tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : SIMI NAH - Bootleg

SIMI NAH

Bootleg

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro WaveSynthpop

[80/100]   
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

Simi Nah, the handsome French woman who lives in Oostende and was in a previous life the bassist of Pragha Kahn, is back. Assisted by KGB (also her life partner) and her daughter Sayfée (from her relationship with the late Micky Mike of Snowy Red), her project Simi Nah was hailed because of the sublime CD Be My Guest. Bootleg is released because many fans were looking in vain for Cher Chez La Femme from 2004, this CD-R contains eight reworked versions of songs from that debut.

Cherchez La Femme has a simple, but sad intro that is followed by the poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingenu. And if I say poppy, then it’s without the nasty aftertaste this adjective sometimes has, just great layered synth pop. Sans Se Voiler Le Face is a song that undoubtedly will do well on both the stage and the dance floor, thanks to the pounding bass line and the dark synths. Le Passé Le Présent, Le Futur vaguely reminds me of Kraftwerk. L'Ange You sounds as if Mylène Farmer has put on her pointy shoes and black leather jacket. Lovely wavepop. Just beautiful. During the melancholic Je Cherche Encore Simi sounds again vulnerable.

We already know that Simi Nah is a master in covering songs. This time it is Alice - The 2183. The famous guitar riff is complemented by effective floating synths. The female vocals give the cover a mysterious touch.

Bootleg is a must for lovers of electro wave and synthpop. But you have to be quick as this CD-R with its vinyl look and photocopied black and white cover (the nostalgia!) is limited to 100 copies! They are numbered and hand signed. So go to your specialist record store! You already should be there! Those who decide slowly can go to Why2k's Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

Simi Nah, de knappe Française die in Oostende woont en in een vorig leven bassiste bij Pragha Kahn was, is terug. Bijgestaan door KGB (tevens haar levenspartner) en haar dochter Sayfée (uit haar relatie met wijlen Micky Mike van Snowy Red) vormt ze het project Simi Nah dat vorig jaar hoge ogen gooide met de cd Be My Guest.
Bootleg komt tegemoet aan de vraag van fans die tevergeefs op zoek waren naar Cherchez La Femme uit 2004 en bevat 8 herwerkte versies van nummers uit haar debuut.

Chercheze La Femme is een eenvoudig, triest intro dat wordt gevolgd door het poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingénu. En dan bedoel ik poppy, zonder de vieze nasmaak die dit adjectief soms heeft. Aangename, gelaagde synthpop.
Sans Se Voiler Le Face is een nummer dat het ongetwijfeld goed zal doen op zowel de scène als de dansvloer, dankzij de uitnodigende bonzende baslijn en donkere synths. Le Passé, Le Présent, Le Futur slaat de brug met de jaren 80 en doet me vaag aan Kraftwerk denken.

L’Ange Je klinkt alsof Mylène Farmer haar puntschoenen en zwarte lederen jekker heeft aangetrokken. Heerlijk voortkabbelende wavepop. Prachtig gewoon. Tijdens het melancholische Je Cherche Encore klinkt Simi dan weer kwetsbaar.

Dat Simi Nah andermans nummers naar z'n hand kan zetten heeft het reeds uitvoerig bewezen. Ook deze Alice – The 2183 Mix is een voltreffer. Het bekende gitaarloopje is aangevuld met een doeltreffende zwevende synths. De vrouwelijke vocalen verlenen de cover een mysterieuze touch.

Bootleg is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van electrowave en synthpop. Maar je zal er als de kippen bij moeten zijn als je deze cd-r met zijn vinyllook en gefotokopieerde zwart-withoes (de nostalgie!) op de kop wil tikken! De oplage is gelimiteerd tot 100 stuks, genummerd en met de hand gesigneerd. Rep je dus naar de gespecialiseerde platenboer! Je moest al weg zijn! De trage beslissers kunnen nog altijd hun toevlucht nemen tot Why2k’s Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
S/HE • Who Do You Love

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray

Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn