tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SO PITTED - Neo

SO PITTED

Neo

MusicCD
GrungeIndieNoise

[58/100]   

SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

SUBPOP from Seattle always had a penchant for local noise makers, and now you can add the crazy trio So Pitted. The three look a bit silly, and even look like a copy of Nirvana with bad taste, but fortunately musically it is different.

The first two tracks of this debut are completely negligible, simply because it is nothing more than monotonous noise without any direction.

But Woe is something else. It is vibrant and the song sounds like a song by Devo that is treated by Michael Gira. Holding The Void is Dead Kennedys punk, while No Nuke Country is a proof that there is still some room left for punk in 2016.

The vocoders return in Feed Me. Art rock noise with guitars, it exists, whether it is really worth a listen is another matter.

Of course it was inevitable, but if someone looks like Kurt Cobain and is signed on Subpop, then he should have his Nirvana-moment, which is the case with the extremely noisy I'm Not Over It. It is not original, but a track that seems like a cast-off from Bleach always can tempt us.

Rot In Hell turn has a high Foetus content, but vocalist Nathan Rodriguez is not exactly Jim Thirlwell. The CD ends with the extremely noisy Chop Down The Tree.

Some might say that So Pitted is the latest prodigy, but the music sounds a bit too uninspired. These thirty minutes of noise sound enjoyable, but it's all been done before. Hype, you say. Not for us!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

SUBPOP uit Seattle heeft altijd een voorliefde gehad voor lokale lawaaimakers, en daar mag je vanaf heden ook het gekke trio So Pitted aan toe voegen. De drie zien er wat sullig uit, ze lijken zelfs op een kopie van Nirvana met slechte smaak, gelukkig vertaalt zich dat muzikaal toch een tikkeltje anders.

De eerste twee tracks uit het debuut zijn evenwel compleet te verwaarlozen, het is niet meer dan monotoon inhoudsloos lawaai zonder richting. Gelukkig wordt het in Woe wat anders. De muziek blijft loeihard, maar deze song lijkt op eentje van Devo die is aangepakt door Michael Gira. Holding The Void is dan weer Dead Kennedys-punk, terwijl No Nuke Country bewijst dat er nog plaats is voor punk in 2016.

De vocoders keren terug in Feed Me. Artrock met noisegitaren bestaat dus, of het echter de moeite loont, dat laten we in het midden.

Het kon natuurlijk niet uitblijven, maar wie op Kurt Cobain lijkt en op Subpop zit, moet op een zeker moment ook een keer als Nirvana klinken, en dat is het geval in het uiterst lawaaierige I’m Not Over It. Origineel is het allemaal niet, maar een track die als een afdankertje uit Bleach lijkt, kan ons altijd wel bekoren.

Rot In Hell heeft een hoog Foetus-gehalte, alleen is zanger Nathan Rodriguez nog lang geen Jim Thirlwell.

Sommigen zullen je misschien laten geloven dat So Pitted het nieuwste wonderkind is, maar daarvoor klinkt de muziek net iets te ongeïnspireerd. De cd wordt afgesloten met het uiterst lawaaierige Chop Down The Tree.
De dertig minuten noise klinkt af en toe als aangenaam oorsmeer, alleen is het allemaal al zo vaak gedaan dat je je afvraagt of je er nadien nog veel naar zal luisteren. Een hype, zeg je. Voor ons hoeft het niet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap