tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SO PITTED - Neo

SO PITTED

Neo

MusicCD
GrungeIndieNoise

[58/100]   

SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

SUBPOP from Seattle always had a penchant for local noise makers, and now you can add the crazy trio So Pitted. The three look a bit silly, and even look like a copy of Nirvana with bad taste, but fortunately musically it is different.

The first two tracks of this debut are completely negligible, simply because it is nothing more than monotonous noise without any direction.

But Woe is something else. It is vibrant and the song sounds like a song by Devo that is treated by Michael Gira. Holding The Void is Dead Kennedys punk, while No Nuke Country is a proof that there is still some room left for punk in 2016.

The vocoders return in Feed Me. Art rock noise with guitars, it exists, whether it is really worth a listen is another matter.

Of course it was inevitable, but if someone looks like Kurt Cobain and is signed on Subpop, then he should have his Nirvana-moment, which is the case with the extremely noisy I'm Not Over It. It is not original, but a track that seems like a cast-off from Bleach always can tempt us.

Rot In Hell turn has a high Foetus content, but vocalist Nathan Rodriguez is not exactly Jim Thirlwell. The CD ends with the extremely noisy Chop Down The Tree.

Some might say that So Pitted is the latest prodigy, but the music sounds a bit too uninspired. These thirty minutes of noise sound enjoyable, but it's all been done before. Hype, you say. Not for us!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

SUBPOP uit Seattle heeft altijd een voorliefde gehad voor lokale lawaaimakers, en daar mag je vanaf heden ook het gekke trio So Pitted aan toe voegen. De drie zien er wat sullig uit, ze lijken zelfs op een kopie van Nirvana met slechte smaak, gelukkig vertaalt zich dat muzikaal toch een tikkeltje anders.

De eerste twee tracks uit het debuut zijn evenwel compleet te verwaarlozen, het is niet meer dan monotoon inhoudsloos lawaai zonder richting. Gelukkig wordt het in Woe wat anders. De muziek blijft loeihard, maar deze song lijkt op eentje van Devo die is aangepakt door Michael Gira. Holding The Void is dan weer Dead Kennedys-punk, terwijl No Nuke Country bewijst dat er nog plaats is voor punk in 2016.

De vocoders keren terug in Feed Me. Artrock met noisegitaren bestaat dus, of het echter de moeite loont, dat laten we in het midden.

Het kon natuurlijk niet uitblijven, maar wie op Kurt Cobain lijkt en op Subpop zit, moet op een zeker moment ook een keer als Nirvana klinken, en dat is het geval in het uiterst lawaaierige I’m Not Over It. Origineel is het allemaal niet, maar een track die als een afdankertje uit Bleach lijkt, kan ons altijd wel bekoren.

Rot In Hell heeft een hoog Foetus-gehalte, alleen is zanger Nathan Rodriguez nog lang geen Jim Thirlwell.

Sommigen zullen je misschien laten geloven dat So Pitted het nieuwste wonderkind is, maar daarvoor klinkt de muziek net iets te ongeïnspireerd. De cd wordt afgesloten met het uiterst lawaaierige Chop Down The Tree.
De dertig minuten noise klinkt af en toe als aangenaam oorsmeer, alleen is het allemaal al zo vaak gedaan dat je je afvraagt of je er nadien nog veel naar zal luisteren. Een hype, zeg je. Voor ons hoeft het niet.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)