tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : CHEMICAL SWEET KID - The Speed Of Time

CHEMICAL SWEET KID

The Speed Of Time

MusicCD
Industrial Rock

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

The Speed Of Time is the third album by the French industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. If you compare it to Obszön Geschöpf, that other French industrial band I recently reviewed, then Chemical Swet Kid sounds more contemporary. The record is also better produced and has a more balanced sound. Julien Kidam describes Chemical Sweet Kid as an electronic hybrid of Marilyn Manson and Christian Death. The influence of Marilyn Manson is obvious, especially in the vocals. But it's a Marilyn Manson without Twiggy Ramirez.

The album opens with 00:00 AM, followed by Once Agian. Dirty sounding synths with a dark edge, chuncky guitars, heavy beats and aggressive vocals. No Emotion also goes full throttle. During Kiss My Hate the hatred is clearly heard in the vocals.

Reciting, whispering, singing and screaming are alternated fluently. Although Julien Kidam tries hard to sound varied, variation is exactly what this album misses. Most of the songs don’t equal the quality of the start, some tracks are build up slowly, but eventually aggression is the primary emotion. Maybe I would have liked this album if I still were a frustrated adolescent. There's only one song that surprised me. In Dissilusion the aggression makes place for an ominous atmosphere. I would have liked to hear more of this.

The conclusion is the same as in the review of their French collegues Obszön Geschöpf. Although Chemical Sweet Kid has a certain charm, I'm not completely convinced. And yes, I'm aware of the fact that charm is an odd word when talking about these bands!

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

The Speed Of time is het derde album van de Franse industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. In vergelijking met Obszön Geschopf, de andere Franse industrial band die ik onlangs onder de loep nam, klinkt Chemical Sweet Kid eigentijdser. De plaat is ook beter geproduceerd en er is een beter evenwicht tussen de gitaar en de elektronica. Julien Kidam omschrijft zijn band als een elektronische hybride tussen Marilyn Manson en Christian Death. Marilyn Manson hoor je inderdaad duidelijk als invloed, vooral vocaal dan. Maar het is dan wel een Marilyn Manson zonder Twiggy Ramirez.

Het album opent met de intro 00:00 AM waarop Once Again naadloos aansluit. Vette synths met een donker randje, stevige gitaren, harde beats en de agressieve zang zetten de toon. Ook tijdens No Emotion wordt het gaspedaal stevig ingeduwd. Tijdens Kiss My Hate druipt de haat van de vocalen.

Declameren, fluisteren, zingen en schreeuwen worden vlot afgewisseld. Hoewel Julien Kidam zijn best doet om gevarieerd te klinken, mist het album toch wat variatie. Het is niet altijd zo voluit als in het begin; soms wordt er traag opgebouwd, maar uiteindelijk primeert de agressieve toon. Misschien zou dit album me beter bevallen als gefrustreerde adolescent. Er is slechts één song die me wist te verrassen. In Disillusion maakt de agressie plaats voor een dreigende atmosfeer. Hier wil ik wel meer van horen.

De conclusie is dan ook dezelfde als bij hun Franse collega’s van Obszön Geschöpf. Hoewel Chemical Sweet Kid een zekere charme heeft, kan het mij niet volledig overtuigen. En ja, ik ben er mij van bewust dat charme een vreemd woord is als je praat over Obszön Geschopf en Chemical Sweet Kid.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness