tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

CHRIS COHEN

As If Apart

MusicCD
Indie RockSinger Songwriter

[70/100]   

Captured Tracks
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

As If Apart is the second album by American musician Chris Cohen. His debut Overgrown Path (2012) contained folk rock/alternative rock, the new album sounds more like indie rock and even includes singer-songwriter material.

Chris Cohen writes simple and melodious songs that do well in the late hours, while thinking about the events of the past day. Versatile and playful guitars provide the right background, while Cohen's melodious voice offers an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. Torrey Pine and As If Apart convince only partially, but Drink from a Silver Cup and the (initially) Leonard Cohen-like Memory are good songs, with a nice orchestration and a beautiful melody.

In a Fable - with a beautiful dark guitar halfway - is a beautiful rock ballad, but not long enough to take us all the way into the atmosphere, while the fragile Needle and Thread convinces us immediately. In The Lender, Chris Cohen swaps his soft vocal sound for a brighter voice, but especially the electric guitar attracts our attention. Sun Has Gone Away is a beautiful sounding ballad with dual vocals and a reverberating piano, but the track lacks a strong chorus to really stand out. No Plan is a short instrumental track of just 45 seconds and therefore negligible, while final track Yesterday's on my Mind, with a mixture of hope and despair (I'll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) and a tingling guitar, is perhaps the strongest track on the album.

Not bad at all, this album As If Apart, but perhaps not enough variety and too few strong compositions to convince a large audience.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

As If Apart is het tweede album van de Amerikaanse muzikant Chris Cohen. Kreeg zijn debuut Overgrown Path (2012) nog het label folkrock/alternatieve rock, dan hoort het nieuwe album in de afdeling indierock of zelfs singer-songwriter thuis.

Chris Cohen componeert eenvoudige en melodische liedjes die het vooral goed doen in de late uurtjes terwijl je de gebeurtenissen van de voorbije dag nog even aan je interne oog laat passeren. Veelzijdige en speelse gitaren zorgen voor de gepaste achtergrond, terwijl Cohens welluidende stem je helemaal tot rust brengt. Torrey Pine en As If Apart kunnen ons niet helemaal overtuigen, maar Drink from a Silver Cup en het (aanvankelijk) Leonard Cohen-achtige Memory trekken ons over de streep met een mooie orkestratie en een aantrekkelijke melodie.

In a Fable – met die prachtige donkere gitaar halfweg – is een mooie rockballade, maar net iets te kort om ons helemaal in de sfeer te brengen,en het fragiele Needle en Thread overtuigt meteen. In The Lender ruilt Chris Cohen z’n rustig geneuzel in voor een feller stemgeluid, maar het is de elektrische gitaar die ons het meest bevalt. Sun has Gone Away is een mooi klinkende ballade met dubbele vocalen en een galmende piano, maar de track mist een stevig refrein om echt op te vallen. No Plan is een korte instrumentale track van nauwelijks 45 seconden en dus verwaarloosbaar, terwijl de eindtrack Yesterday’s on my Mind, met een mengeling van hoop en wanhoop (I’ll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) en een tintelende gitaar, misschien wel de sterkste track van het album is.

Helemaal niet slecht, deze As If Apart, maar misschien net iets te weinig variatie en te weinig sterke composities om een breed publiek te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart 10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl