tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : B BOYS - No Worry No Mind EP

B BOYS

No Worry No Mind EP

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[84/100]   

Captured Tracks
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Captured Tracks is obviously one of the labels to follow if you are interested in the better indie sounds. New to the label is B Boys. Andrew Kerr, Brendon Avalos and Britton Walker are three young guys who said they met at a place that was shown by the stars. A nice explanation, but musically it doesn’t say anything. But never mind, as on this debut you will hear eight tracks that all sound short, messy, but also very exciting.

Psycho is a rock 'n' roll song of two minutes with Hüsker Dü-influences. Noisy indeed, but B Boys also has the talent to write a track that has the intelligence of Talking Heads and XTC (the sublime Other Head). With such a sound, the distance to Wire is of course rather small, Get A Grip (the single from this EP) could have been released on 154.

Twenty minutes might not be enough for a definitive judgment, but this sounds like the beginning of something great. Think of Franz Ferdinand, but much rawer! Exactly how post-punk has to sound!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Captured Tracks is uiteraard één van de te volgen labels inzake het recente en betere indiegeweld. Nieuw op het label is B Boys. Andrew Kerr, Brendon Avalos en Britton Walker zijn drie jonge kerels die naar eigen zeggen elkaar zijn tegengekomen op een plaats die door de sterren werd aangewezen. Een mooie uitleg waar je als muziekliefhebber uiteraard geen stap verder mee komt. Maar niet getreurd, op deze debuut-ep staan acht (jawel) tracks en ze klinken allemaal kort, rommelig, maar tevens ontzettend lekker.

Psycho is een rock ’n rollsong van een tweetal minuten met Hüsker Dü-neigingen. Het mag wel lawaaierig klinken, toch heeft B Boys ook het talent om een track te schrijven die de intelligentie van Talking Heads en XTC bezit (bijv. het sublieme Other Head). Met zo’n geluid is de stap naar Wire natuurlijk uiterst klein, Get A Grip (de single van deze ep) kon evengoed op 154 staan.

Twintig minuten is misschien iets te weinig om een definitief oordeel te vellen over een band, maar hier zit zeer veel toekomstmuziek in. Denk aan Franz Ferdinand, maar veel rauwer! Exact wat je van post-punk verwacht, dus!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete