start with the rifftastic Playground, the love-lorn Stupidly Happy and the stomping Moulding romp In Another Life, a better introductory trio of songs you'd be hard-pressed to find.

From hereon in though, Wasp Star's order of tracks delight in varying measures. Through no fault of their own, Boarded Up and I'm The Man Who Murdered Love pale when paired with the cheeky jaunty Standing In For Joe, the chirpy We're All Light and strident Church Of Women, while the bluesy Wounded Horse sounds like it doesn't belong here with the rest of the throng. But it's all down to preference and if you don't grin from ear to ear during Stupidly Happy then you're dead from your toes up.

Wasp Star is far from unlovable of course and yields at least 40 great minutes of music, making both Apple Venus volumes well worth your time and hard-earned cash.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
07/08/2015


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos