tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/06/2014 : SIMI NAH - Be My Guest

SIMI NAH

Be My Guest

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectroElectronics

[95/100]   

W2K Music
07/06/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Simi Nah is an electro live trio composed by, Simi Nah herself, a French musician and songwriter, but known as the originally bass player for Phraga Khan. KGB (Kenny), producer, songwriter and musician, and Safyée, daughter of Micky Mike aka Snowy Red.

On stage they bring a wide spectrum of electronic musical styles. After their two normal studio albums they bring us ‘Be My Guest’, a cover album from 70’ and 80’ disco and new wave hits. They invited some Belgian artists to give these tracks a kind of dark electro or EBM twist. In my opinion a good cover is a track that is better or more authentic as the original. And in this case it works for most tracks.

Starting with ‘Cheree’, brought by Wim Punk from The Wolf Banes, perhaps the most real rock guest on the album, but he brings us a brilliant hypnotic version of this Suicide classic. Followed by Danny Mommens from Vive la Fête, who covers the ultimate ‘Neue welle’ classic Eisbar from Grauzone. Danny is a fantastic guitar player, but I’m not so sure about his vocal qualities, luckily Simi Nah takes over and together this track is really nice.

The next one is perhaps the most surprising song on the album, ‘Follow Me’ from 70’s disco queen Amanda Lear, brought by Niekkie Van Lierop, the original singer from lords of Acid. The disco changes to electro, and with the deep voice of Niekkie a brilliant new version of this dance classic, and could easily be a small hit again in the electro club scene.

Dirk Da Davo from The Neon Judgment brings the new wave back alive with the Nag Nag Nag version from Cabaret Voltaire, really great. More nice beats on ‘Disco Rough’ from Mathématiques Modernes, Luc Van Acker back to his ‘The Ship’ period as a vocalist, crazy track, the original is rather up-beat, but they managed to transform this song into a slower, more powerful song that suits Luc’s voice perfectly.

Then my personal favorite of this album, Dirk Ivens, famous for his numerous projects (The Klinik, ABC, Sonar…), covers a real disco song: ‘You Spin Me Round’, a massive hit in 1984 by‘Dead Or Alive is brought in a completely different way, really fantastic, the song is transformed into a real ‘club killer’, and sounds like a track he could have composed.

For the version of Visages Fade To Grey, Simi invites her partner KGB to sing this track in a duet, and it matches perfectly. And of course the track ‘Euroshima’ had to be on this album, already brought live by Safyée, the daughter of Snowy Red, and this studio version is even stronger and better, a perfect and emotional tribute, really great!

I am quite euphoric about this album, this is a nice cocktail of fantastic covers from early, some even forgotten disco, punk or new wave tracks, and a nice sampler of different artists. Something new to discover for young listeners, and maybe some new nostalgia for the ‘not so young’ listeners anymore, like me.

 

Tracklisting:

'Cheree' , featuring Wim Punk

'Eisbaer' , featuring Danny Mommens

'Follow me' , featuring Nikkie van Lierop

'Nag Nag Nag' , featuring Dirk Da Davo

'Disco Rough' , featuring Luc Van Acker

'You Spin Me Round , featuring Dirk Ivens

'Euroshima (Wardance)' , featuring Safyée

'Fade to Grey' (Visage), featuring KGB (Coma)

'Dressing Room' - the Naked mix



 

Peter HESELMANS
07/06/2014


 

Next reviews
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
CHRONOGRAPHS • Porcelain
ZALMAN KING • Two Moon Junction
CHICKPEACE • Tide & Pride EP
BRYAN SINGER • Apt Pupil
NEW ORDER • CLASSICS: Republic (1993)
XP8 • Nigredo EP
SAVN • Savn
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
ACCOLADE • Legends

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Bootleg
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO + ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
WIELORYB • Semantik
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
ELASTIK • Instrumental
MODULATE • Robots EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face