tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

SIMI NAH

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
26/08/2015, Didier BECU

Simi Nah recently changed our world with the excellent Be My Guest album. On that album you could hear which artists influenced Simi, but we wanted to know which 10 albums changed her life. Let it roll, Simi!

Here are 10 of the albums that changed and influenced my life and my approach to music. In a particular order of traveling in time of my life …

1. CERRONE - Supernature (1977)
I was only a child when my mother was listening to that album. I was fascinated by the very creepy front cover, and this is the first record I listened to when I was on my own at home … this was the start of a decadent taste for music!

2. SERGE GAINSBOURG - Love on the Beat (1984)
As a good French girl, you must not deny Serge's big talent and arrogance in his songs. The early 80s was a perfect time for me to switch from this album to the following ones.

3. THE CURE - Pornography (1982)
The years passed by, and this dark album of The Cure is in fact the one that sort of kept me alive in a very difficult period of my life in Paris. When I close my eyes and listen to it now, I can still see myself driving in the dark in the middle of nowhere! So strange how memories can refer to music in such a strong way!

4. THE CURE- Seventeen Seconds (1980)
This album is very important to me because that's the one that introduced me to playing music. I learned the bass, trying copy the bass lines of this entire album, day after day, in a small hotel room... ask the room neighbours, they will confirm it!

5. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always (1985)
There is no need to say a word about this brilliant album, it has a place in my life and heart that made me who I am today.

6. VIRGIN PRUNES - If I Die, I Die (1982)
I could not imagine there was somebody crazier than me at that time until I met Gavin Friday in 'Elysée Montmartre Paris 06/1986'! He was having an argument with Guggi, I cheered him up, he stopped crying and gave me his eyeliner! Crazy story, crazy music… I still have the eyeliner!

7. FAD GADGET - G.A.G (1984)
There was no party in Paris without Fad Gadget ! Just fun memories of dancing all night long on those tunes !!

8. TRISOMIE 21 - Chapter IV - Le Je-Ne-Sais-Quoi Et Le Presque Rien (1986)
Back to my roots, leaving Paris behind and discovering this French electro band in +- 1986. …I bought my first drum machine!!

9. DAVID BOWIE - Hunky Dory (1971)
It's very difficult to pick only one album of Bowie since they are so different and all emotional, but let's say that in a chronological order, this one carried me away in Amsterdam during a long reflection period.

10. THE PRODIGY - More Music for the Jilted Generation (1994)
Landed in Belgium in the 90s, a bit stuck between house and grunge, but The Prodigy put electronic music back where it belonged !

Didier BECU
26/08/2015


26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover