tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/03/2015 : IRIS DIVINE - Karma Sown

IRIS DIVINE

Karma Sown

MusicCD
power metalProg

[92/100]   

Sensory Records
19/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from North Virginia who have released their first album by themselves are now on Sensory Records, and that is of course a big step forward for this progressive power metal band. The label cites influences from the likes of Rush, King’s X, Pantera or Dream Theater, but how beautiful these names might sound: you discover in the first place an own style that can be best described as power metal, with occasionally some progrock-influences.

A few songs that came to my attention are Fire Of The Unknown, which is a very cool song and has a trashy start, that made me think of Metallica and Pantera in their early days. And they never forget to add a good chorus. Prism is nice as well, and apart from the power metal, you also hear some atmospheric parts in the chorus. Spirals is a trashy instrumental, although melodic. In The Wake Of Martyrs has a nice intro of bass and drums and shows the qualities and variation Iris Divine has. There is not one moment of rest in these 48 minutes, and therefore it is quite hard to listen to the album in one session. But with great vocals, bass, guitar and drums of the highest quaity, you can conclude that Karma Sown is a top album in its genre.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/03/2015


NL

Dit trio uit Noord Virginia brengt z'n tweede cd uit op Sensory Records. Een hele stap voorwaarts voor dit progressive power metal-trio, omdat z'n vorige plaat nog in eigen beheer was uitgebracht. Het label goochelt wel met namen als Rush, King’s X, Pantera of Dream Theate, toch hebben ze vooral een eigen stijl in hun power metal gestopt, die bij moment ook wat progrock-invloeden heeft.

Een aantal songs die eruit schieten zijn: Fire of The Unknown, dat met een trashy intro begint, zoals vroeger ook Metallica of Pantera dat deden. Vooral de leuke baslijn in het eerste stuk ligt lekker in het gehoor. Ook Prism is een goed uitgewerkte song, die naast power ook heel wat sfeerelementen bevat. Spirals is een trashy instrumental, die tevens melodieus klinkt. En terwijl we toch over positieve elementen bezig zijn, luister je ook maar beter eens naar de mooie intro van In The Wake Of Martyrs. Naarmate het nummer vordert hoor je ook de kwaliteiten en veelzijdigheid van Iris Divine, die een album van 48 minuten gespierde muziek heeft afgeleverd. Dat maakt het bij momenten misschien wel net iets te heftig om in één beurt te beluisteren, maar met de aangename stem en bas, gitaar en drums die op topniveau zijn, kun je alleen maar besluiten dat Karma Sown een topalbum in zijn genre is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/03/2015


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag