tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SO PITTED - Neo

SO PITTED

Neo

MusicCD
GrungeIndieNoise

[58/100]   

SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

SUBPOP from Seattle always had a penchant for local noise makers, and now you can add the crazy trio So Pitted. The three look a bit silly, and even look like a copy of Nirvana with bad taste, but fortunately musically it is different.

The first two tracks of this debut are completely negligible, simply because it is nothing more than monotonous noise without any direction.

But Woe is something else. It is vibrant and the song sounds like a song by Devo that is treated by Michael Gira. Holding The Void is Dead Kennedys punk, while No Nuke Country is a proof that there is still some room left for punk in 2016.

The vocoders return in Feed Me. Art rock noise with guitars, it exists, whether it is really worth a listen is another matter.

Of course it was inevitable, but if someone looks like Kurt Cobain and is signed on Subpop, then he should have his Nirvana-moment, which is the case with the extremely noisy I'm Not Over It. It is not original, but a track that seems like a cast-off from Bleach always can tempt us.

Rot In Hell turn has a high Foetus content, but vocalist Nathan Rodriguez is not exactly Jim Thirlwell. The CD ends with the extremely noisy Chop Down The Tree.

Some might say that So Pitted is the latest prodigy, but the music sounds a bit too uninspired. These thirty minutes of noise sound enjoyable, but it's all been done before. Hype, you say. Not for us!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

SUBPOP uit Seattle heeft altijd een voorliefde gehad voor lokale lawaaimakers, en daar mag je vanaf heden ook het gekke trio So Pitted aan toe voegen. De drie zien er wat sullig uit, ze lijken zelfs op een kopie van Nirvana met slechte smaak, gelukkig vertaalt zich dat muzikaal toch een tikkeltje anders.

De eerste twee tracks uit het debuut zijn evenwel compleet te verwaarlozen, het is niet meer dan monotoon inhoudsloos lawaai zonder richting. Gelukkig wordt het in Woe wat anders. De muziek blijft loeihard, maar deze song lijkt op eentje van Devo die is aangepakt door Michael Gira. Holding The Void is dan weer Dead Kennedys-punk, terwijl No Nuke Country bewijst dat er nog plaats is voor punk in 2016.

De vocoders keren terug in Feed Me. Artrock met noisegitaren bestaat dus, of het echter de moeite loont, dat laten we in het midden.

Het kon natuurlijk niet uitblijven, maar wie op Kurt Cobain lijkt en op Subpop zit, moet op een zeker moment ook een keer als Nirvana klinken, en dat is het geval in het uiterst lawaaierige I’m Not Over It. Origineel is het allemaal niet, maar een track die als een afdankertje uit Bleach lijkt, kan ons altijd wel bekoren.

Rot In Hell heeft een hoog Foetus-gehalte, alleen is zanger Nathan Rodriguez nog lang geen Jim Thirlwell.

Sommigen zullen je misschien laten geloven dat So Pitted het nieuwste wonderkind is, maar daarvoor klinkt de muziek net iets te ongeïnspireerd. De cd wordt afgesloten met het uiterst lawaaierige Chop Down The Tree.
De dertig minuten noise klinkt af en toe als aangenaam oorsmeer, alleen is het allemaal al zo vaak gedaan dat je je afvraagt of je er nadien nog veel naar zal luisteren. Een hype, zeg je. Voor ons hoeft het niet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face