tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/01/2016 : END OF THE DREAM - All I Am

END OF THE DREAM

All I Am

MusicCD
power metalProg RockSymphonic Metal

[82/100]   
04/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

All I Am was released in 2014, and it is the debut album by the Dutch symphonic metal band End Of The Dream. Everything was done by themselves, while Joost van den Broek, whoalso worked for After Forever, Epica, Xandria and Stream Of Passion, was in charge of the production.

Many will label this five-piece band with vocalist Micky Huijsmans as a female fronted metal band. You can hear influences from bands like Evanescence, Epica or Xandria, but they are more than that.

Composer-guitarist Armen Shamelian wrote some quirky, surprising compositions. The most important issue is the music, nicely topped with the beautiful vocals by Micky Huijsmans who proves her talent.

The album has seven tracks and each has its own story. There is no particular style on the album: goth, doom, opera power, prog... you name it! Everything is bound together in an excellent manner. End Of The Dream seems to have unlimited possibilities, so they can distinguish themselves from other bands.

This disc contains wonderfully orchestrated symphonic songs like the opener Follow The Angels, which has a slightly gothic touch, while Away sounds more like doom. Colder is real power metal and Collide is a beautiful ballad.

The highlight is Shadows Embrace: a masterful composition with nice tempo changes and some surprising rhythms in which both the musicians and the singer give the best of themselves.

All I Am is a debut album that suggests the best for the future. End Of The Dream is definitely a band to keep an eye on. Perhaps the end of the dream is the beginning of a beautiful reality.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


NL

All I Am dateert uit 2014 en is het debuutalbum van de Nederlandse symfonische metalband End Of The Dream. Alles is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en de productie is verzorgd door Joost van den Broek, die we nog kennen van After Forever, Epica, Xandria en Stream Of Passion.

De vijfkoppige formatie met zangeres Micky Huijsmans zou je het etiket female fronted metalband kunnen opspelden, maar zo’n enge categorie zou de muzikanten oneer aandoen. Invloeden van bands als Evanescence, Epica of Xandria merk je wel, maar dat zijn er slechts een paar.

Componist-gitarist Armen Shamelian schreef eigenzinnige, maar tevens verrassende composities waardoor de muziek centraal staat en alles mooi overgoten wordt met de fraaie zanglijnen waarmee Micky Huijsmans volop haar talent bewijst.

Het album bevat zeven tracks die elk op zich een eigen verhaal vertellen. Een vaste stijl is er niet. Goth, doom, opera power, prog… noem maar op! Alles wordt op een voortreffelijke manier met elkaar verweven. Dat biedt de band onbeperkte mogelijkheden waardoorEnd Of The Dream zich onderscheidt van andere bands.

Dit schijfje bevat heerlijk georkestreerde symfonische nummers zoals de opener Follow The Angels dat een licht gothictintje heeft, evenals Away dat meer als doom klinkt. Echte powermetal horen we op Colder. De rustpauze in het album komt tijdens de mooie ballade Collide. 

Het orgelpunt van dit album is Shadows Embrace: een meesterlijke compositie met leuke tempowisselingen en verrassende ritmes, waarvoor zowel de muzikanten als de zangeres alles uit de kast halen.

All I Am is een debuutplaat die niet ongemerkt voorbij kan gaan en die het beste voor de toekomst laat vermoeden. End Of The Dream zet hiermee meteen zijn vernieuwende voetafdruk in het metallandschap en is dus zeker een band om in het oog te houden. Misschien wordt the end of the dream wel het begin van een mooie werkelijkheid.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence