tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

21/12/2015 : END OF THE DREAM - Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)

END OF THE DREAM

Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)

Concert
power metalSymphonic Metal 21/12/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Almost exactly two years after End Of The Dream played a first gig in Overpelt, this symphonic metal band of 's-Hertogenbosch (Netherlands) is the support act of the Winter Tour 2015 by Liv Kristine.

Despite the fact that this band still is relatively unknown in Belgium (that probably will change from now on), De Verlichte Geest (name of the venue-ed.) already was filled with inquisitive metalheads. It is not such an obvious thing to open a night like this, because a support act is also responsible for creating the right atmosphere. The End Of The Dream surely was pleased with the fact that some interested people were waiting to see them. The lights in the hall went out and the green light behind the stage went on: the launch of a very passionate gig. The band entered the stage, confident and full of energy, and that attitude caused many enthusiastic reactions from the public.

The set began with the classical piano sounds of Colder, but quickly the tight synchronous rhythm of the drums and the guitar took over. The nice thing about a venue like De Verlichte Geest is that there is no huge space between the band and the audience, as you really become a part of the live atmosphere.

All eyes were focused on front woman Micky Huijsmans, who enjoyed the attention. In this way she was able to control the public with all kinds of directional clues. Their debut album All I Am (March 2014) sounds promising, The public anxiously waited if she was able to perform her vocals on stage just as good as on record. From the first moment on, Micky took away all doubts. Talking about good quality!

There was a vivid interaction between the band and the audience. After each song, you could notice that people were enthusiastic, and it’s clear why! End Of The Dream is not just another female fronted metal band. Of course there’s that excellent angelic voice by Micky Huijsmans, but the band is more than that! At least as important are the sublime guitars by Armen Shamelian and Robin van Ekeren, the deep bass by Tim van den Hooven and the sledgehammer-like drumming by Pim Geeraerts.

The set was very diverse and contained five songs from the debut album. Because of the varied choice of songs, we could hear the surprising rhythms and tempo changes of composer Armen Shamelian which give the music an extra touch. We heard pure power metal in Colder , while Follow The Angels is more opera metal in which we hear what Micky is capable of. Away was more doom metal, while the beautiful ballad Collide leads us to their most brilliant tune: Shadows Embrace. This song starts as pure goth metal, but through the quirky structures and tempo changes we get an individual showcase of all the musicians’ capabilities. A perfect ending of a brilliant (but way too short) gig. End Of The Dream deserves our support and they’re certainly a band to keep an eye on.

Livefoto's: Tania Devroe

Ruben SAEY
21/12/2015


NL

Bijna exact twee jaar na het allereerste optreden in Overpelt, verzorgt de uit ‘s-Hertogenbosch (Nederland) afkomstige symfonische metalband End Of The Dream het voorprogramma van de Wintertour 2015 van Liv Kristine.

Ondanks het feit dat deze band in België nog vrij onbekend is (daar zal na vanavond wel verandering in komen) was De Verlichte Geest in Roeselare toch al aardig gevuld met nieuwsgierige metalheads. Een avond als deze openen lijkt me niet zo evident, want als eerste band van de avond bepaal je ook de opbouw van de sfeer mee. Het moet End Of The Dream dan ook deugd hebben gedaan, dat er vanaf het begin aardig wat volk stond te wachten. De lichten in de zaal werden gedimd en het groene licht achter het podium ging aan, meteen het startsein voor een heel gedreven optreden. Vol zelfvertrouwen en energie stapte de band het podium op, wat voor menig enthousiaste reacties bij het publiek zorgde.

De set begon met de vrij klassieke pianoklanken van Colder, maar die werden vlug door het strakke synchrone ritme van drums en gitaar vervangen, waarna de groep meteen alle registers opentrok. Het leuke aan een zaal als De Verlichte Geest is dat je echt dicht bij het podium kan staan, en zo heel nauw bij het concert wordt betrokken.

Alle ogen waren dan ook op frontvrouw Micky Huijsmans gericht, die van deze aandacht genoot en zo het publiek met allerlei gerichte aanwijzingen kon aansturen. Hun debuutalbum All I Am dat eerder in maart 2014 uitkwam, klinkt alvast veelbelovend, en dus werd er vol spanning afgewacht hoe ze deze vocalen live zou brengen. Vanaf het eerste moment nam Micky alle twijfels weg. Vol zelfvertrouwen en overgave bewees de zangeres dat wat je op het album hoort ook zo op een podium wordt gebracht. Een goede eigenschap!

Dat de groep vol vertrouwen stond te spelen was ook te merken aan het de fijne interactie met het publiek. Applaus en gefluit na elk nummer waren dan ook uitbundig en terecht. Dat de groep niet de zoveelste female fronted metalband is, kon je vanavond goed merken. De snijdende gitaren van Armen Shamelian en Robin van Ekeren, de diepe bas van Tim van den Hooven en de mokerslagen en schitterende drumsolo’s van Pim Geeraerts, zijn minstens even belangrijk als de uitstekende engelachtige stem van Micky Huijsmans.

Er werd een gevarieerde set gespeeld met vijf songs uit het debuutalbum. Op deze manier kwamen de verrassende ritmes en tempowisselingen van componist Arman Shamelian (trouwens een mooi visitekaartje voor de band) volledig aan bod. Een korte set met toch voldoende variatie: van echte powermetal zoals in Colder tot het wat meer operametal-achtige Follow The Angels, waarin Micky echt kan laten horen waartoe ze in staat is: het meer naar doom neigende Away om zo via de mooie ballade Collide te eindigen met (de voor mij meest geniale compositie) Shadows Embrace, Dit nummer begint als een onvervalste gothmetalsong en via allerlei eigenzinnige structuren en tempowissels evolueert het naar een compositie waarop alle muzikanten individueel mooi aan bod komen. Een meer dan waardige afsluiter van een geslaagd (en veel te kort) optreden. Deze band verdient alle steun en is zeker eentje om in de toekomst in de gaten te houden.

Livefoto's: Tania Devroe

Ruben SAEY
21/12/2015


21/12/2015 : END OF THE DREAM - Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015) 21/12/2015 : END OF THE DREAM - Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted