tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/03/2015 : IRIS DIVINE - Karma Sown

IRIS DIVINE

Karma Sown

MusicCD
power metalProg

[92/100]   

Sensory Records
19/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from North Virginia who have released their first album by themselves are now on Sensory Records, and that is of course a big step forward for this progressive power metal band. The label cites influences from the likes of Rush, King’s X, Pantera or Dream Theater, but how beautiful these names might sound: you discover in the first place an own style that can be best described as power metal, with occasionally some progrock-influences.

A few songs that came to my attention are Fire Of The Unknown, which is a very cool song and has a trashy start, that made me think of Metallica and Pantera in their early days. And they never forget to add a good chorus. Prism is nice as well, and apart from the power metal, you also hear some atmospheric parts in the chorus. Spirals is a trashy instrumental, although melodic. In The Wake Of Martyrs has a nice intro of bass and drums and shows the qualities and variation Iris Divine has. There is not one moment of rest in these 48 minutes, and therefore it is quite hard to listen to the album in one session. But with great vocals, bass, guitar and drums of the highest quaity, you can conclude that Karma Sown is a top album in its genre.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/03/2015


NL

Dit trio uit Noord Virginia brengt z'n tweede cd uit op Sensory Records. Een hele stap voorwaarts voor dit progressive power metal-trio, omdat z'n vorige plaat nog in eigen beheer was uitgebracht. Het label goochelt wel met namen als Rush, King’s X, Pantera of Dream Theate, toch hebben ze vooral een eigen stijl in hun power metal gestopt, die bij moment ook wat progrock-invloeden heeft.

Een aantal songs die eruit schieten zijn: Fire of The Unknown, dat met een trashy intro begint, zoals vroeger ook Metallica of Pantera dat deden. Vooral de leuke baslijn in het eerste stuk ligt lekker in het gehoor. Ook Prism is een goed uitgewerkte song, die naast power ook heel wat sfeerelementen bevat. Spirals is een trashy instrumental, die tevens melodieus klinkt. En terwijl we toch over positieve elementen bezig zijn, luister je ook maar beter eens naar de mooie intro van In The Wake Of Martyrs. Naarmate het nummer vordert hoor je ook de kwaliteiten en veelzijdigheid van Iris Divine, die een album van 48 minuten gespierde muziek heeft afgeleverd. Dat maakt het bij momenten misschien wel net iets te heftig om in één beurt te beluisteren, maar met de aangename stem en bas, gitaar en drums die op topniveau zijn, kun je alleen maar besluiten dat Karma Sown een topalbum in zijn genre is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/03/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You