tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

05/08/2015 : XANDRIA - Fire And Ashes EP

XANDRIA

Fire And Ashes EP

MusicCD (EP)
Female Fronted Metal

[69/100]   

Napalm Records
05/08/2015, Benny CALUWE

Xandria is a German symphoncic metal band, founded by Marco Heubaum in 1994. Heubaum is the only original member. I used to think of Xandria as a mediocre Nightwish copy. But I was surprised in a positive way when I witnessed the last 20 minutes of Xandria’s performance at Eurorock. The band played solid and tight, but I was especially impressed by Dianne Van Giersbergen. With her charming appearance and terrific voice, she easily managed the crowd. So I decided to give this new EP a chance.

This Fire And Ashes EP must fill the gap between Sacrificium and the upcoming 7th full album. Last year’s Sacrificium was the first album with Dianne Van Giersbergen replacing Manuella Keller since 2013. Dianne is a Dutch dramatic soprano singer. She’s also frontwoman of the Dutch band Ex Libris. She is not related to Anneke Van Giersbergen of The Gathering. This Ep contains 3 new tracks (the Fire part), 2 remakes and 2 covers (the Ashes part).

Voyage Of The Fallen is an epic (thanks to the choirs) and dynamic track with lots of tempo changes. Unembraced with its nice symphonic arrangements and memorable vocal lines might be the best track on this mini album. In Remebrance is a power ballad, in which Dianne shows what she’s capable of.

Ravenheart is a rerecording of the title track of the eponymous 2004 album. Just as Now And Forever (from India 2005), it’s a track that was originally sung by Lisa Middellhauve. Especially Now And Forever deviates more from the original version. The update sounds heavier and more bombastic.

The Meatloaf cover I’d Do Anything For Love sounds quite odd. Then the power metal track Don’t Say A Word, originally from the Finnish band Sonata Arctica, fits better.

The Fire And Ashes EP is a nicely polished album, but personally I don’t see the added value of the covers. The Fire part is without any doubt the best part of this mini album. These new tracks sound promising for the upcoming full album. 

Benny CALUWE
05/08/2015


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me