tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

ILL WICKER

Untamed

MusicCD
FolkProg

[75/100]   

The Sign Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ill Wicker is a band from Gothenburg. The second album Untamed has a prog rock style that sounds quite different than most bands of the scene. It sounds organic and folky, and bands like Porcupine Tree and The Pineapple Thiefs are for once not an example. This makes it rather prog folk than prog rock. When you see the band photograph, it seems like you’re back in the sixties.

The organic approach gives the album a warm feeling that is characterized by harmonious vocals, acoustic guitars, violins and sparse percussion. The title track is great: beautiful rhythm changes and ditto vocals. Silent Impulse contains mesmerizing vocals, it sounds as if the singers are possessed. The percussion gives it a ritual atmosphere.

Untamed is a fine album with seven solid songs. But for the real prog rock fan, this probably sounds a bit too lame.

Most songs have a length of six minutes, and sometimes you get the idea that they float too much on the same theme. Anyway, even if I like my stuff a bit wilder, this album surely doesn’t follow any trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Ill Wicker komt uit Gothenburg. Untamed is een progrockalbum dat anders klinkt dan het doorsneewerk uit dit genre. Het klinkt organisch en folkachtig. De band spiegelt zich bijv. niet aan bands zoals Porcupine Tree en The Pineapple Thiefs. Wat je hoort is dus eerder progfolk dan progrock. Als je de bandfoto van dit zeskoppig ensemble bekijkt, waan je je haast in de sixties.

Door de organische benadering is dit een warm album dat wordt gekenmerkt door harmonieuze samenzang, akoestische gitaren, violen en vaak spaarzame percussie. De titeltrack is heel geslaagd: mooie ritmewisselingen en dito samenzang. Silent Impulse bevat een bezwerende zang waardoor het wel lijkt alsof de zangeressen bezeten zijn. Ook de percussie heeft iets bezwerend en ritueels, wat trouwens in de meeste songs terugkomt.

Dit is een fijn album met zeven degelijke songs. Maar als progrockfanaat vind ik het allemaal net iets te braaf. De songs duren gemiddeld zo’n zes minuten. Soms vind ik dat ze iets te lang doorbomen op hetzelfde stramien, maar voor de rest is dit toch een uitstekende progfolkplaat. Voor mij mag het wat wilder zijn, maar het is zeker wars van alle mode en trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed 09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life