tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NU:N - Nothing Unveils Nothing

NU:N

Nothing Unveils Nothing

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[84/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

I guess there’s no real goth scene in Porto, but the Portugese city definitely has a goth rock act to be proud of: Nu:n, which stands for Nothing Unveils Nothing. You have to take the band’s name literally, because they don't reveal who they are. At least we hear how they sound and that’s just splendid.

A track by Nu:n was featured on the compilation Road To Sacrosant and now the band releases an album that comes in 500 copies. Nu:n reveals the reason why its name is often cited by goth rock fans who follow the underground scene. Due to the fact that the voice is similar to Carl McCoy's, you note down in your book of references the name of Fields Of The Nephilim, but Nu:n is no copycat.

Even if Nu:n starts the album with a cover by the obscure band Vestigia (In April Of 1984), the band shows that it has a very specific sound and that the music is all about emotion.

Under Your Stars Above is a tad heavier and the song really sounds as if it was recorded in the eighties. In thisr case that is an advantage, because who wants to hear traditional goth rock that betrays its roots?

From anger to emotion, it’s only a small step for Nu:n. Scorpio Rising has everything a perfect goth rock song needs to have. Just close your eyes on the melodic guitars, swing your hips, spread your arms and let yourself drift away on the magic of this band. Goth rock at its best...

The Portugese goth rockers do not brutally awake you from your beautiful dream, because Dawn Of Terrestrial Birth is a magnificent 4AD-esque piano interlude, soon followed by Elysium For The Weak, in which Nu:n sounds very similar to McCoy’s band for the very first time, but remains very original. Dance To The Sun (also included as what is called a nihilistic version) could be a Nu:n classic.

This City This Woman sounds like a ritual, and surely reminds you of the mystique world Merciful Nuns is known for.

Nu:n is absolutely recommended if you’re addicted to dark sounds.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem