tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

SIMI NAH

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
26/08/2015, Didier BECU

Simi Nah recently changed our world with the excellent Be My Guest album. On that album you could hear which artists influenced Simi, but we wanted to know which 10 albums changed her life. Let it roll, Simi!

Here are 10 of the albums that changed and influenced my life and my approach to music. In a particular order of traveling in time of my life …

1. CERRONE - Supernature (1977)
I was only a child when my mother was listening to that album. I was fascinated by the very creepy front cover, and this is the first record I listened to when I was on my own at home … this was the start of a decadent taste for music!

2. SERGE GAINSBOURG - Love on the Beat (1984)
As a good French girl, you must not deny Serge's big talent and arrogance in his songs. The early 80s was a perfect time for me to switch from this album to the following ones.

3. THE CURE - Pornography (1982)
The years passed by, and this dark album of The Cure is in fact the one that sort of kept me alive in a very difficult period of my life in Paris. When I close my eyes and listen to it now, I can still see myself driving in the dark in the middle of nowhere! So strange how memories can refer to music in such a strong way!

4. THE CURE- Seventeen Seconds (1980)
This album is very important to me because that's the one that introduced me to playing music. I learned the bass, trying copy the bass lines of this entire album, day after day, in a small hotel room... ask the room neighbours, they will confirm it!

5. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always (1985)
There is no need to say a word about this brilliant album, it has a place in my life and heart that made me who I am today.

6. VIRGIN PRUNES - If I Die, I Die (1982)
I could not imagine there was somebody crazier than me at that time until I met Gavin Friday in 'Elysée Montmartre Paris 06/1986'! He was having an argument with Guggi, I cheered him up, he stopped crying and gave me his eyeliner! Crazy story, crazy music… I still have the eyeliner!

7. FAD GADGET - G.A.G (1984)
There was no party in Paris without Fad Gadget ! Just fun memories of dancing all night long on those tunes !!

8. TRISOMIE 21 - Chapter IV - Le Je-Ne-Sais-Quoi Et Le Presque Rien (1986)
Back to my roots, leaving Paris behind and discovering this French electro band in +- 1986. …I bought my first drum machine!!

9. DAVID BOWIE - Hunky Dory (1971)
It's very difficult to pick only one album of Bowie since they are so different and all emotional, but let's say that in a chronological order, this one carried me away in Amsterdam during a long reflection period.

10. THE PRODIGY - More Music for the Jilted Generation (1994)
Landed in Belgium in the 90s, a bit stuck between house and grunge, but The Prodigy put electronic music back where it belonged !

Didier BECU
26/08/2015


26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)