tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SO PITTED - Neo

SO PITTED

Neo

MusicCD
GrungeIndieNoise

[58/100]   

SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

SUBPOP from Seattle always had a penchant for local noise makers, and now you can add the crazy trio So Pitted. The three look a bit silly, and even look like a copy of Nirvana with bad taste, but fortunately musically it is different.

The first two tracks of this debut are completely negligible, simply because it is nothing more than monotonous noise without any direction.

But Woe is something else. It is vibrant and the song sounds like a song by Devo that is treated by Michael Gira. Holding The Void is Dead Kennedys punk, while No Nuke Country is a proof that there is still some room left for punk in 2016.

The vocoders return in Feed Me. Art rock noise with guitars, it exists, whether it is really worth a listen is another matter.

Of course it was inevitable, but if someone looks like Kurt Cobain and is signed on Subpop, then he should have his Nirvana-moment, which is the case with the extremely noisy I'm Not Over It. It is not original, but a track that seems like a cast-off from Bleach always can tempt us.

Rot In Hell turn has a high Foetus content, but vocalist Nathan Rodriguez is not exactly Jim Thirlwell. The CD ends with the extremely noisy Chop Down The Tree.

Some might say that So Pitted is the latest prodigy, but the music sounds a bit too uninspired. These thirty minutes of noise sound enjoyable, but it's all been done before. Hype, you say. Not for us!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

SUBPOP uit Seattle heeft altijd een voorliefde gehad voor lokale lawaaimakers, en daar mag je vanaf heden ook het gekke trio So Pitted aan toe voegen. De drie zien er wat sullig uit, ze lijken zelfs op een kopie van Nirvana met slechte smaak, gelukkig vertaalt zich dat muzikaal toch een tikkeltje anders.

De eerste twee tracks uit het debuut zijn evenwel compleet te verwaarlozen, het is niet meer dan monotoon inhoudsloos lawaai zonder richting. Gelukkig wordt het in Woe wat anders. De muziek blijft loeihard, maar deze song lijkt op eentje van Devo die is aangepakt door Michael Gira. Holding The Void is dan weer Dead Kennedys-punk, terwijl No Nuke Country bewijst dat er nog plaats is voor punk in 2016.

De vocoders keren terug in Feed Me. Artrock met noisegitaren bestaat dus, of het echter de moeite loont, dat laten we in het midden.

Het kon natuurlijk niet uitblijven, maar wie op Kurt Cobain lijkt en op Subpop zit, moet op een zeker moment ook een keer als Nirvana klinken, en dat is het geval in het uiterst lawaaierige I’m Not Over It. Origineel is het allemaal niet, maar een track die als een afdankertje uit Bleach lijkt, kan ons altijd wel bekoren.

Rot In Hell heeft een hoog Foetus-gehalte, alleen is zanger Nathan Rodriguez nog lang geen Jim Thirlwell.

Sommigen zullen je misschien laten geloven dat So Pitted het nieuwste wonderkind is, maar daarvoor klinkt de muziek net iets te ongeïnspireerd. De cd wordt afgesloten met het uiterst lawaaierige Chop Down The Tree.
De dertig minuten noise klinkt af en toe als aangenaam oorsmeer, alleen is het allemaal al zo vaak gedaan dat je je afvraagt of je er nadien nog veel naar zal luisteren. Een hype, zeg je. Voor ons hoeft het niet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static