tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

CHRIS COHEN

As If Apart

MusicCD
Indie RockSinger Songwriter

[70/100]   

Captured Tracks
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

As If Apart is the second album by American musician Chris Cohen. His debut Overgrown Path (2012) contained folk rock/alternative rock, the new album sounds more like indie rock and even includes singer-songwriter material.

Chris Cohen writes simple and melodious songs that do well in the late hours, while thinking about the events of the past day. Versatile and playful guitars provide the right background, while Cohen's melodious voice offers an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. Torrey Pine and As If Apart convince only partially, but Drink from a Silver Cup and the (initially) Leonard Cohen-like Memory are good songs, with a nice orchestration and a beautiful melody.

In a Fable - with a beautiful dark guitar halfway - is a beautiful rock ballad, but not long enough to take us all the way into the atmosphere, while the fragile Needle and Thread convinces us immediately. In The Lender, Chris Cohen swaps his soft vocal sound for a brighter voice, but especially the electric guitar attracts our attention. Sun Has Gone Away is a beautiful sounding ballad with dual vocals and a reverberating piano, but the track lacks a strong chorus to really stand out. No Plan is a short instrumental track of just 45 seconds and therefore negligible, while final track Yesterday's on my Mind, with a mixture of hope and despair (I'll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) and a tingling guitar, is perhaps the strongest track on the album.

Not bad at all, this album As If Apart, but perhaps not enough variety and too few strong compositions to convince a large audience.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

As If Apart is het tweede album van de Amerikaanse muzikant Chris Cohen. Kreeg zijn debuut Overgrown Path (2012) nog het label folkrock/alternatieve rock, dan hoort het nieuwe album in de afdeling indierock of zelfs singer-songwriter thuis.

Chris Cohen componeert eenvoudige en melodische liedjes die het vooral goed doen in de late uurtjes terwijl je de gebeurtenissen van de voorbije dag nog even aan je interne oog laat passeren. Veelzijdige en speelse gitaren zorgen voor de gepaste achtergrond, terwijl Cohens welluidende stem je helemaal tot rust brengt. Torrey Pine en As If Apart kunnen ons niet helemaal overtuigen, maar Drink from a Silver Cup en het (aanvankelijk) Leonard Cohen-achtige Memory trekken ons over de streep met een mooie orkestratie en een aantrekkelijke melodie.

In a Fable – met die prachtige donkere gitaar halfweg – is een mooie rockballade, maar net iets te kort om ons helemaal in de sfeer te brengen,en het fragiele Needle en Thread overtuigt meteen. In The Lender ruilt Chris Cohen z’n rustig geneuzel in voor een feller stemgeluid, maar het is de elektrische gitaar die ons het meest bevalt. Sun has Gone Away is een mooi klinkende ballade met dubbele vocalen en een galmende piano, maar de track mist een stevig refrein om echt op te vallen. No Plan is een korte instrumentale track van nauwelijks 45 seconden en dus verwaarloosbaar, terwijl de eindtrack Yesterday’s on my Mind, met een mengeling van hoop en wanhoop (I’ll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) en een tintelende gitaar, misschien wel de sterkste track van het album is.

Helemaal niet slecht, deze As If Apart, maar misschien net iets te weinig variatie en te weinig sterke composities om een breed publiek te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart 10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm