tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/01/2016 : END OF THE DREAM - All I Am

END OF THE DREAM

All I Am

MusicCD
power metalProg RockSymphonic Metal

[82/100]   
04/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

All I Am was released in 2014, and it is the debut album by the Dutch symphonic metal band End Of The Dream. Everything was done by themselves, while Joost van den Broek, whoalso worked for After Forever, Epica, Xandria and Stream Of Passion, was in charge of the production.

Many will label this five-piece band with vocalist Micky Huijsmans as a female fronted metal band. You can hear influences from bands like Evanescence, Epica or Xandria, but they are more than that.

Composer-guitarist Armen Shamelian wrote some quirky, surprising compositions. The most important issue is the music, nicely topped with the beautiful vocals by Micky Huijsmans who proves her talent.

The album has seven tracks and each has its own story. There is no particular style on the album: goth, doom, opera power, prog... you name it! Everything is bound together in an excellent manner. End Of The Dream seems to have unlimited possibilities, so they can distinguish themselves from other bands.

This disc contains wonderfully orchestrated symphonic songs like the opener Follow The Angels, which has a slightly gothic touch, while Away sounds more like doom. Colder is real power metal and Collide is a beautiful ballad.

The highlight is Shadows Embrace: a masterful composition with nice tempo changes and some surprising rhythms in which both the musicians and the singer give the best of themselves.

All I Am is a debut album that suggests the best for the future. End Of The Dream is definitely a band to keep an eye on. Perhaps the end of the dream is the beginning of a beautiful reality.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


NL

All I Am dateert uit 2014 en is het debuutalbum van de Nederlandse symfonische metalband End Of The Dream. Alles is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en de productie is verzorgd door Joost van den Broek, die we nog kennen van After Forever, Epica, Xandria en Stream Of Passion.

De vijfkoppige formatie met zangeres Micky Huijsmans zou je het etiket female fronted metalband kunnen opspelden, maar zo’n enge categorie zou de muzikanten oneer aandoen. Invloeden van bands als Evanescence, Epica of Xandria merk je wel, maar dat zijn er slechts een paar.

Componist-gitarist Armen Shamelian schreef eigenzinnige, maar tevens verrassende composities waardoor de muziek centraal staat en alles mooi overgoten wordt met de fraaie zanglijnen waarmee Micky Huijsmans volop haar talent bewijst.

Het album bevat zeven tracks die elk op zich een eigen verhaal vertellen. Een vaste stijl is er niet. Goth, doom, opera power, prog… noem maar op! Alles wordt op een voortreffelijke manier met elkaar verweven. Dat biedt de band onbeperkte mogelijkheden waardoorEnd Of The Dream zich onderscheidt van andere bands.

Dit schijfje bevat heerlijk georkestreerde symfonische nummers zoals de opener Follow The Angels dat een licht gothictintje heeft, evenals Away dat meer als doom klinkt. Echte powermetal horen we op Colder. De rustpauze in het album komt tijdens de mooie ballade Collide. 

Het orgelpunt van dit album is Shadows Embrace: een meesterlijke compositie met leuke tempowisselingen en verrassende ritmes, waarvoor zowel de muzikanten als de zangeres alles uit de kast halen.

All I Am is een debuutplaat die niet ongemerkt voorbij kan gaan en die het beste voor de toekomst laat vermoeden. End Of The Dream zet hiermee meteen zijn vernieuwende voetafdruk in het metallandschap en is dus zeker een band om in het oog te houden. Misschien wordt the end of the dream wel het begin van een mooie werkelijkheid.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands