tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this single (digital) review

14/06/2020 : DARK-O-MATIC - A cage with the door wide open

DARK-O-MATIC

A cage with the door wide open

MusicSingle (Digital)
Synthpop

[85/100]   

Skyqode
14/06/2020, Peter DOLPHEN

EN

In 2019, Dark-o-Matic released their debut album ‘New Hope’. This ‘A cage with the wide door open’ is the first single from that album.

‘A cage with the door wide open’ is a typical synthpop-track with a huge 80’s sound. It’s poppy, it’s catchy and sticks to your skin.

On this EP no other tracks, just 5 versions of the title-track: the normal version, 3 remixes (of which the ‘Mr. L3thΔL Remix’ is for me by far the best). The EP ends with a wonderful live piano-version of the track, which gives it a very fragile touch.

Great first single!

Peter DOLPHEN
14/06/2020


NL

In 2019 kwam het debuutalbum 'New Hope' van Dark-o-Matic uit. Deze 'A cage with the door wide open' is de eerste single uit dat album.

'A cage with the door wide open' is een typische synthpop-track met een duidelijke 80's-inslag. Het is poppy, catchy en blijft ook wel even hangen.

Op de EP geen andere nummers, wel 5 keer hetzelfde in een ander jasje: de normale versie, 3 remixen (waarvan de ‘Mr. L3thΔL Remix’ voor mij persoonlijk erbovenuit steekt). De EP eindigt met een zeer mooie live pianoversie die het nummer iets breekbaars geeft.

Een mooie binnenkomer!

Peter DOLPHEN
14/06/2020


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl