tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EILERA - Face Your Demons

EILERA

Face Your Demons

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesSymphonic Metal

[70/100]   

Echozone
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

For the French-Finnish artist Eilera everything started three years ago, along with harp player Lily Neill Winter with whom she covered a song by Tori Amos. Not only does Eilera look like Amos, her voice seeks the same height. Soon after she started to compose, and again with Lily, she created her first song (Into The Sea).

On her debut album which is out now, you can still hear Tori Amos, but the singer has clearly chosen for the symphonic metal genre. The ten songs have hit potential and sound dreamy (we are almost obliged to write Within Temptation), but everything is dominated by loud, albeit melodic guitars.

The songs are well constructed and sometimes you have the feeling that Eilera is like Dorothy arriving in Oz: she hops around and is amazed by all the magical scenes. Quite beautiful, only this debut could use some more variety. Face Your Demons is a beautiful album that will delight the fans of the genre, but you've heard this before.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Voor de Frans-Finse artieste Eilera begon alles toen ze drie jaar geleden samen met harpspeelster Lily Neill Winter van Tori Amos coverde. De zangeres lijkt niet alleen sprekend op Amos, ook haar stem zoekt dezelfde hoogte. Ze was gebeten door de microbe om zelf songs te componeren, en samen met diezelfde Lily schiep ze haar eigen eerste song (Into The Sea).

Op haar debuut dat nu is verschenen, hoor je nog duidelijk dat Eilera wild is van Tori Amos, maar ze heeft duidelijk het pad van de symfonische metal gekozen. De tien songs zijn hitgevoelig en dromerig (we zijn bijna genoodzaakt om alweer Within Temptation te schrijven), maar alles wordt toch gedomineerd door luide, weliswaar melodische gitaren.

De songs zitten goed in elkaar en soms heb je het gevoel dat Eilera zich als Dorothy in Oz gedraagt: ze huppelt rond en is verbaasd door alle toverachtige taferelen die ze ziet. Best mooi, alleen kon dit debuut wat meer variatie gebruiken. Face Your Demons is een mooie cd die de liefhebbers van het genre zal kunnen bekoren, alleen heb je dit al eens eerder gehoord.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning