tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

ILL WICKER

Untamed

MusicCD
FolkProg

[75/100]   

The Sign Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ill Wicker is a band from Gothenburg. The second album Untamed has a prog rock style that sounds quite different than most bands of the scene. It sounds organic and folky, and bands like Porcupine Tree and The Pineapple Thiefs are for once not an example. This makes it rather prog folk than prog rock. When you see the band photograph, it seems like you’re back in the sixties.

The organic approach gives the album a warm feeling that is characterized by harmonious vocals, acoustic guitars, violins and sparse percussion. The title track is great: beautiful rhythm changes and ditto vocals. Silent Impulse contains mesmerizing vocals, it sounds as if the singers are possessed. The percussion gives it a ritual atmosphere.

Untamed is a fine album with seven solid songs. But for the real prog rock fan, this probably sounds a bit too lame.

Most songs have a length of six minutes, and sometimes you get the idea that they float too much on the same theme. Anyway, even if I like my stuff a bit wilder, this album surely doesn’t follow any trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Ill Wicker komt uit Gothenburg. Untamed is een progrockalbum dat anders klinkt dan het doorsneewerk uit dit genre. Het klinkt organisch en folkachtig. De band spiegelt zich bijv. niet aan bands zoals Porcupine Tree en The Pineapple Thiefs. Wat je hoort is dus eerder progfolk dan progrock. Als je de bandfoto van dit zeskoppig ensemble bekijkt, waan je je haast in de sixties.

Door de organische benadering is dit een warm album dat wordt gekenmerkt door harmonieuze samenzang, akoestische gitaren, violen en vaak spaarzame percussie. De titeltrack is heel geslaagd: mooie ritmewisselingen en dito samenzang. Silent Impulse bevat een bezwerende zang waardoor het wel lijkt alsof de zangeressen bezeten zijn. Ook de percussie heeft iets bezwerend en ritueels, wat trouwens in de meeste songs terugkomt.

Dit is een fijn album met zeven degelijke songs. Maar als progrockfanaat vind ik het allemaal net iets te braaf. De songs duren gemiddeld zo’n zes minuten. Soms vind ik dat ze iets te lang doorbomen op hetzelfde stramien, maar voor de rest is dit toch een uitstekende progfolkplaat. Voor mij mag het wat wilder zijn, maar het is zeker wars van alle mode en trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed 09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death