tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : CHEMICAL SWEET KID - The Speed Of Time

CHEMICAL SWEET KID

The Speed Of Time

MusicCD
Industrial Rock

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

The Speed Of Time is the third album by the French industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. If you compare it to Obszön Geschöpf, that other French industrial band I recently reviewed, then Chemical Swet Kid sounds more contemporary. The record is also better produced and has a more balanced sound. Julien Kidam describes Chemical Sweet Kid as an electronic hybrid of Marilyn Manson and Christian Death. The influence of Marilyn Manson is obvious, especially in the vocals. But it's a Marilyn Manson without Twiggy Ramirez.

The album opens with 00:00 AM, followed by Once Agian. Dirty sounding synths with a dark edge, chuncky guitars, heavy beats and aggressive vocals. No Emotion also goes full throttle. During Kiss My Hate the hatred is clearly heard in the vocals.

Reciting, whispering, singing and screaming are alternated fluently. Although Julien Kidam tries hard to sound varied, variation is exactly what this album misses. Most of the songs don’t equal the quality of the start, some tracks are build up slowly, but eventually aggression is the primary emotion. Maybe I would have liked this album if I still were a frustrated adolescent. There's only one song that surprised me. In Dissilusion the aggression makes place for an ominous atmosphere. I would have liked to hear more of this.

The conclusion is the same as in the review of their French collegues Obszön Geschöpf. Although Chemical Sweet Kid has a certain charm, I'm not completely convinced. And yes, I'm aware of the fact that charm is an odd word when talking about these bands!

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

The Speed Of time is het derde album van de Franse industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. In vergelijking met Obszön Geschopf, de andere Franse industrial band die ik onlangs onder de loep nam, klinkt Chemical Sweet Kid eigentijdser. De plaat is ook beter geproduceerd en er is een beter evenwicht tussen de gitaar en de elektronica. Julien Kidam omschrijft zijn band als een elektronische hybride tussen Marilyn Manson en Christian Death. Marilyn Manson hoor je inderdaad duidelijk als invloed, vooral vocaal dan. Maar het is dan wel een Marilyn Manson zonder Twiggy Ramirez.

Het album opent met de intro 00:00 AM waarop Once Again naadloos aansluit. Vette synths met een donker randje, stevige gitaren, harde beats en de agressieve zang zetten de toon. Ook tijdens No Emotion wordt het gaspedaal stevig ingeduwd. Tijdens Kiss My Hate druipt de haat van de vocalen.

Declameren, fluisteren, zingen en schreeuwen worden vlot afgewisseld. Hoewel Julien Kidam zijn best doet om gevarieerd te klinken, mist het album toch wat variatie. Het is niet altijd zo voluit als in het begin; soms wordt er traag opgebouwd, maar uiteindelijk primeert de agressieve toon. Misschien zou dit album me beter bevallen als gefrustreerde adolescent. Er is slechts één song die me wist te verrassen. In Disillusion maakt de agressie plaats voor een dreigende atmosfeer. Hier wil ik wel meer van horen.

De conclusie is dan ook dezelfde als bij hun Franse collega’s van Obszön Geschöpf. Hoewel Chemical Sweet Kid een zekere charme heeft, kan het mij niet volledig overtuigen. En ja, ik ben er mij van bewust dat charme een vreemd woord is als je praat over Obszön Geschopf en Chemical Sweet Kid.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
VAST
Touched
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution