tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/01/2016 : END OF THE DREAM - All I Am

END OF THE DREAM

All I Am

MusicCD
power metalProg RockSymphonic Metal

[82/100]   
04/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

All I Am was released in 2014, and it is the debut album by the Dutch symphonic metal band End Of The Dream. Everything was done by themselves, while Joost van den Broek, whoalso worked for After Forever, Epica, Xandria and Stream Of Passion, was in charge of the production.

Many will label this five-piece band with vocalist Micky Huijsmans as a female fronted metal band. You can hear influences from bands like Evanescence, Epica or Xandria, but they are more than that.

Composer-guitarist Armen Shamelian wrote some quirky, surprising compositions. The most important issue is the music, nicely topped with the beautiful vocals by Micky Huijsmans who proves her talent.

The album has seven tracks and each has its own story. There is no particular style on the album: goth, doom, opera power, prog... you name it! Everything is bound together in an excellent manner. End Of The Dream seems to have unlimited possibilities, so they can distinguish themselves from other bands.

This disc contains wonderfully orchestrated symphonic songs like the opener Follow The Angels, which has a slightly gothic touch, while Away sounds more like doom. Colder is real power metal and Collide is a beautiful ballad.

The highlight is Shadows Embrace: a masterful composition with nice tempo changes and some surprising rhythms in which both the musicians and the singer give the best of themselves.

All I Am is a debut album that suggests the best for the future. End Of The Dream is definitely a band to keep an eye on. Perhaps the end of the dream is the beginning of a beautiful reality.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


NL

All I Am dateert uit 2014 en is het debuutalbum van de Nederlandse symfonische metalband End Of The Dream. Alles is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en de productie is verzorgd door Joost van den Broek, die we nog kennen van After Forever, Epica, Xandria en Stream Of Passion.

De vijfkoppige formatie met zangeres Micky Huijsmans zou je het etiket female fronted metalband kunnen opspelden, maar zo’n enge categorie zou de muzikanten oneer aandoen. Invloeden van bands als Evanescence, Epica of Xandria merk je wel, maar dat zijn er slechts een paar.

Componist-gitarist Armen Shamelian schreef eigenzinnige, maar tevens verrassende composities waardoor de muziek centraal staat en alles mooi overgoten wordt met de fraaie zanglijnen waarmee Micky Huijsmans volop haar talent bewijst.

Het album bevat zeven tracks die elk op zich een eigen verhaal vertellen. Een vaste stijl is er niet. Goth, doom, opera power, prog… noem maar op! Alles wordt op een voortreffelijke manier met elkaar verweven. Dat biedt de band onbeperkte mogelijkheden waardoorEnd Of The Dream zich onderscheidt van andere bands.

Dit schijfje bevat heerlijk georkestreerde symfonische nummers zoals de opener Follow The Angels dat een licht gothictintje heeft, evenals Away dat meer als doom klinkt. Echte powermetal horen we op Colder. De rustpauze in het album komt tijdens de mooie ballade Collide. 

Het orgelpunt van dit album is Shadows Embrace: een meesterlijke compositie met leuke tempowisselingen en verrassende ritmes, waarvoor zowel de muzikanten als de zangeres alles uit de kast halen.

All I Am is een debuutplaat die niet ongemerkt voorbij kan gaan en die het beste voor de toekomst laat vermoeden. End Of The Dream zet hiermee meteen zijn vernieuwende voetafdruk in het metallandschap en is dus zeker een band om in het oog te houden. Misschien wordt the end of the dream wel het begin van een mooie werkelijkheid.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover