tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/08/2015 : VLY - I/Time

VLY

I/Time

MusicCD
Alternative RockProg

[85/100]   

Laser's Edge
26/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover shows a nice, atmospheric picture of a woman who glides through the water. A feel that perfectly fits the music on this album, as this is rather prog-rock music with strong songs. The five musicians all have a different background which results in a varied album. There are indeed some elements from electro or post-rock included, but in the first place we hear beautiful and atmospheric tracks.

Let’s take for instance the opener Circles or Time, which immediately take you to their world. The vocals are clean, and make us think of Steve Wilson of Porcupine Tree for example. A trzack like ‘Headache’ floats on a fragile guitar riff and pop rhythm. It reminds me a bit of Pink Floyd. So, can it be any better?

Progmetal fans maybe find this a little too soft, although they can rock too (Out The Maze) but they do that very subtly. Musically to be linked with Porcupine Tree or Beardfish… For lovers of smart and entertaining prog-rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/08/2015


NL

De hoes is een mooie en sfeervolle foto van een vrouw die door het water glijdt. Zo kan je ook de muziek omschrijven, die als progrock klinkt met mooi opgebouwde nummers. De vijf muzikanten hebben allemaal een andere achtergrond, waardoor je een gevarieerd album krijgt met nu en dan elementen uit andere genres. Je hoort geregeld wat electronica, post -ock en zelfs klassieke elementen, maar bovenal sfeervolle, mooie composities.

Neem bijv. de opener Circles of Time, die je meteen naar hun wereld meenemen. De vocals lijken wat op die van Steve Wilson. ‘Headache’ drijft op een breekbare gitaarriff en een popritme en doet wat aan Pink Floyd denken.

Progmetalfans gaan dit misschien net iets te soft vinden, alhoewel Out The Maze een uitstekend rocknummer is, ook al doen ze dit veel subtieler dan de meeste bands. Muzikaal link ik ze meer aan progbands zoals Porcupine Tree of Beardfish. Kortom, wie van intelligente en onderhoudende progrock houdt, moet dit zeker eens in de lader schuiven!

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/08/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures