tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

CHRIS COHEN

As If Apart

MusicCD
Indie RockSinger Songwriter

[70/100]   

Captured Tracks
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

As If Apart is the second album by American musician Chris Cohen. His debut Overgrown Path (2012) contained folk rock/alternative rock, the new album sounds more like indie rock and even includes singer-songwriter material.

Chris Cohen writes simple and melodious songs that do well in the late hours, while thinking about the events of the past day. Versatile and playful guitars provide the right background, while Cohen's melodious voice offers an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. Torrey Pine and As If Apart convince only partially, but Drink from a Silver Cup and the (initially) Leonard Cohen-like Memory are good songs, with a nice orchestration and a beautiful melody.

In a Fable - with a beautiful dark guitar halfway - is a beautiful rock ballad, but not long enough to take us all the way into the atmosphere, while the fragile Needle and Thread convinces us immediately. In The Lender, Chris Cohen swaps his soft vocal sound for a brighter voice, but especially the electric guitar attracts our attention. Sun Has Gone Away is a beautiful sounding ballad with dual vocals and a reverberating piano, but the track lacks a strong chorus to really stand out. No Plan is a short instrumental track of just 45 seconds and therefore negligible, while final track Yesterday's on my Mind, with a mixture of hope and despair (I'll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) and a tingling guitar, is perhaps the strongest track on the album.

Not bad at all, this album As If Apart, but perhaps not enough variety and too few strong compositions to convince a large audience.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

As If Apart is het tweede album van de Amerikaanse muzikant Chris Cohen. Kreeg zijn debuut Overgrown Path (2012) nog het label folkrock/alternatieve rock, dan hoort het nieuwe album in de afdeling indierock of zelfs singer-songwriter thuis.

Chris Cohen componeert eenvoudige en melodische liedjes die het vooral goed doen in de late uurtjes terwijl je de gebeurtenissen van de voorbije dag nog even aan je interne oog laat passeren. Veelzijdige en speelse gitaren zorgen voor de gepaste achtergrond, terwijl Cohens welluidende stem je helemaal tot rust brengt. Torrey Pine en As If Apart kunnen ons niet helemaal overtuigen, maar Drink from a Silver Cup en het (aanvankelijk) Leonard Cohen-achtige Memory trekken ons over de streep met een mooie orkestratie en een aantrekkelijke melodie.

In a Fable – met die prachtige donkere gitaar halfweg – is een mooie rockballade, maar net iets te kort om ons helemaal in de sfeer te brengen,en het fragiele Needle en Thread overtuigt meteen. In The Lender ruilt Chris Cohen z’n rustig geneuzel in voor een feller stemgeluid, maar het is de elektrische gitaar die ons het meest bevalt. Sun has Gone Away is een mooi klinkende ballade met dubbele vocalen en een galmende piano, maar de track mist een stevig refrein om echt op te vallen. No Plan is een korte instrumentale track van nauwelijks 45 seconden en dus verwaarloosbaar, terwijl de eindtrack Yesterday’s on my Mind, met een mengeling van hoop en wanhoop (I’ll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) en een tintelende gitaar, misschien wel de sterkste track van het album is.

Helemaal niet slecht, deze As If Apart, maar misschien net iets te weinig variatie en te weinig sterke composities om een breed publiek te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart 10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
12
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One