tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

SIMI NAH

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
26/08/2015, Didier BECU

Simi Nah recently changed our world with the excellent Be My Guest album. On that album you could hear which artists influenced Simi, but we wanted to know which 10 albums changed her life. Let it roll, Simi!

Here are 10 of the albums that changed and influenced my life and my approach to music. In a particular order of traveling in time of my life …

1. CERRONE - Supernature (1977)
I was only a child when my mother was listening to that album. I was fascinated by the very creepy front cover, and this is the first record I listened to when I was on my own at home … this was the start of a decadent taste for music!

2. SERGE GAINSBOURG - Love on the Beat (1984)
As a good French girl, you must not deny Serge's big talent and arrogance in his songs. The early 80s was a perfect time for me to switch from this album to the following ones.

3. THE CURE - Pornography (1982)
The years passed by, and this dark album of The Cure is in fact the one that sort of kept me alive in a very difficult period of my life in Paris. When I close my eyes and listen to it now, I can still see myself driving in the dark in the middle of nowhere! So strange how memories can refer to music in such a strong way!

4. THE CURE- Seventeen Seconds (1980)
This album is very important to me because that's the one that introduced me to playing music. I learned the bass, trying copy the bass lines of this entire album, day after day, in a small hotel room... ask the room neighbours, they will confirm it!

5. THE SISTERS OF MERCY - First and Last and Always (1985)
There is no need to say a word about this brilliant album, it has a place in my life and heart that made me who I am today.

6. VIRGIN PRUNES - If I Die, I Die (1982)
I could not imagine there was somebody crazier than me at that time until I met Gavin Friday in 'Elysée Montmartre Paris 06/1986'! He was having an argument with Guggi, I cheered him up, he stopped crying and gave me his eyeliner! Crazy story, crazy music… I still have the eyeliner!

7. FAD GADGET - G.A.G (1984)
There was no party in Paris without Fad Gadget ! Just fun memories of dancing all night long on those tunes !!

8. TRISOMIE 21 - Chapter IV - Le Je-Ne-Sais-Quoi Et Le Presque Rien (1986)
Back to my roots, leaving Paris behind and discovering this French electro band in +- 1986. …I bought my first drum machine!!

9. DAVID BOWIE - Hunky Dory (1971)
It's very difficult to pick only one album of Bowie since they are so different and all emotional, but let's say that in a chronological order, this one carried me away in Amsterdam during a long reflection period.

10. THE PRODIGY - More Music for the Jilted Generation (1994)
Landed in Belgium in the 90s, a bit stuck between house and grunge, but The Prodigy put electronic music back where it belonged !

Didier BECU
26/08/2015


26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 26/08/2015 : SIMI NAH - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)