tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/08/2015 : VLY - I/Time

VLY

I/Time

MusicCD
Alternative RockProg

[85/100]   

Laser's Edge
26/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover shows a nice, atmospheric picture of a woman who glides through the water. A feel that perfectly fits the music on this album, as this is rather prog-rock music with strong songs. The five musicians all have a different background which results in a varied album. There are indeed some elements from electro or post-rock included, but in the first place we hear beautiful and atmospheric tracks.

Let’s take for instance the opener Circles or Time, which immediately take you to their world. The vocals are clean, and make us think of Steve Wilson of Porcupine Tree for example. A trzack like ‘Headache’ floats on a fragile guitar riff and pop rhythm. It reminds me a bit of Pink Floyd. So, can it be any better?

Progmetal fans maybe find this a little too soft, although they can rock too (Out The Maze) but they do that very subtly. Musically to be linked with Porcupine Tree or Beardfish… For lovers of smart and entertaining prog-rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/08/2015


NL

De hoes is een mooie en sfeervolle foto van een vrouw die door het water glijdt. Zo kan je ook de muziek omschrijven, die als progrock klinkt met mooi opgebouwde nummers. De vijf muzikanten hebben allemaal een andere achtergrond, waardoor je een gevarieerd album krijgt met nu en dan elementen uit andere genres. Je hoort geregeld wat electronica, post -ock en zelfs klassieke elementen, maar bovenal sfeervolle, mooie composities.

Neem bijv. de opener Circles of Time, die je meteen naar hun wereld meenemen. De vocals lijken wat op die van Steve Wilson. ‘Headache’ drijft op een breekbare gitaarriff en een popritme en doet wat aan Pink Floyd denken.

Progmetalfans gaan dit misschien net iets te soft vinden, alhoewel Out The Maze een uitstekend rocknummer is, ook al doen ze dit veel subtieler dan de meeste bands. Muzikaal link ik ze meer aan progbands zoals Porcupine Tree of Beardfish. Kortom, wie van intelligente en onderhoudende progrock houdt, moet dit zeker eens in de lader schuiven!

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/08/2015


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl