tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/08/2015 : RAYLAND BAXTER - Imaginary Man

RAYLAND BAXTER

Imaginary Man

MusicCD
Country-RockRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

ATO Records
25/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The second album by American singer-songwriter Rayland Baxter is recorded and mixed in Nashville. Occasionally you hear the typical Nashville guitars, but they are more decorative than essential to the atmosphere and the overall tone of the material. Imaginary Man is first and foremost a rock album with good sounding music.

Mr. Rodriquez is a nice pop song in the style of Paul Simon and it that would not look out of place on one of his early solo albums. Bass and drums lay the foundation for a smooth melody, with a cracking didgeridoo-like sound underneath and bell-like guitars on top for decoration. Very beautiful. Oh My Captain sounds smooth and easy, and again it is a beautiful pop song with stunning guitar playing, organ, a choir and intoxicating vocals, a little country like, but again referring to the airy style of Paul Simon, while Mother Mother has a similar beautiful melody with sing-along qualities. Yellow Eyes gets a huge chunk of Nashville guitars and a classical percussion. Four in a row.

But Imaginary Man also contains a lot of gorgeous ballads, such as the complaining Rugged Lovers, with a quiet acoustic guitar and a large orchestral accompaniment of angelic soprano violins and rushing violas, and the slightly more spacious ballad All in My Head, with magnificent echoing guitars, a tight percussion and an upbeat chorus. Definitely a highlight. Freaking Me Out is another good sounding favorite, while Memories of Hickory gets a cautious steel guitar and a nostalgic organ in the background. The ballad Your Love has gently whimpering Nashville guitars and a whistle passage as you hear them rarely these days, with again a charming, simple but stunning vocal line. And in Lady of the Desert, Rayland Baxter proofs that he can shake beautiful melodies out of his sleeve effortlessly.

The last song ,Young Man, is a ballad with an emphatic dark guitar sound, throbbing bass and a generous portion of guitar noise, a composition in which Rayland Baxter goes all the way and his session musicians follow him enthusiastically.

We had never heard of Rayland Baxter, but what he does on Imaginary Man, puts him definitely on the map, because the material on it album is absolutely top level. We can only hope that Western Europe will follow this time…

Track listing:
1. Mr. Rodriguez
2. Oh My Captain
3. Mother Mother
4. Yellow Eyes
5. Rugged Lovers
6. Young Man
7. All In My Head
8. Freakin Me Out
9. Memories Of Old Hickory
10. Your Love
11. Lady Of The Desert

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/imaginary-man/id994934692
http://www.raylandbaxter.com/

William LIÉNARD
25/08/2015


NL

Het tweede album van de Amerikaanse singer-songwriter Rayland Baxter is opgenomen en afgewerkt in Nashville, maar van een uitgesproken country-geluid is nauwelijks sprake. Af en toe hoor je de typische Nashville-gitaren, maar ze zijn eerder decoratie dan essentieel voor de sfeer en de toon van het materiaal. Imaginary Man is in de eerste plaats een goed klinkend rockalbum waarop rustig maar nadrukkelijk muziek wordt gemaakt.

Mr. Rodriquez is een goed klinkende popsong die zowel qua compositie als qua stemgebruik herinneringen aan Paul Simon oproept en die je je kan voorstellen op één van zijn vroege soloalbums. Bas en drums leggen de basis voor een vlotte melodie waaronder krakend didgeridoo-achtige geluid is geschoven en bovenop belachtig gitaren voor de versiering. Zonder meer heel erg mooi. Oh My Captain klinkt vlot en eenvoudig, maar het is opnieuw een prachtige popsong met bloedmooi gitaarspel, orgel, een oehoe-koortje en een bedwelmende zanglijn, een beetje countryachtig, maar opnieuw eerder in de luchtige stijl van Paul Simon, terwijl Mother Mother een gelijksoortige schoonheid bezit, een meezinger van formaat. Yellow Eyes krijgt een flinke portie Nashville-gitaren, maar voor de rest rustige gitaarbegeleiding en een klassieke percussie. Vier op een rij.

Maar op Imaginary Man staan ook heel veel bloedmooie ballades, zoals het klagende Rugged Lovers met een rustige akoestische gitaar en een brede orkestrale begeleiding van engelachtige sopraanviolen en ruisende altviolen, of de iets ruimer opgezette ballade All in My Head, met prachtig echoënde gitaren, een strakke percussie en een uptempo refrein. Zonder meer een hoogtepunt. Maar ook Freaking Me Out is een goed in het oor liggende ballade die we graag vaker willen horen, terwijl Memories of Hickory met voorzichtige steelgitaar en het nostalgische orgeltje op de achtergrond, eveneens een gevoelige snaar weet te raken. De ballade Your Love krijgt voorzichtig jankende Nashville-gitaren, een gefloten passage zoals je ze nog zelden hoort en een ontwapenende, eenvoudige, maar opnieuw bloedmooie zanglijn. En ook Lady of the Desert is een ballade, waarmee Rayland Baxter bewijst dat hij de prachtige melodieën moeiteloos uit z’n mouw schudt.

Blijft nog één song over, nl. Young Man, een ballade met nadrukkelijk donker gitaargeluid, ronkende bassen en een flinke portie gitaarnoise, een compositie waarin Rayland Baxter voluit gaat en z’n sessiemuzikanten flink te keer mogen gaan.

Wij hadden nog nooit van Rayland Baxter gehoord, maar wat hij op Imaginary Man doet, zet hem wat ons betreft definitief op de kaart, want het materiaal op it album is zonder meer van topniveau. Nu u nog, en de rest van West-Europa…

William LIÉNARD
25/08/2015


25/08/2015 : RAYLAND BAXTER - Imaginary Man 25/08/2015 : RAYLAND BAXTER - Imaginary Man

Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo