tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

ILL WICKER

Untamed

MusicCD
FolkProg

[75/100]   

The Sign Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ill Wicker is a band from Gothenburg. The second album Untamed has a prog rock style that sounds quite different than most bands of the scene. It sounds organic and folky, and bands like Porcupine Tree and The Pineapple Thiefs are for once not an example. This makes it rather prog folk than prog rock. When you see the band photograph, it seems like you’re back in the sixties.

The organic approach gives the album a warm feeling that is characterized by harmonious vocals, acoustic guitars, violins and sparse percussion. The title track is great: beautiful rhythm changes and ditto vocals. Silent Impulse contains mesmerizing vocals, it sounds as if the singers are possessed. The percussion gives it a ritual atmosphere.

Untamed is a fine album with seven solid songs. But for the real prog rock fan, this probably sounds a bit too lame.

Most songs have a length of six minutes, and sometimes you get the idea that they float too much on the same theme. Anyway, even if I like my stuff a bit wilder, this album surely doesn’t follow any trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Ill Wicker komt uit Gothenburg. Untamed is een progrockalbum dat anders klinkt dan het doorsneewerk uit dit genre. Het klinkt organisch en folkachtig. De band spiegelt zich bijv. niet aan bands zoals Porcupine Tree en The Pineapple Thiefs. Wat je hoort is dus eerder progfolk dan progrock. Als je de bandfoto van dit zeskoppig ensemble bekijkt, waan je je haast in de sixties.

Door de organische benadering is dit een warm album dat wordt gekenmerkt door harmonieuze samenzang, akoestische gitaren, violen en vaak spaarzame percussie. De titeltrack is heel geslaagd: mooie ritmewisselingen en dito samenzang. Silent Impulse bevat een bezwerende zang waardoor het wel lijkt alsof de zangeressen bezeten zijn. Ook de percussie heeft iets bezwerend en ritueels, wat trouwens in de meeste songs terugkomt.

Dit is een fijn album met zeven degelijke songs. Maar als progrockfanaat vind ik het allemaal net iets te braaf. De songs duren gemiddeld zo’n zes minuten. Soms vind ik dat ze iets te lang doorbomen op hetzelfde stramien, maar voor de rest is dit toch een uitstekende progfolkplaat. Voor mij mag het wat wilder zijn, maar het is zeker wars van alle mode en trends.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed 09/12/2016 : ILL WICKER - Untamed

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell