tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : SIMI NAH - Bootleg

SIMI NAH

Bootleg

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro WaveSynthpop

[80/100]   
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

Simi Nah, the handsome French woman who lives in Oostende and was in a previous life the bassist of Pragha Kahn, is back. Assisted by KGB (also her life partner) and her daughter Sayfée (from her relationship with the late Micky Mike of Snowy Red), her project Simi Nah was hailed because of the sublime CD Be My Guest. Bootleg is released because many fans were looking in vain for Cher Chez La Femme from 2004, this CD-R contains eight reworked versions of songs from that debut.

Cherchez La Femme has a simple, but sad intro that is followed by the poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingenu. And if I say poppy, then it’s without the nasty aftertaste this adjective sometimes has, just great layered synth pop. Sans Se Voiler Le Face is a song that undoubtedly will do well on both the stage and the dance floor, thanks to the pounding bass line and the dark synths. Le Passé Le Présent, Le Futur vaguely reminds me of Kraftwerk. L'Ange You sounds as if Mylène Farmer has put on her pointy shoes and black leather jacket. Lovely wavepop. Just beautiful. During the melancholic Je Cherche Encore Simi sounds again vulnerable.

We already know that Simi Nah is a master in covering songs. This time it is Alice - The 2183. The famous guitar riff is complemented by effective floating synths. The female vocals give the cover a mysterious touch.

Bootleg is a must for lovers of electro wave and synthpop. But you have to be quick as this CD-R with its vinyl look and photocopied black and white cover (the nostalgia!) is limited to 100 copies! They are numbered and hand signed. So go to your specialist record store! You already should be there! Those who decide slowly can go to Why2k's Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

Simi Nah, de knappe Française die in Oostende woont en in een vorig leven bassiste bij Pragha Kahn was, is terug. Bijgestaan door KGB (tevens haar levenspartner) en haar dochter Sayfée (uit haar relatie met wijlen Micky Mike van Snowy Red) vormt ze het project Simi Nah dat vorig jaar hoge ogen gooide met de cd Be My Guest.
Bootleg komt tegemoet aan de vraag van fans die tevergeefs op zoek waren naar Cherchez La Femme uit 2004 en bevat 8 herwerkte versies van nummers uit haar debuut.

Chercheze La Femme is een eenvoudig, triest intro dat wordt gevolgd door het poppy Je Joue Le Jeu Ingénu. En dan bedoel ik poppy, zonder de vieze nasmaak die dit adjectief soms heeft. Aangename, gelaagde synthpop.
Sans Se Voiler Le Face is een nummer dat het ongetwijfeld goed zal doen op zowel de scène als de dansvloer, dankzij de uitnodigende bonzende baslijn en donkere synths. Le Passé, Le Présent, Le Futur slaat de brug met de jaren 80 en doet me vaag aan Kraftwerk denken.

L’Ange Je klinkt alsof Mylène Farmer haar puntschoenen en zwarte lederen jekker heeft aangetrokken. Heerlijk voortkabbelende wavepop. Prachtig gewoon. Tijdens het melancholische Je Cherche Encore klinkt Simi dan weer kwetsbaar.

Dat Simi Nah andermans nummers naar z'n hand kan zetten heeft het reeds uitvoerig bewezen. Ook deze Alice – The 2183 Mix is een voltreffer. Het bekende gitaarloopje is aangevuld met een doeltreffende zwevende synths. De vrouwelijke vocalen verlenen de cover een mysterieuze touch.

Bootleg is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van electrowave en synthpop. Maar je zal er als de kippen bij moeten zijn als je deze cd-r met zijn vinyllook en gefotokopieerde zwart-withoes (de nostalgie!) op de kop wil tikken! De oplage is gelimiteerd tot 100 stuks, genummerd en met de hand gesigneerd. Rep je dus naar de gespecialiseerde platenboer! Je moest al weg zijn! De trage beslissers kunnen nog altijd hun toevlucht nemen tot Why2k’s Bandcamp.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
A VIOLET PINE • Turtles
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
THE KINKS • Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
HATCHLING • Alpha
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

Music reviews

08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac
13
07
HER OWN WORLD
A Different Kind Of Reality

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence