tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/04/2014 : XANDRIA - Sacrificum

XANDRIA

Sacrificum

MusicCD
Dream MetalHeavy MetalSymphonic Metal

[96/100]   

Napalm Records
30/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Xandria is here to stay and they just confirmed with this beauty! Discover it together with me! Before I forget: I worship the album sleeve, nice artwork!

The title track 'Sacrificium' starts with a nice piano, a flute, and cello and gets very melodic and symphonic! It's an epic track that reminds me a bit of Haggard, with the same kind of Storytelling. Adore the mix between the drums on fire, the hammering guitars and the lovely vocals!
Just because I couldn’t agree more with the promo talk: 'The new vocalist Dianne van Giersbergen delivers a breathtaking performance and gives each and every song on the album the right character and mood'. 'Nightfall' is a very nice and very sweet song, brought with lots of pathos and an unbelievable energetic vibe!
'Dreamkeeper' starts as a false ballad with a Type O Negative sound and burst out later on and changes into a melodic metal heaven! Love the sweet voice, really sounds like a nightingale!
I'm pretty sure that the fans will lift their arms and wave with their lights and or clap until the end of the song! Love the powerful vocal ending of the song! 'Stardust' is an incoming bomb and slows down for a few seconds before exploding again! I also like the story of the song.
'The Undiscovered' is a great and powerful ballad with a Celtic (or is it an Irish) influence! 'Betrayer' is more up-tempo and very into the symphonic sound. 'Until the end' has again Celtic/Irish influences & is well speeded up by the guitars and drums! 'Come With me' is a slower one, I would call it a false slow. Love the voice & symphonic sound! It's simply a great track that will work out greatly on stage!
'Little Red Relish' is driven by the sensitive voice of Dianne and is a well worked out jewel with the perfect sound! Symphonics, metal sound, great voice, a crystal clear recording... a pure jewel! 'Our Neverworld' starts with a piano and Dianne's voice after that it becomes a very symphonic driven song. Another pearl on this record passed by! 'Temple of Hate' is a symphonic Magnus Opus of a song! Love the guitar solo and the Celtic/Irish sound!
'Sweet Atonement' is already the last song and is piano, violin and cello driven. A great and very emotional ballad! Nothing sweeter to end with in beauty ! I hope to see them on stage!

They will play in Belgium, click for more info: metalfemalevoicesfest

here's the interview

This is what I gathered so far for the Metal Female Voices Fest.:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/aria-flame/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xandria/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/xandria-sacrificum/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/diabulus-in-musica/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/diabulus-in-musica-argia/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/ancient-bards/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/ancient-bards-a-new-dawn-ending/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/arkona-yav/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
30/04/2014


 

Next reviews
BILL FORSYTH • Gregory's Girl
GARY FLEDER • Homefront
RAISON D'ETRE • Mise En Abyme
FORMS OF HANDS 14 • Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014)
EDGAR REITZ • Die andere Heimat
KULT OF RED PYRAMID • Broken Mirror
NOMIN • Long Live The King
NIMON • The King Is Dead
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • Mecanismos De Control
DOUGLAS HICKOX • Theatre Of Blood

 

Other reviews from XANDRIA
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP

 

Same genre: DREAM METAL
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
DISKELION • Remember Sorrow
SAVN • Savn

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: SYMPHONIC METAL
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
EILERA • Face Your Demons
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
ELYSIAN GATES • Crossroads
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
ELFERYA • Eden's Fall
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude

Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn