tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

CHRIS COHEN

As If Apart

MusicCD
Indie RockSinger Songwriter

[70/100]   

Captured Tracks
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

As If Apart is the second album by American musician Chris Cohen. His debut Overgrown Path (2012) contained folk rock/alternative rock, the new album sounds more like indie rock and even includes singer-songwriter material.

Chris Cohen writes simple and melodious songs that do well in the late hours, while thinking about the events of the past day. Versatile and playful guitars provide the right background, while Cohen's melodious voice offers an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. Torrey Pine and As If Apart convince only partially, but Drink from a Silver Cup and the (initially) Leonard Cohen-like Memory are good songs, with a nice orchestration and a beautiful melody.

In a Fable - with a beautiful dark guitar halfway - is a beautiful rock ballad, but not long enough to take us all the way into the atmosphere, while the fragile Needle and Thread convinces us immediately. In The Lender, Chris Cohen swaps his soft vocal sound for a brighter voice, but especially the electric guitar attracts our attention. Sun Has Gone Away is a beautiful sounding ballad with dual vocals and a reverberating piano, but the track lacks a strong chorus to really stand out. No Plan is a short instrumental track of just 45 seconds and therefore negligible, while final track Yesterday's on my Mind, with a mixture of hope and despair (I'll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) and a tingling guitar, is perhaps the strongest track on the album.

Not bad at all, this album As If Apart, but perhaps not enough variety and too few strong compositions to convince a large audience.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

As If Apart is het tweede album van de Amerikaanse muzikant Chris Cohen. Kreeg zijn debuut Overgrown Path (2012) nog het label folkrock/alternatieve rock, dan hoort het nieuwe album in de afdeling indierock of zelfs singer-songwriter thuis.

Chris Cohen componeert eenvoudige en melodische liedjes die het vooral goed doen in de late uurtjes terwijl je de gebeurtenissen van de voorbije dag nog even aan je interne oog laat passeren. Veelzijdige en speelse gitaren zorgen voor de gepaste achtergrond, terwijl Cohens welluidende stem je helemaal tot rust brengt. Torrey Pine en As If Apart kunnen ons niet helemaal overtuigen, maar Drink from a Silver Cup en het (aanvankelijk) Leonard Cohen-achtige Memory trekken ons over de streep met een mooie orkestratie en een aantrekkelijke melodie.

In a Fable – met die prachtige donkere gitaar halfweg – is een mooie rockballade, maar net iets te kort om ons helemaal in de sfeer te brengen,en het fragiele Needle en Thread overtuigt meteen. In The Lender ruilt Chris Cohen z’n rustig geneuzel in voor een feller stemgeluid, maar het is de elektrische gitaar die ons het meest bevalt. Sun has Gone Away is een mooi klinkende ballade met dubbele vocalen en een galmende piano, maar de track mist een stevig refrein om echt op te vallen. No Plan is een korte instrumentale track van nauwelijks 45 seconden en dus verwaarloosbaar, terwijl de eindtrack Yesterday’s on my Mind, met een mengeling van hoop en wanhoop (I’ll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) en een tintelende gitaar, misschien wel de sterkste track van het album is.

Helemaal niet slecht, deze As If Apart, maar misschien net iets te weinig variatie en te weinig sterke composities om een breed publiek te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart 10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies