tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : SIMI NAH - Bootleg

SIMI NAH

Bootleg

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro WaveSynthpop

[80/100]   
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

Simi Nah, the handsome French woman who lives in Oostende and was in a previous life the bassist of Pragha Kahn, is back. Assisted by KGB (also her life partner) and her daughter Sayfée (from her relationship with the late Micky Mike of Snowy Red), her project Simi Nah was hailed because of the sublime CD Be My Guest. Bootleg is released because many fans were looking in vain for Cher Chez La Femme from 2004, this CD-R contains eight reworked versions of songs from that debut.

Cherchez La Femme has a simple, but sad intro that is followed by the poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingenu. And if I say poppy, then it’s without the nasty aftertaste this adjective sometimes has, just great layered synth pop. Sans Se Voiler Le Face is a song that undoubtedly will do well on both the stage and the dance floor, thanks to the pounding bass line and the dark synths. Le Passé Le Présent, Le Futur vaguely reminds me of Kraftwerk. L'Ange You sounds as if Mylène Farmer has put on her pointy shoes and black leather jacket. Lovely wavepop. Just beautiful. During the melancholic Je Cherche Encore Simi sounds again vulnerable.

We already know that Simi Nah is a master in covering songs. This time it is Alice - The 2183. The famous guitar riff is complemented by effective floating synths. The female vocals give the cover a mysterious touch.

Bootleg is a must for lovers of electro wave and synthpop. But you have to be quick as this CD-R with its vinyl look and photocopied black and white cover (the nostalgia!) is limited to 100 copies! They are numbered and hand signed. So go to your specialist record store! You already should be there! Those who decide slowly can go to Why2k's Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

Simi Nah, de knappe Française die in Oostende woont en in een vorig leven bassiste bij Pragha Kahn was, is terug. Bijgestaan door KGB (tevens haar levenspartner) en haar dochter Sayfée (uit haar relatie met wijlen Micky Mike van Snowy Red) vormt ze het project Simi Nah dat vorig jaar hoge ogen gooide met de cd Be My Guest.
Bootleg komt tegemoet aan de vraag van fans die tevergeefs op zoek waren naar Cherchez La Femme uit 2004 en bevat 8 herwerkte versies van nummers uit haar debuut.

Chercheze La Femme is een eenvoudig, triest intro dat wordt gevolgd door het poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingénu. En dan bedoel ik poppy, zonder de vieze nasmaak die dit adjectief soms heeft. Aangename, gelaagde synthpop.
Sans Se Voiler Le Face is een nummer dat het ongetwijfeld goed zal doen op zowel de scène als de dansvloer, dankzij de uitnodigende bonzende baslijn en donkere synths. Le Passé, Le Présent, Le Futur slaat de brug met de jaren 80 en doet me vaag aan Kraftwerk denken.

L’Ange Je klinkt alsof Mylène Farmer haar puntschoenen en zwarte lederen jekker heeft aangetrokken. Heerlijk voortkabbelende wavepop. Prachtig gewoon. Tijdens het melancholische Je Cherche Encore klinkt Simi dan weer kwetsbaar.

Dat Simi Nah andermans nummers naar z'n hand kan zetten heeft het reeds uitvoerig bewezen. Ook deze Alice – The 2183 Mix is een voltreffer. Het bekende gitaarloopje is aangevuld met een doeltreffende zwevende synths. De vrouwelijke vocalen verlenen de cover een mysterieuze touch.

Bootleg is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van electrowave en synthpop. Maar je zal er als de kippen bij moeten zijn als je deze cd-r met zijn vinyllook en gefotokopieerde zwart-withoes (de nostalgie!) op de kop wil tikken! De oplage is gelimiteerd tot 100 stuks, genummerd en met de hand gesigneerd. Rep je dus naar de gespecialiseerde platenboer! Je moest al weg zijn! De trage beslissers kunnen nog altijd hun toevlucht nemen tot Why2k’s Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money