tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : SIMI NAH - Bootleg

SIMI NAH

Bootleg

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro WaveSynthpop

[80/100]   
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

Simi Nah, the handsome French woman who lives in Oostende and was in a previous life the bassist of Pragha Kahn, is back. Assisted by KGB (also her life partner) and her daughter Sayfée (from her relationship with the late Micky Mike of Snowy Red), her project Simi Nah was hailed because of the sublime CD Be My Guest. Bootleg is released because many fans were looking in vain for Cher Chez La Femme from 2004, this CD-R contains eight reworked versions of songs from that debut.

Cherchez La Femme has a simple, but sad intro that is followed by the poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingenu. And if I say poppy, then it’s without the nasty aftertaste this adjective sometimes has, just great layered synth pop. Sans Se Voiler Le Face is a song that undoubtedly will do well on both the stage and the dance floor, thanks to the pounding bass line and the dark synths. Le Passé Le Présent, Le Futur vaguely reminds me of Kraftwerk. L'Ange You sounds as if Mylène Farmer has put on her pointy shoes and black leather jacket. Lovely wavepop. Just beautiful. During the melancholic Je Cherche Encore Simi sounds again vulnerable.

We already know that Simi Nah is a master in covering songs. This time it is Alice - The 2183. The famous guitar riff is complemented by effective floating synths. The female vocals give the cover a mysterious touch.

Bootleg is a must for lovers of electro wave and synthpop. But you have to be quick as this CD-R with its vinyl look and photocopied black and white cover (the nostalgia!) is limited to 100 copies! They are numbered and hand signed. So go to your specialist record store! You already should be there! Those who decide slowly can go to Why2k's Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

Simi Nah, de knappe Française die in Oostende woont en in een vorig leven bassiste bij Pragha Kahn was, is terug. Bijgestaan door KGB (tevens haar levenspartner) en haar dochter Sayfée (uit haar relatie met wijlen Micky Mike van Snowy Red) vormt ze het project Simi Nah dat vorig jaar hoge ogen gooide met de cd Be My Guest.
Bootleg komt tegemoet aan de vraag van fans die tevergeefs op zoek waren naar Cherchez La Femme uit 2004 en bevat 8 herwerkte versies van nummers uit haar debuut.

Chercheze La Femme is een eenvoudig, triest intro dat wordt gevolgd door het poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingénu. En dan bedoel ik poppy, zonder de vieze nasmaak die dit adjectief soms heeft. Aangename, gelaagde synthpop.
Sans Se Voiler Le Face is een nummer dat het ongetwijfeld goed zal doen op zowel de scène als de dansvloer, dankzij de uitnodigende bonzende baslijn en donkere synths. Le Passé, Le Présent, Le Futur slaat de brug met de jaren 80 en doet me vaag aan Kraftwerk denken.

L’Ange Je klinkt alsof Mylène Farmer haar puntschoenen en zwarte lederen jekker heeft aangetrokken. Heerlijk voortkabbelende wavepop. Prachtig gewoon. Tijdens het melancholische Je Cherche Encore klinkt Simi dan weer kwetsbaar.

Dat Simi Nah andermans nummers naar z'n hand kan zetten heeft het reeds uitvoerig bewezen. Ook deze Alice – The 2183 Mix is een voltreffer. Het bekende gitaarloopje is aangevuld met een doeltreffende zwevende synths. De vrouwelijke vocalen verlenen de cover een mysterieuze touch.

Bootleg is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van electrowave en synthpop. Maar je zal er als de kippen bij moeten zijn als je deze cd-r met zijn vinyllook en gefotokopieerde zwart-withoes (de nostalgie!) op de kop wil tikken! De oplage is gelimiteerd tot 100 stuks, genummerd en met de hand gesigneerd. Rep je dus naar de gespecialiseerde platenboer! Je moest al weg zijn! De trage beslissers kunnen nog altijd hun toevlucht nemen tot Why2k’s Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)