tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : CHEMICAL SWEET KID - The Speed Of Time

CHEMICAL SWEET KID

The Speed Of Time

MusicCD
Industrial Rock

[70/100]   

Danse Macabre
16/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

The Speed Of Time is the third album by the French industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. If you compare it to Obszön Geschöpf, that other French industrial band I recently reviewed, then Chemical Swet Kid sounds more contemporary. The record is also better produced and has a more balanced sound. Julien Kidam describes Chemical Sweet Kid as an electronic hybrid of Marilyn Manson and Christian Death. The influence of Marilyn Manson is obvious, especially in the vocals. But it's a Marilyn Manson without Twiggy Ramirez.

The album opens with 00:00 AM, followed by Once Agian. Dirty sounding synths with a dark edge, chuncky guitars, heavy beats and aggressive vocals. No Emotion also goes full throttle. During Kiss My Hate the hatred is clearly heard in the vocals.

Reciting, whispering, singing and screaming are alternated fluently. Although Julien Kidam tries hard to sound varied, variation is exactly what this album misses. Most of the songs don’t equal the quality of the start, some tracks are build up slowly, but eventually aggression is the primary emotion. Maybe I would have liked this album if I still were a frustrated adolescent. There's only one song that surprised me. In Dissilusion the aggression makes place for an ominous atmosphere. I would have liked to hear more of this.

The conclusion is the same as in the review of their French collegues Obszön Geschöpf. Although Chemical Sweet Kid has a certain charm, I'm not completely convinced. And yes, I'm aware of the fact that charm is an odd word when talking about these bands!

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


NL

The Speed Of time is het derde album van de Franse industrial rock band Chemical Sweet Kid. In vergelijking met Obszön Geschopf, de andere Franse industrial band die ik onlangs onder de loep nam, klinkt Chemical Sweet Kid eigentijdser. De plaat is ook beter geproduceerd en er is een beter evenwicht tussen de gitaar en de elektronica. Julien Kidam omschrijft zijn band als een elektronische hybride tussen Marilyn Manson en Christian Death. Marilyn Manson hoor je inderdaad duidelijk als invloed, vooral vocaal dan. Maar het is dan wel een Marilyn Manson zonder Twiggy Ramirez.

Het album opent met de intro 00:00 AM waarop Once Again naadloos aansluit. Vette synths met een donker randje, stevige gitaren, harde beats en de agressieve zang zetten de toon. Ook tijdens No Emotion wordt het gaspedaal stevig ingeduwd. Tijdens Kiss My Hate druipt de haat van de vocalen.

Declameren, fluisteren, zingen en schreeuwen worden vlot afgewisseld. Hoewel Julien Kidam zijn best doet om gevarieerd te klinken, mist het album toch wat variatie. Het is niet altijd zo voluit als in het begin; soms wordt er traag opgebouwd, maar uiteindelijk primeert de agressieve toon. Misschien zou dit album me beter bevallen als gefrustreerde adolescent. Er is slechts één song die me wist te verrassen. In Disillusion maakt de agressie plaats voor een dreigende atmosfeer. Hier wil ik wel meer van horen.

De conclusie is dan ook dezelfde als bij hun Franse collega’s van Obszön Geschöpf. Hoewel Chemical Sweet Kid een zekere charme heeft, kan het mij niet volledig overtuigen. En ja, ik ben er mij van bewust dat charme een vreemd woord is als je praat over Obszön Geschopf en Chemical Sweet Kid.

Benny CALUWE
16/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl