tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/03/2015 : IRIS DIVINE - Karma Sown

IRIS DIVINE

Karma Sown

MusicCD
power metalProg

[92/100]   

Sensory Records
19/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from North Virginia who have released their first album by themselves are now on Sensory Records, and that is of course a big step forward for this progressive power metal band. The label cites influences from the likes of Rush, King’s X, Pantera or Dream Theater, but how beautiful these names might sound: you discover in the first place an own style that can be best described as power metal, with occasionally some progrock-influences.

A few songs that came to my attention are Fire Of The Unknown, which is a very cool song and has a trashy start, that made me think of Metallica and Pantera in their early days. And they never forget to add a good chorus. Prism is nice as well, and apart from the power metal, you also hear some atmospheric parts in the chorus. Spirals is a trashy instrumental, although melodic. In The Wake Of Martyrs has a nice intro of bass and drums and shows the qualities and variation Iris Divine has. There is not one moment of rest in these 48 minutes, and therefore it is quite hard to listen to the album in one session. But with great vocals, bass, guitar and drums of the highest quaity, you can conclude that Karma Sown is a top album in its genre.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/03/2015


NL

Dit trio uit Noord Virginia brengt z'n tweede cd uit op Sensory Records. Een hele stap voorwaarts voor dit progressive power metal-trio, omdat z'n vorige plaat nog in eigen beheer was uitgebracht. Het label goochelt wel met namen als Rush, King’s X, Pantera of Dream Theate, toch hebben ze vooral een eigen stijl in hun power metal gestopt, die bij moment ook wat progrock-invloeden heeft.

Een aantal songs die eruit schieten zijn: Fire of The Unknown, dat met een trashy intro begint, zoals vroeger ook Metallica of Pantera dat deden. Vooral de leuke baslijn in het eerste stuk ligt lekker in het gehoor. Ook Prism is een goed uitgewerkte song, die naast power ook heel wat sfeerelementen bevat. Spirals is een trashy instrumental, die tevens melodieus klinkt. En terwijl we toch over positieve elementen bezig zijn, luister je ook maar beter eens naar de mooie intro van In The Wake Of Martyrs. Naarmate het nummer vordert hoor je ook de kwaliteiten en veelzijdigheid van Iris Divine, die een album van 48 minuten gespierde muziek heeft afgeleverd. Dat maakt het bij momenten misschien wel net iets te heftig om in één beurt te beluisteren, maar met de aangename stem en bas, gitaar en drums die op topniveau zijn, kun je alleen maar besluiten dat Karma Sown een topalbum in zijn genre is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/03/2015


Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies