tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : B BOYS - No Worry No Mind EP

B BOYS

No Worry No Mind EP

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[84/100]   

Captured Tracks
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Captured Tracks is obviously one of the labels to follow if you are interested in the better indie sounds. New to the label is B Boys. Andrew Kerr, Brendon Avalos and Britton Walker are three young guys who said they met at a place that was shown by the stars. A nice explanation, but musically it doesn’t say anything. But never mind, as on this debut you will hear eight tracks that all sound short, messy, but also very exciting.

Psycho is a rock 'n' roll song of two minutes with Hüsker Dü-influences. Noisy indeed, but B Boys also has the talent to write a track that has the intelligence of Talking Heads and XTC (the sublime Other Head). With such a sound, the distance to Wire is of course rather small, Get A Grip (the single from this EP) could have been released on 154.

Twenty minutes might not be enough for a definitive judgment, but this sounds like the beginning of something great. Think of Franz Ferdinand, but much rawer! Exactly how post-punk has to sound!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Captured Tracks is uiteraard één van de te volgen labels inzake het recente en betere indiegeweld. Nieuw op het label is B Boys. Andrew Kerr, Brendon Avalos en Britton Walker zijn drie jonge kerels die naar eigen zeggen elkaar zijn tegengekomen op een plaats die door de sterren werd aangewezen. Een mooie uitleg waar je als muziekliefhebber uiteraard geen stap verder mee komt. Maar niet getreurd, op deze debuut-ep staan acht (jawel) tracks en ze klinken allemaal kort, rommelig, maar tevens ontzettend lekker.

Psycho is een rock ’n rollsong van een tweetal minuten met Hüsker Dü-neigingen. Het mag wel lawaaierig klinken, toch heeft B Boys ook het talent om een track te schrijven die de intelligentie van Talking Heads en XTC bezit (bijv. het sublieme Other Head). Met zo’n geluid is de stap naar Wire natuurlijk uiterst klein, Get A Grip (de single van deze ep) kon evengoed op 154 staan.

Twintig minuten is misschien iets te weinig om een definitief oordeel te vellen over een band, maar hier zit zeer veel toekomstmuziek in. Denk aan Franz Ferdinand, maar veel rauwer! Exact wat je van post-punk verwacht, dus!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

18
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
THE HORRORIST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
XOTOX
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
ELM
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
12
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One