tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/08/2015 : VLY - I/Time

VLY

I/Time

MusicCD
Alternative RockProg

[85/100]   

Laser's Edge
26/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The cover shows a nice, atmospheric picture of a woman who glides through the water. A feel that perfectly fits the music on this album, as this is rather prog-rock music with strong songs. The five musicians all have a different background which results in a varied album. There are indeed some elements from electro or post-rock included, but in the first place we hear beautiful and atmospheric tracks.

Let’s take for instance the opener Circles or Time, which immediately take you to their world. The vocals are clean, and make us think of Steve Wilson of Porcupine Tree for example. A trzack like ‘Headache’ floats on a fragile guitar riff and pop rhythm. It reminds me a bit of Pink Floyd. So, can it be any better?

Progmetal fans maybe find this a little too soft, although they can rock too (Out The Maze) but they do that very subtly. Musically to be linked with Porcupine Tree or Beardfish… For lovers of smart and entertaining prog-rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/08/2015


NL

De hoes is een mooie en sfeervolle foto van een vrouw die door het water glijdt. Zo kan je ook de muziek omschrijven, die als progrock klinkt met mooi opgebouwde nummers. De vijf muzikanten hebben allemaal een andere achtergrond, waardoor je een gevarieerd album krijgt met nu en dan elementen uit andere genres. Je hoort geregeld wat electronica, post -ock en zelfs klassieke elementen, maar bovenal sfeervolle, mooie composities.

Neem bijv. de opener Circles of Time, die je meteen naar hun wereld meenemen. De vocals lijken wat op die van Steve Wilson. ‘Headache’ drijft op een breekbare gitaarriff en een popritme en doet wat aan Pink Floyd denken.

Progmetalfans gaan dit misschien net iets te soft vinden, alhoewel Out The Maze een uitstekend rocknummer is, ook al doen ze dit veel subtieler dan de meeste bands. Muzikaal link ik ze meer aan progbands zoals Porcupine Tree of Beardfish. Kortom, wie van intelligente en onderhoudende progrock houdt, moet dit zeker eens in de lader schuiven!

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/08/2015


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers