tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

CHRIS COHEN

As If Apart

MusicCD
Indie RockSinger Songwriter

[70/100]   

Captured Tracks
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

As If Apart is the second album by American musician Chris Cohen. His debut Overgrown Path (2012) contained folk rock/alternative rock, the new album sounds more like indie rock and even includes singer-songwriter material.

Chris Cohen writes simple and melodious songs that do well in the late hours, while thinking about the events of the past day. Versatile and playful guitars provide the right background, while Cohen's melodious voice offers an atmosphere of peace and tranquility. Torrey Pine and As If Apart convince only partially, but Drink from a Silver Cup and the (initially) Leonard Cohen-like Memory are good songs, with a nice orchestration and a beautiful melody.

In a Fable - with a beautiful dark guitar halfway - is a beautiful rock ballad, but not long enough to take us all the way into the atmosphere, while the fragile Needle and Thread convinces us immediately. In The Lender, Chris Cohen swaps his soft vocal sound for a brighter voice, but especially the electric guitar attracts our attention. Sun Has Gone Away is a beautiful sounding ballad with dual vocals and a reverberating piano, but the track lacks a strong chorus to really stand out. No Plan is a short instrumental track of just 45 seconds and therefore negligible, while final track Yesterday's on my Mind, with a mixture of hope and despair (I'll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) and a tingling guitar, is perhaps the strongest track on the album.

Not bad at all, this album As If Apart, but perhaps not enough variety and too few strong compositions to convince a large audience.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

As If Apart is het tweede album van de Amerikaanse muzikant Chris Cohen. Kreeg zijn debuut Overgrown Path (2012) nog het label folkrock/alternatieve rock, dan hoort het nieuwe album in de afdeling indierock of zelfs singer-songwriter thuis.

Chris Cohen componeert eenvoudige en melodische liedjes die het vooral goed doen in de late uurtjes terwijl je de gebeurtenissen van de voorbije dag nog even aan je interne oog laat passeren. Veelzijdige en speelse gitaren zorgen voor de gepaste achtergrond, terwijl Cohens welluidende stem je helemaal tot rust brengt. Torrey Pine en As If Apart kunnen ons niet helemaal overtuigen, maar Drink from a Silver Cup en het (aanvankelijk) Leonard Cohen-achtige Memory trekken ons over de streep met een mooie orkestratie en een aantrekkelijke melodie.

In a Fable – met die prachtige donkere gitaar halfweg – is een mooie rockballade, maar net iets te kort om ons helemaal in de sfeer te brengen,en het fragiele Needle en Thread overtuigt meteen. In The Lender ruilt Chris Cohen z’n rustig geneuzel in voor een feller stemgeluid, maar het is de elektrische gitaar die ons het meest bevalt. Sun has Gone Away is een mooi klinkende ballade met dubbele vocalen en een galmende piano, maar de track mist een stevig refrein om echt op te vallen. No Plan is een korte instrumentale track van nauwelijks 45 seconden en dus verwaarloosbaar, terwijl de eindtrack Yesterday’s on my Mind, met een mengeling van hoop en wanhoop (I’ll give it some time, but yesterday is on my mind) en een tintelende gitaar, misschien wel de sterkste track van het album is.

Helemaal niet slecht, deze As If Apart, maar misschien net iets te weinig variatie en te weinig sterke composities om een breed publiek te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart 10/12/2016 : CHRIS COHEN - As If Apart

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide