tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

ILL WICKER

Untamed

MusicCD
FolkProg

[75/100]   

The Sign Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ill Wicker is a band from Gothenburg. The second album Untamed has a prog rock style that sounds quite different than most bands of the scene. It sounds organic and folky, and bands like Porcupine Tree and The Pineapple Thiefs are for once not an example. This makes it rather prog folk than prog rock. When you see the band photograph, it seems like you’re back in the sixties.

The organic approach gives the album a warm feeling that is characterized by harmonious vocals, acoustic guitars, violins and sparse percussion. The title track is great: beautiful rhythm changes and ditto vocals. Silent Impulse contains mesmerizing vocals, it sounds as if the singers are possessed. The percussion gives it a ritual atmosphere.

Untamed is a fine album with seven solid songs. But for the real prog rock fan, this probably sounds a bit too lame.

Most songs have a length of six minutes, and sometimes you get the idea that they float too much on the same theme. Anyway, even if I like my stuff a bit wilder, this album surely doesn’t follow any trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Ill Wicker komt uit Gothenburg. Untamed is een progrockalbum dat anders klinkt dan het doorsneewerk uit dit genre. Het klinkt organisch en folkachtig. De band spiegelt zich bijv. niet aan bands zoals Porcupine Tree en The Pineapple Thiefs. Wat je hoort is dus eerder progfolk dan progrock. Als je de bandfoto van dit zeskoppig ensemble bekijkt, waan je je haast in de sixties.

Door de organische benadering is dit een warm album dat wordt gekenmerkt door harmonieuze samenzang, akoestische gitaren, violen en vaak spaarzame percussie. De titeltrack is heel geslaagd: mooie ritmewisselingen en dito samenzang. Silent Impulse bevat een bezwerende zang waardoor het wel lijkt alsof de zangeressen bezeten zijn. Ook de percussie heeft iets bezwerend en ritueels, wat trouwens in de meeste songs terugkomt.

Dit is een fijn album met zeven degelijke songs. Maar als progrockfanaat vind ik het allemaal net iets te braaf. De songs duren gemiddeld zo’n zes minuten. Soms vind ik dat ze iets te lang doorbomen op hetzelfde stramien, maar voor de rest is dit toch een uitstekende progfolkplaat. Voor mij mag het wat wilder zijn, maar het is zeker wars van alle mode en trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed 09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots