tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/08/2015 : VLY - I/Time

VLY

I/Time

MusicCD
Alternative RockProg

[85/100]   

Laser's Edge
26/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover shows a nice, atmospheric picture of a woman who glides through the water. A feel that perfectly fits the music on this album, as this is rather prog-rock music with strong songs. The five musicians all have a different background which results in a varied album. There are indeed some elements from electro or post-rock included, but in the first place we hear beautiful and atmospheric tracks.

Let’s take for instance the opener Circles or Time, which immediately take you to their world. The vocals are clean, and make us think of Steve Wilson of Porcupine Tree for example. A trzack like ‘Headache’ floats on a fragile guitar riff and pop rhythm. It reminds me a bit of Pink Floyd. So, can it be any better?

Progmetal fans maybe find this a little too soft, although they can rock too (Out The Maze) but they do that very subtly. Musically to be linked with Porcupine Tree or Beardfish… For lovers of smart and entertaining prog-rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/08/2015


NL

De hoes is een mooie en sfeervolle foto van een vrouw die door het water glijdt. Zo kan je ook de muziek omschrijven, die als progrock klinkt met mooi opgebouwde nummers. De vijf muzikanten hebben allemaal een andere achtergrond, waardoor je een gevarieerd album krijgt met nu en dan elementen uit andere genres. Je hoort geregeld wat electronica, post -ock en zelfs klassieke elementen, maar bovenal sfeervolle, mooie composities.

Neem bijv. de opener Circles of Time, die je meteen naar hun wereld meenemen. De vocals lijken wat op die van Steve Wilson. ‘Headache’ drijft op een breekbare gitaarriff en een popritme en doet wat aan Pink Floyd denken.

Progmetalfans gaan dit misschien net iets te soft vinden, alhoewel Out The Maze een uitstekend rocknummer is, ook al doen ze dit veel subtieler dan de meeste bands. Muzikaal link ik ze meer aan progbands zoals Porcupine Tree of Beardfish. Kortom, wie van intelligente en onderhoudende progrock houdt, moet dit zeker eens in de lader schuiven!

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/08/2015


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected