tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/03/2015 : IRIS DIVINE - Karma Sown

IRIS DIVINE

Karma Sown

MusicCD
power metalProg

[92/100]   

Sensory Records
19/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from North Virginia who have released their first album by themselves are now on Sensory Records, and that is of course a big step forward for this progressive power metal band. The label cites influences from the likes of Rush, King’s X, Pantera or Dream Theater, but how beautiful these names might sound: you discover in the first place an own style that can be best described as power metal, with occasionally some progrock-influences.

A few songs that came to my attention are Fire Of The Unknown, which is a very cool song and has a trashy start, that made me think of Metallica and Pantera in their early days. And they never forget to add a good chorus. Prism is nice as well, and apart from the power metal, you also hear some atmospheric parts in the chorus. Spirals is a trashy instrumental, although melodic. In The Wake Of Martyrs has a nice intro of bass and drums and shows the qualities and variation Iris Divine has. There is not one moment of rest in these 48 minutes, and therefore it is quite hard to listen to the album in one session. But with great vocals, bass, guitar and drums of the highest quaity, you can conclude that Karma Sown is a top album in its genre.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/03/2015


NL

Dit trio uit Noord Virginia brengt z'n tweede cd uit op Sensory Records. Een hele stap voorwaarts voor dit progressive power metal-trio, omdat z'n vorige plaat nog in eigen beheer was uitgebracht. Het label goochelt wel met namen als Rush, King’s X, Pantera of Dream Theate, toch hebben ze vooral een eigen stijl in hun power metal gestopt, die bij moment ook wat progrock-invloeden heeft.

Een aantal songs die eruit schieten zijn: Fire of The Unknown, dat met een trashy intro begint, zoals vroeger ook Metallica of Pantera dat deden. Vooral de leuke baslijn in het eerste stuk ligt lekker in het gehoor. Ook Prism is een goed uitgewerkte song, die naast power ook heel wat sfeerelementen bevat. Spirals is een trashy instrumental, die tevens melodieus klinkt. En terwijl we toch over positieve elementen bezig zijn, luister je ook maar beter eens naar de mooie intro van In The Wake Of Martyrs. Naarmate het nummer vordert hoor je ook de kwaliteiten en veelzijdigheid van Iris Divine, die een album van 48 minuten gespierde muziek heeft afgeleverd. Dat maakt het bij momenten misschien wel net iets te heftig om in één beurt te beluisteren, maar met de aangename stem en bas, gitaar en drums die op topniveau zijn, kun je alleen maar besluiten dat Karma Sown een topalbum in zijn genre is.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/03/2015


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On