tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BRUNO SANFILIPPO - The Poet

BRUNO SANFILIPPO

The Poet

MusicCD
Neoclassical

[85/100]   

1631 Recordings
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Honestly, we have lost count, but The Poet is probably the 21th (!) album of the Argentine-Spanish neo-classical composer and musician Bruno Sanfilippo, with again 11 wonderful compositions that give us goose bumps more than once.

Title track The Poet is an instant success: a fragile composition for piano and cello, followed by the equally beautiful Before Nightfall, in which the sun goes down and a flaming wisp of stars is displayed. Another composition for piano and cello: andante, musing, melancholic... a perfect dialogue between two great classical instruments. In Silk Offering, the piano notes trickle out of the speakers like raindrops. The cello creates soft accents with high and humming tones, which sing along with the piano. A ballad in which sound and silence are in balance.

Dead's Hope is a symphonic composition for strings, organ and trumpets. After a repetitive introduction, the theme is repeated. It is not clear whether we hear real instruments, but it sounds natural. In The Legend of the Sailor, the piano takes the lead. Small miniatures resound against a quiet and dark background, then a violin is added as a solitary monologue: the story of a little man in a big sea, caught between loneliness and melancholy. Very nice.

An Omen sounds dark and threatening with a humming violin in the lead, supported by repetitive electronic percussion in the background. A stunning track with cinematic qualities. A favourite. In The Book Without Words all the stops are pulled out: the piano plays an emphatic melody, the violins float gently through the soundscape and an explosion of wonderful sounds follows. Seventy Seven Years Later may refer to historical facts of that time: the end of the Spanish Civil War. The darkness still hangs in the melody, but between the humming strings we hear a tingling piano as the hope for a better future, while high violins suggest peace and quietness. Again a wonderful composition.

In Iron Horse, we hear piano sounds and bells; it would not surprise us if this was a composition for prepared piano. You can imagine that a mechanical horse produces this kind of noise when it moves, metallic and uneven in tempo, but still melodic in some way. Very special. The Four Keys is another broad composition, this time for dark strings and high violins (or synths) with a high cinematic character. The cellos sound wonderful, high violins provide a stunning contrast. Final Track Abandoned Carousel is a charming piano track that suggests loneliness and abandonment, and closes the album in a quiet way.

After the beautiful and rather minimalist album Inside Life, The Poet is a much more cheerful and more vibrant successor in which the electronics remain more in the background. Piano and strings take the lead in 11 stunning compositions that we situate between Ludovico Einaudi and Federico Albanese. But actually we should not compare Bruno Sanfilippo with other musicians, because he is an outstanding and original talent with a versatile and fascinating repertoire. Buy this record!

Tracklist:
1. The Poet
2. Before Nightfall
3. Silk Offering
4. Dead’s Hope
5. The Legend of the Sailor
6. An Omen
7. The Book Without Words
8. Seventy Seven Years Later
9. Iron Horse
10. The Four Keys
11. Abandoned Carousel

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

We zijn de tel een beetje kwijt, maar The Poet moet zo ongeveer het 21ste (!) album zijn van de Argentijns-Spaanse neoklassieke componist en muzikant Bruno Sanfilippo: opnieuw 11 wondermooie composities die ons meer dan eens kippenvel bezorgen.

Titelsong The Poet is meteen een schot in de roos: een kippenvelcompositie voor piano en cello, gevolgd door het al even mooie Before Nightfall, waarin we de zon zien ondergaan en een flikkerende sliert van sterren verschijnt. Opnieuw een compositie voor piano en cello: andante, mijmerend, melancholisch… een perfecte dialoog tussen twee prachtige klassieke instrumenten. In Silk Offering rollen de pianoklanten als regendruppels uit de speakers. De cello legt voorzichtige accenten met hoge en brommende tonen om uiteindelijk mee te zingen met de piano. Een ballade waarin geluid en stilte elkaar in evenwicht houden.

Dead’s Hope is een symfonische compositie voor strijkers, orgel en trompetten. Na een repetitieve introductie wordt het thema hernomen. Het is niet duidelijk of het allemaal om echte instrumenten gaat, maar zo klinkt het wel. Ook in The Legend of the Sailor neemt de piano het voortouw. Tegen een rustige en donkere achtergrond weerklinken kleine miniatuurtjes, vervolgens wordt een viool toegevoegd als een eenzame monoloog: het verhaal van een kleine man op een grote zee, gevangen tussen eenzaamheid en melancholie. Heel erg mooi.

An Omen klinkt donker en dreigend met een brommende viool in de hoofdrol, gesteund door repetitieve elektronische percussie op de achtergrond. Een bloedmooie track met filmische kwaliteiten. Tussen al dat moois toch onze favoriet. In The Book Without Words worden opnieuw alle registers opengetrokken: de piano speelt een nadrukkelijke melodie, de violen drijven voorzichtig door het soundscape en dan volgt een explosie van wonderbaarlijke geluiden. Seventy Seven Years Later heeft wellicht betrekking op historische feiten van toen: het einde van de Spaanse burgeroorlog. Het donker hangt nog in de melodie, maar tussen de brommende strijkers weerklinkt tintelend pianogeluid als de hoop op een betere toekomst, terwijl hoge violen rust en vrede suggereren. Opnieuw een wondermooie compositie.

In Iron Horse horen we pianogeluid en klokken; het zou ons niet verbazen mocht het hier om een compositie voor prepared piano gaan. Je kan je voorstellen dat een mechanisch paard dit soort geluid voortbrengt als het beweegt, metaalachtig en onregelmatig qua tempo, en toch in zeker zin melodisch. Heel apart. The Four Keys is opnieuw een breed opgezette compositie, dit keer voor donkere strijkers en hoge violen (of synths), met een hoog filmisch karakter. De cello’s klinken wondermooi, de hoge violen zorgen voor een prachtig contrast. Eindtrack Abandoned Carousel is een atmosferische pianotrack die tegelijk eenzaamheid en overgave suggereert en die het album op een rustige manier afsluit.

Na het prachtige en eerder minimalistische album Inside Life, is The Poet een veel opgewektere en bruisendere opvolger waarin de elektronica minder op de voorgrond treedt. Piano en strijkers nemen het voortouw in 11 bloedmooie composities die we situeren tussen Ludovico Einaudi en Federico Albanese. Maar eigenlijk hoeven we Bruno Sanfilippo met niemand te vergelijken, want hij is een uitstekend en origineel talent met een veelzijdig en boeiend repertoire. Liefhebbers weten wat hun te doen staat!

Tracklist:
1. The Poet
2. Before Nightfall
3. Silk Offering
4. Dead’s Hope
5. The Legend of the Sailor
6. An Omen
7. The Book Without Words
8. Seventy Seven Years Later
9. Iron Horse
10. The Four Keys
11. Abandoned Carousel

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed