tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

05/08/2015 : XANDRIA - Fire And Ashes EP

XANDRIA

Fire And Ashes EP

MusicCD (EP)
Female Fronted Metal

[69/100]   

Napalm Records
05/08/2015, Benny CALUWE

Xandria is a German symphoncic metal band, founded by Marco Heubaum in 1994. Heubaum is the only original member. I used to think of Xandria as a mediocre Nightwish copy. But I was surprised in a positive way when I witnessed the last 20 minutes of Xandria’s performance at Eurorock. The band played solid and tight, but I was especially impressed by Dianne Van Giersbergen. With her charming appearance and terrific voice, she easily managed the crowd. So I decided to give this new EP a chance.

This Fire And Ashes EP must fill the gap between Sacrificium and the upcoming 7th full album. Last year’s Sacrificium was the first album with Dianne Van Giersbergen replacing Manuella Keller since 2013. Dianne is a Dutch dramatic soprano singer. She’s also frontwoman of the Dutch band Ex Libris. She is not related to Anneke Van Giersbergen of The Gathering. This Ep contains 3 new tracks (the Fire part), 2 remakes and 2 covers (the Ashes part).

Voyage Of The Fallen is an epic (thanks to the choirs) and dynamic track with lots of tempo changes. Unembraced with its nice symphonic arrangements and memorable vocal lines might be the best track on this mini album. In Remebrance is a power ballad, in which Dianne shows what she’s capable of.

Ravenheart is a rerecording of the title track of the eponymous 2004 album. Just as Now And Forever (from India 2005), it’s a track that was originally sung by Lisa Middellhauve. Especially Now And Forever deviates more from the original version. The update sounds heavier and more bombastic.

The Meatloaf cover I’d Do Anything For Love sounds quite odd. Then the power metal track Don’t Say A Word, originally from the Finnish band Sonata Arctica, fits better.

The Fire And Ashes EP is a nicely polished album, but personally I don’t see the added value of the covers. The Fire part is without any doubt the best part of this mini album. These new tracks sound promising for the upcoming full album. 

Benny CALUWE
05/08/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete