tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

SIMI NAH

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
26/08/2015, Didier BECU

Simi Nah recently changed our world with the excellent Be My Guest album. On that album you could hear which artists influenced Simi, but we wanted to know which 10 albums changed her life. Let it roll, Simi!

Here are 10 of the albums that changed and influenced my life and my approach to music. In a particular order of traveling in time of my life …

1. CERRONE - Supernature (1977)
I was only a child when my mother was listening to that album. I was fascinated by the very creepy front cover, and this is the first record I listened to when I was on my own at home … this was the start of a decadent taste for music!

2. SERGE GAINSBOURG - Love on the Beat (1984)
As a good French girl, you must not deny Serge's big talent and arrogance in his songs. The early 80s was a perfect time for me to switch from this album to the following ones.

3. THE CURE - Pornography (1982)
The years passed by, and this dark album of The Cure is in fact the one that sort of kept me alive in a very difficult period of my life in Paris. When I close my eyes and listen to it now, I can still see myself driving in the dark in the middle of nowhere! So strange how memories can refer to music in such a strong way!

4. THE CURE- Seventeen Seconds (1980)
This album is very important to me because that's the one that introduced me to playing music. I learned the bass, trying copy the bass lines of this entire album, day after day, in a small hotel room... ask the room neighbours, they will confirm it!

5. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always (1985)
There is no need to say a word about this brilliant album, it has a place in my life and heart that made me who I am today.

6. VIRGIN PRUNES - If I Die, I Die (1982)
I could not imagine there was somebody crazier than me at that time until I met Gavin Friday in 'Elysée Montmartre Paris 06/1986'! He was having an argument with Guggi, I cheered him up, he stopped crying and gave me his eyeliner! Crazy story, crazy music… I still have the eyeliner!

7. FAD GADGET - G.A.G (1984)
There was no party in Paris without Fad Gadget ! Just fun memories of dancing all night long on those tunes !!

8. TRISOMIE 21 - Chapter IV - Le Je-Ne-Sais-Quoi Et Le Presque Rien (1986)
Back to my roots, leaving Paris behind and discovering this French electro band in +- 1986. …I bought my first drum machine!!

9. DAVID BOWIE - Hunky Dory (1971)
It's very difficult to pick only one album of Bowie since they are so different and all emotional, but let's say that in a chronological order, this one carried me away in Amsterdam during a long reflection period.

10. THE PRODIGY - More Music for the Jilted Generation (1994)
Landed in Belgium in the 90s, a bit stuck between house and grunge, but The Prodigy put electronic music back where it belonged !

Didier BECU
26/08/2015


26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic