tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/08/2015 : MICHAEL HEAD AND THE STRANDS - The Magical World of the Strands

MICHAEL HEAD AND THE STRANDS

The Magical World of the Strands

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

Megaphone
23/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

2015 looks like being a busy year for Michael Head. Well, as busy as a year can be with a 7" single (with his Red Elastic Band) and two re-releases being wheeled out. The first of which is a straightforward reissue of this 1997 album which will be followed by a compilation of Strands rarities in October 2015. Whatever, the Heads collectively deserve to be held in higher esteem than a certain pair of Gallaghers, these days.

The Magical World Of... saw Head close the lid on previous band Shack. Formed with brother John, The Strands might not have possessed the blousy Brit-pop chops of Shack nor the woozy exotica of earlier outfit The Pale Fountains but they remain an important part of the Head brothers' enviable legacy. Magical, indeed.

Queen Matilda is a hazy folky puff of romantic psychedelia that recalls Nick Drake and Head's heroes Love, while decidedly more laid-back is the string-driven ballad and single Something Like You, the type of sweeping anthem that deserves to be acclaimed as a song for our times and one of Head's greatest committals to tape.

To be fair, aside from the forlorn Loaded Man and slightly twee Undecided, The Magical World Of is an optimistic, intimate, inch-perfect romp through deserted railway stations, reminiscences, sunlight and summers, grey days, big skies and winters. It sounds like an album full of verve and vigour and demons being removed, or at least reduced. Perhaps less poppy than before, there are still plenty of memorable 'hits' like X Hits The Spot and It's Harvest Time, as well as the less-acoustic The Prize that will stay with you for another eighteen years or so.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
23/08/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire