tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : SIMI NAH - Bootleg

SIMI NAH

Bootleg

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro WaveSynthpop

[80/100]   
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

Simi Nah, the handsome French woman who lives in Oostende and was in a previous life the bassist of Pragha Kahn, is back. Assisted by KGB (also her life partner) and her daughter Sayfée (from her relationship with the late Micky Mike of Snowy Red), her project Simi Nah was hailed because of the sublime CD Be My Guest. Bootleg is released because many fans were looking in vain for Cher Chez La Femme from 2004, this CD-R contains eight reworked versions of songs from that debut.

Cherchez La Femme has a simple, but sad intro that is followed by the poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingenu. And if I say poppy, then it’s without the nasty aftertaste this adjective sometimes has, just great layered synth pop. Sans Se Voiler Le Face is a song that undoubtedly will do well on both the stage and the dance floor, thanks to the pounding bass line and the dark synths. Le Passé Le Présent, Le Futur vaguely reminds me of Kraftwerk. L'Ange You sounds as if Mylène Farmer has put on her pointy shoes and black leather jacket. Lovely wavepop. Just beautiful. During the melancholic Je Cherche Encore Simi sounds again vulnerable.

We already know that Simi Nah is a master in covering songs. This time it is Alice - The 2183. The famous guitar riff is complemented by effective floating synths. The female vocals give the cover a mysterious touch.

Bootleg is a must for lovers of electro wave and synthpop. But you have to be quick as this CD-R with its vinyl look and photocopied black and white cover (the nostalgia!) is limited to 100 copies! They are numbered and hand signed. So go to your specialist record store! You already should be there! Those who decide slowly can go to Why2k's Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

Simi Nah, de knappe Française die in Oostende woont en in een vorig leven bassiste bij Pragha Kahn was, is terug. Bijgestaan door KGB (tevens haar levenspartner) en haar dochter Sayfée (uit haar relatie met wijlen Micky Mike van Snowy Red) vormt ze het project Simi Nah dat vorig jaar hoge ogen gooide met de cd Be My Guest.
Bootleg komt tegemoet aan de vraag van fans die tevergeefs op zoek waren naar Cherchez La Femme uit 2004 en bevat 8 herwerkte versies van nummers uit haar debuut.

Chercheze La Femme is een eenvoudig, triest intro dat wordt gevolgd door het poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingénu. En dan bedoel ik poppy, zonder de vieze nasmaak die dit adjectief soms heeft. Aangename, gelaagde synthpop.
Sans Se Voiler Le Face is een nummer dat het ongetwijfeld goed zal doen op zowel de scène als de dansvloer, dankzij de uitnodigende bonzende baslijn en donkere synths. Le Passé, Le Présent, Le Futur slaat de brug met de jaren 80 en doet me vaag aan Kraftwerk denken.

L’Ange Je klinkt alsof Mylène Farmer haar puntschoenen en zwarte lederen jekker heeft aangetrokken. Heerlijk voortkabbelende wavepop. Prachtig gewoon. Tijdens het melancholische Je Cherche Encore klinkt Simi dan weer kwetsbaar.

Dat Simi Nah andermans nummers naar z'n hand kan zetten heeft het reeds uitvoerig bewezen. Ook deze Alice – The 2183 Mix is een voltreffer. Het bekende gitaarloopje is aangevuld met een doeltreffende zwevende synths. De vrouwelijke vocalen verlenen de cover een mysterieuze touch.

Bootleg is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van electrowave en synthpop. Maar je zal er als de kippen bij moeten zijn als je deze cd-r met zijn vinyllook en gefotokopieerde zwart-withoes (de nostalgie!) op de kop wil tikken! De oplage is gelimiteerd tot 100 stuks, genummerd en met de hand gesigneerd. Rep je dus naar de gespecialiseerde platenboer! Je moest al weg zijn! De trage beslissers kunnen nog altijd hun toevlucht nemen tot Why2k’s Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
HATCHLING • Alpha
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger