tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/06/2014 : SIMI NAH - Be My Guest

SIMI NAH

Be My Guest

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectroElectronics

[95/100]   

W2K Music
07/06/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Simi Nah is an electro live trio composed by, Simi Nah herself, a French musician and songwriter, but known as the originally bass player for Phraga Khan. KGB (Kenny), producer, songwriter and musician, and Safyée, daughter of Micky Mike aka Snowy Red.

On stage they bring a wide spectrum of electronic musical styles. After their two normal studio albums they bring us ‘Be My Guest’, a cover album from 70’ and 80’ disco and new wave hits. They invited some Belgian artists to give these tracks a kind of dark electro or EBM twist. In my opinion a good cover is a track that is better or more authentic as the original. And in this case it works for most tracks.

Starting with ‘Cheree’, brought by Wim Punk from The Wolf Banes, perhaps the most real rock guest on the album, but he brings us a brilliant hypnotic version of this Suicide classic. Followed by Danny Mommens from Vive la Fête, who covers the ultimate ‘Neue welle’ classic Eisbar from Grauzone. Danny is a fantastic guitar player, but I’m not so sure about his vocal qualities, luckily Simi Nah takes over and together this track is really nice.

The next one is perhaps the most surprising song on the album, ‘Follow Me’ from 70’s disco queen Amanda Lear, brought by Niekkie Van Lierop, the original singer from lords of Acid. The disco changes to electro, and with the deep voice of Niekkie a brilliant new version of this dance classic, and could easily be a small hit again in the electro club scene.

Dirk Da Davo from The Neon Judgment brings the new wave back alive with the Nag Nag Nag version from Cabaret Voltaire, really great. More nice beats on ‘Disco Rough’ from Mathématiques Modernes, Luc Van Acker back to his ‘The Ship’ period as a vocalist, crazy track, the original is rather up-beat, but they managed to transform this song into a slower, more powerful song that suits Luc’s voice perfectly.

Then my personal favorite of this album, Dirk Ivens, famous for his numerous projects (The Klinik, ABC, Sonar…), covers a real disco song: ‘You Spin Me Round’, a massive hit in 1984 by‘Dead Or Alive is brought in a completely different way, really fantastic, the song is transformed into a real ‘club killer’, and sounds like a track he could have composed.

For the version of Visages Fade To Grey, Simi invites her partner KGB to sing this track in a duet, and it matches perfectly. And of course the track ‘Euroshima’ had to be on this album, already brought live by Safyée, the daughter of Snowy Red, and this studio version is even stronger and better, a perfect and emotional tribute, really great!

I am quite euphoric about this album, this is a nice cocktail of fantastic covers from early, some even forgotten disco, punk or new wave tracks, and a nice sampler of different artists. Something new to discover for young listeners, and maybe some new nostalgia for the ‘not so young’ listeners anymore, like me.

 

Tracklisting:

'Cheree' , featuring Wim Punk

'Eisbaer' , featuring Danny Mommens

'Follow me' , featuring Nikkie van Lierop

'Nag Nag Nag' , featuring Dirk Da Davo

'Disco Rough' , featuring Luc Van Acker

'You Spin Me Round , featuring Dirk Ivens

'Euroshima (Wardance)' , featuring Safyée

'Fade to Grey' (Visage), featuring KGB (Coma)

'Dressing Room' - the Naked mix



 

Peter HESELMANS
07/06/2014


 

Next reviews
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
CHRONOGRAPHS • Porcelain
ZALMAN KING • Two Moon Junction
CHICKPEACE • Tide & Pride EP
BRYAN SINGER • Apt Pupil
NEW ORDER • CLASSICS: Republic (1993)
XP8 • Nigredo EP
SAVN • Savn
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
ACCOLADE • Legends

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Bootleg
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO + ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
WIELORYB • Semantik
SIMI NAH • Be my guest
ELASTIK • Instrumental
MODULATE • Robots EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)