tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/01/2016 : END OF THE DREAM - All I Am

END OF THE DREAM

All I Am

MusicCD
power metalProg RockSymphonic Metal

[82/100]   
04/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

All I Am was released in 2014, and it is the debut album by the Dutch symphonic metal band End Of The Dream. Everything was done by themselves, while Joost van den Broek, whoalso worked for After Forever, Epica, Xandria and Stream Of Passion, was in charge of the production.

Many will label this five-piece band with vocalist Micky Huijsmans as a female fronted metal band. You can hear influences from bands like Evanescence, Epica or Xandria, but they are more than that.

Composer-guitarist Armen Shamelian wrote some quirky, surprising compositions. The most important issue is the music, nicely topped with the beautiful vocals by Micky Huijsmans who proves her talent.

The album has seven tracks and each has its own story. There is no particular style on the album: goth, doom, opera power, prog... you name it! Everything is bound together in an excellent manner. End Of The Dream seems to have unlimited possibilities, so they can distinguish themselves from other bands.

This disc contains wonderfully orchestrated symphonic songs like the opener Follow The Angels, which has a slightly gothic touch, while Away sounds more like doom. Colder is real power metal and Collide is a beautiful ballad.

The highlight is Shadows Embrace: a masterful composition with nice tempo changes and some surprising rhythms in which both the musicians and the singer give the best of themselves.

All I Am is a debut album that suggests the best for the future. End Of The Dream is definitely a band to keep an eye on. Perhaps the end of the dream is the beginning of a beautiful reality.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


NL

All I Am dateert uit 2014 en is het debuutalbum van de Nederlandse symfonische metalband End Of The Dream. Alles is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en de productie is verzorgd door Joost van den Broek, die we nog kennen van After Forever, Epica, Xandria en Stream Of Passion.

De vijfkoppige formatie met zangeres Micky Huijsmans zou je het etiket female fronted metalband kunnen opspelden, maar zo’n enge categorie zou de muzikanten oneer aandoen. Invloeden van bands als Evanescence, Epica of Xandria merk je wel, maar dat zijn er slechts een paar.

Componist-gitarist Armen Shamelian schreef eigenzinnige, maar tevens verrassende composities waardoor de muziek centraal staat en alles mooi overgoten wordt met de fraaie zanglijnen waarmee Micky Huijsmans volop haar talent bewijst.

Het album bevat zeven tracks die elk op zich een eigen verhaal vertellen. Een vaste stijl is er niet. Goth, doom, opera power, prog… noem maar op! Alles wordt op een voortreffelijke manier met elkaar verweven. Dat biedt de band onbeperkte mogelijkheden waardoorEnd Of The Dream zich onderscheidt van andere bands.

Dit schijfje bevat heerlijk georkestreerde symfonische nummers zoals de opener Follow The Angels dat een licht gothictintje heeft, evenals Away dat meer als doom klinkt. Echte powermetal horen we op Colder. De rustpauze in het album komt tijdens de mooie ballade Collide. 

Het orgelpunt van dit album is Shadows Embrace: een meesterlijke compositie met leuke tempowisselingen en verrassende ritmes, waarvoor zowel de muzikanten als de zangeres alles uit de kast halen.

All I Am is een debuutplaat die niet ongemerkt voorbij kan gaan en die het beste voor de toekomst laat vermoeden. End Of The Dream zet hiermee meteen zijn vernieuwende voetafdruk in het metallandschap en is dus zeker een band om in het oog te houden. Misschien wordt the end of the dream wel het begin van een mooie werkelijkheid.

Ruben SAEY
04/01/2016


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me