tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/08/2015 : RAYLAND BAXTER - Imaginary Man

RAYLAND BAXTER

Imaginary Man

MusicCD
Country-RockRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

ATO Records
25/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The second album by American singer-songwriter Rayland Baxter is recorded and mixed in Nashville. Occasionally you hear the typical Nashville guitars, but they are more decorative than essential to the atmosphere and the overall tone of the material. Imaginary Man is first and foremost a rock album with good sounding music.

Mr. Rodriquez is a nice pop song in the style of Paul Simon and it that would not look out of place on one of his early solo albums. Bass and drums lay the foundation for a smooth melody, with a cracking didgeridoo-like sound underneath and bell-like guitars on top for decoration. Very beautiful. Oh My Captain sounds smooth and easy, and again it is a beautiful pop song with stunning guitar playing, organ, a choir and intoxicating vocals, a little country like, but again referring to the airy style of Paul Simon, while Mother Mother has a similar beautiful melody with sing-along qualities. Yellow Eyes gets a huge chunk of Nashville guitars and a classical percussion. Four in a row.

But Imaginary Man also contains a lot of gorgeous ballads, such as the complaining Rugged Lovers, with a quiet acoustic guitar and a large orchestral accompaniment of angelic soprano violins and rushing violas, and the slightly more spacious ballad All in My Head, with magnificent echoing guitars, a tight percussion and an upbeat chorus. Definitely a highlight. Freaking Me Out is another good sounding favorite, while Memories of Hickory gets a cautious steel guitar and a nostalgic organ in the background. The ballad Your Love has gently whimpering Nashville guitars and a whistle passage as you hear them rarely these days, with again a charming, simple but stunning vocal line. And in Lady of the Desert, Rayland Baxter proofs that he can shake beautiful melodies out of his sleeve effortlessly.

The last song ,Young Man, is a ballad with an emphatic dark guitar sound, throbbing bass and a generous portion of guitar noise, a composition in which Rayland Baxter goes all the way and his session musicians follow him enthusiastically.

We had never heard of Rayland Baxter, but what he does on Imaginary Man, puts him definitely on the map, because the material on it album is absolutely top level. We can only hope that Western Europe will follow this time…

Track listing:
1. Mr. Rodriguez
2. Oh My Captain
3. Mother Mother
4. Yellow Eyes
5. Rugged Lovers
6. Young Man
7. All In My Head
8. Freakin Me Out
9. Memories Of Old Hickory
10. Your Love
11. Lady Of The Desert

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/imaginary-man/id994934692
http://www.raylandbaxter.com/

William LIÉNARD
25/08/2015


NL

Het tweede album van de Amerikaanse singer-songwriter Rayland Baxter is opgenomen en afgewerkt in Nashville, maar van een uitgesproken country-geluid is nauwelijks sprake. Af en toe hoor je de typische Nashville-gitaren, maar ze zijn eerder decoratie dan essentieel voor de sfeer en de toon van het materiaal. Imaginary Man is in de eerste plaats een goed klinkend rockalbum waarop rustig maar nadrukkelijk muziek wordt gemaakt.

Mr. Rodriquez is een goed klinkende popsong die zowel qua compositie als qua stemgebruik herinneringen aan Paul Simon oproept en die je je kan voorstellen op één van zijn vroege soloalbums. Bas en drums leggen de basis voor een vlotte melodie waaronder krakend didgeridoo-achtige geluid is geschoven en bovenop belachtig gitaren voor de versiering. Zonder meer heel erg mooi. Oh My Captain klinkt vlot en eenvoudig, maar het is opnieuw een prachtige popsong met bloedmooi gitaarspel, orgel, een oehoe-koortje en een bedwelmende zanglijn, een beetje countryachtig, maar opnieuw eerder in de luchtige stijl van Paul Simon, terwijl Mother Mother een gelijksoortige schoonheid bezit, een meezinger van formaat. Yellow Eyes krijgt een flinke portie Nashville-gitaren, maar voor de rest rustige gitaarbegeleiding en een klassieke percussie. Vier op een rij.

Maar op Imaginary Man staan ook heel veel bloedmooie ballades, zoals het klagende Rugged Lovers met een rustige akoestische gitaar en een brede orkestrale begeleiding van engelachtige sopraanviolen en ruisende altviolen, of de iets ruimer opgezette ballade All in My Head, met prachtig echoënde gitaren, een strakke percussie en een uptempo refrein. Zonder meer een hoogtepunt. Maar ook Freaking Me Out is een goed in het oor liggende ballade die we graag vaker willen horen, terwijl Memories of Hickory met voorzichtige steelgitaar en het nostalgische orgeltje op de achtergrond, eveneens een gevoelige snaar weet te raken. De ballade Your Love krijgt voorzichtig jankende Nashville-gitaren, een gefloten passage zoals je ze nog zelden hoort en een ontwapenende, eenvoudige, maar opnieuw bloedmooie zanglijn. En ook Lady of the Desert is een ballade, waarmee Rayland Baxter bewijst dat hij de prachtige melodieën moeiteloos uit z’n mouw schudt.

Blijft nog één song over, nl. Young Man, een ballade met nadrukkelijk donker gitaargeluid, ronkende bassen en een flinke portie gitaarnoise, een compositie waarin Rayland Baxter voluit gaat en z’n sessiemuzikanten flink te keer mogen gaan.

Wij hadden nog nooit van Rayland Baxter gehoord, maar wat hij op Imaginary Man doet, zet hem wat ons betreft definitief op de kaart, want het materiaal op it album is zonder meer van topniveau. Nu u nog, en de rest van West-Europa…

William LIÉNARD
25/08/2015


25/08/2015 : RAYLAND BAXTER - Imaginary Man 25/08/2015 : RAYLAND BAXTER - Imaginary Man

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched