tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : CHEMICAL SWEET KID - The Speed Of Time

CHEMICAL SWEET KID

The Speed Of Time

MusicCD
Industrial Rock

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

The Speed Of Time is the third album by the French industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. If you compare it to Obszön Geschöpf, that other French industrial band I recently reviewed, then Chemical Swet Kid sounds more contemporary. The record is also better produced and has a more balanced sound. Julien Kidam describes Chemical Sweet Kid as an electronic hybrid of Marilyn Manson and Christian Death. The influence of Marilyn Manson is obvious, especially in the vocals. But it's a Marilyn Manson without Twiggy Ramirez.

The album opens with 00:00 AM, followed by Once Agian. Dirty sounding synths with a dark edge, chuncky guitars, heavy beats and aggressive vocals. No Emotion also goes full throttle. During Kiss My Hate the hatred is clearly heard in the vocals.

Reciting, whispering, singing and screaming are alternated fluently. Although Julien Kidam tries hard to sound varied, variation is exactly what this album misses. Most of the songs don’t equal the quality of the start, some tracks are build up slowly, but eventually aggression is the primary emotion. Maybe I would have liked this album if I still were a frustrated adolescent. There's only one song that surprised me. In Dissilusion the aggression makes place for an ominous atmosphere. I would have liked to hear more of this.

The conclusion is the same as in the review of their French collegues Obszön Geschöpf. Although Chemical Sweet Kid has a certain charm, I'm not completely convinced. And yes, I'm aware of the fact that charm is an odd word when talking about these bands!

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

The Speed Of time is het derde album van de Franse industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. In vergelijking met Obszön Geschopf, de andere Franse industrial band die ik onlangs onder de loep nam, klinkt Chemical Sweet Kid eigentijdser. De plaat is ook beter geproduceerd en er is een beter evenwicht tussen de gitaar en de elektronica. Julien Kidam omschrijft zijn band als een elektronische hybride tussen Marilyn Manson en Christian Death. Marilyn Manson hoor je inderdaad duidelijk als invloed, vooral vocaal dan. Maar het is dan wel een Marilyn Manson zonder Twiggy Ramirez.

Het album opent met de intro 00:00 AM waarop Once Again naadloos aansluit. Vette synths met een donker randje, stevige gitaren, harde beats en de agressieve zang zetten de toon. Ook tijdens No Emotion wordt het gaspedaal stevig ingeduwd. Tijdens Kiss My Hate druipt de haat van de vocalen.

Declameren, fluisteren, zingen en schreeuwen worden vlot afgewisseld. Hoewel Julien Kidam zijn best doet om gevarieerd te klinken, mist het album toch wat variatie. Het is niet altijd zo voluit als in het begin; soms wordt er traag opgebouwd, maar uiteindelijk primeert de agressieve toon. Misschien zou dit album me beter bevallen als gefrustreerde adolescent. Er is slechts één song die me wist te verrassen. In Disillusion maakt de agressie plaats voor een dreigende atmosfeer. Hier wil ik wel meer van horen.

De conclusie is dan ook dezelfde als bij hun Franse collega’s van Obszön Geschöpf. Hoewel Chemical Sweet Kid een zekere charme heeft, kan het mij niet volledig overtuigen. En ja, ik ben er mij van bewust dat charme een vreemd woord is als je praat over Obszön Geschopf en Chemical Sweet Kid.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me