tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

05/08/2015 : XANDRIA - Fire And Ashes EP

XANDRIA

Fire And Ashes EP

MusicCD (EP)
Female Fronted Metal

[69/100]   

Napalm Records
05/08/2015, Benny CALUWE

Xandria is a German symphoncic metal band, founded by Marco Heubaum in 1994. Heubaum is the only original member. I used to think of Xandria as a mediocre Nightwish copy. But I was surprised in a positive way when I witnessed the last 20 minutes of Xandria’s performance at Eurorock. The band played solid and tight, but I was especially impressed by Dianne Van Giersbergen. With her charming appearance and terrific voice, she easily managed the crowd. So I decided to give this new EP a chance.

This Fire And Ashes EP must fill the gap between Sacrificium and the upcoming 7th full album. Last year’s Sacrificium was the first album with Dianne Van Giersbergen replacing Manuella Keller since 2013. Dianne is a Dutch dramatic soprano singer. She’s also frontwoman of the Dutch band Ex Libris. She is not related to Anneke Van Giersbergen of The Gathering. This Ep contains 3 new tracks (the Fire part), 2 remakes and 2 covers (the Ashes part).

Voyage Of The Fallen is an epic (thanks to the choirs) and dynamic track with lots of tempo changes. Unembraced with its nice symphonic arrangements and memorable vocal lines might be the best track on this mini album. In Remebrance is a power ballad, in which Dianne shows what she’s capable of.

Ravenheart is a rerecording of the title track of the eponymous 2004 album. Just as Now And Forever (from India 2005), it’s a track that was originally sung by Lisa Middellhauve. Especially Now And Forever deviates more from the original version. The update sounds heavier and more bombastic.

The Meatloaf cover I’d Do Anything For Love sounds quite odd. Then the power metal track Don’t Say A Word, originally from the Finnish band Sonata Arctica, fits better.

The Fire And Ashes EP is a nicely polished album, but personally I don’t see the added value of the covers. The Fire part is without any doubt the best part of this mini album. These new tracks sound promising for the upcoming full album. 

Benny CALUWE
05/08/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice