tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SO PITTED - Neo

SO PITTED

Neo

MusicCD
GrungeIndieNoise

[58/100]   

SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

SUBPOP from Seattle always had a penchant for local noise makers, and now you can add the crazy trio So Pitted. The three look a bit silly, and even look like a copy of Nirvana with bad taste, but fortunately musically it is different.

The first two tracks of this debut are completely negligible, simply because it is nothing more than monotonous noise without any direction.

But Woe is something else. It is vibrant and the song sounds like a song by Devo that is treated by Michael Gira. Holding The Void is Dead Kennedys punk, while No Nuke Country is a proof that there is still some room left for punk in 2016.

The vocoders return in Feed Me. Art rock noise with guitars, it exists, whether it is really worth a listen is another matter.

Of course it was inevitable, but if someone looks like Kurt Cobain and is signed on Subpop, then he should have his Nirvana-moment, which is the case with the extremely noisy I'm Not Over It. It is not original, but a track that seems like a cast-off from Bleach always can tempt us.

Rot In Hell turn has a high Foetus content, but vocalist Nathan Rodriguez is not exactly Jim Thirlwell. The CD ends with the extremely noisy Chop Down The Tree.

Some might say that So Pitted is the latest prodigy, but the music sounds a bit too uninspired. These thirty minutes of noise sound enjoyable, but it's all been done before. Hype, you say. Not for us!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

SUBPOP uit Seattle heeft altijd een voorliefde gehad voor lokale lawaaimakers, en daar mag je vanaf heden ook het gekke trio So Pitted aan toe voegen. De drie zien er wat sullig uit, ze lijken zelfs op een kopie van Nirvana met slechte smaak, gelukkig vertaalt zich dat muzikaal toch een tikkeltje anders.

De eerste twee tracks uit het debuut zijn evenwel compleet te verwaarlozen, het is niet meer dan monotoon inhoudsloos lawaai zonder richting. Gelukkig wordt het in Woe wat anders. De muziek blijft loeihard, maar deze song lijkt op eentje van Devo die is aangepakt door Michael Gira. Holding The Void is dan weer Dead Kennedys-punk, terwijl No Nuke Country bewijst dat er nog plaats is voor punk in 2016.

De vocoders keren terug in Feed Me. Artrock met noisegitaren bestaat dus, of het echter de moeite loont, dat laten we in het midden.

Het kon natuurlijk niet uitblijven, maar wie op Kurt Cobain lijkt en op Subpop zit, moet op een zeker moment ook een keer als Nirvana klinken, en dat is het geval in het uiterst lawaaierige I’m Not Over It. Origineel is het allemaal niet, maar een track die als een afdankertje uit Bleach lijkt, kan ons altijd wel bekoren.

Rot In Hell heeft een hoog Foetus-gehalte, alleen is zanger Nathan Rodriguez nog lang geen Jim Thirlwell.

Sommigen zullen je misschien laten geloven dat So Pitted het nieuwste wonderkind is, maar daarvoor klinkt de muziek net iets te ongeïnspireerd. De cd wordt afgesloten met het uiterst lawaaierige Chop Down The Tree.
De dertig minuten noise klinkt af en toe als aangenaam oorsmeer, alleen is het allemaal al zo vaak gedaan dat je je afvraagt of je er nadien nog veel naar zal luisteren. Een hype, zeg je. Voor ons hoeft het niet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)