tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

05/08/2015 : XANDRIA - Fire And Ashes EP

XANDRIA

Fire And Ashes EP

MusicCD (EP)
Female Fronted Metal

[69/100]   

Napalm Records
05/08/2015, Benny CALUWE

Xandria is a German symphoncic metal band, founded by Marco Heubaum in 1994. Heubaum is the only original member. I used to think of Xandria as a mediocre Nightwish copy. But I was surprised in a positive way when I witnessed the last 20 minutes of Xandria’s performance at Eurorock. The band played solid and tight, but I was especially impressed by Dianne Van Giersbergen. With her charming appearance and terrific voice, she easily managed the crowd. So I decided to give this new EP a chance.

This Fire And Ashes EP must fill the gap between Sacrificium and the upcoming 7th full album. Last year’s Sacrificium was the first album with Dianne Van Giersbergen replacing Manuella Keller since 2013. Dianne is a Dutch dramatic soprano singer. She’s also frontwoman of the Dutch band Ex Libris. She is not related to Anneke Van Giersbergen of The Gathering. This Ep contains 3 new tracks (the Fire part), 2 remakes and 2 covers (the Ashes part).

Voyage Of The Fallen is an epic (thanks to the choirs) and dynamic track with lots of tempo changes. Unembraced with its nice symphonic arrangements and memorable vocal lines might be the best track on this mini album. In Remebrance is a power ballad, in which Dianne shows what she’s capable of.

Ravenheart is a rerecording of the title track of the eponymous 2004 album. Just as Now And Forever (from India 2005), it’s a track that was originally sung by Lisa Middellhauve. Especially Now And Forever deviates more from the original version. The update sounds heavier and more bombastic.

The Meatloaf cover I’d Do Anything For Love sounds quite odd. Then the power metal track Don’t Say A Word, originally from the Finnish band Sonata Arctica, fits better.

The Fire And Ashes EP is a nicely polished album, but personally I don’t see the added value of the covers. The Fire part is without any doubt the best part of this mini album. These new tracks sound promising for the upcoming full album. 

Benny CALUWE
05/08/2015


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise