tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

ILL WICKER

Untamed

MusicCD
FolkProg

[75/100]   

The Sign Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ill Wicker is a band from Gothenburg. The second album Untamed has a prog rock style that sounds quite different than most bands of the scene. It sounds organic and folky, and bands like Porcupine Tree and The Pineapple Thiefs are for once not an example. This makes it rather prog folk than prog rock. When you see the band photograph, it seems like you’re back in the sixties.

The organic approach gives the album a warm feeling that is characterized by harmonious vocals, acoustic guitars, violins and sparse percussion. The title track is great: beautiful rhythm changes and ditto vocals. Silent Impulse contains mesmerizing vocals, it sounds as if the singers are possessed. The percussion gives it a ritual atmosphere.

Untamed is a fine album with seven solid songs. But for the real prog rock fan, this probably sounds a bit too lame.

Most songs have a length of six minutes, and sometimes you get the idea that they float too much on the same theme. Anyway, even if I like my stuff a bit wilder, this album surely doesn’t follow any trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Ill Wicker komt uit Gothenburg. Untamed is een progrockalbum dat anders klinkt dan het doorsneewerk uit dit genre. Het klinkt organisch en folkachtig. De band spiegelt zich bijv. niet aan bands zoals Porcupine Tree en The Pineapple Thiefs. Wat je hoort is dus eerder progfolk dan progrock. Als je de bandfoto van dit zeskoppig ensemble bekijkt, waan je je haast in de sixties.

Door de organische benadering is dit een warm album dat wordt gekenmerkt door harmonieuze samenzang, akoestische gitaren, violen en vaak spaarzame percussie. De titeltrack is heel geslaagd: mooie ritmewisselingen en dito samenzang. Silent Impulse bevat een bezwerende zang waardoor het wel lijkt alsof de zangeressen bezeten zijn. Ook de percussie heeft iets bezwerend en ritueels, wat trouwens in de meeste songs terugkomt.

Dit is een fijn album met zeven degelijke songs. Maar als progrockfanaat vind ik het allemaal net iets te braaf. De songs duren gemiddeld zo’n zes minuten. Soms vind ik dat ze iets te lang doorbomen op hetzelfde stramien, maar voor de rest is dit toch een uitstekende progfolkplaat. Voor mij mag het wat wilder zijn, maar het is zeker wars van alle mode en trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed 09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)