tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/06/2014 : SIMI NAH - Be My Guest

SIMI NAH

Be My Guest

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectroElectronics

[95/100]   

W2K Music
07/06/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Simi Nah is an electro live trio composed by, Simi Nah herself, a French musician and songwriter, but known as the originally bass player for Phraga Khan. KGB (Kenny), producer, songwriter and musician, and Safyée, daughter of Micky Mike aka Snowy Red.

On stage they bring a wide spectrum of electronic musical styles. After their two normal studio albums they bring us ‘Be My Guest’, a cover album from 70’ and 80’ disco and new wave hits. They invited some Belgian artists to give these tracks a kind of dark electro or EBM twist. In my opinion a good cover is a track that is better or more authentic as the original. And in this case it works for most tracks.

Starting with ‘Cheree’, brought by Wim Punk from The Wolf Banes, perhaps the most real rock guest on the album, but he brings us a brilliant hypnotic version of this Suicide classic. Followed by Danny Mommens from Vive la Fête, who covers the ultimate ‘Neue welle’ classic Eisbar from Grauzone. Danny is a fantastic guitar player, but I’m not so sure about his vocal qualities, luckily Simi Nah takes over and together this track is really nice.

The next one is perhaps the most surprising song on the album, ‘Follow Me’ from 70’s disco queen Amanda Lear, brought by Niekkie Van Lierop, the original singer from lords of Acid. The disco changes to electro, and with the deep voice of Niekkie a brilliant new version of this dance classic, and could easily be a small hit again in the electro club scene.

Dirk Da Davo from The Neon Judgment brings the new wave back alive with the Nag Nag Nag version from Cabaret Voltaire, really great. More nice beats on ‘Disco Rough’ from Mathématiques Modernes, Luc Van Acker back to his ‘The Ship’ period as a vocalist, crazy track, the original is rather up-beat, but they managed to transform this song into a slower, more powerful song that suits Luc’s voice perfectly.

Then my personal favorite of this album, Dirk Ivens, famous for his numerous projects (The Klinik, ABC, Sonar…), covers a real disco song: ‘You Spin Me Round’, a massive hit in 1984 by‘Dead Or Alive is brought in a completely different way, really fantastic, the song is transformed into a real ‘club killer’, and sounds like a track he could have composed.

For the version of Visages Fade To Grey, Simi invites her partner KGB to sing this track in a duet, and it matches perfectly. And of course the track ‘Euroshima’ had to be on this album, already brought live by Safyée, the daughter of Snowy Red, and this studio version is even stronger and better, a perfect and emotional tribute, really great!

I am quite euphoric about this album, this is a nice cocktail of fantastic covers from early, some even forgotten disco, punk or new wave tracks, and a nice sampler of different artists. Something new to discover for young listeners, and maybe some new nostalgia for the ‘not so young’ listeners anymore, like me.

 

Tracklisting:

'Cheree' , featuring Wim Punk

'Eisbaer' , featuring Danny Mommens

'Follow me' , featuring Nikkie van Lierop

'Nag Nag Nag' , featuring Dirk Da Davo

'Disco Rough' , featuring Luc Van Acker

'You Spin Me Round , featuring Dirk Ivens

'Euroshima (Wardance)' , featuring Safyée

'Fade to Grey' (Visage), featuring KGB (Coma)

'Dressing Room' - the Naked mix



 

Peter HESELMANS
07/06/2014


 

Next reviews
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
CHRONOGRAPHS • Porcelain
ZALMAN KING • Two Moon Junction
CHICKPEACE • Tide & Pride EP
BRYAN SINGER • Apt Pupil
NEW ORDER • CLASSICS: Republic (1993)
XP8 • Nigredo EP
SAVN • Savn
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
ACCOLADE • Legends

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Bootleg
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO + ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
WIELORYB • Semantik
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
ELASTIK • Instrumental
MODULATE • Robots EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice