tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/01/2016 : END OF THE DREAM - All I Am

END OF THE DREAM

All I Am

MusicCD
power metalProg RockSymphonic Metal

[82/100]   
04/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

All I Am was released in 2014, and it is the debut album by the Dutch symphonic metal band End Of The Dream. Everything was done by themselves, while Joost van den Broek, whoalso worked for After Forever, Epica, Xandria and Stream Of Passion, was in charge of the production.

Many will label this five-piece band with vocalist Micky Huijsmans as a female fronted metal band. You can hear influences from bands like Evanescence, Epica or Xandria, but they are more than that.

Composer-guitarist Armen Shamelian wrote some quirky, surprising compositions. The most important issue is the music, nicely topped with the beautiful vocals by Micky Huijsmans who proves her talent.

The album has seven tracks and each has its own story. There is no particular style on the album: goth, doom, opera power, prog... you name it! Everything is bound together in an excellent manner. End Of The Dream seems to have unlimited possibilities, so they can distinguish themselves from other bands.

This disc contains wonderfully orchestrated symphonic songs like the opener Follow The Angels, which has a slightly gothic touch, while Away sounds more like doom. Colder is real power metal and Collide is a beautiful ballad.

The highlight is Shadows Embrace: a masterful composition with nice tempo changes and some surprising rhythms in which both the musicians and the singer give the best of themselves.

All I Am is a debut album that suggests the best for the future. End Of The Dream is definitely a band to keep an eye on. Perhaps the end of the dream is the beginning of a beautiful reality.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


NL

All I Am dateert uit 2014 en is het debuutalbum van de Nederlandse symfonische metalband End Of The Dream. Alles is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en de productie is verzorgd door Joost van den Broek, die we nog kennen van After Forever, Epica, Xandria en Stream Of Passion.

De vijfkoppige formatie met zangeres Micky Huijsmans zou je het etiket female fronted metalband kunnen opspelden, maar zo’n enge categorie zou de muzikanten oneer aandoen. Invloeden van bands als Evanescence, Epica of Xandria merk je wel, maar dat zijn er slechts een paar.

Componist-gitarist Armen Shamelian schreef eigenzinnige, maar tevens verrassende composities waardoor de muziek centraal staat en alles mooi overgoten wordt met de fraaie zanglijnen waarmee Micky Huijsmans volop haar talent bewijst.

Het album bevat zeven tracks die elk op zich een eigen verhaal vertellen. Een vaste stijl is er niet. Goth, doom, opera power, prog… noem maar op! Alles wordt op een voortreffelijke manier met elkaar verweven. Dat biedt de band onbeperkte mogelijkheden waardoorEnd Of The Dream zich onderscheidt van andere bands.

Dit schijfje bevat heerlijk georkestreerde symfonische nummers zoals de opener Follow The Angels dat een licht gothictintje heeft, evenals Away dat meer als doom klinkt. Echte powermetal horen we op Colder. De rustpauze in het album komt tijdens de mooie ballade Collide. 

Het orgelpunt van dit album is Shadows Embrace: een meesterlijke compositie met leuke tempowisselingen en verrassende ritmes, waarvoor zowel de muzikanten als de zangeres alles uit de kast halen.

All I Am is een debuutplaat die niet ongemerkt voorbij kan gaan en die het beste voor de toekomst laat vermoeden. End Of The Dream zet hiermee meteen zijn vernieuwende voetafdruk in het metallandschap en is dus zeker een band om in het oog te houden. Misschien wordt the end of the dream wel het begin van een mooie werkelijkheid.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)