tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NU:N - Nothing Unveils Nothing

NU:N

Nothing Unveils Nothing

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[84/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

I guess there’s no real goth scene in Porto, but the Portugese city definitely has a goth rock act to be proud of: Nu:n, which stands for Nothing Unveils Nothing. You have to take the band’s name literally, because they don't reveal who they are. At least we hear how they sound and that’s just splendid.

A track by Nu:n was featured on the compilation Road To Sacrosant and now the band releases an album that comes in 500 copies. Nu:n reveals the reason why its name is often cited by goth rock fans who follow the underground scene. Due to the fact that the voice is similar to Carl McCoy's, you note down in your book of references the name of Fields Of The Nephilim, but Nu:n is no copycat.

Even if Nu:n starts the album with a cover by the obscure band Vestigia (In April Of 1984), the band shows that it has a very specific sound and that the music is all about emotion.

Under Your Stars Above is a tad heavier and the song really sounds as if it was recorded in the eighties. In thisr case that is an advantage, because who wants to hear traditional goth rock that betrays its roots?

From anger to emotion, it’s only a small step for Nu:n. Scorpio Rising has everything a perfect goth rock song needs to have. Just close your eyes on the melodic guitars, swing your hips, spread your arms and let yourself drift away on the magic of this band. Goth rock at its best...

The Portugese goth rockers do not brutally awake you from your beautiful dream, because Dawn Of Terrestrial Birth is a magnificent 4AD-esque piano interlude, soon followed by Elysium For The Weak, in which Nu:n sounds very similar to McCoy’s band for the very first time, but remains very original. Dance To The Sun (also included as what is called a nihilistic version) could be a Nu:n classic.

This City This Woman sounds like a ritual, and surely reminds you of the mystique world Merciful Nuns is known for.

Nu:n is absolutely recommended if you’re addicted to dark sounds.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination