tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : CHEMICAL SWEET KID - The Speed Of Time

CHEMICAL SWEET KID

The Speed Of Time

MusicCD
Industrial Rock

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

The Speed Of Time is the third album by the French industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. If you compare it to Obszön Geschöpf, that other French industrial band I recently reviewed, then Chemical Swet Kid sounds more contemporary. The record is also better produced and has a more balanced sound. Julien Kidam describes Chemical Sweet Kid as an electronic hybrid of Marilyn Manson and Christian Death. The influence of Marilyn Manson is obvious, especially in the vocals. But it's a Marilyn Manson without Twiggy Ramirez.

The album opens with 00:00 AM, followed by Once Agian. Dirty sounding synths with a dark edge, chuncky guitars, heavy beats and aggressive vocals. No Emotion also goes full throttle. During Kiss My Hate the hatred is clearly heard in the vocals.

Reciting, whispering, singing and screaming are alternated fluently. Although Julien Kidam tries hard to sound varied, variation is exactly what this album misses. Most of the songs don’t equal the quality of the start, some tracks are build up slowly, but eventually aggression is the primary emotion. Maybe I would have liked this album if I still were a frustrated adolescent. There's only one song that surprised me. In Dissilusion the aggression makes place for an ominous atmosphere. I would have liked to hear more of this.

The conclusion is the same as in the review of their French collegues Obszön Geschöpf. Although Chemical Sweet Kid has a certain charm, I'm not completely convinced. And yes, I'm aware of the fact that charm is an odd word when talking about these bands!

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

The Speed Of time is het derde album van de Franse industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. In vergelijking met Obszön Geschopf, de andere Franse industrial band die ik onlangs onder de loep nam, klinkt Chemical Sweet Kid eigentijdser. De plaat is ook beter geproduceerd en er is een beter evenwicht tussen de gitaar en de elektronica. Julien Kidam omschrijft zijn band als een elektronische hybride tussen Marilyn Manson en Christian Death. Marilyn Manson hoor je inderdaad duidelijk als invloed, vooral vocaal dan. Maar het is dan wel een Marilyn Manson zonder Twiggy Ramirez.

Het album opent met de intro 00:00 AM waarop Once Again naadloos aansluit. Vette synths met een donker randje, stevige gitaren, harde beats en de agressieve zang zetten de toon. Ook tijdens No Emotion wordt het gaspedaal stevig ingeduwd. Tijdens Kiss My Hate druipt de haat van de vocalen.

Declameren, fluisteren, zingen en schreeuwen worden vlot afgewisseld. Hoewel Julien Kidam zijn best doet om gevarieerd te klinken, mist het album toch wat variatie. Het is niet altijd zo voluit als in het begin; soms wordt er traag opgebouwd, maar uiteindelijk primeert de agressieve toon. Misschien zou dit album me beter bevallen als gefrustreerde adolescent. Er is slechts één song die me wist te verrassen. In Disillusion maakt de agressie plaats voor een dreigende atmosfeer. Hier wil ik wel meer van horen.

De conclusie is dan ook dezelfde als bij hun Franse collega’s van Obszön Geschöpf. Hoewel Chemical Sweet Kid een zekere charme heeft, kan het mij niet volledig overtuigen. En ja, ik ben er mij van bewust dat charme een vreemd woord is als je praat over Obszön Geschopf en Chemical Sweet Kid.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
10
36 years ago Ministry released (Every Day Is) Halloween!
30
10
In time for Halloween Heaven and Hell Records resurrect the MORTICIA catalogue.
29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
10
DIVE
Far Away
30
10
THE MISSION
Tower Of Strength 2020
29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World